paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap Mach 404 / Zap Mach 404 / Zap Mach 404

Zap Mach 404 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap Mach 404

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap Mach 404
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes in clear and black.
Product Availability 
The Zap Mach 404 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Butter Knife Monday, September 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
200 round hopper (no agitator), 12v revy
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact 2000, bottomline, 32* Terminator, 14 oz. tank, and once I give the guy back his hopper, my old unpowered gravity loader (yuck)
Strengths: -It agitates, for anyone who's forgotten what it's like to go back to pure gravity, or who's never used an electronic hopper, this really does make a big difference.
-It's light, it weighs less than a 12 volt, plain and simple.
-Cheap, costs less than a revy, research it and you'll see.
-Reliable, new revy's are flaky, many of them just don't work, these are slightly better about that.
-It vibrates, good for some immature humor.
Weaknesses: -It shakes, if you're extremely anal about accuracy, this might bother you, although personally I find that this shking just blends intro the kick anyway.
-It makes some noise. Not as bad as some people here want you to think, but if it's quiet on the field, you might miss something if it goes off. It doesn't usually matter, since when it's shaking it probably means you're shooting.
-It vibrates, good for too much immature humor.
Conclusion: I borrowed this friom another player at my local field for the day, when he left, I was in game, and he had forgotten to get it back from me, so until he wants it back, I've got one. Since I started using it I haven't had a single chop or ball jam, wish I could say the same for my gravity loader...

I'd say that this hopper is well worth the money if you're in the market for an agitator and have to work on a limited budget. But once you get a top of the line marker, you might need something with a bit more oomph.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

richarddufault Thursday, August 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader 2000 - not fast enough to keep up with an electro. Old technology.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 with 14" Dye Boomstick barrel, Full boar Rear Cocking, gas-through stock, expansion chamber and Dye Sticky Grips; Red M3 Black Dragun Compact with red 16" CMI barrel and expansion chamber
Strengths: Cheap. I believe Zap will stop producing this loader soon, and I was able to get mine for $40.00 CDN, which is like $26.00 US.

Agitates with every shot. I just got a Black Dragun, and no matter what you say about those markers, one thing you have to admit is they shoot really fast. Too fast for my old VL 2000, which I've had for many years. The agitator agitates by detecting vibrations in the marker. In my Black Dragun, just the click of the solenoid is enough to set it off even without cocking the bolt. It is quite difficult to set off the vibrator by accident, because it takes quite a sharp vibration to set it off.

Only uses one battery. When you're shelling out three or four bucks for a battery, or 15 bucks for a rechargeable battery, you don't want a loader that uses two batteries.

Transparent. You can see into the loader to see how much ammo you have, but the smoked finish doesn't allow opponents to really see into the loader.

Holds 200 rounds. Seems to load fine even when it's completely full.
Weaknesses: Noisy. The vibrating dangle-thing makes a buzzing noise with every shot. It's not THAT loud, even in rec-ball, but the weird thing is, I can't hear players call themselves out after I shoot them. It's like "POW! BRRRRRRRT.... What did you say?"

Brittle plastic. Someone told me this thing is made out of polycarbonate (the same stuff your lens is made of), but it seems unlikely. The screws that hold it together seem a little loose, and I'm afraid to overtighten them in case the case cracks.

Poor fit. The two halves of the shell aren't quite tight together, and that makes for more vibration noise when firing. I'm going to look into some sort of plastic tape to seal the two halves together.

Huge. The boys at my field call it The Zeppelin. It has the cool side-blimps just like the Graf Zeppelin. I don't have a problem with it, but others like something smaller.

Short duration on the battery. After about 2000 shots fired over the course of a day, the loader was agintating pretty weakly. I don't care because when I bought the Dragun, I went out and got a couple of NIMH 9-V batteries, so I recharge them after every use.

Vibration. The vibration can throw off your aim if your marker is very light or has no stock. I'm a big guy and had no problems.

Poor performance when the loader is almost empty. I think that is why they made it to take 200 rounds - when you are down to less than 50, refill it! The dangly thing actually knocks the balls away from the feed hole when it's low on balls.
Conclusion: I don't know. Zap's products remind me of Brass Eagle in their early days: good ideas, but poor execution. Personally, I like the loader. The look of it complements my new Dragun perfectly, it functions well, 2000 rounds in one day of recball and only one break - argh I was shooting with an almost-empty loader. For the price, you can't go wrong. The only thing I would rather have at this point would be a Cyclone feeder that you could put on any marker.

I'm giving it an 8 becasue although it's great for me, not everyone can get it at the great price I got it for, and the workmanship is just a little too crude.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ace345 Tuesday, May 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revolutions
Marker Setup: Pmi pirhana
Strengths: This loader workes very well on all blowback markers. Here are some things I like
1. Feeds faster than a 12v rev
2. It fires with every shot every single time
3.It is almost impossible to break balls in the hopper
4. It can hold 220 balls
Weaknesses: Well it is a little loud but not bad. It is very loud once you start to run out of balls. Also it has a hard time feeding the last 10 balls or so. Also another thing is people out on the field will make fun of you for haveing it but don't let them get you down.
Conclusion: A exellent hopper for the money I would recomend it. However it is not to be used on low pressure guns as the recoil is not sufficent to make it rumble with every shot. GO and buy this
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hellfrog Saturday, April 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12 v revy w/ x board
9v revy
(different methods of agitation, so possibly apples and oranges)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom,
32 degrees terminator, 12 inch
full boar rear cocking,
jmj drop forward/trigger frame
GTA double trigger
GTA expansion chamber/ vert. adapter
Response Trigger! (OMG)
Custom Kameleon paintjob from Gray's Customs
Mach 404 loader
Strengths: Well, It's cheap, it holds lots of balls, it has a nice shape and low profile, it has reasonable battery life, I've never Jammed or broken a ball yet, and that's saying something with My RT turned up pretty high. And I don't use the greatest balls in the world. My friends and I mostly play woods ball, so we get whatever the local sports authority has... mostly Vortex Quake, PMI premium, even some viewloader and BE junk! So to not jam or break is saying something, esp. at this price...

Weaknesses: OK, it's not perfect.
1. the plastic seems kind of thin and cheap. (but you pay less, and I don't see it shattering like the stupid HALO, so no big deal)
2. it's a little louder than a revy. (but it only spins for a second after you shoot, so it's not like people don't know you are there)
3. even with the expander sleeve, the neck is a little thin which is dumb.
Conclusion: All in all, you make a few compromises, but then again, you are saving 20 bucks or more, so what do you want?
BTW I keep seeing people say that there is no polarity markings... Well, Mine has em, so either they are blind or I have a revised model. also I keep seeing people say no documentation...
What do you want? put a battery in it, turn it on, put balls in it, play paintball!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blah_Blah Sunday, April 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
revvy 12 v.
Marker Setup: Spyder AMG LCD on full auto.. / nitro
Strengths: inexpensive.... can get it for $44 (got mine for $40)

drops balls very quickly, no jams, even on Full-auto (usually set at 10bps). have shot about 2000 paintballs without an issue. Only take one 9v (efficient)..
Weaknesses: Does NOT work well when paint gets low.. bounces the balls around (last 15-20 or less).. because of the shaker mechanism.. so, in other words, put more paint in when you get low. not really an issue, since it holds more anyway.

it's a LITTLE loud, not that bad.. doesn't go off when it's not supposed to (contrary to what others said)..

Conclusion: great hopper. a good alternative to revvy's.. I own both and thinks works just as well!! (really)! see reviews on warpig.com. remember to keep a good amt. of paint in it and you'll be fine!

Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just started getting my own kit after years of rec play - just used gravity hoppers and the 10-round stick feeds!
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom & Minimag
Strengths: Large ball capacity
Cheap
Reliable
Doesn't burn batteries
Gets the job done
Weaknesses: No documentation
Workmanship a little shoddy
Battery compartment way too tight
Feed neck a little small.
Conclusion: Overall, I was pretty impressed with this. I was worried when I first got it, as there was no packaging, documentation etc, but then you get what you pay for. It's not the most precision-crafted thing I've ever seen, but nothing that can't be fixed with a bit of sanding or electrical tape. The battery compartment on mine needed a lot of the work as the two halves of the hopper were 1-2mm out and that stopped the door fitting when the battery was in.

In the field it triggered every time I pulled the trigger, and I had no feed jams, stoppages or breaks. It seems large, but is styled nicely and doesn't stick out too much whilst giving you a large capacity for ammo. I didn't find it unduly noisy either - no more than other agitators.

It's not flash and gimmicky, and performs just as well as higher priced products, so you won't be disappointed if you give it a go.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
9 & 12 V revy's, - I have had several shot through since they became a Brass Eagle product.. Hey Hey, Sorry, just the facts, and they would NOT make it right. Halo is Awesome, but expensive. and Ricochet 2K -was the loudest of all three. DO NOT RELY THE INDIVIDUAL SPEEDS GIVEN HERE. SEE THE QUALIFIED REVIEW ON WARPIG..
Marker Setup: 99 STO Autococker, Crossfire 68 N2, Boomstick 14", ANS front pneumatics,
Strengths: The MacH 404 is made by ZAP!, one the oldest names in paintball..
It prevents jams, rather that waiting for a jam to occure, then unjamming, which can drop balls onto a moving bolt!
Only needs one battery.
Does not act as a restriction if the battery goes dead.
The Cheapest, and compete with the 12 v Revy.
Weaknesses: Lack of spare parts right now, I broke the lid off.
On other guy broke it off at the neck.
We had no problem getting them repaired .
Conclusion: The best bank for buck, the least complicated, under 49 bucks.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, January 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have just purchased a 12v Revolution, but havent used it yet. I want to see how it compares to the Mach 404 on my new 2k2 vf cocker.
Have also used plain VL200 un-powered hopper, powered is definitely the way to go!
Marker Setup: I've been using the Mach 404 on a Piranha G3 STS vertical feed for the last 6 months. It's stock except for a Shocktech Dropforward and Smart Parts Progressive barrel. I'm using a Pure Energy 48/3000 tank. I havent chopped a ball in over 6000 rounds.
Strengths: Near perfect feeding.
Holds more balls than Revolution.
Moving parts cannot jam unless you totally overfill the hopper.
Uses only one battery (I've had much better battery life than most reviewers.
I used the first battery for about 12 days of play spaced over 4 months).
Very few people have them on their gun.
Weaknesses: Neck is too small for most feed tubes, must be built up with tape for a snug fit.
Loud!
No documentation.
No battery polarity marks.
Cheap on/off switch.
Shakes with every shot, but since that's its entire purpose it's silly to list this as a complaint. Just something to keep in mind for stealth players.
Shaking isnt enough to throw off aim of most markers, but could affect extremely accurate low-pressure guns.
Conclusion: I've been very satisfied with the performance of this product. It does a great job of keeping the marker constantly supplied with paint. Has a few weak points: small neck, loud, not as professional in it's construction, appearance or documentation as Revie.
I would recommend it for the majority of the paintball population. However if you're into stealth or have an extremely accurate low-pressure gun this probably isnt the hopper for you. I'm looking forward to comparing it to my new Revolution. Overall I give it a 7.5, but for pure feeding reliability it's been a 9.5 for me, so i'll call it an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gbrad64466 Tuesday, December 25th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
vl 200 electric loader,9v revy and 12 v revy...
Marker Setup: spyder shutter,zap shaker loader,benchmark df,crossfire n2,CPnickl barrel
Strengths: it holds 240 rounds in stead of 200 like the VL revy..
even if you left out some so the loader can work...your still ahead of the VL by about 40rounds....its great for the blowback style of markers...fed fast enough for a shutter with ELCD frame on semi and 3 round burst...when you consider the fact that NPPL approved fields don't allow full auto,even on rec days...its perfect...mine came with a few plastic shims to build it up on oversize elbows...
Weaknesses: autocockers and electro guns are too gentle to activate the loader every time its shot.....it could be better on the battery life...one 9 volt lasted about 1500 rounds and in 16hrs of steady play(it was tested at a 24hr game....
Conclusion: exellent for the money and uniqe...not every one has them yet...
tis real good for spyders and other blowback guns...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sm0kEy101 Sunday, October 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
revolution
Marker Setup: a dragun FA LED w/ a good amount of ups w/ a mach 404 and 68/3000 tank
Strengths: Sound activation
Great for mid players
Light
Shows battery life
+11 bps
Weaknesses: No ups
Is kinda loose w/o that black thing and a
Review: It is a very reliable hopper and is great for piranhas and spyders mostly and can keep up with experienced players like me, and can give many balls per battey life and is worth every dollar but maybe a few pennies short. It isn't too sensitive so every step you take makes it vibrate so it's great for running with.
Conclusion: this is great for beginners and people who are really into the sport but hav a short budget. It is GRRRRREAT!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media