paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Crossfire Stub Air System / Crossfire Stub Air System / Crossfire Stub Air System

Crossfire Stub Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Crossfire

Buy Crossfire Stub Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Crossfire Stub Air System
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 78
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
70CI carbon fiber-wrapped tank with regulator, 5 year hydro. This tank is about 1/2in shorter than a 45/4500. Compact size for the front player and plenty of capacity to play mid. weight 3.05 diameter 4.25 length 10.5.
Product Availability 
The Crossfire Stub Air System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
bearshockey87 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months27 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Macdev Legion Air(Closest to Crossy-this is the one tank that i think i might buy over the crossy, lighter than crossy and similar reg to crossy),Crossfire 68/4500(Same impression as the stubby, would definitively reccomend) ,PMI 68/4500(Quality control issues-it leaked like nobody's business), Dxs 68/45(Nice tank- i found it wierd to use because it isn't a full size tank, but not a full stubby), Centerflag (Very nice tank), Steely 47/3 (haha- no comparison), Steely 72/3(haha- no comparison), Crossfire 45/4500(closest in size to stubby, would buy again)
Marker Setup: SP Ion
360 Qev
L7 Bolt
Freak Jr barrel
Q-lock
S-rail
CP Trigger
Crossy 70/45 with Dye rhino cover
Egg II (Soon to be Halo with V35 board)
Strengths: Size
Reg recharge rate
Capacity
Easy to read gauge
Strong
Weaknesses: Weight
Price(220)- This is for all cf tanks, though, and it is worth it!
Review: The crossfire tank that i have experience is the 70ci/4500psi LP (Blue Reg) (It uses a 450psi output pressure, in comparison to the HP reg, which is a 850psi output). I ordered my tank off the internet for 220 dollars, but now you can find it for 210 dollars. It arrived about 7 months ago. I have used it 2-3 times a week since then .It arrived wrapped in a soft protective foam. Then it was wrapped in bubble wrap, then it came double boxed. It was good knowing that the company cared if the tank got damaged or not! Anyways, here the review!

Looks, User friendliness, and first impression.
- Personally I think stubbies look awesome on guns! The crossfire I have has a blue reg (LP), but if you have a high pressure, it will be red. The tank has an extremely large and easy to read gauge. The actual bottle is a white-ish carbon fiber (note: this is a newer SCI bottle, crossfire started using these in 03, the older stubbies were 72/45 dark fiber GCI bottles) The label on the bottle has 70ci 4500 psi with the awesome crossfire logo on it. These tanks look great without anything on them, but even with a tank cover on you still see a blue/red/platinum band with crossfires logo on it!
-The crossfire 70/45 is really easy to use, just attach the fill nipple to the fill station and the tank is filled. Then just screw the tank into the asa of your marker and boom you're ready to go.
-My first impression of the tank is of extreme quality! The tank is very smooth and the threads were in perfect shape. The fill nipple was all the way in and not dirty (unlike my PMI tank).

First fill:
As soon as i got my tank i ran to my local paintball store and got a cool, slow fill to 4500psi. To see if i has any leak i had to restrain myself and i let the tank sit a week to see if it had any leaks. After the week the pressure feel to about 4450 psi. That was the best surprise this tank had for me! On the contrary, my old PMI tank lost about 2000psi in a week due to a whole leak from the reg, which i rebuilt and then had PMI rebuild it and it still didn't help. The gauge is also the most accurate gauge on the market, some of my other tanks were off by 300 or more psi!

Capacity and size:
Whether you like a stubby tank or a regular size tank is your decision. I personally like stubbies, because i am a front man and it makes my setup very small, but i still can get the amount of shots i would get off of a 68/45. My stubby is 10.75 inches long and 4.25 circumference. This is compared to a 68/45 which is 12.25-12.5 inches long. My stubby is about 3 pounds filled. A 68/45 is about 2.5 filled. In real life, unless you have no muscle, .5 pounds you won't even feel the difference. I would rather sacrifice size for weight. When i first got my tank, i took my qev off to see efficiency of this tank with my ion. I got about 1450 off of my first fill. Sweet. The next fill i got 1400 shots! Sweeter! I then installed my qev again. The first fill with the qev i got 1700 shots! Woah! Then when i got my L7 bolt, I installed it and wanted to see about how many shots i got . I got 1850 shots! This is what i love about a stubby. I can play front with a nice tight setup and if i want to play outlaw ball i can get it filled and be fine for a day to play around with my friends!

Regulator:
As many paintballers already know, crossfire makes some of the best regs in the business. They have a wonderful recharge rate of 10ms! I have an ion which i run at like 120-140psi depending on what fps i need. This LP tanks works fine on my ion. Even if you have a stock ion, you can run this LP tank on it. I have absolutely no shoot-down at 17bps, even when i didn't have my qev and L7 bolt. This reg is made out of top quality stainless steel! One note is that if your reg is creeping (if you blow your 1800psi burst disk, this is a sign of reg creeping) or you have a reg problem (which i doubt you will, these regs rock!) you have to send it back to crossfire to be rebuilt or fixed. Crossfire regs aren't user serviceable.

Condition and Strength:
I have used this tank for 7 months now, and you wouldn't even know it! If you looked at this tank now, you would think it was close to brand new. The fibers are fine, with no chips, cuts, and unraveling. My regulator still looks brand new and the threads are fine. These tanks are really strong, but I highly highly highly recommended a tank cover. I mean you paid 220 for a tank, 25 dollars isn't that much. I recommend the dye rhino tank cover, it looks stylish, protects your tank, and provides a grip on your shoulder. A few of my friends have used their crossy tank without a cover and nothing went wrong, but i really don't recommend it. I also recommend a thread protector, so if you drop your tank the threads won't be ruined. With a tank cover and thread protector, and if you feel the need a fill nipple cover, your tank will be fine!

Conclusion: This is my favorite tank i have ever used! The company is a great company. They have the best customer service and everybody who works their is really nice! The crossy 70/45 is small, has a great reg, a huge shot capacity, its strong, and has a great gauge(most accurate on the market. It is expensive, but it is worth it. I would give this tank a 9.5 just because you can't rebuild the reg yourself! This tank is so durable, i haven't had any leaks, thread proplems,fiber problems, or reg problems. Buy it! Any questions ask in comments
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

skateordie1219 Saturday, June 16th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye throttle - Way more expensive and a bit lighter but bigger

PMI - Heavier, not as efficient

Java - Ewwwww
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix rail w/ ND trigger, ASA, and rear bolt cap
Tadao musashi 7 PM7 board
Ultralight barrel with 12" and 14" tips
Crossfire 70/4500 Stubby
Halo B v35
Dye Invision i3 Goggle
Mantis 3+2 pack
Strengths: Size
Weight
Consistency
Shots per fill
Weaknesses: None!
Review: I bought this tank for my pmr a few months ago and i was really amazed by how light and small it is for how many shots you get from it. I am going to list everything seperate though.

Size
It is a very small tank, just one inch shorter than a standard 48/3000 tank and one inch thicker. You can really pull your marker in tight even without a drop when you use this tank.

Weight
The weight on this tank is also pretty good, its not the lightest but it is light enough at 2.85 pounds when full.

Effieciency
I get about 1200-1400 shots per fill with my PMR. I think thats very good, my friend only gets 1100 tops with his PMI tank.

Reg/Gauge
The reg is nice and short and keeps the air flow very high and consistent, the gauge is very accurate (+/- 50 psi) and dpes not get in the way at all.

Price
I got mine for $150 new on ebay but they run about $180 which is cheaper then most carbon wrap tanks, let alone stubbys (PMI 68/45 costs 200 and dye costs 225)

Conclusion: Very good, light consistent tank, would recommend for any front/mid player.

Please let me know if this review was helpful, also please comment it with any questions or challenges to my review. Or just to let me know how good of a job i did
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

HimuraX Sunday, December 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Basically just CO2-not anywhere near as good as this (This is my first N2 tank)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel
68ci/3000psi crossfire stubby
Black Dye Sticky Grip
Strengths: Price
N2
The helpful gage
No Air Leakage
No ball drop-off
Weaknesses: No on/off
A bit heavy
Review: I received this item for christmas and was quite happy when I got it. The next day I took it out for testing. I used some Draxxus Rec-Sport paint. I first tried it our with my nine ounce. Not very good, I had a feeling the tank was nearly empty after a just a little play. I tried with my 20 ounce co2 tank and the results seemed to be about the same. Then when I put on the Crossfire tank, I was amazed at how little Air leakage there was. Just an extreamly quick "whisp" and it was in. I shot an entire hopper and every ball went strait, flat, and went out of site. (My gun did have a flatline barrel) I was very impressed. The next day we had bunch of small four man games in my back yard. We used teams of two and I saw a great deal of wonderful preformance. At the end of the day the tank was almost empty, but it kept shooting strait until it's very last shot.
Conclusion: Deffinetaly a great thing to buy for your first step up to nitrogen. It is deffinetaly a good price for what you get. It gets a ten out of ten for it's wonderful performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

progxballer4 Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just some other CO2 tanks
Marker Setup: Tippmann with RT, drop, 2x trigger, rear cocking system, pro team bolt, 16 in striker series barrel, richochet 2k and some other lil stuff
Impulse with vision. smaller feed neck, magnetic trigger and EVO II
ANS GX4 Chaos, EVO II,Crossfire 70/4500 Stubby,Dye Rhino blue tank cover,ANS black nipple cover,ANS 14 two piece barrel,Pair of QEV's ( quick exhaust valves )
Alias Intimidator ( not mine, friend let me borrow it for a week )
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I got a bad O-ring and pin inside the nipple, nothin 2 bad, just 10 bucks to fix, a lotta shots, i have the 70/4500 and i get atleast 1500 shots outta it, sounds like alot, but on my ANS GX4 its perfect, really small, i love to tuck so it lets me tuck easily, its up to you but i recomend getting a big drop, the one on the ANS GX4 is perfect for me, the back of the tank lines up with the back of the beaver tail on the gun and also lines up with the back of the EVO II so it balances out perfectly, the Dye Rhino peanut cover fits good on it, just picture the tank without anything on it, no guage no nipple, no anything besides the tank itself, like just the carbon fiber wrapped part, when its tighly on the tank the tank cover is like one centimeter away from top, sorry if you dont know what i mean its really hard to explain but it fits nicely, and just get a nipple cover, i recommend the ANS nipple cover with the chain, it looks nice and you cant loose it either.
Conclusion: Its great, small, light, get this beast
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeadEyE Thursday, June 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Crossfire 88ci 3000ps-pretty much the same thing only bigger
-bulldog 68ci 3000psi quility is no wear near crossfire
Marker Setup: 02' vert. red w/ Shocktech-lpr,front block , bolt, ball detent, drop, ram, ANS 3-way, SP AllAmerican barrel, KAPP Reflex frame, KAPP twisted cocking rod, DYE sticky 3.
Strengths: -price
-shape
-consietency
Weaknesses: -none
Review: When I first got this tank I was so excited. It is much nicer than an 68ci 4500psi because of the shape. It is so much easier to get tucked in. the weight might fell heavier but I think it is how the weight is distrubuted due to its shape. The consistency is very good and I dont seem to have any drop off. The DYE rhino tank cover fits perfect on this too. The guage is nice and small so it doesnt get in the way.
Conclusion: Overall I think this tank is the best you can get for around $200.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bkowner2003 Monday, May 26th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
20 oz. c02 , id rate this higher, becuase i actually got to use it more than once :) .
Marker Setup: Blue 3rd Gen. BKO With Chrome 32 degrees universal drop. a blue 12vt revvy with xboard.
Strengths: -3rd fastest recharge reg on the market.
-great customer support.
-supposedly reliable :( .
-cool mascot
Weaknesses: -only "supposedly" reliable :( .
-smells bad. just kidding.
Review: Very small and light, great reg, 3rd best tank reg on the market, looks cool, cool mascot, tough, i am basing the reg performance on other people, ive barely shot 20 balls out of this. this thing broken down, like jimmy crack corn, and i didn't care, Crossfires support is nice, and cool, and they replaced the reg for free, and made it all look new with a shiny new sticker, but i got it and it broken again, thats already braking twice in like one month. and i sent it out, and its still there.
but the second time they said it was the fillers fault. since it has a great reg, great customer support, and cool mascot, really light, and small. but i cant get the darn thing to work. so i give it a 6. maybe once it works, i can up the rating a bit.
Conclusion: give it a 6. maybe once it works, i can up the rating a bit. i recommend, it if you are ready to spend 20 dollars, just to get it to work, atop of the reasonable price.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

philhaed1 Tuesday, March 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
co2
68/3000 centerfire
Marker Setup: Tipmmann 98C
70/4500 stubby
Ricochet 2k
Lapco bigshot
trigger job and other internal works
Strengths: compact
good regulator
consistant
+/- 500 more shots over 3000
Weaknesses: weight
Review: I have only shot a case with this tank so far, but like the fast charge rate. regulator makes no noise like some do. it is a little heavy like a full 20 oz. co2. the subby design is great for tucking your gun in better for a more compact package. the 4500 psi over the 3000 is good too. even with the gas hog I use the air lasts alot longer. going from co2 to HPA is equivalent to upgrading your stock barrel.
Conclusion: Its a great buy, worth buying. in my opinion a barrel and HPA are the most important upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

myredgunz Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
used a friends centerflag tank when i shoot his gun and co2
Marker Setup: 04 vert cocker red
kapp drop zone 3 with on off red
88 fat 4500 cross fire nitro tank
red kalibur tank cover 88 fat
red halo b with code z
coming soon
nexus kit
eblade
new regs
Strengths: lots of shots comfortable good preformance good price good company
Weaknesses: none except finding tank covers see review for solution
Review: the tank is good quailty i really like it.it is not to big, made by crossfire good company, affordable for a nitro tank. looks good, feels good,you can tuck real nice if you have a good drop.there is no weaknesses in this product except finding tank covers which you will have to do a little searching for. its not too heavy in the least.i wouldnt reccomend any other tank for the same price.
Conclusion: i am very happy with this tank.it wont let you doone this is a good quality tank.the very best for the price.there are many strengths and give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 6:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazyman Friday, December 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire 68/4500. All other HPA tank regs stink and aren't even worth mentioning.
Marker Setup: Blue to Black Fade DM4
Empire Reloader B
72/4500 Crossfire Peanut Tank
Some other stuff...
Strengths: Small.
Air Capacity.
Regulator.
Price.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: The Crossfire 72/4500 Peanut tank is definitely worth the money. Most tanks, which I won't name, go for upwards of 300 dollars for a 68, which is longer and more hard to manuver than the peanut tank. The peanut also holds more air, which means more shots. The regulators on crossfire tanks are AWSOME. They are so consistent.
Conclusion: For it's size, air capacity, weight, and great regulator, this tank gets my vote!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xoopiter-Jeff Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
- Dye Throttle
- Pure Energy Steel tank
Marker Setup: - S/P Black Ion
- Palmer's Stabilizer w/low pressure kit
- Freak Kit
- Kila detents
- Shocktech Locking Feedneck
- NDZ Trigger
- NDZ Drop
- CP on/off asa
- Hybrid lady grips
- Orange Unicorn Bolt
- QEV
- Crossfire 70/4500 Stubby.
Strengths: - Recharge Rate
- Light
- Nice Reg
- Small
- Consistancy
Weaknesses: - Gauge is a little big
- Price
Review: I switch from a Steel Pure energy to the crossfire stubby for a lighter tank and boy did I get one. The Crossfire stubby is very light and the best tank Ive ever played with. Although the gauge is a little big which might be a problem if you are using small drops but its very minor. I paid $249.99 for this tank Canadian which is fairly expensive but its definitely worth it. The tank is very consistent compared to some of the tanks Ive tried. This tank is definitely worth a look if you are in the market for a tank.

Conclusion: Great tank from a great company. Definitely worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media