paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / RPS Polar Ice Paintballs / RPS Polar Ice Paintballs / RPS Polar Ice Paintballs

RPS Polar Ice Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount RPS

Buy RPS Polar Ice Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


RPS Polar Ice Paintballs
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Special formula for extreme cold weather use.
Product Availability 
The RPS Polar Ice Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
tony2zmax Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Marbalizer
Scorch
Diablo Heat
Vapor
Draxus Midnight
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Cyclone Feed
14" J&J Ceramic barrel
PMI remote line
Tippmann Double Trigger
Recommended
Barrels:
Any
Strengths: Bright fill
Stored Well
Shot well (if not gunked)
Weaknesses: Poor Firing if gunked
Seemed to chop frequently
Review: I played twice with these paintballs, and found that they chopped very easily. AND after the barrell was gunked up, they did even more poorly. I used Marbalizers and even after chopping one, they still fired like normal. I know think it had something to do with my velocity and maybe my rate of fire. They flew nice when the barrell was cleaned, because the Flatline is very paint-picky. These seemed okay, but I guess I just had a bad day with them.

Update: I have since lost the Flatline barrel system and have switched over to the ceramic barrel and I couldnít be happier. Iíve found that the Flatline is very paint picky, so I figure that is why my balls were chopping so much. Though I thought I understood these paintballs to be designed for winter play, because they advertised a thicker shell, I thought they would hold in my Flatline. I thought wrong, but it doesnít matter much, anyone thatís experienced a Flatline barrel system knows the struggle they provided sometimes.
Conclusion: They're very expensive for what happened to me with them, I just hope that it was either a bad box. Though it was quite possibly my Flatline barrel system.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 9th, 2008 at 12:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Juiblex79 Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Tork
Diablo Nightmare
Marbelizer
Etc.
Marker Setup: Speed 05
Eggy Z-Boarded
Evil Pipe Kit
68CU 4.5kpsi Crossfire LP
Evolve Newton Full Kit
Tadao Board
Recommended
Barrels:
One that you can clean easily
Strengths: Thick Fill
Weaknesses: Barrel Breaks
Hard to shoot through due to thick fill.
Review: I've used these paintballs in the past 2 winters and have yet to have a good experience with them. The first time I used these, winter 04-05, it was hard to find a single one that was spherical. I just figured it was a bad batch so I looked at the other 3 bags in the case and they were all deformed and dimpled so I brought the box back figuring it was my luck that I got a bad box. After going through 3 boxes at the shop I was finally able to get a case of acceptable paint. Four bags of bad paint get through Quality Controll is bad but atleast cases if not more shows a total lack of any quality process on these paintballs. Needless to say it still shot bad, lots of breaks and horrible accuracy. Temps were in the 20-30s F that day.

Next winter 05-06 I had to uses these again nothing else was available but I said maybe they cleaned up their act and my bad luck was gone. So I got another case. and to my suprise they were all nice and round with no dimples. Great I though no going to have any problems today. I was so wrong, all day about once ever 15 to 20 shots I was getting a barrel break. I check all my settings dwell, paintmatch, fps, and so on but nothing seemed to help. Worst part about it was since this paint has an extreamly thick fill making shooting clean nearly impossible and I wasn't about to take off the barrel and clean it every 15 shots. Finally I found out what was causing the barrel break problem when I was reloading my tubes. I was sitting on the steps about 2ft about the ground when one of these paintballs fell from my tube to the ground (asphalt) and broke in half. I tried this with a few more balls, 50 or so, dropping them from about 2ft and 3 of them broke. Was about 30-40 F that day.
Conclusion: They have some Quality Issues be it shape, dimples, or shell. Will be extreamly difficult to shoot through a barrel breal due to the thick fill. If you have a marker that can shoot through the worst paint then this may work for you. Otherwise steer clear if this stuff.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 6th, 2006 at 9:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Saturday, February 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pretty much everything
Marker Setup: stock karnivor
Recommended
Barrels:
anything that fits
Strengths: Ok accuracy, breaks when you want them too, good fill
Weaknesses: Not super accurate
Review: Well these were teh 2nd best paint at the toureny today. the owner bought tehm due to teh cold weather screwing up all of his paint. we bought some. they arent as accurate and pmi premiums, but tehy break when and where you want them too. i did not have a break all day. they did not bounce either. the fill was about as think as ive seen any paintball. im guessing its teh cold weather fill, but its just like any of the highest quality tourney paint. so rediculously think. its almost impossible to whipe.
Conclusion: These are pretty good balls. we were inside, so i really dont know their cold weather potential. overall, i say go with premiums or sumthin cause premiums are more accurate (well of couse go with evils, but im basing on price range, the polar ice are saposed to be about the same quality as premiums). but the fill is good and they are not too brittle or too hard.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ckirkend Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marballizer
Diablo
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
CP 0-500PSI Reg.
Maddman Rocket Valve
ESP Rocking Trigger
Low Pressure Nitrogen System
High Modded Aluminum Bolt
Halo B
J&J Ceramic 14" Barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
J&J
Stock
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Barrell Breaks!!!!
Review: I have used the Polar Ice paint two times. They did not work well either time. The first time I used them, the temperature was about 45 degrees. I had many barrell breaks with the J&J, not quite as many with the stock. The second time, the temperature was below 30 degrees. I had 20+ barrel breaks at the chrono station before I could even get the successful shots over the chrono. I was so mad that I just asked for a refund and left, because this is a FPO field, and this was the only paint they had that particular day. Also, there were MANY others having the same problem.
Conclusion: DO NOT buy this paint. I have found that the Diablo Heat works much better. I ran 1000 Diablo's through later on the same day as having all the barrell breaks with the Polar Ice.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BrutishOpus Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lots of paint, to many to put down (I like to test)
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant with a 16 inch Nightstick barrel, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Dye Sticky Grip

Ion Pro with rail and On/Off ASA, Freak Barrel, CP Blade Trigger, CP Reg, Halo B hopper and a 3000 PSI HPA Tank from Pure Energy
Recommended
Barrels:
.689 worked great
Strengths: Accurate
Bright Fill/Thick Fill
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a good paint brand, Its premium but put it at rec ball quality, but its very accurate

Pros-

Very accurate, comparible to Marbs and Evil, I used it for a day of practice on the speedball field and it proved accurate, I play back and mid, and I was picking people off and laning really well, it worked excellent

It has a very thick fill and is hard to wipe and its bright enough to be seen while shooting, very good fill, like a goo

Cons-

None
Conclusion: Very good producs, I have nothing but good things to say about it, very nice, another great paint from RPS
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quiggly_530 Friday, March 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine (old model) J&J Ceramic 12", 20oz CO2
Recommended
Barrels:
any
Strengths: Bright, tough shell, cold weather formula
Weaknesses: Balls did come dimpled
Review: I used this once. My friends were having a massive rec-party and I didn't want to miss out. I went to my local store to buy paint and all they offered was Polar Ice. I was a little dissapointed, but bought a case (a little high of a price). My friends later said they wish they would have been as smart as me and got severe weather paint. I was glad I got it because that day it was about 30degrees out. So.... to make a long story short, everyone else chopped, I didn't, everyone else messed around, I owned.
Conclusion: It's great paint if you're playing in cold weather (no colder than 28 degrees). Balls did come dimpled, and will dimple slightly in cold weather. Just go through your paint the day before and pick out the few bad ones and you'll be fine. A little more expensive than regular paint, but still worth it 100%.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 18th, 2005 at 9:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stevebski Friday, February 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
White box brand paint by 32 degrees, paint left out in the sun for about a week.
Arctic inferno
Marker Setup: 2K1 autococker with ugraded LPR set up
Freak system
Recommended
Barrels:
One that is easily squeegied
Strengths: Non-toxic, water soluble, biodegradable
Weaknesses: Poor quality, Fresh paint arrived dimpled, large seams, broke in barrle no matter what
Review: Ok, I went to this scenario that a friend of mine put out recently. The paint ordered was Polar Ice- yellow shell/yellow fill. I watched it come in. It was about as fresh as you could get it. I got 2nd case off pallet. First bag, no breaks but every single ball was dimpled. Not just minor dimple, like golfball dimpled. There were some smooth spots on some of the balls though. They were cut in half by a horrible seam.

I figured, what the heck, it's snowing and everyone else is shooting it as it's event paint only so I took it on the field. Big mistake. I sized it to my freak barrel, then went up an insert to account for any moisture in the barrel from the snow. I've done this with Arctic inferno and had no issues. First shot over the chrono, busted down the barrel. Cleaned the barrel. Second shot, same deal. I did this with about a dozen shots before I got my first shot to register over the chrono.

So keeping my squeegie close by, I took the field. Needless to say, I would've been better off taking the paint in my hand and smacking people with it to eliminate them. 1 in 20 shots flew straight if it didn't bust in the barrel. I tried uping the size of my insert after about an hour of frustration to no avail. Same deal all day. I even cleaned my barrel out with cleaner and dried it at lunch time. Took it on the field with a plastic bag over the barrel in case it was moisture. Nope, nothing worked. It got to the point where I put the marker down and ran around with no marker at all doing missions.
Conclusion: Do not waste your money with this paint. It wasn't a fluke case. Everyone on the field had the same issues. How else do you think I was able to run around without a marker and still complete the missions? I'm no SEAL or anything.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cyborg15 Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
******IN COLD WEATHER******
Evil Tournament (Same)
Maballizer (slightly worse)
Big Ball (worse)
Brass Eagle (bad everywhere)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with Hyper-Star bolt, 14in. Razzor barrel 4x zoom scope
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything that fits
Strengths: Accurate in cold weather, don't chop if it's above freezing
Weaknesses: Sometimes get bad batches, NOT winterproof
Review: Pro's
*I bought a case of these & played all weekend with them with 30-40 degree weather and they worked great.
*These are made to shoot in cold weather and it shows
*Bright fill (can stain)
*Cheap
Con's
*Can't stay whole/straight if it goes much under freezing
*Paint so thick its tough to clear a barrel if you manage to break one
*Some balls are not round or edges clearly visible
Conclusion: If you know your playing in cold weather, (or can't stay inside) these are good to have in your arsenal. Great cold weather performance, but don't leave em outside. They're not the best balls to hit the market, but a solid value
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tornpony Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Arctic Inferno
Marker Setup: Eblade Orracle, Center Flag 68/4500, B w/rip, Stiffi
Recommended
Barrels:
Something with a large bore
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Basically a Big Ball
Review: I live in the midwest where the weather gets crappy for about 3-4 months of the year but my urge doesn't go away. I was stuck using these balls until Draxxus came along a nd offered some quality. These balls are not much better than using Big Balls. Very inconsistant, a lot of barrel breaks, and no size consistancy. I still found myself using the swab far to often.
Conclusion: I would not recomend these to anybody as long as the Arctic Inferno are available. Very poor quality. I will give them a one since they were not quite as bad as trying to use BIg Ball in the cold.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 12th, 2004 at 6:06 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blackbobcat87 Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: Vertical Reg Vision Impulse
12 in. Progressive
SP Voodoo Bolt
SP Twister Feed
ND Rip Valve
ND Brass hammer
ND Silk Shot ram
ND 15 degree V/A
ND Ultimate LPR
Dye Stickies
12V X-Board Revvy
PMI Pure Energy 48/3000 HPA tank
Recommended
Barrels:
Something small bore, this stuff in kinda on the small side
Strengths: Good for winter use
Weaknesses: Does stain sometimes
Review: I used this paint because it was what the feild owner was selling, I figure $60 a case for winter paint, can't beat that. It does work better than regular paint in cold weather, but below 30 it starts to break more easily. Remember guys, they do have to make this stuff safe for spring and summer use.
Conclusion: My suggestion for paint when the dial drops below 40 or so.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 8:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media