paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / I&I Sports Punisher / I&I Sports Punisher / I&I Sports Punisher / I&I Sports Punisher

I&I Sports Punisher Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount I&I Sports

Buy I&I Sports Punisher

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


I&I Sports Punisher
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is a stock class pistol that uses 12 gram co2 to power the marker. Semi automatic action makes this compact pistol stand out above the rest!
Product Availability 
The I&I Sports Punisher is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Avery Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All "PT" pistols.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think getting a remote fitting (custom made) is nice. I used to make and sell them, but no longer. Unlike some pistols, you can put in a male QD where the brass screw goes and you do not need to plug the marker with a 12 gram powerlet to stop leaks out the front, you can simply leave it there and use it as you wish or choose not to. It still holsters well, and allows you to run remote, which is much cheaper.

I did not like the bottomline kit. I have the hopper adaptor, and it only fits the small size feednecks.

I highly recommend the Ronin Gear holster, it fits the pistol well, is well designed, and is very inexpensive for the quality it is made with. I also replaced the grip panels with Dye Basic Stickies (which required some minor modification of the gripframe).
Strengths: Semi-auto, Fast recharge, Holsterable, Best consistancy of pistols, cheap
Weaknesses: Long trigger, somewhat cheap construction, non-standard
Review: I've had a lot of fun with mine! I had two, and sold one once I realized how stupid using two at a time was. I researched very carefully before choosing the PT Punisher and I'm glad I did. Only the Palmer Squall is better (at $300 US!). The PT Enforcer is an older version of this one, and the clips and cocking are inferior. The Zeus and Zx are newer versions, but are functionally the same. The Punisher and the both the Core and Paintball Online Professional are identical in everything but a couple cosmetic details. The PT Extreme looks cooler and is often considered superior, but is truly not. The Extreme has velocity problems and they worsen as the gun is used more.

The PTP is surprisingly accurate, though not as accurate as a marker with a good barrel. The barrel is very large (I guess so you don't break paint). The ball detente is not so good, and if you run with the pistol you can lose shots out the barrel as it swings in your hand. The rate of fire is upwards of 8 BPS and I'm not that fast on a trigger. The gripframe is only plastic, so its not very durable, but you won't be using it that often anyways.

Sadly, the threads are mostly non-standard, and the marker is designed so that you need to use their parts. The people at paintball online do not know anything about the marker so they're no help. The cocking mechanism is identical to the Core Sharc, and I think you could use those parts. The little brass screw under the CO2 slot is not the standard 1/4 NPT fitting, instead it is an African garden hose fitting!

I highly recommend the Ronin Gear holster, it fits the pistol well, is well designed, and is very inexpensive for the quality it is made with. I also replaced the grip panels with Dye Basic Stickies (which required some minor modification of the gripframe).

All in all, it's cheap, looks good, and there's no reason not to have one! I have so much fun running around with just the pistol sometimes, and the number of people I've scared the bejeezus out of is climbing. Just remember to oil it a LOT!

Chrono figures: 305, 304, 302, 298, 290, 295, 293, 289, 289, 280 Out of the box on a snowy day with a 12g powerlet fired once every 5 seconds.
Conclusion: As the best pistol in its price range, I give it a 9 / 10. You can get them for $70 with a holster from Ronin!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 21st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VM68, Mini-Mag, Spyder, Piranha
Marker Setup: Punisher, Bottom-line / drop forward, NO2 gas setup, hopper attachment... Primary weapon!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra clips in backup pistol mode & a holster. Bottom-line / drop forward & hopper attachment in primary mode. Works best on Nitro in primary mode!!! CO2 turned mine into an ice cube maker!

Put some rubber (sticky) grips on it! You may have to slightly modify the grip frame. Cut some knobbies off, etc. Depending on the grip you choose.
Strengths: - Very light weight.
- Hardly ever jams or breaks balls (keep it oiled up!)
- Simple field strip (bolt & hammer removal from rear without tools!)
- Accurate as heck!
- Good NO2 gas economy
- Really good cycle rate with NO2 gas setup & CO2 (when not frozen!)
- Looks killer!
- Fairly easy cup seal replacement. Valve assy removes / installs easily
- Uses a standard (Spyder type) cup seal
- Easy velocity adjustment on the back of the gun
Weaknesses: Not really bad because I prefer NO2 over CO2 --> Works best on Nitro in primary mode!!! CO2 turned mine into an ice cube maker!

When converting to bottom-line make sure you have plenty of Teflon tape! Tape the CO2 powerlet cap threads heavily. Mine leaked from there!

I had a couple of them with leaky cup seals out of the box. I&I was really good about trading for a non-leaky one. No problems so far.

Keep the bolt & striker (hammer) oiled. I clean & lube mine after every day out. I lube up between games as well.

Cleaning out the barrel & bolt when a ball chops is a PAIN! Must remove bolt & hammer to clean properly after a chop has occurred. A straight shot combat squeegee is best for this task. (Shoot good paint & keep it lubed & this will rarely happen.)

Lube it up good after spraying water into the gun. It will jam badly when water is in the bolt & hammer cavities.



Conclusion: An excellent gun for backup & a very reliable primary! I love this gun!!!

I give it a 10 because (and I rarely would rate anything a 10 out of 10!):

- WAY exceeded my expectations out of the box & in the bottom-line setup!!!
- Price range is awesome!!!
- Conversion to primary weapon adds a whole separate dimension
- Small, light weight, good gas economy & accurate (what else could you want?)
- I shoot as well with this gun as my freind does with his $700 auto-cocker ;-) enough said!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Unforgiven Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Punishers, PT extremes, PGP
Marker Setup: One of my 2 just has a bottom line, the other custom skull grips. Bottom line setup's valve has been recut to stop leak issue.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, honestly, if it doesn't leak I wouldn't upgrade anything. The idea is for a sidearm, or maybe a normal marker for us crazy people. A bottomline will hinder this idea slightly, and also its a mental thing making you think you can go buck nuts when you only have 10 shots....
Strengths: small, fairly light. machining work can be done easily.
Weaknesses: Bulky cheap aluminum valve may leak out of box
Review: It's a decent marker I suppose. My rating is in the middle because I had a great working one, and one that leaked out of the box and I&I sports refused to send replacemtn parts even if I sent money for them. Valve design must have been done by a 5 year old, since after thinking about it, I had redone the design and now it works better... Good R&D: I&I sports....They can chop if using overly small paint, since the bore size on the perminent barrel is very very large. I plan to put in 2 angel threaded ball detents because if the shots are too small they roll out of the barrel. For the money these are decent guns, I got one for $100 and the other for a video game trade. Now that they are both working, i am quite happy with them, but I still am putitng a bad review since one of two didn't work out of box.
Conclusion: Buy it if you want to risk it. A good airsmith can remake the valve, but the cost won't be cheap I can tell you. I'd say save up your money for a Squall.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan Jackel, PGP, PGP II, Sidekick Semi
Marker Setup: Spyder 2000 with stock regulator, 12 inch barrel, adjustable sling, Punisher W/ Ronin tatical drop forward thigh holster plus 5 ten round stock tubes.
Recommended
Upgrades:
two extra mags for the gun if you're a rec/sceneario player, plus a drop forwrad tatical holster (get the Ronin), get some hogue grips, the basic 45 grip frames are not the best of comfort in my opinion.
Strengths: The gun is a good design, I've never had any problem with it and it's gotten me out of some rough spots. I like it's design, it's quiet, has a very unique style that gets a lot of notice among all the players (pro and novice rec players). The gun itself works well, smooth operation and reliable once you know how to operate it, a few skirmishes using just the sidearm would be the best advice to figure them out.
Weaknesses: Bad things... well let me start by saying the gun is a bit large, and a bit on the heavy side if you're a younger player, anyone under 5'5'' may have a little trouble with it. The gun also has a few kinks that need to be checked, for one if you lock and load the gun, unlatch the pusher for the rounds to be pushed into the breach and then try to play a game you realize quickly that after a few hours of running around a few rounds slip out, it takes a bit but they still slip out, just when you put the magazine on turn the powerfeed off so when you do use it all you need to do is turn the powerfeed and push the first round down with your pinky into the breach, once you pratice you can get this operation down to two seconds.
The other bad thing to mention is the grips, I didnt like the stock 45 grips on it so I got a different pair of Dye grips and with a little modification on the gun they fit like a dream.
Also, the gun has some trouble with it's use of the CO2 powerlets, mine only gets about 12 rounds on a full charge, which isn't the best for me so I just use my sidearm as a last ditch effort.
Conclusion: The gun has some drawbacks as well as it's perks, if you're using hte gun as your sidearm it works well and is worth the money, it has gotten me out of about six difficult situations that kept me in the game long enough to repair my spyder or reload, I need to buy an extra magazine though. Reloading takes a bit too long if you're in a tight spot, but for a last ditch effort it's worth it's weight in gold. I give it an eight mostly for it's lack of CO2 staying power, and a bit of it's weight, but other than that I really can't complain.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, December 19th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Spyder2000
Smart Parts all American Barrel 14"
Strengths: Accurate
Not loud
Easy Velocity Adjuster
Umm is light so you can run faster
What else...small?
Weaknesses: about 10-15 shots per co2...but that could be good
Paintballs dont go into barrel have to push down with finger sometimes
Oil a lot
Handel is cheap

Conclusion: Great pistol, go buy it if you got 80 or 90dollars. Glad to have it, worth every cent
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coverboy1100 Tuesday, December 18th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
another magazine or maybe two.
Strengths: shoots straight.
wicked looking!
the gun to have with you when your tank runs out on your main gun.
ligtht weight
rides nice in the back of your pack if you don't use a remote, or in a holster.
and it's under a hundre bucks
Weaknesses: there isn't anything major that happened to mine yet. So i can't really say anything bad about.
Conclusion: very good gun for someone who has fire control. this is a gun that everyone should get at least one of theses for a side arm.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 9th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VM68, Piranah, Spyder, Mini Mag
Marker Setup: Punisher with hopper attachment, bottom line (drop forward) & NO2 gas.
Recommended
Upgrades:
1 - Sight Rail (Explained below)
2 - Motorized hopper (Explained below)
Strengths: Minor issues with hopper attachment & ball feeding. Easily corrected.
Weaknesses: Hopper attachment movement causes ball chopping.
Conclusion: 1 - The hopper attachment available from I&I Sports works well with the exception that it tends to move forward with each shot. Some times this causes the attachment to stick. When this occurs balls stick between the bolt chamber and the hopper tube. Balls stuck in this position are likely to get chopped. Applying oil or grease to the bottom of the hopper attachment works well until the oil or grease thickens with dirt or metal particles from the gun frame & hopper. I purchased an elevated sight rail @ I&I sports & placed this directly in from of the hopper attachment. The sight rail fits on top of the Punisher due to the fact that the top of the gun has a rail that is basically the same dimension as a sight rail. With this sight rail directly in front of the hopper attachment movement will not occur & jamming / chopping balls is reduced.

2 - Revolution or other motorized hopper. I found that even with the addition of a sight rail (or other object to restrict hopper attachment movement) the gun would occasionally chop a ball. Investigation determined that this was happening only when I shoot rapidly (8-10 rounds per second). Balls would not drop into the bolt chamber fast enough. Adding a motorized hopper corrected this issue. I recommend a 12v Revolution. The 9v will probably work as well. The 12v will allow for faster cycle rates. Note: the 9v & 12v Revolution use the same logic (circuit) board & servo. The 9v has a plug in the battery compartment with prevents a second battery. The 9v is also missing a second battery connector. Anyone with basic electronic know how can solder a second battery terminal in place & turn the 9v into a 12v. Note that the 9v has only 2 rudders & the 12v has 4. I use a converted 9v with 2 rudders and find that it works perfectly. Nice thing is that you can buy a 9v for $40 & spend $2 on the parts to make it a 12v! The 12v is $55-$60...

I still rate this gun a 10... These are very minor issues and modifications that anyone can accomplish.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, November 4th, 2001
Strengths: accurate, pretty quite, light small. spare mags available easy to work on. came with holster.
Weaknesses: the cup seal that came in mine leaked, put the spare in it. that should fix it though.
Conclusion: i got the gravity feed and ca adapter too. with those to it make's a decent primary, and should work well in speedball games, especially for some one looking for a small marker.

it's pretty easiy to strip, you can remove the valve without taking out the bolt and everything like a spyder. the bolt and hammer you can just unsrew fromt he back.

all in all, i'd say it's real good deal with the holster and all, just get an extra magazine or 2. when you get tired of 12 grams you can hook it up with a small 3.5 or 4 oz tank.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

detention489 Sunday, September 30th, 2001
Strengths: -Range
-Looks
-RC System
-Removable 10 shot clips
-Easy to adjust RVA
-Awesome as a back-up weapon
-Semi-Automatic
-You do not have the 12 gram protruding out of the gun
-No hopper

(Sveeeeeeeet)
Weaknesses: Umm... Err... Well the... Uhh... (Nothing)
Conclusion: Well I still have mine all stock parts and it shoots fine, but I am looking into some custom .45 grips. That's probably the only upgrade worth getting if you are going to use it as a back-up weapon. Definately worth every penny. Definately the best back up weapon money can buy! I would reccomend it to anyone who is looking into a back up weapon (duh).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, September 20th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is tha bomb!
Its .. like a very improved PT Enforcer!
Nice looking! Good range! Accurate.. oh yeah!
Just as so much power as you wish in a backup!
Its even SOUNDS good!
What more.. hmm.. Oh Yeah! ICP rules! :)
Weaknesses: Hmm.. thats a hard one!
If you shoot to fast, balls might end up beeing crushed by the bolt!
The cleaning is a mess.. luckely i don't have to clean it so much because it almost never breakes!
I haven't tried so many backups though..
Nothing further..
Conclusion: This is simply the best backup i have tried...
It's well worth the money!
If you want the phatest backup on the market.. get the punisher and paint some azz! IMPORTANT: Don't be temptated to shoot at garages from the back of a cadilac! Hehe..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media