paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann US Army Project Salvo / Tippmann US Army Project Salvo / Tippmann US Army Project Salvo

Tippmann US Army Project Salvo Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann US Army Project Salvo

Paintball Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann US Army Project Salvo
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $149

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
We are excited to release the new U.S. Army Paintball Marker - Project Salvo…an exciting new marker from U.S. Army Paintball featuring a six position collapsible and foldable stock, an AR-15 style shroud with four built-in Picatinny rails and a new AR-15 style magazine that doubles as a helpful toolkit. The marker also incorporates a flat-top Picatinny rail built into the receiver, which makes it simple for players to quickly add a handle, site, scope or a variety of other modifications.

As an added benefit, the Project Salvo marker can be easily enhanced with an eGrip as well as several other performance upgrades from the Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum Series, including: the Cyclone Feed System, Response Trigger and Flatline barrel.

Much like Alpha Black, the name selected for this new marker is rooted in U.S. Military history. Project Salvo was a series of tests conducted by the U.S. Army’s Operations Research Office (ORO) from the mid to late 1950s. The research obtained through Project Salvo helped lead to the development of the AR-15, which would go on to become the M-16 – widely considered among the most respected and proven rifles ever utilized by the United States armed forces.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann US Army Project Salvo is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
cannonballcanno Wednesday, December 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: us army project salvo
remote line
swiss arms red dot sight
pure energey 20oz tank
view loader electric hopper
Strengths: Looks
Durable
Dosn't chop alot
Folding stock
price
Weaknesses: Kind of heavy
Stock barrel
A little to big
Review: This gun is awsesome! It's definatlycool looking. The syock barrel is not good at all but what stock barrel isn't. I also love love the collapsable stock ts preety usefull in woodsball cause if you want some shoulder suport you can fold it out but if you need to crawl you can fold it in.It's also easly cuztimizable since it take the 98 custom parts and you can get the e-grip and a cyclone feeder. Eventhough its kind of heavy. All of this has come from the one day i've played so if theirs going to be any problems with it they havn't had them yet soooo...... But so far it seems like you could really give this thing a beating . Cause i was down on a big muddy hill crawling on my stomach and it got covred in mud and then it got shot about 15 times when i stuck my gun out of behind a wall when i was cornered so its obviously sturdy. A bit of warnig never stick you finger upby the spring or hop up or what ever whatever the blowback ya i did and it destroyed my fingernail.The other great thing about is the price it's really cheap and reliable. Hope this was helpful
Conclusion: I love this gun and would reccomend it to anyone looking for a great starter woodsball marker definatly buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 30th, 2009 at 9:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dabeerman82 Monday, October 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98C
BT Delta
Marker Setup: Cyclone Feed
450 Round Offsest Hopper
Response Trigger (yes response, egrip no good when its moist conditions)
Aluminum Bolt
J&J Ceramic 14 inch (best 1 piece barrel on the market)
NcStar tactical sight
Strengths: Upgradability
Accurate
Durable
pure milsim looks
Accepts all 98 Custom parts
Weaknesses: Alittle heavy but hey its a milsim gun so stop complaining!
Review: Well its a tippmann. Durable it take a beating. Tons of upgrades availible since it accepts 98 customs parts. Comes with weaver rails all over the gun for sights, scopes or lasers. Comes with adjustable stock that folds. Cyclone, response, and egrip ready. Deadly accurate with J&J barrel and stock is also good but loud. Very easy to maintain and is very intimidating looking.
Conclusion: Definatly a gun i would recommend for any woodsball, scenario or hybrid field players. The gun is good all stock for beginners and has tons of mods for more advanced players. I have zero complaints about this gun but i give it a 9 instead of 10 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cuzmando Sunday, August 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann (TPN) Sierra One a.k.a. Project Salvo (known as Sierra One outside the U.S.)
Tacamo Arc Loader (fastest gravity fed hopper)
Trinity vertical grip with bipod (retractable)
One inch riser die-cast aluminium weaver rail
NcStar 1x25 compact red/green dot reflex sight
Strengths: Solid construction
Versatility
Picatinny rails
Tightening feedneck
Highly customisable
Weaknesses: Weight, but not really an issue
Review: This product is amazing, I am yet to fire it, but from the videos on youtube it looks very good. the folding butt stock is very versatile to adapt to gameplay and the six lengths make it good for everyone.

The tightening allen bolt on the feednack is awesome, I can hold the marker by the hopper and it won't fall off, although the marker is quite weighty it shouldn't be a problem for adults. The picatinny rails make it very customisable, and save you having to buy and install rails as you'd have to on an alpha black. With the top picatinny rail all you need is a one inch riser to fit a reflex sight (riser needed becaue your mask will no allow you to get your eye low enough)

The marker feels very solid and could handle a bit of abuse, not as solid as a real gun but solid enough. There are attachment eyes for slings, very handy due to the weight. my set up with no remote, CO2 tank or paintballs, weighs about 2.7kg or 6lbs. so it is a bit heavy but feels realistic. the iron sights are good but I chose to use a reflex sight over them as I like the reflex sight better and is better to use with a mask on, the iron sights, although looking authentic are too low for use with a mask on.

Conclusion: If you want a milsim marker then look no further, the looks and adaptability of this marker make it the best marker for the price on the market, with one guy on youtube actually prefering it to his X7, it can be upgraded easily (can add a cyclone feed, e-grip, response trigger etc) and it really does look the part. the only downside I think is that you can't put a double trigger on it, but that doesn't bother me. Best of all, you know it is reliable because it's a tippmann. It does require a bit of patience when taking it apart, no field stripping, but overall its an awesome marker, for the price and styling there is nothing better!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXHodgepodgeXx Saturday, November 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, Spyder Victor II, Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion w/ red body kit, QEV, Clamping feed neck, Roller saw trigger, Empire Reloader B (red), Pure Energy 68ci HPA tank
Strengths: Looks
Accuracy
Customizable
Dependable
Price
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: Okay, so i originally was going to Paintball Ohio, and saw that they had closed that specific store. The one day i wanted to buy a new gun. So i drove down the street to Dick's Sporting Goods, and looked at the Paintball guns. I saw the Project Salvo and Decided to buy it. for 135.00, i thought it was a good deal. I first used this gun at a friends birthday party. it comes apart for easy storage, so im putting it together piece by piece and everyone else at the party is crowding around me like im unpacking a bomb. the looks on their faces were priceless. they kept asking me where i got it, how much it cost, and more importantly if i would lead their team. the Project Salvo is simply awesome for woodsball, and with the collapsible stock, its good for rec ball too. i got 20 eliminations that day and was eliminated once, because i ran out of paint. buy this gun. you wont regret it. the nice thing about this gun is the rails. i used to play airsoft so i just swapped my accessories over to my project salvo and they work great. but the salvo is a bit heavy for me, its like 10 or 15 pounds with all my attatchments on it.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone who wants to play some fun woodsball, and not just be another 98 custom owner.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jveta172 Friday, June 17th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Vibe
Tippmann 98 Rental
Kingman Raven Nexion
Spyder TL
32 Degrees PTXtreme
Marker Setup: Tippmann Project salvo w/remote line, vertical foregrip, red dot sight
Strengths: Heavy Construction
Reliable
LOUD
Good Balance
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Nothing else so far
Review: Overall a great gun. I previously used electronic markers, but switched back to mechanical guns as they have a better feel to them and the trigger pull feels better. AMAZING price for a milsim gun. This gun is basically a Tippmann 98 Custom with a tactical package (somehow cheaper), and will accept 98 parts and upgrades. Heavy feel, reliable construction and great weight balance. Feels very realistic. The stock does not go well with a tank, so I recommend a remote line.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. It is constructed with sturdy material and is VERY FUN. More fun than any electronic marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mcd0minguez Thursday, January 13th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Tippmann 98
Kingman Spyder
Marker Setup: Stock Salvo
Strengths: Heavy Construction
Foldable Stock
Looks Realistic
Weaknesses: Heavy
Long
Review: I prefer small, light, and tight guns so this review is going to be bias. I received this gun as an Xmas gift and I attend to keep it as a back up. Tippmann guns are dependable but their heavy construction means that the weight is up there. It shoots pretty straight and accurate but the distance is not too great.
Conclusion: This is a great dependable gun. This gun is perfect for woodsball but will be heavy for smaller built players. I recommend a Rap4 drop foward $29, a Rap4 stubby tank $59, and a 98 Custom Flatline Barrel $79 to make the gun lighter and more efficient. I have all these on order and can't wait till they ship!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dolechek907 Sunday, December 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Strengths: Acurate, short barrel, awesome sights.
Weaknesses: Heavy, field stripping is crazy.
Review: Although the gun is heavy, it has very good accuracy. The rail is a nice extra to have so you can add other sights and grips. The BPS is pretty good. The adjustable and foldable stock is a nice advantage although it adds some extra weight. This is a great gun and is easy to use on the field.
Conclusion: I would recommend this PB gun to friends because it is quick, accurate, and sleek.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brownmccoy Thursday, September 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
A5
Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: Default gun
Stock barrel
20 Oz C02
Gravity feed hopper
Strengths: Accurate
Reliable
Ironsights
Weaknesses: Heavy
hard to clean
Review: The gun is one of the most intimidating looking guns right out of the box. It shoots fairly accurately with the stock barrel (I used an unknown 10" barrel someone lent me one time, and it increased the range whilst not being a high end barrel). I found it to shoot better than the 98 custom stock, as wells as the A5 (minus the cyclone feed which the A5 has) and Spyder MR1.

With a standard gravity feed hopper, this gun seems to have 1/6 shots or so (if shooting them within 3-4 seconds) not go through, but corrects itself afterward. It is also a heavy gun, but not too heavy if you get a detached C02 line. It also seems to use a lot of C02 (I used probably 75-85% of the 20 oz C02 tank and only fired around 350 shots, but the C02 indicator on the tank might have been off). It is also quite irritating to clean if you get shot in the rails around the barrel.
Conclusion: I'd reccomend getting a better barrel, followed by an electric/cyclone feed hopper, then an E trigger or response trigger, as well as a detached C02 line at some point.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 16th, 2010 at 3:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

al0eazUSMC Wednesday, June 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C/PRO
Tippmann A5
Tippmann X7
Marker Setup: Project Salvo w/ laserlyte kryptonight green laser, red laser w/ bottom rail and flashlyte(LL) Tippmann Cyclone Feed, TAC CAP and folding Tippmann forgrip.
Strengths: Adaptability
durability
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: Saw this at the local paintball store while on leave and since I no longer had any of my other markers I purchsed it thinking what the heck. It looks cool and it felt good. I took it out the next day with some friends after I customized it and upgraded it. After some simple velocity adjustments this marker performed perfectly! I also owned the AB and while the PS is pretty much the same thing I perfer the PS to the AB. Compared to the other Tippmann markers this thing is pretty much the same as the rest of those at half the price already milspeced out! I saved quite a few dollars on the PS then I would have on a new X7 and upgrades. If your new to paintballing and you want to get into woods ball and mil type games then this is the marker for you!
Conclusion: Came out of the box looking great! and after adding my spare laserlyte carbine laser to it this thing is a beast! I saw very few weaknesses that arent even work mention aside from how heavy it was. Nothing I havent gotten used to!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warhead1017 Thursday, October 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98,JT Tac-5.... runs pretty much as reliable as the 98, lets just leave the TAC alone
Strengths: Looks,comes with a stock, barrel is decent, comes with a tool kit mag
Weaknesses: The feeder falls off once in a while but other than that nothing
Review: I love the gun. my first decent marker since i was smart enuf to buy a TAC-5 first.... cant complain about anything but theres nothing spectacular about it either. ill update when i start putting some upgrades on it. I find the mag kit really useful, not to mention its pretty menacing looking when i take it out of my hit man style suitcase..
Conclusion: Good starting marker and runs great rite out of the box just had to weld the feeder tube on but that might just be me.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media