paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve

AKA Tornado Valve Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Tornado Valve

Paintball Autococker Valves

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Tornado Valve
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $79

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Tornado valve for the autococker Tired of running out of air? The tornado valve increases your efficiency (on order of 2000+ shoots per 20oz co2 tank). Can be used on Co2, Nitrogen or compressed air (must use regulator) Low pressure, 150-250 psi input. Manufactured of high-qualtiy heat-treated stainless steel
Product Availability 
The AKA Tornado Valve is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Unregistered User Friday, February 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Valve
Marker Setup: 2k2 autococker: Hinge Trigger, Armson Stealth Barrel, Tornado Valve, Bomb 3-way, STO ram, Kapp Dropzone and AGD Warp Feed
Strengths: Awsome air efficency and consistancy! With my 68-4500 tank I can easily shoot a 2000 count case with out refilling. My pressure is now down to 200 p.s.i. No ball breaks or chops to report. A must have for a custom Autococker!
Weaknesses: Difficulty to install (Recommend Airsmith).
Conclusion: Great add-on to any autococker! A must have if you want low pressure and great efficency!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alien Chicken Friday, January 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none like it
Marker Setup: 98 Vert Feed Autococker anodized pewter. OTP Dream Series Barrel System and a black 12 inch CP Barrel. Fiber wrapped 68 4500 Nitro Duck Tuff Skin. Chrome Kapp Kradel and a Black Palmer Stabalizer. Chrome ANS front block, ANS Jackhammer, and Chrome WGP Swing Tigger. Tornado Valve and a Chrome 15 degree kickstand. Clear 12 vt Revolution. And finally, a Redz tank Glove.
Strengths: I used to have a 3000 psi 68 ci tank. It was finshed in like 450-500 shots. When i got my tornado is shot like half a case before it needed reloading. My cocker is very low pressure. 120-150 psi :)
Weaknesses: its kinda hard to figure out how to get inside markers and install then correctly. learn from my mistake and let someone who knows what they are doing and let them do it for you
Conclusion: it paid for itself in like 15 fills
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI high-flow valve -- didn't seal well and didn't really improve performance
Marker Setup: 98 Cocker w/AKALMP LP internals, Rock, quickswsitch, 45 grip, Vigilante/WGP reg on CO2, DYE alum. barrel
Strengths: Constructed out of steel -- no worries about wear/damage! Has sealed fine for me from day 1. Helped me get my input pressure down near 200psi (which helps reduce ball breaks), added significant efficiency (shots per cylinder). I run CO2 quite effectively with it. The set-screw is machined to a point for positive locating of the valve -- something a lot of other valves could really use!
Weaknesses: PRICE is the big one -- it's the most expensive cocker valve out there. It puts a higher demand on your gas system in terms of volume -- you need free-flowing regs and enlarged gas passages (not an issue on 98 cockers and later), and maybe even a volume cell ("valve extender"). Consistent pressure is also critical since pressure is used to set velocity with the Tornado, so if you're running CO2 like me, you need two regs. The stainless body doesn't deform at all when installing so the retainer nut came loose more often on me. I fixed this with the O-ringed nut (KAPP).
Conclusion: High quality and performance -- at a price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 9th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This is a great valve for the following reasons:
1. It allows you to lower the operating pressure on your gun.
2. It makes the gun more gas efficient.
3. It make the velocity more consistent.
Weaknesses: It's a lot more expensive than other valves, but I still think it is worth it. Note: you need to have other low pressure components (high flow reg, softer springs, front air chamber, high flow bolt, 98 size air chamber) to maximize this valve's potential.
Conclusion: Definitely worth the money to lower the operating pressure. I Highly recommend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kato Monday, March 26th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: 1. Most efficient valve available for an autococker. I have one in both of my cockers(my Sandridge and my personal custom one), and they both get unbelieveable efficiency. I shot ~1800 rounds from my custom autococker with a 300 psi fill @ 285 fps.---The reason is that this valve will shoot balls until the pressure reads almost 0 on your gauge. Thats right, almost 0. The valve reduces operating pressure of your gun to around 120 psi or so depending on you spring selection on the hammer. But my guns will shoot paint at 285 fps even though my gauge reads almost zero(granted these gauges are not really precise). The downfall to this is that I noticed that from 3000-2000 psi, you don't get that many shots, and from 2000-1000 psi, you get roughly double the amount of shots, and the last 1000 you get almost half of the maximum amount of shots!! This becomes problematic if you are sharing a scuba tank with someone and toping off after every game. Beacuse you will fill(top-off) more often so that your gauge will read 3000 psi. However, if you drain your bottle to 100-200 psi then you won't have this problem. Some days I find myself bringing along my scuba tank for no reason. But then again I play front, and I don't shoot as much. Those who play back will probably have to top-off only once if you shoot a case-and-a-half and you wait until you've almost drained your bottle before topping-off.
2. Makes the gun more consistent. This valve works by making your cocker's velocity flow dependent. And flow is controlled by you regulator, not you hammer kit. So what you do is back the velocity screw all the way out, and adjust your regulator till it plateaus. Then turn up your velocity screw till it reaches the proper velocity. In this scenario, the gun's velocity is controlled by the regulator and not the hammer. So if you have a high quality and consistent regulator like Palmer's, MacDev Gladiator, Black Ice, or some Vigilante's( NOTICE ANS Gen-X is not one of them) it follows that your velocity will be consistent. I've set up a number of autocockers with velocities of +/- 1 fps with this valve and a good reg.
Weaknesses: 1. Like I said earlier, those who feel the need to top-off after every game will find that you're draining your scuba fast. You will need to change you tank filling habits.
Conclusion: This valve performs well on any 98 or newer autococker(these have larger valve chambers). Older autocockers will need to have the valve chamber enlarged by a GOOD airsmith to get this valve to work. But it is by far the best valve on the market, and I have tried them all. I really recommend this valve to those players who cna't afford a scuba tank or the means to lug one around, because you can get a fill at your local store, and pretty much play the whole day depending on you much paint you dump. I would give this valve a 10, but I didn't leave the "bad" box empty.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SephirothOWA Sunday, December 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve
Marker Setup: '01 Autococker- Blade Hinge, ANS Pneumatics, Orracle bolt, ANS inline Reg, Dye Ultralite, AKA Tornado Valve, ACI Hammer kit, WGP 15 degree ASA
Strengths: It is a GREAT low pressure valve. It needs much less air than it does with your stock valve. It also keeps your fps about the same.
Weaknesses: The price is about all I can think of I mean $70 for something smaller than my finger is a lot of money, but you get what you pay for.
Conclusion: This is a great upgrade if you are going all out on upgradeing you gun, but its not really a needed one. Price is really high so it gets a 9.5 but I guess I'll round up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jon_doe48 Tuesday, February 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
3:16RAT VALVE
WGP ORRICLE VALVE
WGP STO VALVE
Marker Setup: 07 Macdev Cyborg w/ PBK Saber Delrin Trigger
06 ego w/ dark frame, violent trigger, M7 tadao board, and warped sportz titanium rammer
CP on/off
KAPP drop forward
68/4500 pmi tank
dye rhino cover
14" Stiffi switch kit
Strengths: Low operating pressure
Easy to install
Great customer service
Avalible for most common markers
Weaknesses: Pricey, but worth it
Hard to find
Review: Never thought I would buy this valve based on the price, but was then blown away to find out that one was available online for a steal of a price. After purchasing it, installing it, and taking it out for a test run, i have now purchased 3 more straight from the factory at full price. I average about 2400 shot from a 68/4500 tank with my ProStock cocker pump, 2200 from my SuperStock E2 cocker as well as my 03 vertical cocker, and 2300 from my 05 black magic.

Customer service was amazing. When i lost the stem from my valve, they were more than happy to provide one to me.
Conclusion: Though expensive, these valves are worth every cent spent. This is the best upgrade, performance wise, that you can get for your marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Grin Reaper Saturday, April 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock valves
Marker Setup: Hollow point 3-way , Jam-anti chop bolt, jackal 90*swing, reloader B, on a mech autococker what else matters??
How many times have you seen a ref ask a guy with a mech. cocker if he had it on auto?
www.madcocker.com for the bolt.!!!
Strengths: Very low pressure
Increased accuracy
2000+ balls from my 16oz. co2
Weaknesses: Only fits genuine worr bodies (the only ones worth buying)
Review: This vavle coupled with a kapp low pressure chamber, aka hammer and matched spring kit, aka 2-liter second reg., palmers female stabilizer ( which is neccessary to run co2 on the 2-liter) is awesome.
I run at 180 psi !!!

Just do yourself a favour and start with the matched hammed and spring kit.
Conclusion: Great buy!! just match it with an aka hammer and spring kit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SocraticB Thursday, May 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve
ANS valve
Red Valve
Palmer's vavlve
Powerlyte
STO
Marker Setup: 2004 WGP Karnivor with stock pneumatics and Planet Eclipse E2 Eblade upgrade.

1999 Right Feed WGP 'cocker with Bomb, Planet Hinge, Palmer's Ram/LPR, AKA Sidewinder, AKA Tornado Valve, AKA Lightining Bolt
Strengths: Flow
Build Quality
Reliability
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I've used AKA's Tornado Valve on all the 'cockers I've built or upgraded. I don't use any other, as this one is the best I've found (when I find a product that tops the competition, I stick with it). My impressions are:

I. STRENGTHS

Fit & Finish

The Tornado is well-made, with no milling marks. The interior of the valve body is smooth and polished, and the piston has no burrs and the seat seals well. It is clearly high-flow, as it is bored extremely wide.

Flow

The Tornado's flow is astounding. I dropped an old '99 right feed from needing 600psi minimum input down to about 250psi input from an adjustable HPA tank. The higher flow and reduced psi input dropped the sound signature in both volume and tone, as well. The marker is now low pressure AND significantly quieter - perfect for woodsball. I have noticed no drop-off or shootdown at high rates of fire. The front pneumatics appear to be more consistent, as well.

Reliability

I've had this valve since early 2002; never needed to replace the seat or troubleshoot the valve. It's worked perfectly, and consistently, since it was installed.

II. WEAKNESSES

Price

The Tornado is one of the most expensive valves out there - like most AKA products, it ain't cheap. However, I have found it to be the best, bar none, and worth the price.
Conclusion: The Tornado, especially when coupled with a Tornado bolt, Palmer LPR, Sidewinder reg, and Bomb 3-way, produces the lowest pressure, most reiable and fastest mech 'cockers I've ever used. Can't be beat on specs. However, if you are low on cash, and only need a valve that works and don't need low pressure,, you may want to look elsewhere.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KlumpDud Monday, November 19th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Autococker valve
Marker Setup: 2k1 Vertical Feed Autococker w/ ANS Quick Pull bolt, Palmer MicroRock, Taso LPC, Psycho Ballistics Drop-forward, Dye 45 grip frame, Dye Sticky grips, Dye aluminum 12" barrell, Shocktech trigger plate
Strengths: This product does what it's supposed to do, and it does it very well. If you're looking to lower the operationg pressure of your Autococker, then this is THE valve you need. Accept no substitues. This valve is extremely consistent and it will allow your 'Cocker to run between 150 and 300 psi. For the lowest pressure possible on a 'Cocker, you also need an adjustable front reg, high flow bolt, low pressure chamber, light mainspring, and heavy hammer.
Weaknesses: Nothing is actually bad. However, I give a word of warning: if you don't know what you're doing, don't try to install the valve yourself. That said, it's a great product!
Conclusion: This is the best valve for the Autococker! If you're looking to lower your pressure and up your consistency, then buy the Tornado valve from AKA!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media