paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Freak Factory Impulse / Freak Factory Impulse / Freak Factory Impulse / Freak Factory Impulse

Freak Factory Impulse Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Freak Factory

Buy Freak Factory Impulse

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Freak Factory Impulse
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $895

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Long tear drop and ball mills down side, soft peel-away dwell and eye pot cover. Exclusive freak gas thru grip. Rounded ram, solenoid housing and grip frame.
Product Availability 
The Freak Factory Impulse is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Paintball Ltd. Co. Friday, December 7th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Imp
Strengths: Unbelievably light, height has been reduced from stock IMP. But with height, why would you try and come over the top anyway? And in that case, you can get the low rise feed tube which drops the height 1.5inch. 18 balls per sec........Isn't that faster than an angle? Accuracy is much better than the angel as well as its range. Price is about the same too. Really nice trigger. Easier to maintain than an angel. HMMMMMMMMM.......Do you see where I am goin here. THIS GUN IS SWEET!!!!
Weaknesses: Prob the cost, but getting to customize it to how you want it is always a plus. THERE IS REALLY NOTHING BAD ABOUT THIS GUN
Conclusion: If you are up between and Angel and a FF. Go with the FF. Just compare both guns. The FF IMP is lighter, faster, more accurate, easier to work on, and more reliable. But if you want a glorified piece of S$%%t like the angel go ahead and waste your money. You can watch me win from the deadbox...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

LMNO 87 Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I worked at Pev's @ AG Paintball, so naturally I have shot just about every gun. Big thanks to Stephen and Dale over at the Sterling Store. And Todd, Cody, TEAM FATE, The Waller's, Twins, The RAB'S, Quinn, Eric, Katie, Matt, Ziggy, Craig, Jay, Beth, Jimmy, Dan, Robin, Bob, Jimmy B, Puffy, Timbrook, Dustin, Ashley, over @ the field; And anybody I left out ya'll know who you are THANKS For Everything.
Marker Setup: Freak Factory Impulse 000184, Full Freak Barrel Kit, Modified Intimidator Bolt pin, Custom cut Voodoo bolt, NEW DESIGNZ (Chrome) Ball detents, Eye Cover, Talon Grip, 15* Vertical ASA, R.I.P. Valve, Smart Parts LPR treaded into a CP Chrome front cap, CP Pro-rail,CP Roller Trigger, The NEW AKA Sidewinder low pressure reg., Hybrid Grind on/off, My guns internals are balanced to weigh 1142.12 grams, And other little minor Impulse gun mods / tweaking I've learned.
Recommended
Upgrades:
LPR to reduce your guns kick / recoil. You might not notice the gun has kick till you get the LPR. Any type of 15* Vertical ASA so that your thumbs don't hit the front of the trigger guard. CP Roller trigger.
Strengths: There's many out there and not 2 alike. Play X-Ball, WoodsBall, HyperBall
Weaknesses: A "weakness" is the guns height,(SmartParts milled metal off the bottom of the gripframe)
Review: I brought the gun stock. Then I saved up and put a good amont of money worth of upgrades available at any Pev's Proshop. But the gun stock was GREAT, the gun that I always wanted. But it needed a lil help and some mods to not only turn some heads but to turn everybody's heads and get them into a ster about what kind of gun I'm shootin. Is it a Ton Ton or maybe it's a Gameface no it's a...... "Hey kid what gun is that?" Oh it's a Freak Factory Impulse. "A what? I've never heard of that!" Ahaha. My guns not the best or the fastest, but I go on the field knowing my gun won't let me down and that gives me the confidence to take on anyone / anygun and come out on top.

FIND A GUN THAT YOU FEEL IS THE RIGHT ONE FOR YOUR NEEDS. MY REVIEW IS MEANT TO TELL YOU ABOUT THE PERFORMANCE. EVEN THO I CHANGED OUT A LOT OF PARTS IT WAS JUST MY PERSONAL PREFERENCE.
Conclusion: Do you need a private lable Impulse? No, not really! Do you want a gun that nobody has? Then get A Smart Parts Impulse and customize it to your taste. Rether it's a stock non-vision impulse or my crazy $1552.83 Yellow to Orange faded Freak Factory with all the Chrome a gun could need and some. Any Smart Parts Impulse is the best gun money can buy you in my opinion. There not the lightest or the fastest (Stock Blue Light Cricket Board is 20 BPS eye on and 13.7 with non vision or eye off.) I can truely say I NEVER had a problem with MY Impulse or any other one I used. I have worked on a few you could say. And most people want me to clean it and or hook em up with a trigger job. (guess all that playin with mine paid off.) (Josh) AKA IMPMAN at Pev's @ AG Paintball in Leesburg, Virginia Hope to see you there! Or now in Palm Harbor, Florida


Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 22nd, 2005 at 5:13 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, September 18th, 2001
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun delivers as advertised. It is significantly lighter and smoother than the stock Impulse. The Vision system is amazing. I ran loader after loader through it without turning on the Revvy. Sideways, upside down...not one ball chopped. No gas wasted dry firing. If there isn't a ball fully in the chamber it simply will not fire.

The Freak Factory Impulse came with the Freak barrel (one insert included, the other 7 were extra). Combine this amazing barrel with the eye and I doubt you could break paint if you tried. Very accurate with minimum drop-off during rapid fire. I added a drop forward & swung the macroline to the side. Though a tall gun, it feels quite compact with this configuration.
Weaknesses: No complaints about the gun aside from its height, but if you switch out the gas-through grip for a front mounted regulator you can shorten it a bit. Really it's all personal preferrence.
Conclusion: For the price you're getting a sweet gun and barrel. The trigger job is amazing. You really don't need a turbo board with it. The lightened bolt does reduce kick to almost nothing and it's easy to let off a string of shots one on top of the other with this gun. Spend the extra few bucks and get all the inserts for the barrel, it's worth it.

Some people say Smart Parts markers are gas hogs. This is not entirely true yet not entirely false. The operating pressure and dwell settings make a huge difference in shots per tank. Set the gun up PROPERLY and you'll get optimum performance without wasting gas. For the quality and performance of this marker you should be willing to play around with the settings until you have it just right. It'll be worth it. And remember, this tricked out gun was made by Aaron at Smart Parts. As such, it's still under warranty even with all the modifications.

Happy hunting
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xsensesfailx187 Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
NONE
Marker Setup: Silver to Green Freak Factory Impulse
*Was Board*
- Ultra Light Barrel
- Halo B w/ rip drive
- vertical max flo
Recommended
Upgrades:
-eclipse trigger
-voodoo bolt
-smart gel grips
-drop forward
-low rise
Strengths: -fast with was
-like the upgrades i got with it
Weaknesses: -heavy
-price lol but worth every penny
Review: i love this gun, i was gonna sell it and get a timmy but i thought why dont i try the was board that came out for it, i got the was and the gun rips i love it, and as a front player im very satisfied i mean the weight is kinda heavy but the performance makes up for it
Conclusion: GET IT!!! the gun is seriously a beast no joke if you get one and do the right upgrades you will be very happy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Dream Shocker. Bigger, heavier, easier on the paint, strange ball angle.
Marker Setup: I currently have a Freak Factory Vision Impulse with all the Vodoo upgrades available accept for the new grip frame. I run it on a 4500psi Maxflow air system. Barrel: Freak 12" and 14" + borr master kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would really recommend the Vodoo bolt kit. It is easier to keep the marker clean and you don't have to grease it in all the time. The Smooth operator is a must have for anyone firing at really high rof.
Strengths: The marker has an awesome rof. limit! Due to the formation of the trigger and the many ways of adjusting it.
It is really accurate! Shooting an entire case of Zap Performance on a target range proved the marker a great deal. Probably better than my Dream Shocker would ever be.
Easy to clean! :)
It is lighter than any other pro marker. Making it easy to maneuver.
This is a marker for both front players and back players.
Weaknesses: It is not as sensitive to the paint as a Shocker.
It breaks paint when it is cold outside. 2-5 ´C.
Conclusion: A good marker for great players!

Best of luck to you all!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

GoNexus1991 Monday, January 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor 2
ion
Marker Setup: freak factory vision impulse blue-black
clear egg 2 w/ y board
68/4500 pure energy hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
freak barrel inserts
unimount
a clamping feedneck, if required
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Almost noiseless
Weaknesses: Big
Heavy
Trigger takes getting used too
Back heavy with egg
Review: I was at the proshop at paint storm and they had a ffv impulse there. Now, I was either going to get an ion or this, because i had heard great thing about the impulse. Now ,i got the gun because the were seling it for 750 canadian with an egg with y board, a z board,black egg shell and a one year membership. I calculated it for an ion that it would cost about 100 dollars more for the ion with the same upgrade(or equivalent)(trigger, feedneck and barrel) as the impulse, and everybody has an ion.
The only bad thing i found about the gun is that it is reallt back heavy with the egg or it is impossible to snap shoot whereas the ion is easy to snap shoot with. Another problem is that the trigger frame has a small guard and the trigger takes getting used to, so initially you will probably be shooting about 6-8bps. Anyway, the ffvi is a great gun.
Conclusion: Despite the weight and size of the marker, it is still a great gun, you just have to learn to snap shoot differently. (put more weight on the back of the marker than the front.)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, October 7th, 2001
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The owner of a field i go to owns this gun, and damn, this is a pretty good gun. Im not a big fan of anything resembling smart parts guns, but this is a very good gun. He had the vert feed, vision eye, max-flo reg, 20oz CO2, freak barrel, and badass anno job. He was braggin like crazy saying no one would be happy until they bought one. He let me play 2 games with it and its a sweet ass gun. Shoots awesomely fast, nice nice trigger (he has the blade trigger), feeds really well, and looks very very very nice. Its got a good feel and is pretty light.
Weaknesses: It came with the freak. I prefer the DYE boom or SS. I would even recommend a smart parts AA. These things are damned hard to find.
Conclusion: great gun, if you find it, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

meth0d- Tuesday, July 24th, 2001
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun has a lot going for it, looks are decent, VERY fast, efficient, light, won't chop, all around a great gun, unique (only 300), and it comes for a good price (believe it or not)
Weaknesses: I haven't had any problems at all yet and i'm keeping my fingers crossed that it stays that way. The only thing that I think I may replace is the bolt, with a delrin one.
Conclusion: I've yet to see a better deal on a gun package...well, i got a real good deal on mine :)

i got the black-blue fade w/ reverse brushstroke ano. vision impulse, matching deluxe freak, and a 68/4500 new style max flow, all for $1250...that really can't be beat for the performance of the gun.

But in all seriousness, when you stop to think about it...The gun:
1 - is INCREDIBLY fast
2 - very light
3 - will NEVER chop
4 - best barrel on the market
5 - one of the best n2 systems on the market
6 - etc, etc, etc and lots more
...all for the price of say...a stock angel

...and i'm one of those people who have a new gun every week...this one's a keeper, i'd recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sukohi Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts Vision impulse
Smart parts Shocker
Marker Setup: Smart parts Freak Factory Impulse
Empire Reloader B
Crossfire 68/45
Shocktech fullsize drop forward
Twist lock low rise
Recommended
Upgrades:
Wicked air sports board
Empire or Halo high speed hopper
Twist lock low rise
Strengths: Very accurate
Fast
Delron bolt, no oil needed
Anti-chop with eye activated

Weaknesses: Chops balls if wrong insert is used
Freak inserts not included
A_chop_will_ruin_your_game
Review: I love my Impulse. The trigger is so much better than the stock trigger. The gun is fast even without the WAS board. The gun is accurate and you can make snap shots all the way across the field. The delron bolt does not need any oil. With the eye on the gun ALMOST never chops. The gun is a somewhat heavy setup, not as heavy as a shocker. The freak barrel needs good paint so choose a good brand. With bad paint the gun will shoot "squirrel tails". The gun is expensive at about $800. It does not come with the freak insert kit. You can only use shocker lube for the hammer. This lube cost about $10-$12 a tube.
Conclusion: If you have the money get a Smart Parts Nerve or a used DM4. It has all of these qualities except, it is lighter. If you do not have the money, the Freak Factory Impulse is a great way to go.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 11th, 2005 at 8:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spankmyface Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive shot an angel speed which is very light and extremely quick but its more expensive.
ive also shot stock impulses, cockers and older shockers and angels
Marker Setup: yellow(kinda gold looking)to black fade freak factory impulse, halo B, 68 4500 max flow tank w/ jt cover, freak barrel kit, jt pro-flex

spyder imagine , nyte stick barrel, 12 volt rev, co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
i have this baby stock but possibly a new bolt.
definitely halo or evolution w/ z board for speed.
barrel inserts.
Strengths: stock barrel(freak)
color options
weight is great for an impulse
Weaknesses: i noticed a lot of ware in the breech.
pain to clean/lube
Review: let me start off by saying that when i opened the box i was in awe. i picked this sucker up and could not believe the color fade, weight/height were great, trigger was super light touch and the grips were insanely comfortable (like holding a woman)
so i took this to my local shop and aired it up. when i got home i turned on the max flow and heard a huge leak. i identified where it was coming from and found a broken oring in the gas through grip. i replaced the oring turned the air on and poof no more leak. another thing i found was alot of scratches in the breech but it didn't affect its performance the next day.
so a couple of my newbie friends came over and started to play. at first, when i would start to rip, there was a bit of drop off when i would hit the peak but this slowly went away.this baby can also shoot extremely fast. i held every single one of my friends down also the quietness of this machine is great.
as i said earlier its kinda a pain to clean but a mans gotta do what a mans gotta do.
stripping it is a sinch but the solenoid is kinda annoying.
Conclusion: over all i was very impressed with this gun for what i paid. this can out shoot many other expensive tournament guns and has style like you wouldn't believe. i would recommend this gun for anyone in the market for a tourney level gun. i give it a perfect 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media