paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PGI Mayhem / PGI Mayhem / PGI Mayhem / PGI Mayhem

PGI Mayhem Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PGI

Buy PGI Mayhem

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PGI Mayhem
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electro pneumatic closed bolt system, left, right, or center hand feed, and accepts all gases.
Product Availability 
The PGI Mayhem is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
mykowl Sunday, July 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Supernova ET - this marker is very well-built and as accurate as they come, but much heavier than the mayhem. The two guns share the same basic design and regulator/ drop.
Marker Setup: Mayhem EC #540, looks like a version 2 but I'm not sure
lots of cocker barrels, you really can't have too many.
CO2 off the back- this marker, like the rest of the nova line, won't see any benefit from compressed air. It is that simple. The reg is dynamite, and mine chrono's +/- 3 or fewer fps. Low pressure operation means the CO2 can't be lower pressure than the gun until it's all gas in the bottle.
Recommended
Upgrades:
lots of barrels. Something to replace that evil board it comes with (capped at 8 bps, cycles for you instead of cocker-style boardless like the Supernova ET, and stores shots) what were they thinking on that one?
Strengths: Closed bolt
Very light, small
Great regulator- CO2 operation to perfection
Cocker barrels!
Fairly cheap
Weaknesses: Evil board
Gas hog
Chops the last ball
Review: I'm sort of a sucker for cheap electros. Not sear-trippers mind you (those aren't electros anyway). All I've gotten so far is this and a Supernova, but I'm going after a Rainmaker at some point. The Supernova is godly. I haven't used this gun enough to really compare the two, but initial results are promising given this one takes aftermarket barrels. The Supernova ET didn't need a board (it worked like a cocker, when you hold the trigger back it stayed open). I'm considering modding mine so that it works like the Supernova, just bypassing the board. The bolt does not come all the way forward to the barrel. When the bolt is "closed" there's actually a gap between the end of the barrel and the bolt inside the gun. I'm not sure what that does but it can't be good. Mine chops sick, but that's mostly because I let it run out of paint while testing and it hates that. My particular marker chops the last ball in the stack just about every time. On the other hand, it almost never chops as long as you maintain the stack. Kind of annoying. I hate the board it came with, but there are ways around that. I really like the configurable feed angle- there's a time and a place for vert. feed and I'm not usually there, so right feed is a great option for me. Overall the marker is very well-made and looks great. The regulator it comes with isn't worth replacing because it's a funny mount and you won't see any benefit. All in all, for $120 on ebay I can't complain for one second. I have a feeling this will replace the Supernova as my top dog marker.
Conclusion: This marker is miles beyond all the blow-back sear-tripping crap you can shake a stick at. Tippmanns, 0wned. Spyders, 0wned. It's as accurate as any other closed-bolt marker (this includes overrated phantom pumps [yes, I own one too]). It's cheap. It looks damn cool (f-ugly just doesn't fit this gun like it does the War Machine Assault-80). Get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr. Headcrab Wednesday, March 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None,
Marker Setup: Primary: Spyder Classic heavily modififed, Dye Boomstick (clone) barrel, 32 degrees remote and Harness 32 degrees 45 degree bend elbow, vl200 hopper
Secondary: Mayhem v1 with ACI Zero Gravity One-Piece barrel, stock straight feed and a (gasp) 45 round Brass Eagle minihopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, eletrical tape and Teflon tape
Strengths: light weight, high accuracy, light trigger pull and utter lack of noise
Weaknesses: exposed solenoid wiring, minor play on the trigger,
Review: After searching the bowels of Ebay searching for a good sidearm (and getting constantly outbid on dozens upon dozens of Zeus g2s) I stumbled across this mayhem going for a song (under 100 bucks!?!?) After getting May (yes, i named her), I began by shooting off some rounds. the kickback is minimal and the trigger crisp and responsive, the barrel she came with (ACI Zero Gravity One-Piece ) was insanely accurate at medium/close range. grouping at distance was a little loose for my liking, but since im using her as a sidearm, she suits my purposes. (Also, my accuracy is hampered because im using crap paint, the perils of being broke) I had some , minor leaking from the solenoid, but that was remedied by a new o-ring and some teflon tape. The solenoid wires had a nasty habit of coming out of the casing (the way the wires for the solenoid are placed caused them to pop through the corner of the solenoid "tabbed" casing) some eletrical tape fixed that problem and some additional wrapping on the wiring made everything match. her fire rate was pretty good, 8 bps with no chops, and since im using her as a pistol, I'm more than satififed,
Conclusion: If you're a rec player who thinks quality of shots over the quantity of paint thrown at your opponent is the way to go, get a Mayhem. If you want to lauch a case of paint at your opponent in under a minute, just build an air-cannon, get a Mayhem as a backup
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

applesany0ne Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: PGI Mayhem
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything but the stock barrel
Strengths: Very Light and Fast Trigger
Switchable Feed System
Small
Light
Quiet
Closed Bolt
Weaknesses: co2 waster
Stock Barrel is HORRIBLE
Slight Kick
Review: To me this gun is very good. I love it. It shoots very fast and the trigger is very light. It has a switchable feed system, so you can have left, right, or center feed. The gun is very small, so when your in a tight spot its very easy to keep close. Its light and VERY quiet, even when you dry fire it with co2.
The bad things are, it runs your co2 out quick (recommended that you use nitro). If you use co2 and you're firing fast the drop forward freezes up and if it gets to bad the gun won't work for a little while. The stock barrel is worthless.
Conclusion: I love this gun! With a few upgrades (Barrel!) this gun kills, I will take my gun against any other gun!! The reason i give it a 9 is because of the crappy barrel and the co2 problem.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

qwarnon Saturday, February 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none really
Marker Setup: pgi mayhem
m3 barrel kit
ak or 2k hopper
flame drop
20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
Strengths: closed-bolt, electo,regulator, more
Weaknesses: kinda slow trigger, pressure let off, lack of ups
Review: well this gun is very good i think. it is a electro-pneumatic that operates off a solenoid valve. its closed blot design is nice. stock barrel is terrible though. single trigger is bad too. i think over all this is good though i can shoot it fast. i accually shoot almost as fast with a single trigger as with double
Conclusion: i would reccomed this product because of its price. i gave it an 8 because of its single trigger, stock barrel, and pressure let off.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skinnyboy172 Monday, September 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some cockers, bushmaster, and some electro spyders
Marker Setup: Blue fade MAyhem with anodized barrel, 12 volt revy, and 68 ci, 3000 psi pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
all of the above and anything you can find for a new reg
Strengths: The gun is really fast once you get used to the trigger, short trigger pull
Weaknesses: The reg sucks, The barrel could be better and the wiring harness is real cheap.
Review: I've had this mayhem for a good while and it never let me down. Sure it goes off when i am running but you get used to putting the safety on before moving with it anyway. It shoots fast and i've never broken any balls(with the revy) It runs on really low pressure like 100 psi and it does fairly well on preserving gas. The only thing i don't really like is that each time you shoot, air blows out the back into your face and gives it a sort of kick. But you again get used to compensating for this. But despite anything, it is a good gun for a person not wanting to spend alot of money on a tournament marker. Also the trigger is fast, about a mil pull and it is really light. Really really light like my buddies Pimped out STO.
Conclusion: Love this gun, i recomend it to all my friends who want to uprgrade to a better marker. Go out and buy one for God sake.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 8th, 2003 at 2:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tootsnlynn Saturday, July 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder Electra dx, angel speed , angle ir3
Marker Setup: SYSTEM X BARREL. pure energy fiberglass tank. use compressed air, ricochet 2k hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel, recomend system x or dye boomstick.
Strengths: Accuracy !!!!!!Very quiet !!!!!! Only 3 moving parts, which makes it easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: awful stock barrel. recomend system x for cockers
Review: This is a great gun! I'm a beginner and even I can operate it. this gun needed some upgrading when I first owned it. in fact the stuff we needed added up to be about as much the gun, but when you get it fixed up, this is the most awsome gun and will make the other team wet their pants when they see how accurate it is.
This gun has a very futuristic look, unlike the intimadater dragon. not all like the look
teens and younger people tend to like it more. I cant tell you how easy it is to operate, I'm nearly 12 years old and I haven't had a single problem since I bought it.
The gun though is a real gas guzzler, but usually air is cheap and I think I got every dime I paid for. This people is a force to be reckoned with!
Conclusion: Overall, this is probably the best marker you can buy without spending well over 500$ to buy! I highly recommend this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, September 2nd, 2001
Strengths: I just got back from my first day on the field with my Mahem v. 2.0. I would compare it to a cocker with an electronic trigger. If you hit the sweet spot you will easily get a 3-4 shot string, so a pretty high ROF is easy, but i don't think the gun can keep up wtih the angels and such. It is pretty quiet, i added a red cp barrel in 14" and it goes great with the red mayhem. and to top it all off the gun is quite small compared to others out there so it is much easier to keep close to you when you are in a tight space. accuracy and distance are good, and the gun is pretty quiet, not the quietest though. as for gas efficiency, i think that isn't too good 600-800 shots from a 68 compressed tank. In the new version 2 you get a timed action so ball choping is greatly reduced, but if you forget to turn your revvy on then you will chop tons since it is closed bolt the balls must load quickly. runs att 125 psi, that is cool, it will suck your tank dry!
Weaknesses: Chops if you forget to turn the revvy on. Not the highest ROF. the board mine has is a little messed up some trigger pulls you get 2 shots (not from hitting the sweet spot you can hear the solenoid click 2 times with no air in the gun). other times you will pull the trigger and nothing will happen. Bad gas efficiency.
Conclusion: the gun overall i would say was a good buy for $350. it was very reliable, my friend got an impulse and used it for the first time that day too and his gun was causing all sorts of problems all day while mine just kept shooting paint. it was nice going from a M98 to this gun which is so much more compact and easy to shoot. balances well in your hand, and just looks cool. if you are looking for an electro on a budget and don't want to just follow the herd and buty an angel, then seriously think about the mayhem. I lIke it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, June 12th, 2001
Strengths: It's an electro for only $300. It's a new, simple, and cool design. After I got used to the trigger and I can get about 10 bps. It's light. It's small. It can have right, left or center feed. It runs at about 100psi. It's pretty efficient and runs well on co2(about 1100-1200 on my 20 oz co2 tank). It's closed bolt. It has a .45 grip. The trigger is light and can easily be set to about a 1mm pull. It lasts around 30,000 or so shots on a 9volt battery. Comes in several different colors. It has Spyder threads so barrel selection is great...and I think the version 2 will have Autococker threads. The version 2 is gonna be awesome. It will have a board with different firing options, plus there will be no more short-stroking. It will have twice the flow and will pretty much have no shootdown(although the version 1 pretty much has none either). It will have some other improvements also( I think it might have angel or bushy threads on the feedtube for highrises and such). And it will supposedly still be around the $300-$400 range. Everyone should wait to pick up this new version.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is not the greatest. But actually not too bad. It does have the external wires and solienoid. The plug acts as my safety since the trigger job renders the real safety useless. Instead of a plug there should have been an on/off switch. The trigger had some side to side play which is fixable. It can be shortstroked, but the trigger just has to get used to. I can't believe those guys got theirs for only $240...you guys must have gotten it at the sale at the grand opening of that store in california, huh? It needs a foregrip which was $35 extra. Not really that much bad about it, just some personal preference kindof things like the wires...i dont care at all about the wires, it's a real nice gun.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for the price. I recommend this to everyone like me who wants a great quality and design cheap electro. Get this over those dressed up spyders. This gun is just awesome. Especially the new version that's coming out. I give it a 9 because the best of this gun is yet to come out. Watch out all you other electros!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 24th, 2001
Strengths: Got it on sale for $240, but you can get it regularly for around 300, great for an electric trigger. Trigger on it is adjustable and is fairly light, but not the best. All of the parts are solid feeling and don't wiggle. Selectable feed between center, right, and left, ii has screw in feed tube, I'm not sure if it is interchangable w/ angels and bushys, but that would be cool. It operates at 100psi, but that doesn't seem to help performance. Operates from closed bolt, so there is less kick, but it doesn't have a whole lot of an advantage over open. Very few moving parts, low maintenance. Takes Spyder barrels.
Weaknesses: Some people may not like the exposed wires, and solenoid, but the solenoid could probably take a hit and keep on working. You could easily shortstroke this baby, but ya just gotta get used to it. Has a little blowback, but the newer versions don't. When I first got it and took it apart, it had metal shaving on the bolt oring and on the poppet, but it was easily cleaned up. Not many replacement parts for it yet. Manual looks cheap, but it's informative.
Conclusion: Hey pbreview, you had it right the first time, it's called a PGI Mayhem, not ACI, it just has ACI parts on it. For the price range, this is one of the most valuable markers on the market. Hopefully the newer versions will take angel or bushy feeds (if they already don't) and have a more advanced electronics.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, June 10th, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The Mayhem electro is a great buy.It only costs $240.The gun gets a high rate of fire,especially for the price.Me and two friends with cockers beat 4 angels.I got three of them out with my Mayhem.Some say it looks too spacy, but I think it looks sweet.It takes Spyder barrels.
Weaknesses: Not acccurate with stock barrel but a 16" All American will remedy that.Exposed wires and solenoid valve that could not survive a ball hit.I rigged some metal to the valve and now the gun is very durable.
Conclusion: Quite possibly the best value in paintball today.Some of the other reviews are ignorant.The guy who gave the gun a 5 has'nt even played with it and the guy who gave it a 7 compared to an Angel.So if don't have $1100 dollars lying around for an Angel,buy the Mayhem now.You wont' regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media