paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Enigma EXR / Enigma EXR / Enigma EXR / Enigma EXR

Enigma EXR Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Enigma

Buy Enigma EXR

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Enigma EXR
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 42
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $259

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Standard Features: Semi-auto Action, Power Feed, Venturi Bolt, Anti-Double Feed, Metal Two Finger Trigger, Regulation Trigger Guard, 12" Muzzle Brake Barrel, Air Scrubber Filter System, Composite .45 Grip Frame with Rubber Grip Covers, Vertical Adapter, Expansion Chamber with Bottom Line and Regulator Set Up, External Velocity Adjuster, Push Pin Field Strip System, Premium Anodizing.
Product Availability 
The Enigma EXR is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Rowol Tuesday, February 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom, not nearly as good.
Any Brass eagle semi, not nearly as good as well.
Spyder E-99, good gun but my enigma can easily stand up to them.
WGP Autococker, yeah it's a cocker but it is a fairly cheap one and the enigma can stand up to it as it doesn't break as much paint.
Marker Setup: -Enigma EXR
-20oz, 12oz, 12oz, tanks (C02)
-14" Dye Boomstick barrel
-Evil Paintballs
-12v Viewloader hopper
-Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well it can't take many more upgrades, about the only thing I suggest is a 14" barrel anything longer wont help any marker any.
Strengths: The good! There are many good things, about this marker.
-It comes with so many upgrades!
-A GIANT low pressure chamber
-A 4-stage expansion chamber. (It might be 6 I'm not sure.)
-A gauge.
-The marker is real quiet, it's not sniper classed but you can get off at least ten shots before your opponet knows your there and if your good that's all you need.... need I say more?
-It hardly chops. Just yesterday I was using Diablo Dusks and Afterburners because I had nothing else and it hardly broke a ball! Sure it curved but isn't that what Wal-Mart paint is expected to do?
-It's trigger pull is so small, sure it's more than a electronic trigger or a Tippman 98 custom but compared to Spyder semi's it is SHORT.
-It's VERY cheap I got mine for $150
-Almost nobody has it! almost nobody has heard of it!
-It WILL NOT freeze up in the winter with all of the upgrades.
-Easy to field strip.
-Easy to clean and oil.
Weaknesses: Not many of these, but here we go,
-Well the drop back is not a great idea but hey who cares? It doesn't get in the way too bad.
-I got hit in the mask with the bolt once but the marker comes with a beaver tail so that doesnt matter.
-when you get it put on more teflon tape on the gauge or it might leak. A minor flaw in prduction.
Conclusion: This is a great marker. I'm sick of people with 'cockers coming and saying, "oh it's so crappy because it's a semi! Oh look at me mister rich boy who can't play paint at all but I must be good because I have an angel!"

Truth of the matter is it is very nice and really can't get much better. I was actually going to wait for a while before posting this review but the last review torqued me off so I put it on early.

I firmly believe this is a "10" product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 4:42 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hell.hound Sunday, October 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon-breaks just as easily
Marker Setup: Dark Ion
Intimidator regualtor
New Designz roller blade trigger
KO Paintball Products drop forward and Dead On asa
Crossfire 68/3000 fiber wrapped HPA tank
Halo B with Victory Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New gun
Strengths: Spyder barrel threads i guess
Weaknesses: Expansion chamber,mechanical saftey,detents come off very easily
Review: This was my first marker. When i got it out of the box i was very excited as anybody would be with a new marker. I went down to the local Sports Autority and had my co2 tank filled there. I went into the backyard, put the co2 into the gun, attached the hopper, and filled the hopper with paint. I was stunned when paintballs rolled down the barrel before i even shot it. I thought nothing of it and when i went to my local field i wasted about 1000 paintballs because they rolled out the barrel. I asked the airsmith what the problem was and he said that there was no ball detents, and the place where the detents should be looked like nothing he had ever seen. I ordered new detents and i was happy that my gun would work. When i got the detents i put them right on the gun and rushed outside so i could actually fire my now working gun. When i aired my gun up it made a very loud pop, like a tire exploding. I dropped the gun in suprise, and it sat in the grass leaking like crazy. After all the co2 had leaked out and the gun had warmed up again, i picked up my gun. I was so angry at this gun by this point. I went to Sports authority to see if anybody there could help with my broken gun, a very kind man regretfully told me that my gun was beond repair. Right then i made the best decision of my life, i bought a Spyder Imagine. My spyder has been working for over a year and a half now, and i still use it as a backup gun.
Conclusion: Don't buy this product, spyders are much better, MUCH higher quality, and if it ever does break (mine is still yet to) Kingman backs thier products up much better than the enigma company. I would not reccoment this product to anybody.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 17th, 2005 at 2:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RAK Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, 98's
Marker Setup: Stock Enigma E2
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you use only one brand of ball I would get a better barrel sized for the paint. If your not stuck on a certain brand paint stay with the stock barrel.

If your into speed you need a power hopper, the E2 shoots faster than gravity can feed the gun.
Strengths: Accuracy
Cold weather ability
60 sec field strip
High co2 mileage
Consistent velocity
Weaknesses: May have wrong O rings installed.
Check all screws prior to use.
Review: I purchased two E2's one year ago and my son and I have run them hard in every woodsball scenario imaginable. Several weeks ago we broke them out of winter storage and headed out with another group for woodsball. The temp dropped to 24 degrees, the E2's were the only guns still shooting with enough velocity to hit anything and still break a ball. This is probably due to the over-sized LP chamber and expansion chamber.
We have used them in hot weather and never had anything blow up as stated in other reviews on this board. I did have one O ring failure in the expansion chamber, this was due to the incorrect O ring installed at the factory. I removed the expansion chamber and screwed a 9 oz tank on the same port and carried on, lost about 5 minutes of game play. The trigger failed on this same gun last year due to a bad trigger pin, the steel pin was of incorrect temper and bent. Both of these problems were minor to say the least and were quickly addressed by Bargain Paintball.
After cleaning my sons gun after yesterdays mudballarama I discovered just how tough the E2 is. The bolt and chamber were fouled with mud and water yet the chamber suffered no wear or scratches. I replaced the bolt O rings(bottle type) to be on the safe side incase there was imbedded dirt in them. The gun functioned fine during the game and after cleaning.
I can't say I've never broken a ball, you get what you pay for. We shoot allot and if the paint is sorta round we use it. I do have a 16 inch straight riffled barrel for my E2 but found the stock 12 inch barrel better unless you buy the premium paint.
Conclusion: I can find no inherit fault with this gun. As stated I own two and with the new lower price I plan on getting another. Who ever assembles the E2's needs to pay a little more attention to O rings and at least attempt to tighten all the screws. Some say its a spyder copy, Wrong, its a spyder copy on steroids and if the system ain't broke .......
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

maddrummer Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Listed in order best on top
Tippman A-5
Kingman Spider E-99
Kingman Spider Imagine
Tippman Model 98
Kingman Spider X-Tra
Kingman Spider TL Plus
Phiranah BL
Marker Setup: Emigma EXR
20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
no upgrades are needed for this gun
Strengths: Cheap
Easy to fix
Accurate enough
Weaknesses: Not as fast as newer markers
Not well known name
Review: Basically this gun is decent. It does what it was meant to do, shoot paint at someone before they shoot you. I almost never chop paint, unless I am screwing around trying to out shoot the gun, but it only takes one shot to mark someone. A great gun for beginners, but with all the new hybrid guns that are selling fairly cheap, you might as well go for a known brand such as a Spyder or Piranah. They will let you shoot faster and you will have the comfort of a well known, respectable company. There is nothing wrong with this gun, but you can get an electronic for around the same price so I would go wth one of those.
Conclusion: Basically I've said all there is to say. This gun gets the job done, however, I'd go with an electronic Spyder or Piranah for the same price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ipathway Friday, December 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder shutter-roughly equal with the exr, spyder tl plus-doesnt compare, jt-good gun but hogs air, tippman 98c-excellent gun, but not for tourny, same goes for the pro/lite. pirahnas-depends on gun, some dont compare to the exr, some are 10 times better
Marker Setup: stock enigma exr with the delrin bolt and psi gauge
Recommended
Upgrades:
definatly a barrel, ive had good experience with the empire twister, and as dumb as it looks on my shiny green gun, it puts the balls in an excellent spat radius. and a new trigger frame would be nice as the stock one is made out of plastic. i think you can use spyder frame for it.
Strengths: comes upgraded, shoots fast, straight for a stock gun
Weaknesses: heavy, loud with stock bolt, trigger frame is plastic
Review: lets see...bought the exr, pretty quick delivery, got a free guppie and 500 free practice balls with it. it seems like a very good marker so far, with 700 rounds through it and no breaks, i have been very impressed. it shoots fast, and pretty straight for a stock gun. i havent had any problems with the x chamber blowing up or anything going wrong with it at all. my brother has a tl plus and shooting at a box in the yard it was obvious how much more quiet the exr is than the tl. it seems like a very solid design. just be sure to get a delrin bolt, it makes a world of difference. the enigma site sucks, theres not really any customer service and i didnt get any pamplet with the gun...theres nowhere to but replacement parts for it on the site either...but i guess you can rig it up with spyder parts.
Conclusion: this gun is worth every penny of 130 bucks or however much it is...although i do think the owner of bargainpaintball wrote some of those reviews, the gun he sells seems pretty damn good to me. im giving it a 9 becuase of the trigger frame.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ecv1855 Thursday, November 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
e99 tipman 98 piranna
Marker Setup: enigma halo b compressed air cp and dye barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: it is a very accurate marker
Weaknesses: none
Review: i like this gun it is very competitive i like it better than my spider e99.my friends have better and more expensive guns but they don't shoot as good as my enigma this marker has served me well i took it to the paintball shop to see what they thought they didn't like it because i didn't buy it there so trust what you know do the research because the shops just want you to buy whats on their shelf
Conclusion: i recommend this gun to any one trying to get in the game for a good price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Drewwh Tuesday, September 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Enigma EXR, w/ add-on expansion chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, you won't be using this long enough to get an upgrade.
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Three words: It. Doesn't. Work.
Review: Well, I don't want to sound like some guy who just got beat in a match, and is pissed at his gun, but... this thing sucks. The first time I played with it everything went pretty good, the accuracy was off though. Second time I played, the paint dropped after about 30 ft. After I left the first round, I was sitting in the back of a car with my gun laying on the seat, when BANG! the expansion chamber blows up. The stupid o-ring got blown out by the pressure. After much debate, my dad and I came to the conclusion that we needed to adjust the regulator screw, that somehow it had gotten loosened. But other than that, we were sure it was a good gun, so he got one too. First time I used it, no surprise, it blew up. And that time we had gotten a pressure gauge, so we knew the pressure wasn't 'too high'.
Conclusion: Conclusion: don't get this gun. If it would work, it would be a good gun, but with two guns BOTH blowing up in the same place, you know it's not just one model.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 2nd, 2003 at 7:23 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

KING ZOTH Sunday, August 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various spyders
Marker Setup: I used the enigma E2 with no accesories.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't get it in the first place.
Strengths: accurate
sorta far range
Weaknesses: it blows up
Review: This gun is good when you can actually use it.There is one catch with this gun.It blows up.The expansion chamber slowly build up co2 pressure inside it and then eventually it blows.It nearly killed my friends by landing on them.It shot 10 feet in the air 3 times.Don't get this gun,if you value your friends life.Get this gun if you want to put on a good show.
Conclusion: Don't get it unless your in the circus.If you get it you will see what i mean when it blows up,mayvbe,it could just be the one i got but it blows so don't get it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

crymeph Wednesday, July 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Marauder, not as accurate, but it's not broken yet.
Marker Setup: Stock + DoomStik barrel and expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Another gun, sorry to say
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: POS expansion chamber
Review: I hate badmouthing, but I seriously think the good comments about this gun are rigged. The expansion chamber broke after 1 day of serious play plus one round out in the backyard shooting at random stuff. Same as the other negative posts, the O-Ring in the E chamber went to H* (pick one). Alright, I figure maybe I got a bad luck draw, but when I emailed them, I never heard back from them (going on 6 weeks now, they ain't getting back to me). That doesn't give me a warm and fuzzy feeling that I'm even going to get the gun back if I ship it to their so-called "factory." So I guess I'm stuck either getting a new E chamber / O ring, or getting a long hose and doing without the chamber. Suck.
Conclusion: Don't risk it, stick with a known thing at your local paintball dealer. No matter how bad their customer care is, it beats Enigma.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lashuay Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder / More Reliable than Enigma
Pirahna / More Reliable than Enigma
Tippmann / Much more reliable than Enigma
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix w/expansion chamber, J&J cermaic barrel
Tippmann A-5 w/ flatline barrel, expansion chamber and E-grip
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ commando package & remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get rid of the regulator/gauge set up it will give you nothing but problems
Strengths: Good Barrel, shoots consistently
Weaknesses: Air Leaks, no customer service from manufacturer.
Review: This marker is a Spyder / Pirahna with about $100 - $150 of upgrades. It comes with a good barrel, a huge low pressure chamber, an expansion chamber and a regulator. The first thing to do is get rid of the regulator assembly. The design is horrible, mine leaked after 3 days of use. The instruction sheet (3 peices of paper stapled together) says that "Do to tight tolerences, you may experience a slight stick in the trigger. Oil trigger assembly with 2-3 drops of air gun oil and the problem will wear itself in within 200-500 shots." I have fired over 1700 and it still sticks. This is another design problem. On day 8 the oring in the bottom of the expansion chamber blew out. Once I got the oring out of the chamber I noticed 2 things 1) The oring was the wrong size and was gouged. (nice job Enigma) and 2) Enigma claims that the expansion chamber is a six chambered expansion chamber, it is not, it is a 1 chamber expansion chamber. Enigma says that the use an air scrubber system... their air scrubber system is a peice of copper that keeps junk out but also slows air velosity, not the best idea considering I have to turn the gun all the way up just to get it to shoot @ 265 fps and that's the max that it will shoot at. I pulled the "air scrubber" system out and now the gun will do almost 330 fps... Big Difference. Here is the most important thing that I can stress. There is NO customer support for this product. I have tried to email the company 3 different times with no response. I called information to get their phone number and there is no listing. I have got the marker all fixed now, but I am an air smith so it make it real easy. I would not recommend this gun to anyone unless you like constant headaches.
Conclusion: I think this gun is a cheap rip-off of Spyder / Pirahna markers. They put the extras on that you want but all the extras a poor in quality. I have had this gun for a month and I have had more problems than with my first Spyder which is 2 1/2 years old.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media