paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap ZXS-600E / Zap ZXS-600E / Zap ZXS-600E / Zap ZXS-600E

Zap ZXS-600E Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap ZXS-600E

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap ZXS-600E
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 7.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Zap Paintball ZXS 600 paintball marker showcases 6 different firing modes including a fully automatic setting. It includes a 10-in barrel with an operating pressure of 100 PSI. With only 3 moving parts it is low-maintenance and durable.
Product Availability 
The Zap ZXS-600E is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
goyettni Wednesday, October 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha semi-auto
talon pump
vulcan pump
Marker Setup: zxs-600e
20 oz tank
200 rd hopper
14" j&j ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel (only made by j&j)
large tank
Revvy
Strengths: powerful
shoots far
3 moving parts
works on 100 psi
very cheap
Weaknesses: plastic body
easily stripped screw holes
LOUD (quieter with new barrel)
short barrel
Review: good gun with a lot of bang for your buck got mine for 90 dollars good gun for a beginner to intermediate i had a little troble getting atarted with the gun but everything got worked out and it works good now. once the leak was fixed i have had no problems and it is very reliable.
Conclusion: i think this is a good gun you should buy if you are just getting into the sport or want ot upgrade to an automatic
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 15th, 2003 at 5:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

punkpballer Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none really this one kinda stands out
Marker Setup: zap zxs 600E 12oz pure energy co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would recommend a new barrel if you can find one. i havnt been able too so far
Strengths: -light
-ultra sensative trigger
-unique look
-gauge to show ur psi
-extra o rings
Weaknesses: -ultra sensative trigger so sometimes u shoot ur foot while running
-hard to field strip
Review: overall this is a really good gun. especially for the price. i got mine at big 5 for $99 even tho it is at other places for up to $100 more. i still havnt had any problems with mine. if u dont use cheap paint u dont really have to worry about chopping much paint. i would recommend using kickns or jj maxims. if you are fairly new to paintball and dont wanna get a blowback gun and would rather have a electro, i recommend this gun to you.
Conclusion: i recommend this gun to someone who is starting out and wants an elctro gun or to anyone else who just wants a decent electro gun for back up or something. i suggest at least giving this gun a test run.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazymofo Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray II, more reliable, didn't break balls.
Marker Setup: Added a sling, drilled a hole in the grip panel for true select fire, 9volt hopper, 9oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drill the hole for select fire, CO2 sucked, I would recommend air
Strengths: light trigger, no moving external parts, fast shooter, decent against man sized targets,
Weaknesses: broke balls, needs decent paint, not accurate enough, plastic
Review: decent gun for a low price 100 bucks at Big 5. Quieter than my last gun. With better paint and air I feel it would be much more effective on the battle field, safety clicks when it is disengaged, my gun rattled and broke too many balls. My main concern is that I ran out of ammo and I pulled the trigger, my entire 9oz tank blew out my barrel in a cloud of white, I didn't have any O-rings broke but my psi spiked proceeding this incident.
Conclusion: With a little gunsmithing this can be a very effective marker, and at $100 you can't miss.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 22nd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing is similar to an auto for $200. Let's hope that changes.
Marker Setup: I love my Alley-cat and Thunder cat. They never miss-fire and don't need batteries in the hopper or gun (Although my Tasco red dot uses batteries). The cats never jam, never chop paint, shoot straight and group very well with the old PMI Pursuit barrels. Compared to the cats the ZAP is kinda rough. The ZAP looks better though and who could resist full-auto or multi-round bursts. I'm really glad we bought it. Lotta fun but when it really counts the ZAP will be resting while the Cats play rough.
Recommended
Upgrades:
We got a Ricochet 2K Hopper and I love the way it looks on the ZAP and it really improved the overall operation. It requires sanding to fit to the feed neck but if you go slow you can get a great fit. I could carry the comple gun (with tank attached) by the Ricochet hopper. It fits that well and still has good wall thickness.
Strengths: CHEAP FUN!!!!!!! Looks Great!!! Factory Regulator. Out of the box chrono at 298, 301, 299 fps. Wow!
Weaknesses: OK, the way this marker resets to one shot semi-auto every time the marker is turned off is just wrong. FIX: We drilled a hole right over the select button and glued (JB Welded) a new pop rivet with the "nail" part removed, into the hole on inside of the grip, placing the flanged end toward the circuit board. Then clip the nail part to just the right length and file/polish it to sliide smoothly in the rivet. It makes a great looking button and turns the marker into a true select fire. Viewing the outside only, several people have thought this "button" was factory. Try it and you'll like the ZAP even more.
Conclusion: If you're looking for fun and want to get better at the game then spend money on paint not on your marker. At about $200 for the ZAP you'll still be able to afford some paint and you'll get to try the extra fun of an automatic marker.
WE LIKE IT!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, December 21st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All I used was a T98 and I thought it was time to get a new gun when everyone else got electros.
Marker Setup: The plain gun. There's only 1 barrel out for it. J&J 2peice.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel. New Grips and if they come out with a push button on/off and variable modes, that would be sweet.
Strengths: The gun looks awesome. It's a simple design and no moving outside parts. The barrel is decent compared to the T98. It has a regulator for nitro tanks which i plan on getting. It has a safe button thats not electronic and i like that instead of pushing a button 10 times before u get the gun on safe. The shoots fast enought for me. About the hopper problems, people said that it wouldn't fit so i tried it. I thought it didn't but i made it fit my jamming it in there. It fits tight so the hopper won't come out. I never chopped a ball but 1 crappy brass eagle ball busted in my barrel. Use good paint or you're screwed.
Weaknesses: I don't like taking off the grip pannels just to get to the on/off button but mainly the Variable r.o.f. button. I fixed that problem by drilling a hole where the button to change the r.o.f. I still wish u could press the button without tools.
Conclusion: This is a great product and i highly recommend it. It's cheaper there. If u have any problems or questions, talk to zappaintball. thats what i did and they helped me out.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:19 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jens85 Sunday, November 18th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i'd compare it to my spyder2k
Marker Setup: completely stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
needs a barrel
trigger needs some work
Strengths: -its price is low
-innovative design
-multi-modes
-able to use co2 or air
Weaknesses: -easy to lose orings
-no aftermarket parts
-my revolution didn't fit in the vertical feed
-on/off is in a weird spot
Conclusion: i think this is a decent gun and a good buy for the $250 you can get it for, but i won't be trading in my cocker for it. i think the design is nice but kind of confusing the first time you take it apart. overall, i think the only bad points are the trigger and the feedneck. the trigger can be solved. the feedneck needs to be a little wider to use your viewloader hoppers.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, October 22nd, 2001
Strengths: This marker is listed at a great price and I think that it is great that people are thinking towrds cheaper marker. the marker is light because it has a plasticcomposite body and it only has 3 moving parts on it which make it less likely to break down and easier to fix.
Weaknesses: the marker has a bad trigger set up because the trigger is a little far back but with a setscrew it could be fixed easily.
Conclusion: My conclusion to this marker is that it willbe a good marker for people to buy and I think the people who say this marker is not worth buying obviously have not used this marker at all and just think it is bad becauseof its part plastic composite body,but it is not the plastic body is not going to break or anything because it made out of the plastic that the Police forces use for their sheilds so it is not going to break on you. This marker doesn't compare to any other Electro guns because there are no other Electros that are this cheap and have this many modes of firing. I would recommend this marker to anyone that is looking for a gun that is greatly priced and is reliable because after all this marker does run on Co2 and Nitrogen both really good. So is you want a good reliable electro buy this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, October 20th, 2001
Strengths: Inexpensive. Under $200.00
Shoots fast. Not quite 11bps.
Light. don't be fooled by the plastic. The bolt is enclosed by a steel metal sleave.
Yes, only three moving parts. WOW excellent design. Very well thought out.
Weaknesses: Because this is a new marker you can expect bugs and I found the most annnoying one. It chops balls like crazy and the paint explodes up into the hopper. After cleaning out my hopper three times I decided to take a closer look and found that the ball was slipping past the dedent and was letting a second ball fall half way down into the chamber. So when I pulled the trigger the second ball was cut in half. I temporarly fixed the problem by slapping a piece of silver duct tape over the dedent cover. Whalla, no more ball breaks. Don't ask why, it just works. I don't mean to be pissy but I just got back from playing and I'm tired and I wanted to share this fix because a .29 cent part causes a perfectly good marker it screw up.

There is alot of slop in the trigger but I just put a piece of foam tape on the top of the trigger when I took it apart . This part of the trigger sits between the plastic housing and the grip frame when I took it apart. This worked better that I expected. Try it.

The stock barrel is very rough. I have a micro lathe so I modified one of my Raptor barrels and it works perfectly and now it's dead on.
Conclusion: Since the stock barrel is so rough wouldn't depend on picking off anybody at a distance. Upgrade as soon as a aftermarket barrel is avaliable. I really won't count this against the marker since I've seen worse barrels on other new markers.

You will need to take it apart the clean a few burrs off the bolt and a few rough edges off the parts in the regulator. Don't mess with the Pnumatic valve...

Since there is not an electro marker in this price range I wont try to compare it to anything out there.

I had a CMI in line regulator so I installed it to control the high side and the marker was extremely consistant. This was after I figured out why it was chopping balls and fixed it.

If you don't mind tweaking out the ball dedent and you will need a 12 volt revy or better I would recommend this marker to anyone. It is an excellent value.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, October 19th, 2001
Strengths: economy electronic marker
up to 11bps
comes in different modes of fire, including turbo
very light weight
priced well for a begginner electro
works on both co2, or HPA
Weaknesses: field stripping not easy.
trigger has lots of slack, and is the worst part of the marker
kind or hard to get used to the trigger
has some slight kick.
evolution loader didn't fit in feed port (i didn't try revolution loaders)

Conclusion: i would suggest upgrading the barrel and trigger frame first.
it has got to be the cheapest electro out on the market today. geared more towards the younger newbie players, it s a great electronic marker to start out with. Highly recommended for those new to the game, and want some thing to start off with to learn the game more.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, October 9th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is very light and well balanced. I had pretty bad paint when playing with it, but it still maintained a fairly reasonable accuracy. I was using N2 and it was consistent.

Looks pretty unique, especially the trigger guard.
Weaknesses: The On/Off button is in the weirdest place, on the grip frame and hidden away except for a tiny circle that is gray. You have to push that little button down, then a green light flashes.

The trigger looked good at first, when I saw the space between the microswitch and contact point of the trigger... it's not. The trigger is long (which could easily be fixed by adding a setscrew in to limit the forward pull) and it has A LOT of side-to-side action. Setting of the microswitch (which is a push-button style) takes more pressure than expected, so the trigger ends up feeling like a light Spyder pull without that 'breaking point' when you shoot it. Very hard to get a high ROF. Also, the switch looks like it could get dirty easily if you got shot near the trigger guard, a future design should be an extra arm on the trigger that sets of the switch more inside the actual frame.

The gun is a little awkward to hold, and the trigger doesn't feel as good as it looks.
Conclusion: Since it is a new gun and is designed towards the beginner level, I wouldn't expect many upgrades (maybe barrels) in the future. Considering the price, this gun is worth it, but only if you get the forward travel on the trigger fixed, which would be easy to do.

This gun is opening up a whole new genre that we have expected to come out - electronic econo guns for newbie players. It's a very good idea and design, they just need to put a little more effort into making the trigger better.

I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't want to spend a fortune, but also wants to get away from blowbacks for their first gun.

I will rate it pretty easy, just because I think it has a lot of potential: make the trigger adjustable and make the switch the 'switch-style' instead of push-button.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media