paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator

AKA Sidewinder Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Sidewinder Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Sidewinder Regulator
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $95

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The sidewinder regulator was designed specifically for use on the Excalibur because of its extremely low operating pressure. The regulator will work extremely well on other guns as well. The design of the regulator permits the air hose to be connected to the gun in any location the user wishes within a 360 degree circle around the base of the reg, while still allowing the regulator to be externally adjusted from the bottom. The top endcap of the regulator can be replaced with different length ones to allow the user to adjust total length of the reg.
Product Availability 
The AKA Sidewinder Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
noakerski Friday, December 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rattler
Black magic
Max-flo
Marker Setup: 2004 impulse tricked to the max
Strengths: Incredible Flow
Awesome recharge Rate
Amazingly consistent
Easily Adjustable
Weaknesses: Expensive
Heavy
Ugly
Review: I replace my bottomline max-flo with this reg and im glad i did.This reg is one of the top performers.It is a little expensive at $95 bucks, But you really appreciate it when you get to the chronos.Although this reg sticks out like a sore thumb on almost every gun imaginable it out perform everything i have ever seen.I mean its not all about looks.is it?
Conclusion: I give this reg a 7 based on looks.But im so amazed by this regs peformance That i give it a 12 based on that aspect.So overall its gonna get a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Ergo: good intermediate reg, but too uncomfortable and not as consistent
ANS reg: good performance and easy to adjust, but heavy SS bottom half
Marker Setup: WAS/ACE Viking, Crossfire 70/45, Halo, St!ffi
VSC Micro Phantom
Strengths: -Looks
-Swivel fitting
-Consistency
Weaknesses: Price (though I would pay $150 for it)
Review: This is the stock reg on Viking, blah blah blah...short of the 2-Liter it is probably the best reg out there, and is my personal favorite. It looks awesome and goes well with the minimalist look of an unmilled Viking, it's easy to adjust, maintenance consists of dropping in a bit of AKA lube now and then...and it's consistent. Very, very much so. Readings of +/- 1 and 2 are had regularly, with decent paint and barrels, on my Viking.

It's a small thing, but the swivel fitting on the bottom is a godsend. No more having your macro fitting sticking right into the palm of your hand...you can just swivel it around to the other side. The 'winder is very smooth and nondescript, so it also makes an excellent and very comfortable handgrip in addition to its regulating ability.If you're on a tight budget, buy a CP reg. If you can afford to spend 20 more, buy a Sidewinder. If you're rolling in dough and need every last bit of performance from your parts, buy a 2-Liter. That's all there is to it.
Conclusion: If you have a Viking or Excal with one, keep it...if you have any other marker...buy one. Or a 2-Liter if you're so inclined.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HELLSPAWN Saturday, February 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Torpedo, AA mesiah
Marker Setup: Spyder Aggressor, CiP Assualt Block , CiP Fullforce ,AKA Sidewinder ,Rocket valve,Freak ,Boo-Yah , and shocktech drop w/thor
Strengths: -Consistency
-high volume [when using the tallest its really good]
-high flow
-swivel end cap
Weaknesses: -looks to some people but to me it means business
Review: Well I recieved this reg from Splatt Entertainment a few weeks ago. When I got it outta the package I fell in love. This reg doen't use looks to sell obviously but it looks nice and simple to me. Anyways I put this on my lp spyder and emptied my hole tank. It was increadibly consistent and I had no problems with it. The appearance is a little acward in the fact of the hard anno kind is lighter than black but thats not a problem fot me. The thing never gave me any problems

Conclusion: Great reg, decently priced. Not purely cosmetics, it more of a performer than a looker. I really suggest it if ur looking for a good reg
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

torbo Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp ergoreg, angel mini reg, pure energy reg, max flow
Marker Setup: Black 2002 Angel IR3
Cobra trigger
12" Dye Aluminum

Blue 2002 STO Atucocker
WGP 2 piece barrel
WGP hinge frame with flame trigger
AKA Sidewinder
Strengths: see below
Weaknesses: see below
Review: high flow. Ive never seen shootdown, even on trixes or timmys shooting 20 bps
consistant. Ive got no numbers, but its very consistant for sure
different lengths. You can buy it in different lenghts so it will clear your drop, etc.
swiveling bottom. Its easy that way to mount your air lines

uh bad is that it is rather expensive, although worth the money. And it doesnt look great, rather plain, but its quite all right.
Conclusion: well worth the money. In my mind the best performing reg on the market. 9 for the plain looks and expense.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

diverdown Sunday, November 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Stock inline reg
Marker Setup: BKO Bushmaster,AKA Sidewinder,AKA Mighty Max, AKA Tornado Valve, 12" Freak Barrel, System X drop w/on-off, PE 68/3000
Strengths: ready to go, right out of package
Weaknesses: If using marco line do not screw in adapter too far into the reg
Review: I have just started using this product from AKA. To start with the tech support is very user friendly and easy to get in touch with. I have replaced the stock reg and a Thor sec stage reg for the Sidewider...........and what a difference just this single reg made. OUTSTANDING.........hats off to AKA................the base of the reg rotates to make the connection to your air supply easy. Just do not screw it in too far for it will have an affect on the air coming in. Like I said Tech's are very user friendly at AKA.
Conclusion: If you decide that you want play this sport and have a good system to shoot, try the sidewinder as your reg, you will be very pleased that you did. Vapor works....well i ordered some stuff from them...but still have not gotten them......go ahead and spend a couple of dollars more........get AKA
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WDP minireg, stock cocker reg. The minireg does not like LP, and the stock reg you can adjust without opening it up.
Marker Setup: 2k2VF cocker, shocktech front, wdp inline reg, chrome dye pivot, other goodies.
Strengths: well, it has been super consistent since day 1. I dont really get that "ring" noise. You can choose what size you want, or you can change the size later.
Weaknesses: Well, it's not soo bad, the adjuster is a little tight when it's gassed. I like that. Nothing really bad about it. Not even the price, it's cheaper than an ans gen x for example.
Conclusion: Well, if you want a reliable reg that is good for LP, and will not give you problems get it. You cant attach a gauge unless you have it tapped.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dexecon Tuesday, February 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra with sidewinder and N2
Strengths: Very smooth, makes the xtra more consistent. Dont have to worry about cold weather freezing up CO2 when i have N2 and the regulator. It is the same company that makes the Viking and Excalibur so you know it will be top quality.

Weaknesses: None, maybe a little on the expensive side but it's worth it !!!
Conclusion: This regulator is as good as a Palmer but the sidewinder is easier to get. I live in Canada and its hard to get a Palmer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 9th, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Very high flow, very light, easy to disassemble and maintain, swivel base is a nice touch for aligning hoses, three different body lengths allow you to customize the regulator to fit your style and desired air volume.
Weaknesses: Lower body comes unscrews from the upper body before the upper body unscrews from the gun. A little pricey.
Conclusion: Worht the money. Lighter and higher flowing than Air America regs. I would highly recommend this product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, September 20th, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This is an awesome reg. It is so consistant. I have used this reg on almost all of the many guns I have owned. Great tournament reg, after i got this reg it helped me with my "hot gun" penalty problem. Now my team isn't pi$$ed at me that often. I think this is the second best reg out there, since i prefire the Centerflag inline reg.
Weaknesses: The bad thing about this reg is
-it is priced pretty high, but is worth it.
-it is ugly, but a good second grip.
- the thing pops apart to easily when i am cleaning itor taking off some stuff.
- It is to hard to adust when it is pressurized.
- oh yeah all the ones i have had had rung like a damn telephone. At tournaments, I can here people saying, " hey i heard you comming" or on the field, " o $#it here comes the cocker guy" This is good sometimes since it tells people i am coming and then it strikes fear in to them. HAHAHAHAHA
Conclusion: Over all it is a sweet re. I think AKALMP needs to do some cosmetic work on it and they should stop the ringing thing. It is defenitaly worth it, but i would rather have a centerflag inline reg. It is better looking, just as consistant and doesn't ring. I think the swiveling thing is cool, it saved some of my hoses and it is at the bottom unlike the centerflag, it feels better. I also think it needs a gauge like the centerflag and grips. I think dye should make sticky grips for regs!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media