paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann US Army Project Salvo / Tippmann US Army Project Salvo / Tippmann US Army Project Salvo

Tippmann US Army Project Salvo Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann US Army Project Salvo

Paintball Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann US Army Project Salvo
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $149

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
We are excited to release the new U.S. Army Paintball Marker - Project Salvo…an exciting new marker from U.S. Army Paintball featuring a six position collapsible and foldable stock, an AR-15 style shroud with four built-in Picatinny rails and a new AR-15 style magazine that doubles as a helpful toolkit. The marker also incorporates a flat-top Picatinny rail built into the receiver, which makes it simple for players to quickly add a handle, site, scope or a variety of other modifications.

As an added benefit, the Project Salvo marker can be easily enhanced with an eGrip as well as several other performance upgrades from the Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum Series, including: the Cyclone Feed System, Response Trigger and Flatline barrel.

Much like Alpha Black, the name selected for this new marker is rooted in U.S. Military history. Project Salvo was a series of tests conducted by the U.S. Army’s Operations Research Office (ORO) from the mid to late 1950s. The research obtained through Project Salvo helped lead to the development of the AR-15, which would go on to become the M-16 – widely considered among the most respected and proven rifles ever utilized by the United States armed forces.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann US Army Project Salvo is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
holmes11210 Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month91 of 94 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Tippmann Alpha Black
Tippmann A5
Tippman Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann Project Salvo W/ Tippmann Straightline/Cyclone Feed System
Strengths: Upgradable
Sturdy
Priced at $149
Tippmann 98 barrel thread
Looks
Weaknesses: Field stripping would be insane.
Review: The Tippmann Project Salvo is everything that the Alpha Black Tactical should have been. Cosmetic upgrades can be easily added using either the 4 rail barrel shroud or the top flat rail. The marker is threaded for Tippmann 98 barrel threads so there are a ton of readily available after market barrels. The marker is very sturdy and feels like it could take a good beating. The multi-position rear stock is a dream. It slides easily and when you do not want to have it in use the stock folds against the gun.

One problem that I had found with the gun is that the barrel shroud is held on by a notch held in place by a screw. With the stock barrel this shroud feels very sturdy due to the fact that the barrel pushes the stock tightly to the frame. After installing an aftermarket barrel I had found that the stock felt a bit loose. I had fixed this problem by adding a rail raiser that extended over the shroud and base of the gun.
Conclusion: I would absolutely recommend this marker. It is highly upgradable and has the feel of a well made product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

HackAndSackMIKE Tuesday, July 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month34 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Tippmann A5, Alpha Black
Marker Setup: Project Salvo w/ remote and electronic hopper (12-15 bps)
Strengths: Durability, accuracy, all around feel
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy, doesn't fit an after market barrel very well
Review: I just finished up my weekend paintball trip here in the nothern woods of MN and I was VERY impressed with the project salvo. Right out of the box it feels strong and fits perfectly. Even for a guy who is 6'1'' and weighs about 200 pounds. Using it bone stock on CO2 I shot it at a 12" circle from about 65 ft. I shot 12 quick shots at the circle and hit it all 12 times (this is after I dinked around and found the right velocity setting). There really is no need for the cyclone feed as long as you don't have an e-grip and you have an electronic hopper. I shot as fast as I could pull the trigger and the gun didn't chop a single ball the entire weekend.

The main negative is that it is an piece of work to take apart and put back together, but this fits the Tippmann persona perfectly. Another side negative is the loose fitting of aftermarket barrels, but this can be easily fixed with some paper towel/tissue and black spray paint.
Conclusion: All in all I would most definitely recommend this product as a back up OR a main gun. It is very accurate as long as you have the patience to find the right velocity. It obviously doesn't shoot as far as a 98 custom or A5 w/ flatline barrels but when it is within 100 ft you can expect to hit your target within 2 shots every time. VERY IMPRESSED!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ethrealwolf Friday, July 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month25 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann model and custom 98s- same thing, internally
Ion- shoots better, but isn't nearly as sweet looking
Marker Setup: Custom F2000/ion
DW hollowpoint
Clippard QEV
Killa detents
88/4500 Crossfire fixed high
Strengths: Looks
(relative) durability
Price
Weaknesses: See below
Cyclone not standard
Review: I ended up buying one of these at Oklahoma Dday- after the first mingame I realised my timmy was going to hate this paint all week long.

the marker itself, internally, at least, is little more than a 98 custom. It shares a lot of similarities with the alpha black line as well- the magazine/tool kit and Milsim styling both are pretty much dead giveaways. Stripping it down can be a bear, be warned- it kept the clamshell design of most tippmanns, and with the stock and shroud that's kind of irritating to remove.

It shoots.... well, like a tippmann. It's not particularly good, but it could be worse. It's OK for air efficency, though far from great- I shot about two cases at Dday and didn't have to fill my air tank more than twice, but I also have a big honking air tank.

In as far as problems go, it doesn't come stock with a cyclone, that's a big downer. that said, it is really easy to put an aftermarket cyclone on it- it comes pre-drilled for one, so all you do is attach the fittings and you're good to go. The stock barrel is meh, but that's not saying much, since most tippmann stock barrels are meh.

Externally, it's pretty good looking- it has a large US army jewel logo on the left side of the body, and a nice flat black powdercoat job. The stock is really good looking, if not that durable feeling- in other words, all you service people, when you go prone, don't break your fall with this stock!

Conclusion: Overall, I feel like it's another aesthetic option for those who want milsim gear from big box stores, and a cheap nice backup for mil-sim and woods players who need a cheap backup. The mil-sim addons are nice, and let you play with it stock out of the box without it feeling incomplete somehow. All in all, I'd recommend it for new players and people who need a Milsim backup without dropping a lot of cash.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ddaovvaj Thursday, October 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 C Pro
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 C Pro (stock marker with adjustable buttstock), Project Salvo (stock with Tasco Red Dot)
Strengths: 1.) Simpleinternals.
2.) Nice coat of paint.
3.) Fairly accurate.
4.) Good on CO2.
Weaknesses: 1.) Heavy with CO2, paintballs, and a few add-ons.
Review: As would any Tippman, I have not had an issue with this gun. I have yet to have it jam or chop on me in the 2000ish rounds I have put through it. I have crawled, tripped, and ran into trees with this gun but it still looks brand new after a little wipe-down. The gun is more accurate than a stock 98 C Pro/ACT. I can put approx. 600-650 rounds through a 20oz CO2 tank before it starts bogging.

Cleaning the gun is a bit more time consuming than a 98 b/c there are a few more screws, but it's Tippman easy.

The down-side is that this gun is heavy and bulky to run with. I eventually took off the foreend, buttstock, and "magazine" to save a few ounces so I can run faster. It now looks like a Tippman 98 (and nicer IMO).
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone, but don't expect speedball qualities out of this gun; it's great for woodsball.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BHernandez Friday, July 24th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
US Army Alpha Black/Bravo One
Marker Setup: -US Army Alpha Black Tactical w/ E-Grip
- View-Loader Eye-Force
- PMI 48ci/300psi High Pressure Air Tank
-PCS Tactical Sling
-Apex Tip
-Custom Products 14in. .693 Barrel
Strengths: Nice Looking, Great Woodsballing Gun
Weaknesses: Heavy, Not Electric... yet...
Review: Although I like the US Army Weapon Arsenal... I do not like the Project Salvo Gun... The marker itself in outstanding... In most aspects, it IS the Alpha Black. Which is the problem... The only differences between the Project Salvo and the Alpha Black/Bravo One are the looks. In my opinion, the Alpha Black looks WAY cooler... The Marker itself is, however, absolutely outstanding... It is Great for woodsball or Scenario... If you want a cheap gun without wasting you money, go for the salvo or alpha...
Conclusion: A great gun... But because you cannot get it with an e-trigger, it isn't exactly fast... However, it is cheap. If you want a really fast, but cheap gun, get the Alpha Black w/ E-Trigger, or a WAS 98...
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 24th, 2009 at 12:49 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Vex22 Thursday, March 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Apex Barrel
Cyclone Hopper
E-trigger
Strengths: Accuracy
Look
Reliable
Easy to Clean
Easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: Heavy
Co2 doesn't work so well
Review: I am a generally new paintbller and the Project Salvo was the first paintball gun I own, It has never let me down. It hits the mark when i want it to and with the apex barrel, it has become even more of force to be reckoned with. However it is a little heavy which the first time i used it was kinda of a burden. but it is easy to get used to. Also I didn't like using Co2 with it as it allowed alot of gas to escape through the barrel. However i switched to compressed air, and it is now better then i could have imagined. I can't wait to go out and use it again. In order to use an Apex barrel however, the shroud must be removed.

Update (12/15/10)
I have never stopped liking this marker, no matter what weather it endures, it comes out just as good as it did before. Also the weight is very manageable if you get a remote line, which I highly suggest.
Conclusion: This is a great first marker, no to expensive but no that cheap that you feel you are getting a crappy gun. I would reccomend this to anyone, and the upgrades are easy to get and really improve the gun's performance. This marker is a 10 out of 10 and I wouldn't hesitate to give it an 11
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 15th, 2010 at 3:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DesertEaglePB Wednesday, March 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing this is my first military style gun. I have an electric spyder.
Marker Setup: I have a Tippmann project salvo, with response trigger, a 45 degree rail, on the rail i added a red dot sight. I have also added a foregrip, that has a release for the bipod. I have a 14" CP barrel, and also a harness with an air line.
Strengths: Accuracy
feel
looks
durable
lots of upgrades
easy clean
Weaknesses: weight
iron sights
R trigger
Review: I love this gun when you first take it out of the box it shoots amazing, and is accurate. This gun has the 4 rails which make adding upgrades super easy. I mean i have a lot of upgrades and i use them because i like playing on really big fields. The Gun does work good on smaller fields but sad thing is that the stock when its folded it hits the cyclone feeder.
-Reason why i said Response trigger on weaknesses, cause it will eat air/ Co2. I went through a full 48/3000psi in around 500 balls. Which when it wasn't on it literally could go through 1,000. Plus its not a big deal cause you don't have to get it, but the response trigger really adds that military feel.
- this gun is a very powerful gun the fps can go really high you have to be careful.
This is my 3rd marker and it is one of my favorites beyond any i mean its not good for speed ball of course but i mean it is a fun gun when shooting almost 15bps with a tippmann for the fun.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to a more built player.. Meaning has experience with tippmann products, and has experience playing paintball, and is into tactical/woodsball. It is a really fun gun to shoot, i really think its amazing.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 24th, 2010 at 7:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thefixer1911 Saturday, November 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2xtippmann 98c wgp trilgy w/qloader project salvo is better than both in looks and performance
Marker Setup: project salvo w/ cyclone upgrade w/ low pro x7 hopper etrigger utg scope riser w/ red dot utg front grip utg rail covers tac/ flashlight 2 point sling hpa tank w/ remote line
Strengths: Very good looking gun no chops w/ cyclone ok accuracy with good paint
Weaknesses: Weight but thats what you get with a woods ball gun
Review: I took it out to the field for the first time without testing it i ran only the cyclone feeder and hpa tank and never choped a ball with about 1000rds going through it. it never gave a problem it worked so nice i bought an alpha black for my girlfriend with the etrigger and swaped the trigger around and the gun still didnt chop but i only tested it so next game ill let you know
Conclusion: I'll tell everyone thats in to woods ball that this is a really good gun and you need to have one
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Snookdog Wednesday, September 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray II
Tippmann 98/98 custom
Tippmann A-5
Wg-75
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, RT, rocket cock, 18" Armson Barrel, JCS folding stock, dagger mount 48cu. in. Ninja HPA tank, 200rd hopper
Strengths: Looks
Feels durable
Its a Tippmann, GREAT Customer service
Weaknesses: Nothin' yet but I've only tested it
Review: A little background. I play woodsball in Idaho. I've been looking at opening a field in my town since there are none and i already have the ground for a woods field. I got this gun as a test for if i want to get them for rentals.
I received the marker in the mail today. First i put the stock on and it looks sweet! Mine is very solid feeling. You can grab it by the end of the stock and shake it all you want. NO WIGGLES! NONE!
Time for a shooting. Since it is 98 threads, I slapped my 12" Smart parts tear drop barrel (Lookin' for a short consistent barrel, it is the one!), screwed my HPA tank and a hopper with 50rds. I don't have a chrono so I'm not sure what is was shooting at. It shot damn good. I could consistently hit a post at about 60 ft. It is hard to sight down the sights though with the stock. I folded the stock and sighted down the sights. It was fairly accurate with the sights.
Features:
Front shroud- very strong considering it is help with one screw. The 4 picatinny rails are going to be very handy! It comes with a front sling mount. Soon it will be getting a folding front grip.
Folding stock- I give tippmann an A+ for it. It is strong and simple.
Clip tool kit- great design. The tools fit very tight, no rattling! Always know where your wrenches are and keep them from getting lost or taking up your pockets.
IT IS A TIPPMANN- great customer service! E-grip, RT and Cyclone feed compatible!
I have not stripped it yet but it is supposed to be very close the 98 which is very simple, for me of course i've had mine since 2004.
Conclusion: I recommend it! It met all my expectations. I would get it for rentals no doubt. Maybe mix in some alpha blacks since I would expect the same quality out of them. I give it an 8 which is high for me. A 10 would be a gun i would never put down.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XmunchaX Monday, December 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR 4
Marker Setup: new barrel, and board
Strengths: Duability, accuracy
Weaknesses: i would say weight but it is my GF's SO MAN UP
Review: sturdy weapon with good accuracy, doesn't waste air either, collapsable stock is a huge plus compaired to my MR4....feed neck is nice that is comes down also. Also great upgrades. If you can get the e-board for it you will be dominating in woods ball in NO TIME
Conclusion: Real good marker for woods ball and the look is amazing and feel we are in the military so she loves it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media