paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airstar Nova 700 / Airstar Nova 700 / Airstar Nova 700 / Airstar Nova 700

Airstar Nova 700 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airstar

Buy Airstar Nova 700

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airstar Nova 700
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Nova 700 is the world's first totally pneumatic paintball marker. Comes with the following stock features: Articulated Barrel System, Ultra Low Operating Pressure (95 PSI), Pneumatic Trigger (lightning fast), Twist Lock Barrel, External Velocity Adjuster, Bottomline Air Setup, High Pressure Separator, Low Pressure Receiver, Accumulator, Relief Valve, and Regulator.
Product Availability 
The Airstar Nova 700 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ren Monday, January 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Super novas... er. dassit.
Marker Setup: I use a nova700. Everything is tuned to perfection, polished, and it's got a trigger job too.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good D/F, upgrading from stock reg to max-flow, trying to get a SBS from sec8, and a 45 grip.
Strengths: Works on volume, not valve dwell. It's extremely hard to explain in less than 5,000 words, but the gun works extremely differently from other markers. The flow remains relatively laminar due to low pressure, and is probably THE quietest operating marker on the market, period. The spool valve is exceedingly quiet, however, the barrel is what is the downfall of this gun, which is why I recommend a SBS (stationary barrel system).
There are tweaks and tunes to be done to this gun to make it better, but overall it's really good stock. They can be had now for a song and shoot as accurately as any gun out there, and my previous nova700 shot MORE accurately than my phantom, which is "the accuracy god" to most people. The gun is extremely accurate, extremely quiet, and has a really nice trigger pull when properly tuned.
Weaknesses: It's top heavy by design. You need to counteract this with a good d/f.
The eurogrip sucks. Replace it with a .45 frame immediately.
They never work. To be honest, the only reason why people sell their novas is because they're to stupid/lazy to get them working right. So they pass it on to others, and novas get a rep for not working merely because people are stupid. Airstar went out of business, which doesn't help, but luckily one can find support in the PGI section of pbnation.com, or you can email me and I can probably help you out.

*THE BARREL*
The fact that the gun uses an ABS (articulated barrel system) is the single biggest downfall of the gun. The gun will fly around in your hands because the barrel is jolting back and forth with each shot, creating recoil, and "negative" recoil, where the gun goes foward. REALLY annoying, but with practice, you can achieve good accuracy. The gun itself is exceedingly accurate, I really mean that. But the fact that it jumps around ruins the shooter's accuracy, so it is thus worsened by the cause. Sigh. Anyways, it's great for things like single shots, taking about 3 shots/sec, and it can also rip when properly tuned too. I can hit about 14bps with my nova. It totally flies when you want it to.

However, the stock reg shoots down when you're going over 8bps for longer periods of time, which is why the max-flow is a good idea.
Conclusion: The nova is an excellent gun. If you're a player who wants something for "snipuhing" and taking mainly pot shots from concealed positions, but also wants to have ripass potential, the novas for you. If only I could get my paws on a SBS....

The nova would rock if the fuggin barrel didn't jolt around...

If you've got the money, I suggest you take a look at section 8's new lunacy coming out. The nova is a primitive gun. It uses ideas way ahead of its time, but you can see that section 8 markers like the lunacu and darkstar are fixing all of the novas problems. I hang on to my nova because I can't afford a lunacy and I like the gun. To be honest, the lunacy is a better gun and has better design. I like to keep novas alive because they are the grandaddy of all spool valvers. The matrix, darkstar, mayhem, super nova, lunacy... it's all from the nova700.

Its a GREAT gun, but not recommended for people who are really serious for performance. I'd recommend it as a tinker/backup gun which is really nice. I'm a pump player and I don't shoot fast anyways, so a gun like the nova which has mad accuracy, great trajectory, super quiet, and also is able to blaze paint, is a good gun for me because I usually take slower, more aimed rof. It's almost a semiautomatic trainer. If you fire too fast, you'll lose your accuracy through the recoil of the gun. Anyways, I highly suggest it if you want to have a nice practicing gun or backup. Great gun, definetly is worthy of the full 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VMonster Sunday, August 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
as i work at a paintball store, i've shot just about everything there is out there, and nothing really compares to the Nova.
Marker Setup: Nova 700 w/ Psychoballistics Pro Style drop 18" custom machined barrel, 3k 47ci. steel HPA tank, Ricochet 2K; VM-68 w/ 12" stainless & 13" Armson barrels, SkanLine 45° ASA & Xchamber kit, bottomline kit, Starfire bolt, 2 20 oz and 1 9oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
this thing is wicked out of the box, but i'd recommend an agitated hopper to keep up with higher rates of fire, and perhaps an aftermarket reg (max-flo?) to solve any shoot-down problems you may have with the stock reg. replace the euro-grip with a 45 grip immediately...it's ugly and you can't put a drop on it. a drop-forward would also be good, as it balances the gun far better.
Strengths: -silent. this thing makes 'Cockers sound like prolites...and that's when you're dry firing it. with paint, your hopper will be louder than your shots.

-fast. 12bps no problem at all...14 if you fan the trigger. with no sear and no mechanical trigger interface, you can seriously rip on this gun.

-accurate. i've never seen another marker that could produce a 7 inch shot pattern at nearly 80 yrds. combined with its silence and quick trigger, this would make an excellent "sniper" or back player weapon.

-built-in expansion chamber. the Nova features small aluminum beads in the rearward portion of the body. co2 enters over them, and their massive surface area converts any liquid to gas. this gun will never ever ever freeze up on co2.

-insanely low pressure. watch people's jaws drop when you tell them your gun runs on only 95 psi.

-ultra consistent. while some may argue that this is the same as "accurate" it's not. accurate is shooting where you aim. consistent firing the same every time you pull the trigger. the fact that the gun's firing system is based on pressure and volume released by a spool valve (as opposed to the air released by a hammer hitting a cup seal) means that every shot is at the same pressure and same volume which means it's ultra accurate.
Weaknesses: -weird-ass recoil. with 12" of barrel hopping back and forth, the gun jumps around a bit oddly in your hands. it's more of a nuisance than a serious problem...it recoils the same every time so accuracy and consistency aren't affected.

-right-hand feed. gives you problems when peeking out of the right side of bunkers.

-euro-grip. get a 45 grip...please, for the love of god...you can't even put a drop on that crappy stock grip.

-foam barrel cover. "it looks like a d i l d o" some kid said that about my gun when i first got it. it made me sad, but i had to agree. take the thing off, or get a new barrel.

-absolutely impossible to find parts. airstar went poof, then section 8 took over and went poof. you can find nothing for this gun. barrels can be had...from time to time...on eBay...from some guy making them himself in California. i picked up an 18" one from him, and it looks great and shoots better....but it took me a month to find it.
Conclusion: this marker rocks. if you want a superbly accurate gun that's utterly silent and will turn heads wherever you go, pick this up. if you want something you can trick out....maybe not this one then. there's not much out as far as upgrades, but then again, you don't really need much to get this thing in top form.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spaz7676 Thursday, October 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never touched anything quite like this. Closest would be an autococker or a mag. It out performed them both.
Marker Setup: Stock Nova 700 + Crossfire 4500 88ci, Fastback Cocker, 99 cocker, Phantom, Sniper, Some Spyders (for loaning to friends)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The aftermarket forgrip for this kinda sucks, it comes loose too easy. I've yet to try the other barrels for the nova, but the stock one shoots like a dream.
Strengths: Accurate, Quiet, Consistant, nice trigger, Attracts alot of attention. Sexy.
Weaknesses: Difficult to service, hard to setup for rail mounted tanks.
Review: I came across the Nova when I was looking for a replacement for my M98. I'm really into learning about how guns work and what makes various designs have the querks that they do. When I heard about this boltless gun with a moving barrel I was imediatly intreged. I eventually got one off E-Bay for $180+ shipping. I gased it up and it worked like a dream, well, using CO2 in the cold did not go as well as it should. It shot just fine, but it started to make noises that would make any airsmith cringe. I later learned this was the over pressure reliefe valve. I think the regulator isn't the best at keeping out liquid co2. I would be willing to bet if I just remoted the tank it would have no troubles with co2, but I always liked HPA better anyways. With HPA it was a thing of beauty.

Acuracy was great, with the stock 11" unported brass barrel it was shooting a real tight grouping. It was doing better than my friends autococker with a freak kit. I have yet to see a gun shoot a tighter group than my Nova, that includes tricked out phantom pumps.

The trigger on the Nova 700 is great for a mechanical trigger. It too is a little different getting used to because it's part of a valve assembly. You can really rip on the trigger, not like an electric, but it's not bad either. The best way to describe it is it's like a slide trigger for a cocker only without the sear.

Consistancy is great! I went to crono this gun and all I had gassed up was a 9oz co2. Even firing somewhat fast the speed only varied by 5 fps. With HPA, it swung about 1fps. Can't beat that with a stick.

I did have to take this gun apart once. Well, i didn't have to, but I wanted to know what condition the internals were in. I would not recomend opening this thing up unless you have lots of time, blue prints of it with you, and airsmithing experience. It took several tries to get it back together and working. (I think I put the spool valve in there backwards more than once.) For the most part you should never need to open this gun up, just oil liberally.

Also, little tidbit some people might find interesting. The timing of this gun is feedback based. So one phase of firing can't start without the previous ending. So the barrel won't move while a ball is still in the barrel. I guess you could say it's like a self timing autococker.

If you like solid mechanical guns and you can get your hands on one of these, do it. I love my nova and I'll never give it up.
Conclusion: It's a great alternative for an autococker. You can get one for $150-200 on average used, the cost of most entry level markers. This is probibly the most accurate and consistant guns I've ever shot and I've shot angels before. Probibly the most appealing part of this gun for me is it's so different from everything else out there. It's an oddball gun and I'm an oddball. I'm giving this gun a 10 because even though it's an oddball, it has never let me down and it's still my favorite gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 28th, 2005 at 6:28 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ev_freek Thursday, January 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Airstar Super Nova ET - The upgraded version of this gun
Generation I Warmachine Assault 80 - Electronic version of the nova, with a barrel that is a pain to remove.
Various spyder clones - All around inferior
Marker Setup: AT-85 with hopper adapter
Halo B
20 oz. C02 or 30/4000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrades are rare for this gun
Strengths: - Very efficient with the gas
- Totally unique
- Simple to maintain
Weaknesses: - Not gonna find upgrades for it
- If it breaks, you're on your own
Review: When I look for guns I look for reliability, performance, and uniqueness. See I'm almost obsessive about being unique. It's not enough that my equipment look different, it's gotta BE different. So when I was looking to upgrade from my old spyder compact, I was thrilled when I heard about this gun. It looked to have everything I wanted. It's capable of 12 bps, nice and reliable, and certainly few people had ever seen them. When I got my first Nova, it was a match made in heaven. I loved it, and it loved me. I play outlaw and Scenario paintball, and this gun served me well. It gave me the performance increase I was hoping for, and since most people had never even heard of it, let alone seen it, I was thrilled with that aspect of it too. I kept it for about two years. I never did any maintanance on it, only every adjusting the velocity. Well the day came when I couldn't get it to stop leaking. This was before I had internet access, so I started looking for someone to repair it. Since few people had even heard of it, most of the local airsmiths refused to touch it. I finally found someone to work on it. Well about a week after I gave him my gun to work on, he was fired from his job, and when he left he took my gun. So I bought another one. See, this time I had internet access, so when it stopped working again, I had help. Turns out that the gun is very simple, it uses a spool valve. As a result there are only 4 or 5 parts that move, which is how many parts that move in a blow back trigger. Some of the things that I enjoyed about the gun was it's unique report. While it is quiter than your standard marker, there are many that are quiter, but whenever I'm on the field, it's easy to tell where because the shot from this gun sounds so unique. Like I said before the gun is simple, about the only thing there is to wear out are O-rings. I just wasn't brave enough to get in there.
Conclusion: In it's time, it was a four star marker. Compared to todays markers, you can buy better performance for less. If you like standing out or simplicity this is a good choice. If you just want performance, go with something else.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 5th, 2006 at 3:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xTCDX Saturday, July 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares to NOVA's
Marker Setup: NOVA 700 w/ custom 16" barrel 45° grip block w/ dye stickies, 12v revy and macro line fittings

tippmann model 98 w/ flatline system, aci stone cold 6 chamber expansion, rocket cock, venturi bolt & custom striker
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new 45° grip block( from app or icd) w/ some dye stickies, new barrel & a darkstar upgrade( if u can get a hold of one) a macroline kit ( the stell braided hoses are harder to work with)
Strengths: -very silent...from 50 feet out u cant even here the gun fire THE QUIETEST gun out there
-very accurate... and i mean A C C U R A T E this gun can reach out and touch more than just someone(EVERYONE)
-sweet anodizing... black w/ purple & blue splash
-low operating pressure...95psi very gas efficient
-did i mention A C C U R A T E
-good weight... not to heavy not to light
-very durable on the field... you can completely submerge this gun and it will still fire.
-quick barrel removal
-short trigger pull... nice and light as well
very comfortable to hold... with my dye stickies and foam fore grip over my barrel
-articulating barrel system... moving barrel eliminating the need for alot of moving parts...
-completely pneumatic... only gun of its kind
-the looks... when u slap this baby onto the field u turn a few heads :D it is intimidating
-trigger guard... its not in the way like some other guns... and it looks cool too
Weaknesses: -not very upgradeable... company went under... no factory and few custom upgrades available...
-chop alot of paintballs under short stroking... u gotta keep a steady shooting pattern if you do not want to be popping paint.
-small hex bolts... they get stripped easily
-many small easily losable parts...not easily replaced either
-need properly sized paint... (well so does any gun but this one more than others) or else it just slides right through the barrel since there is no ball stop
-the guns themselves are hard to find... since the company went under... u can still find some occasionally on e-bay but they are all used :(
Conclusion: although this gun has its faults just like any other gun, the accuracy, silence and stealth completely make up for this... it is SO accurate from 75 feet out i can hit a 4"x4" square target 9 out of 10 shots... the silence is just WoW you can shoot and shoot and shoot and know one will know where its coming from if u are fairly concealed.... so if u want a kick a s s... intimidating ACCURATE and silent marker that is completely pneumatic go out there and get a NOVA
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scrap_iron Monday, June 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Desert Fox, but there is nothing like a Nova.
Marker Setup: Desert Fox
Recommended
Upgrades:
Check around, you can order barrels...*cough*BOA*cough*
Spyder 45 and M-16 style grips fit the Nova.
An antisyphon tank or Nitro setup would work nice.
Filter block to take up the normal reg's space and get a new reg, maybe a Max Flow as a replacement reg.
A nice drop forward to even out the weight.
I would say if you can't fix it or really don't want to mess it up send it to someone who can...that's what I am doing. From what I can tell it should be great.
Strengths: The trigger pull is sweet, it's very short and snappy just like I like it.
Accuracy is great.
It can run CO2 or Nitro.
I bought mine brand new in box for less than $200, who could complain?
The triggerguard doesn't interfere with anything like on most guns.
Weaknesses: The stock reg is very finicky. I wanted to have a reliable marker so I sent it in to have some work done.
I think the pressure release valve was messed up in mine because when the tank is screwed in it leaks like a mofo out the sides, but I believe this goes back to the reg.
Low rate of fire, but the first ball is the most likely to hit anyway, right?
Airstar went out of business, and then Section 8 took over where they left off and went out of business, but hey PGI stll has some parts.
Conclusion: From the 100 rounds I fired off before I had troubles with it, it's a great gun with excelent accuracy. After it gets some bugs worked out it may take the place of my Desert Fox (if it can get a decent ROF like ren said). If you have time to work on it, a budy who can work on it for you, or you have an airsmith that can work on it, get it, you may need them. I have heard after all the bugs are worked out they have even been used for field use, now that's reliability.

It only loses one point for the work that you have to put into it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tjd10684 Thursday, August 8th, 2002
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
their arnt really any guns that this is similar to. but i would have to say that it is simmilar to an autococker in the way that the trigger moves and if your not good at cocker triggers then you might start choping a lot of paint.
Marker Setup: nova 700 with 45 grip and trigger shoe
impulse #007990 w\ freak barrel and sp df
Recommended
Upgrades:
the first upgrade that i would sugest is a 45 grip so that you can mount a drop forward and stuff like that. the 45 grips are the same as the ones that you might get for a spyder.
Strengths: some of the good things about this gun is that it works. no i mean it NEVER fails to work unless theirs somthing horribly wrong with it. to clean the berach of paint between games just put on the safety and run water through the breach and thats it nothing to take apart or anything.
this thing shoots strait as anything with good paint no barrel upgrades nessacary. it has about a 3-4 mm trigger pull once you modify the trigger linkege a little. thats not hard though anyone can do it as long as you have an electric drill and a file.
Weaknesses: the bad is that the company is no more so replacement parts are few and far between. but if your careful you should never need any beside the occasional o-ring that you can get at your local hardware store. their are no replacement barrels or any thing if you should happen to dent or break your orinional brass one. but i havent so i never really looked so their might be somewhere that i never seen. the best way to fix that problem is dont break it. while on the subject of the barrel their are no ball detents so if you shoot really small bore paint you might find that some paintballs falling out of the barrel.
Conclusion: this gun is really great as a backup gun i would not really sugest it as a primary gun for tournys. it might be good for rec players as a primary. this gun is a gas hog because it opperates at the super low pressure of 90 psi it has to use a lot of gas to get the ball to go the proper speed. on the upside of that it does not break paint. ive even shot cracked balls with no problem results may verry. if you are looking for a unique marker and can find one go for it. im giving it an 8 because their are better guns but this is one of the better ones. it would get an 9 but lack of upgrades brings it down.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Somac2006 Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used everything from the first semi-automatic gun a PMI-3 to an Angel LCD. This product is as tough as a PMI-3 while still being a very proficient and reliable gun like the Angel.
Marker Setup: I use a stock Nova 700. I run nitro, and switch between using a red dot sight or laser.
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are not really any accessories made for this gun to my knowledge. However I do recommend running nitro instead of CO2 as I would with any gun. Nitro is just typically more reliable.
Strengths: Consistency, ease of cleaning, quiet, quick field fixes.
Weaknesses: Complete breakdown and rebuild is kicking my butt right now.
Review: This has been one of my favorite guns to use. I routinely pick it over using my dad's Angel when he is not using it. I used it in a 24 hour scenario with my laser sight, and wherever that laser was pointed it hit. It had been raining, and the entire field was muddy, but while other guns were failing it stood up to the challenge.
Conclusion: If you can find this product any where, you would be best advised to at least pack it in your arsenal as a secondary.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wickedlytwisted Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mayhem
Marker Setup: Angel lcd cobra
custom products barrel
dye 05 full drop with asa
q loader
chain trigger frame
jam-bolt int. bolt
custom products small reg
blue tint kit
3000 68 ci crossfire tank
(2) twister voulmeizers
check it products feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Or barrle
Strengths: Everything and it makes a bomdump noise
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy and not a speed ball gun
Review: My step dad owned this gun for a while and i used it alot. I liked it for the most part but i didnt like the fact that you had to pull the trigger all the way back and let it go all the way forward. If your dont put it on safe befor taking the barrle off air comes out like nobody bussiness. Other than that its great and it goes like bomdump.
Conclusion: If your can find one for sale buy it exspecially if you play woods ball
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

avengedsevenfol Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing like it. held a pgi mayhem, which is a gun designed with many of the same veatures, but after airstar sold the designs, the next 2 companies slaughtered the design. cockers are almost as quiet.....almost.
Marker Setup: nova 700, 45 grip frame, remote line, 12volt revy with x board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
not a whole lot were made, simply bc the stock version is awesome! there are a few barrels out there, it can accept 45 style grip frames if you dont like the euro grip. if you get lucky you can find the electronic frame made for novas.
Strengths: Super accurate
Consistant
Fast for a manual trigger
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Few upgrades
No company
Review: i got my nova off of ebay about 6 months ago for 160 shipped with a hard-case. pretty good bang for the buck. ok first off this is a great gun. alot of people diss this gun, but they have never used it. you ll hear alot of rumors about it blowing up or some bs like that, but that is as previously stated bs. About 200 Nova 700s were recalled with a safety concern. The recalled Nova 700s can be identified by serial numbers 991 1500 through 991 1787. so it was only a few, and the problem was minor. in the one case it blew up, a series of events happened , the owner was shooting it while it was disassembled. so he was just a plain idiot. parts are hard to find for novas, but they rarely break unless you are a moron. its simple, you don't give a 10 yr old kid who is just learning to play paintball a angel, so if you are a retard don't get a nova. very simple to field strip, just turn on the safety, undo the barrel squeegee the barrel, insert , twist, safety off, go back to pasting. it shouldn't take more than like 10 seconds.i only had one problem with my nova when i got it . the o-ring on the barrel is a rather uncommon size. it is quite large. ok you know that rubber will wear out over time. in the sun it will shrink and crack or what ever. same thing will happen to an o ring over the course of time. the oring was shrunk, and wouldn't seal. i took it to a local proshop, and they had it for 3 weeks trying to order an o-ring. but they were dumb. i just used some teflon tape the oring, and it sealed like a charm. doesn't hurt the gun in anyway, and teflon is used on pretty much on all paintball guns. the nova is wicked sick accurate. it puts balls on top of each other, every time. i played some guys yesterday with cockers and imps. both complained on several occasions that my gun was quote " too d**n accurate" they would lay waste to the bunker i was behind, but not get a ball near me, and i would pop out, and whiz a few right past their faces. they hide real quick when that happens. super consistent at the chrono just yesterday. barely fluctuates by 1fps either way. decent firing rate. i would estimate around 12bps. many say the nova has by far the best manual trigger on the market. if you could find a double trigger id say 13-14 bps. no need to upgrade the barrel. 12 inch un ported, but super accurate, and quieter than every cocker ive heard. you could do some custom upgrades with a little ingenuity. the nova is also great for woods-ball, or scenario games. very quiet and accurate, makes for an excellent sniper weapon. you can honestly play all day on a 9 ounce. a few weeks back we played woods-ball for about 6 hours. i shot off about 800 balls. down to the very last shot, they were all just as quiet, accurate, and had the same range. scenario players or any players for that matter wont have to refill the tank as often. excellent for woods-ball.
Conclusion: The nova is a great gun. If you can find one in good condition, get it, well worth the money. If you have some skill you can keep up with players at your local field. It easily keeps up with cockers and mags. Not as fast as imps, but way more accurate, so in my book they are about even. You my be behind on the speed, but your way ahead on the accuracy. If you can get one and you are competent enough to take care of it, it will never fail you. Go out buy one nowww! For more tech info on novas go to http://www.warpig.com/paintball/technical/paintguns/nova/nov
afaq.shtml.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media