paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / RPS Polar Ice Paintballs / RPS Polar Ice Paintballs / RPS Polar Ice Paintballs

RPS Polar Ice Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount RPS

Buy RPS Polar Ice Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


RPS Polar Ice Paintballs
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Special formula for extreme cold weather use.
Product Availability 
The RPS Polar Ice Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
PhatPat Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months119 of 119 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Toroball Ice Winter Paintballs - Unknown (Poss. .688)
Draxxus Artic Inferno Paintballs - .687 to .690
Marker Setup: 2006 Angel G7 Fly in Solid Red
2005 Fully upped Smart Parts Ion with .691 Stiffi 14" Barrel (Too many extras to mention)
2005 Tippmann A5 with Ops Gear Operator 14" Barrel
2004 Diablo Mongoose with Smart Parts Teardrop 14" Barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
I have the following barrels and they all seem to work fine for me: -

14" CP Classic Red 689
14" Dye Ultralite Blue 692
14" Dye Ultralite Red 692
14" J&J Performance Ceramic Black 691
14" Stiffi Full Version 691
14" SP Progressive TBC
14" SP Teardrop 688 Red
14" SP Teardrop 688 Black
14" SP Teardrop 688 Gloss Black
14" SP The Freak Jr 693 + Complete Freak Kit
14" Ops Gear Operator
16" SP Progressive TBC

I think thats about it!

Strengths: Quality, Fill Colour, Sound Shell, No Flyers - All Straight, etc etc
Weaknesses: See review......
Review: Quality: -

When I decided to write the review I started looking at the paint more closely and QUALITY is something we are all concerned about, we want our balls flying straight….right!
Well the quality of this paint is superb, out of the perhaps last 8 cases of this stuff I have tried I have not had ANY problems with broken balls in the bag prior to taking it out, I have had no leaking paint inside the bag, I have had NO dimpled paint (see conclusion) ((maybe I was REALLY lucky)). All of the seems were the same, quite large but OK by and large.

Fill Colour: -

The only colour I have managed to get this paint is a complete orange shell with a orange fill. Check out my photo that I have uploaded to the image gallery for an insight into the fill. The orange lends itself perfectly to either woodsball play or tourney ball. Woodsball, the breaks stand out clear and the same for tourney play. Orange, along with Yellow and Pink are the only colours you should looking at for paintball fills, everything else makes no sense in my eyes.

Sound Shell: -

The shell as I pointed out prior is sound. It’s brittle enough to break when it needs to and robust enough to be fed through high end hoppers. I have an Empire Reloader B and a VL Vlocity and I have had NO problems with broken paint through either hopper. The Vlocity has a tensioner system that can be unforgiving on very brittle paint, but it didn’t burst a SINGLE ball with this stuff.

No Flyers: -

I suppose this falls into the same category as “Sound Shell”, but I think that if you match your barrel bore and paint diameter correctly and your output velocity is not pushing past 300fps, you really shouldn’t get any flyers with this stuff. My friend who also used this paint all through the winter did not have any issues with paint flying off at weird angles. Common sense really.

Paint Fill: -

The fill in this paint is on par with most of the Draxxus paints up to Inferno, now this is very important as Hellfire has a higher viscosity and make up. I have used over the last twelve months ALL of the Draxxus range, Zap Chronic 420, Zap Chronic, Toroball Winter, Diablo Dusk, Worr Domination, Nelson Pearl, PMI Evil, RPS Evil (Ultra), TC Paintballs Probox and that’s just the ones I can remember!
The fill on this paint is as I said on par with 90% of the Draxxus range and PMI Evil, that’s all. What I’m trying to say is that it’s 8 out of 10 think.

What else can I say about a paintball other then the bore size you should be looking at is .689 to .691. If you are a tourney player and your tube is .693, you’ll be well away and will probably be able to shoot through most breaks if you get any……….I didn’t.

I think I've covered everything

As for weaknesses, well I must be really lucky as I couldn't find any. But no product is perfect all the time, so I'm sure I'll find one eventually, in the mean time fill yer boots and buy some.
Conclusion: I can put my hand on my heart and safely say that this paint and Draxxus Artic Inferno are my first choices when it comes to winter month games. Stay well clear of the Toroball at any time of the year as they really are very hard, so hard in fact you cannot crush Toroball with your fingers, you have to walk on it!!!!

RPS Polar Ice on the other hand is a first class paint. I realize that some of the previous reviewers may have had a bad experience with this paint, but I have had not such issues (honestly). In the UK when can have quite harsh winters, not as bad as Canada or the US I understand, but we are renowned for crappy weather. When I have used this paint in bad conditions it has performed without any problems and my balls where the least of my worries.

As with any paint, it pays to try and shop around. It’s best to buy your paint from a supplier that shifts his/her paint quite quickly. You are then pretty much guaranteed to have good quality paint without flat spots etc.

In short, if your after a true winter paint, look at these or the Draxxus Artic Inferno and try to get fresh stock, it always helps.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

shoemanshoe Monday, March 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I use mainly RPS Premiums, or Marbalizers, but will use field paint when it is required (usually Diablo at my local field)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine
Lapco Bigshot 12"
Airtipps rear stock
32 degrees remote
HPA system
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything non-stock, but even my stock barrels work well with them
Strengths: This is by far the best paint you can use for outdoor winter play. Just yesterday we went out (I live in WI) and I used Polar Ice, and I had no breaks or problems whatsoever. They are heavier than most balls, so they will actually fly straighter to some degree.
Weaknesses: Not for use during summer, they are a hard shell and will sting if you get hit. You also increase the chance of breaks during warm weather. Use these balls only if the temp is under 40-50 degrees. I have seen breaks in the tippmann flatlines which can be annoying.
Conclusion: Overall, you should not have any problems with this paint. RPS guarantees every paintball that comes out of their factories, so if you do see some dimples or scars, let them know, they will replace it for you. The people who have problems with these might have left them in a car overnight or didn't take care of them, which would explain the dimples/seams showing. Have your local store check all your bags of paint before you buy them. Look for breaks in the bag or other inconsistencies before you buy. Easiest way to not get ripped off. Some stores have a bad practice of loading too many cases on top of each other or just throwing them onto the shelf. Just make sure your paint looks OK before buying.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rabid Fishstick Wednesday, January 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proball, RPS Premiums, Team Colors.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with Flatline with crossfire compressed air tank.
Recommended
Barrels:
Not sure, I had problems with them breaking but that might be because I have a flatline. But I rarley have balls break in my barrel when i use other paint.
Strengths: The bright orange fill.
Weaknesses: Most expensive paint i've ever paid for. I bought them at the field at play at from the owner. They cost me $72 a case! Didn't perform as well as I thought they would either. I would have rather used Proball because that's what I prefer anyways, and it's a lot cheaper.
Conclusion: I probably just had a bad case of paint or something but I didn't get what I expected out of em. Go with Proball or another RPS type.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NPG Monday, January 20th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
4 years3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Marbilizer (good)
RPS All Star (good)
Diablo Inferno (good)
Marker Setup: Spyder (OLD 1998 model, no Low pressure setup)
Benchmark Exp. Chamber
Benchmark double trigger
DYE 14" Boomstick
VL 9v Revolution
Recommended
Barrels:
dunno...
Strengths: - Hard for the cold weather
- large, bright fill (hard to wipe, could stain)
Weaknesses: Okay, I've used Polar Ice since I've started playing whenever I got cold here in Indiana. I've always liked how they were hard for the cold weather and you couldn't bust them in your barrel.

....but now....

since this winter started, I've went back to the polar ices....they worked better than the other brands in the winter......

Then yesterday (1/19/03) the temperature dipped below 25 degrees.....

....then the so called "winter balls" were growing dimples, the seams were showing easily, balls were breaking, accuracy was average AT BEST, and everybody complained about how frail the balls were.

Cold weather paintballs? Only if you consider 40 degrees cold....
Conclusion: It's false advertising for those who live in the northern states.....

They used to be good until this years batch....what the hell happened?

I've never seen paintballs with large seams like this that didn't have the "Brass Eagle" name attached to them

Not buying these again unless RPS makes them with a higher quality shell like the dull shell they use with the marbs and the all stars, only harder and better for temps below 32....

maybe it was because I didn't use Low pressure air........but some of us rec-ballers can't afford that......

I expect more from a paintball designed for "extreme, cold weather use"
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

weeweeman Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: ion
qev
redz bolt
all american 14 inch
Strengths: Accurate
Good fill
No bounces
No breaks
Weaknesses: None
Review: I first got these paintballs at a huge scenario game. I had the money and for 5 bucks more then empire ramp blizzard i decided to get it. Wow when i first used these paintballs they were the most amazing winter ball i had ever used. It was 30 degrees outside and these paintballs would break on contact from 120 feet away. I didn't have one bounce the entire day. These paintballs were so accurate, better than any paintball that i have used in the winter.
Conclusion: Overall these are the nicest paintball i have used in the winter
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ICU117 Monday, January 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Marbs, and premiums
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Folding stock, egrip, flatline, double trigger
Recommended
Barrels:
Flatline, just about any barrel works fine.
Strengths: Only ones that won't break during winter play
Weaknesses: none that I can see
Review: I have been having trouble with breaks all winter. There isn't an indoor field or any field for that matter near me, so my friends and I play back in the woods. Yesterday I stopped by the store and picked some up, I was reluctant to pay the larger price, but decided to try them anyway. The balls when I took them out looked kinda crappy, the seams where easily spotted and one or 2 was egg shaped. But, once we got to playing I loved these things. I shot over 1000 rounds without a single break! That has never happened to me before, even with marbs. The one thing I hear that is bad about them is that above 50 degrees they don't fly straight anymore. For winter play though, these do as they say they will.
Conclusion: This is one of the only products that I have been fully satisfied with. They do exactly what they say they will. Just don't play with them during warmer months. CT(My state) got 18 inches of snow last week, so its not like I'm not in a southern state...RPS in my opinion make the best paint out there. Premiums for spring, summer and fall, and polar ice during the winter baby!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 9th, 2006 at 2:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tabris17 Tuesday, September 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Marbilizer, Dusk, Xball Bronze
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X, Boomstick 14" spyder thread
Dragon Intimidator, frenzy 113, custom reloader b, empire barrel kit, NDZ super lite on/off
Recommended
Barrels:
Empire barrel kit worked rather well
Strengths: Accurate, bright and thick fill, rarely breaks if at all.
Weaknesses: Sometimes bounces because of thick shell, hard to find, some what expensive.
Review: I bought these in january or around that time and shot a few rounds off in my backyard. I found them rather accurate considering at the time of the testing I was shooting a spyder tl-x with a boomstick. The fill was nice and thick and very hard to wipe, not to mention it is bright neon green.
I just recently used them finally in play, September in case you're wondering, so they were rather old but they didn't dimple and they didn't break in the bag at all. I have a Dragon timmy right now and brought these to the field with me and wow, I thought these were going to be horrible because they were so old. They were flying straight with very minimal curving, mostly because my barrel kept coming loose. There were a few bounces but I'd say about 98% of them were breaking when they should have; these are winterized so do have a thicker shell so I wasn't screaming when they weren't breaking because I knew what kind of paint I was using.
I had zero chops with these balls, they all left the barrel like they were supposed to and broke nicely. They were also very bright filled as I mentioned and the fill didn't run like some other paint I've seen.
Conclusion: I would definately use this product again, especially considering how well it handled sitting in my room for so long. Perhaps that was one reason they handled so well, they weren't in a basement or garage. Either way they had excellent fills and shot straight; though they are a bit hard to find and can be a bit on the expensive side.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AmbientShadow Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Severe Hurricane and Tempest
Evil
And a whole pile of no-name junk brands
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Pilot
Black Check-it Assault Block
SIlver '04 Mac Dev Gladiator
Custom-Painted Black/Alu. Dead-On Drop Forward
Nylatron Bandit Bolt
14" Black All-American Back/Silver Freak Front
Maddmann Rocket Valve
Dye '05 Black/Blue Tank Cover
Mac Dev Spring Kit
68/3000 Pure Energy HPA Tank
Custom-Painted & Z-Boarded Viewloader Evolution II
Black Java Feed Neck
Mac Dev Gauges all 'round
Recommended
Barrels:
It doesn't matter too much... Anything better than a Progressive is a waste on these.
Strengths: THICK Fills
Nothing beats it in the cold
Small Cases!
Weaknesses: Small Cases!
Doesn't come out of clothes as easily
Review: What it comes down to is there aren't many paints that cut it in the cold. Living in Canada... We Canadian paintballers know these things. This paint works great in the cold, you'll only ever get the very rare hard paintball (just hope you don't take it on bare skin -- BIG ouch). The fills are bright, and REALLY thick, hard to wipe and the bulk of the paint ends up on your target and not in the air around your target.
The SIGNIFICANT downside (and it's really kinda silly and easily avoidable) is you'll notice right away a case of this paint is rather small compared to most paint cases. That's because the paint is CRAMMED into the box... and you all know that means DIMPLES! While this paint seems to shoot "okay" especially at high velocities where it doesn't matter too much, on a field that plays at 240 fps it matters quite a bit. Checking through one of the bags of 500 you'll be lucky to find a dozen balls that aren't dimpled... most bags you won't find one. So... don't use these for anything other than recball or when it's gonna be cold out! As far as chop resistance/barrel breaks, I've put 2 cases through my Pilot (albeit at 10 degrees C or less, why would you use these when it's warm?) and not shredded ANY in the barrel at all... and I don't ever chop so I wouldn't know about that part :D
Conclusion: It's a decent paint and better than many. A quick look around will snag you a case of it for $60.00 CDN which is nice too. While you won't get any "footballs" you'll get MAJOR ball dimpling because the paint is so crammed into the box. RPS if you ever read this... JUST PUT IT IN A BIGGER BOX!
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

emagfrenzy Sunday, July 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hellfire-Some of the best paint out there
Inferno-Best paint for the money
Arctic Inferno-The BEST paint for winter play, this stuff is amazing
Blaze-Good Recball paint
Midnight/Whitebox-Decent paint for anyone on a budget
Evil-Great paint that compares to Hellfire or Inferno
Midevil-Great practice paint for someone use to shoot Evil
32* Team Colors-Cheap whitebox paint, would only use it if I really had to
Marker Setup: DM4
Halo B
88/4500 Crossfire Tank
Dye Ultralite and Freak Kit
Recommended
Barrels:
Why bother... It's a large bore paint, but a barrel kit does help.
Strengths: Possibly the price?
Decent fill
Weaknesses: Breaks too easily
Does not stand up in temps below 35
Dimpled
Seam is terrible
Review: I went to my local paintball shop one day to pick up a case of paint so I could go out and play. The field is FPO, and normally I don't have a problem with this because they carry the paints I like, but this day was an exception. The owner didn't have any Arctic Inferno in stock, and instead ordered Polar Ice. He said it was great paint and even some empolyees said it was good. I try not to let them sell me on things, because the truth is most of them aren't very knowledgable. So I paid $55 for my case and went down to the field. All day long this stuff kept breaking in my barrel. It was an absolute mess to clean up and was very aggravating. Everyone else that day was having the same problem. There were games where I would miss people from 25 feet away because this paint was so bad. If it made it out of my barrel without breaking, don't expect it to go even near your target. RPS jumped on the BE bandwagon on this one, making some very crappy paint.
Conclusion: This stuff is terrible. I will never shoot it and again, nor will I recommend it to anyone. This stuff gives you such a headache, RPS should include a bottle of Advil with the case.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jordan_payne09 Friday, February 4th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
DXS Arctic Inferno
Marker Setup: SP Ion. Upgraded virtue board, drop forward, Easy on button, Sling Trigger, Redz Body Kit, All american Barrel, Halo Hopper, Compressed Air.
Recommended
Barrels:
Any
Strengths: No Chopping. Didn't have any sling in my shots.
Weaknesses: Price i guess...but they're not too expensive and quality is worth paying for.
Review: My local shop sells these for 50 bucks a case. I hadn't ever used them but last time i was there the guy offered to sell me 500 of them for 5 bucks since i had spent so much money there. i took them home and played some woodsball all day with my buddies. I never chopped a ball and was very accurate. That could have been my barrel but im going to say it was a mixture of both. After we were done i decided to empty my hopper with some target practice. I stood about 50 to 75 feet away from a light pole by my road and shot. I never missed and in the 75 to 100 balls i shot i put a mark on the pole about 4 inches in diameter. This proves to me that they were very consistent and accurate.
Conclusion: I would recommend these to anyone with an ion. Just because thats the only thing i've used these balls with but im sure they'll do fine with another marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media