paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet AK / Ricochet 2K Ricochet AK / Ricochet 2K Ricochet AK

Ricochet 2K Ricochet AK Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet AK

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet AK
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 224
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features include: one button operation, low battery light, view window, deflection engineering, one way ball travel, 12 BPS, agitates with every ball fired, one 9 volt battery, and open lid lock.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet AK is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
HampsterFist Monday, June 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month51 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Dragun E-1 - Stainless Steel Turbo Valve, Lapco Cup Seal, M3 Barrel Kit , CIP Dragun Full Force Delrin Bolt, CIP Dragun Sweet Spot Trigger Flat, CIP High Volume Cell, CMI R2000 linked to an ACI Sub-Zero 4stg X-Chamber, Java High Pressure Coiled Remote, 20oz Pure Energy Co2 Tank, Ricochet AK

32* PT Xtreme - Spyder Spring Guide, Modified Spyder main spring
Strengths: I purchased ths hopper from Check-It Paintball in Santa Ana, California, and have not been dissapointed in it. The Ricochet AK is the R2k, just stripped down, lacking all the unneccessary gizmo's that you don't really need. The AK is very effecient for what it is, as it feeds around 12 a second with a small +/- variable, and works only off of a 9 volt. Which means this 9v hopper will keep up woth a View Loader 12v Revy, and is more affordable, and effecient. For the single 9v battery that powers it, life expectancy on box is around 5,000 to 6,000 rounds. The newer Ricochets require you to sand down the neck to fit your marker. It is possible to over sand so be careful, however if you do over sand, Ricochet stands by its products and will send you a new shell.
Weaknesses: You have to get used to loading it from the top, but doesn't take long to get the hang of it. I don't see anything wrong with the hopper, I have had no negative experiences with it, however I can see possible bad things, such as over sanding the neck when trying to fit it to your marker, but its not really bad since you can get the shell replaced for free if you over sand it.
Conclusion: Here's the verdict
-170 round capacity
-9 volt operation feeding at an average of 12 bps
-Ball Deflecting design actually works, so long as you don't get hit on the side, or on the lid
-$59.95 in most stores
-Looks Beautiful

If you look at that, and look at the more expensive 12 volt Revvy's, it isn't too hard to make a choice in what loader to buy. Its the most bang for your buck. Only difference between this and the Rev, is that the Rev has an aftermarket following. Just give it some time, and you may see upgrades for your Ricochet AK's, and for the R2K's. I give it a 9 for reliability, effeciency, feed speed, and cosmetics.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
46 Comments - Add Comment

LAMANTEthePBguy Monday, December 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year32 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy
Marker Setup: Piranha STS G3
Rico AK
Palmer Stabilizer
Strengths: >Reliable
>almost unbreakable
>looks cool
>flexible paddles
>fires after every shot
>feed neck o rings
Weaknesses: >sometimes skips balls
Review: >Deflection Technology.
Deflection technology is mostly hype. After a year of use, my AK has deflected about 5 balls. It doesn't really deflect them, but rather the balls break, and the splatter is deflected. It doesn't leave any paint on the hopper, though. Some people say this is pointless, but i think it gives the hopper a unique design. Mostly all the other hoppers out there look the same. I also say thats 5 more deflections that a revvy wouldn't have given me.

>Feed rate.
The Rico AK will provide the same rates of fire as the other hoppers in its class; about 12bps. The only thing i have noticed though is that in drop tests, and when the hopper is on my gun, it will skip a few balls every after every 10-15 it feeds. I don't know why it does this, but I have heard of other people having the same problems also.

>Durability.
This hopper is pretty much indestructible. I have never heard of one breaking, and if it does, their customer service will replace it. I have seen photographs of a kid standing on his hopper, with no damage to it at all.

>Customer Service.
Ricochet's customer service is superb. If anything on the hopper breaks at all, they will be more than happy to replace it. The feed neck o rings on my hopper were wearing down, and they sent me a whole new package. You can either call them, or e mail them from their site.

>Feed neck O Rings
This is a very clever thing that ricochet has done. The o rings on the feed neck allow for this hopper to be used in any feed neck, regardless of size. This was helpful on my piranha, because with previous hoppers, i had to use electrical tape to keep the hopper in. That was quite annoying, and the o ring shave taken care of that problem.

>Batteries.
This hopper only uses one 9vt. battery instead of all the others which use two 9vts. This will help reduce weight, though it won't make much of a difference.

>Paddles.
The rico uses flexible weedwacker paddles to move the balls. This is a good feature, because if there is a blockage, the paddles can bend with the balls and wont break them.

>Sensor Tab.
The ricochet uses a sensor tab, which has its ups and downs. The sensor tab means that after every shot, a the hopper will agitate. This means the hopper won't wait for a jam to occur, then fix it, like a revvy, but rather it will prevent jams from happening. If your gun has lots of blow back, this can be a bad thing. Sometimes balls would be forced up the feed neck with my piranha, and would cause ball breaks inside the hopper. The balls would break, because they would be forced against a ball that would be stationary because it was being blocked by the sensor tab. This happened to me only 2 or three times, but it was very annoying to clean the hopper.
Conclusion: This is a very good hoper. I would reccomend it to anyone wanting to purchase an agitating hopper. Ricochets customer service is exellent, though you will probably never have to call them becasue their hopper is so reliable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

fallout11 Tuesday, January 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year28 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 Volt Revolution with X-board
Marker Setup: Who reads these anyway?
Strengths: Very Light
Fast
Easy on paint
Well made
1 Battery
Microswitch triggered (no eye)
Weaknesses: Smaller ammo capacity (170 balls)
Review: I've been using the Ricochet AK for over a year now. In fact, I liked the first one I bought so much that I purchased a second one for my other gun.
They are far superior to 12-volt Revvies (I've owned several), and I'll explain why.

First, the Ricochet AK is a stripped down version of the Ricochet 2000, minus the unnecessary electronics and timer that I don't personally see any reason for. It also has a small, clear window in the left side, to see how full your hopper remains, which is of limited usefulness.
The shell halves are ABS plastic, of medium thickness. It is surprisingly strong, thought.
The newer versions, like mine, come with the new o-ringed necks, which allow you to adjust the neck to better fit your gun's feed neck or elbow. I actually ended up having to buy smaller o-rings than the smallest provided with the gun to get it in either of my gun's elbows. The neck is also corrugated.

The loader only holds about 170 balls, which at first I thought might be a problem, compared to my previous 200 round ones, but in actual use I did not find this to be the case. Less balls = lighter weight. The loader has a slightly larger diameter feed port than pre-BE Revolutions, and it locks open and snaps shut with ease.

The Ricochet only takes a single 9-volt battery, which contributes much to its much lighter empty weight over the Revvy. The battery lasts about 5000 shots, which is excellent. I've also had no problem with the craftsmanship or construction of either of mine, despite some comments on here to the contrary.
Ball feed rates are consistantly around 12-13 bps (I timed mine).
The loader automatically agitates after each shot.
Because the loader uses soft "weedwhacker" cord instead of rigid plastic blades to agitage, it is very easy on your paint.

Feed rates remain high even when the loader is almost empty, but begin to slow slightly as the battery drains (4000 rounds or so). An indicator light tells you your battery is getting low, also.
Another nice feature is the recessed push-button on-off switch, which makes it difficult to accidentally turn it on or off.

A novel concept with this loader is that it has a microswitch, rather than an eye, to detect ball flow. This means you are not using electricity when not agitating (no eye), and that the loader cannot be "fooled" by odd colored paint. Balls flow past, trigger the loader, which loads more balls.

Finally, the sharply-angled front of the loader tends to deflect shots from medium to long range striking the front of the loader. Combined with a fabric hopper cover, you might get 1-2 unbroken deflections during a full day.
Not much, really, but that isn't why I bought this loader. Still, not bad.
The angular shape does helps prevent hits to the hopper from harming the paint inside, a problem I had with my old Revolutions and non-agitating hoppers in the past.
Conclusion: I love mine!
It's faster, lighter, and better made than any revvy I've ever used, goes through batteries more slowly, plus might deflect a hopper hit or two.
And if I accidentally backed the truck over them today, I'd buy another one tomorrow without hesitation.
Highly recommended.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 20th, 2004 at 10:44 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Stan_the_HitMan Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy
egg2
gravity fed hoppers
q-loader
Marker Setup: Black Ion
Full Freak Kit
Pure energy fiber tank 88 4500
Cp Reg
Egg 2 w/ y board
Dye Sticky 3's
Strengths: Ricochet feature
Easy operation
Low bat indicator
anti jam
battery efficiancy
Sand-able feedneck
Weaknesses: Not very upgradable
Slow
Review: I got this hopper for $50 Canadian off of ebay.

<PROPELLERS>

First thing i noticed besides the shape of the shell was the propellers which were made of a weed whacker type of material, this was supposedly to make it so balls had a smaller chance of getting broken. I was speculative but 1500 rounds and 1 hopper break later i realized they were doing just that. + 1

<RICOCHET FEATURE>
I was also speculative of the ricochet feature, did it actually work? so i put it to the test.

what was used:
1 zeus G2
1 ricochet ak
20 Big ball paintballs
1 12 gram co2

what was done:
Ricochet ak was placed in a vice at 30 feet away and a slow well placed volley of paint was fired at it.

result: 7/20 balls ricocheted from various angles,
The most consistent break was dead on shots to the front, lid, and feed neck
The most consistent ricochet was the top left panel, side, and top right panel.

7/20 balls is 35% if you wanted to know, and personally i think 35% is better than 0% you get with other hoppers in its class. + 1

<FEED NECK>

THe marker i tested this hopper on was a Tippman 98 with polished internals and an Rt. THe tippman has an adjustable elbow so with this particular marker i did not need to sand the feedneck. Also it has o-rings on the feedneck so it is held on securely. + 1

< BATTERY AND BATTERY DOOR>

I relay liked the battery door on this hopper, it was shaped like a riffle clip and slid out which was pretty cool. + 1
It takes one 9 volt battery
I tried an Energizer 9 volt and it was not long enough for the battery chamber, so what i did was took the plastic nub off the cocking knob on the tippmann and put it behind the battery and VOA la it fit extra snugly. - 1 ( had to use my brain)
the battery efficiency is 6,000 shots on a single 9 volt, this makes it the most efficient 9 v powered loader to date, impressive. + 1

<LID>

The lid of this loader is shaped like a Chinese rise pickers hat...cool...
Any way the lid is on the top to provide a no spill feature, which it does beautifully, i am yet to spill from my pods with this top lid. + 1

<FEEDING>

that's right it FEEDING TIME the moment you've all been waiting for.
stock with full battery's it emptyed a drop test of 140 balls in 20-24 seconds consistently.
i did a mod on it that went something like this:

1) take shell apart
2) take motor and disconnect red and black wires from it
3) take a knife and cut 2 c of plastic off the wires tipps
4) wrap the wires bac around their inputs and re sadder
5) Put motor back and reassemble loader

mine is now able to drop test empty at 15-16 seconds every time instead of 20-24 which is a good improvement, but will reduce battery efficiency.

Another thing is the balls are sensed with a sensor tab. this will allow your hopper to agitate with every ball that passes by it and it also means that when you are out of battery's you're hopper will be able to become a gravity fed loader when the battery's run out (if they do) which force feed loaders do not allow you to do when they run out of battery's.

By the way you will have to replace the sensor tab every 2,000,000 shots or so for the whopping price of about 2 dollars.

<OPERATION>

Idiot proof one button push for two modes: OFF and ON
It also has a little green light that comes on and stays on when the battery i good, when the battery starts running on low it goes from GREEN to RED to indicate the need to put in a new battery, make the right choice.
Conclusion: All and all this loader adds up to be a good choice for the rec baller on a budget, but if you have a gun that can shoot over 10 bps consistently look into a faster loader such as the apache or egg 2.
Its always safe to take 5 bps off the speed it says on the box when buying a loader for your marker, remember that.
I give it a 9, because for the price it is a good deal...as long as you don't pay over $60.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 10th, 2005 at 6:50 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Lohman446 Tuesday, June 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Mini-mag right powerfeed
Ricochet AK hopper
10" Dye stainless barrel
Psycho balistics drop forward
91/3500 3A HPA Tank
Strengths: Strength, speed, quick loading
Weaknesses: None - its not the fastest but it does what it says it does
Review: STRENGTH - I have a good reason to say this. I was playing right after some hard rain and made a run for a bunker, sliding in I managed to miss the bunker and go over it - hard. My marker stuck into the dirt and it was hard enough to rip my mask and glasses off. I called myself out and snagged mask to run off field. Then waited ten minutes as game progressed wondering how much damage I did. I walked out and expected the hopper to be shattered, perfect condition. I pulled the trigger and shot dirt from the gun - a quick field strip of gun (I love mags) and Im back in business. But the hopper - it was PERFECT. With a right feed the ricochet design helps out (I chose right feed for shooting left hand out of bunkers, not expected but still tend to right side). Anyways, this alone convinced me this was the hopper for me, my kid, my wife.
Conclusion: I have two more ordered for a reason - it feeds as fast as I can shoot my mag and is durable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pravit726 Monday, May 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy 12V w/ X-board - the shell broke!!!!
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine w/ 14" Taso Winforce, Ricochet AK, tank w/ on/off valve
Strengths: feeds well, great warranty, bounces balls, looks cool
Weaknesses: kind of heavy
Review: I'm very pleased with this hopper. For about 50 dollars I ordered this hopper for my new e-marker. The hopper feeds very well, agitating after every shot, and on semi I could not outshoot it. At 13BPS fire, there were a few skips here and there, but nothing much(who actually sustains fire at 13 BPS for that long anyway?) The hopper comes with several o-rings to make sure that it fits perfectly into your elbow. If you break the hopper(I couldn't imagine you doing it, it's very durable), call the Ricochet people, and they will send you a new one no questions asked. The other hopper I tried, the Revolution 12V w/ X-Board, was definitely not as good. It fed slower, and it only feeds when it detects a gap(as opposed to feeding after every shot), so you're either preventing the problem with the Ricochet or waiting for it with the Revvy. The hopper is supposed to bounce balls too. From the front, it will sometimes bounce balls, which is kind of cool. Try looking into the Empire ReLoader too, it is usually cheaper and it supposedly feeds a little bit faster.
Conclusion: I was overall very pleased with this hopper. If you want a good solid electric hopper, get this one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Happy Face : ) Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Ricochet AK
Crappy Stock Barrel
Remote Line
16 0z. Co2
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I bought this hopper used from a friend because I hate when i break a ball and this was the cheapest electric hopper I could find. I did not have long to use this hopper due to some guy who threatened to call the cops on us.

Strengths

Speed
The Ricochet kept up with my shooting the entire game, and I didn't break a single ball. I must tell you that I do not shoot fast because I personally believe in accuracy over speed. At my fastest I was probably shooting at 6 bps which is well below the maximum loading speed of 12 bps. It is not the best loader, but it does the job for me.

Viewing Window
This is helpful for the obvious reason that you can see how much paint you have remaining. It is better than a solid colored hopper, but worse than a clear hopper. But because this is not a clear hopper it is much more camouflage than a clear hopper.

Ricochet Technology
The Ricochet Technology is not perfect, and I highly doubt there will ever be a hopper that will ricochet every ball that hits it. The angle at which the ball hits it decides if it will bounce or not. If the ball hits a side directly it will break, but if it hits at an angle, the ball has the ability to deflect. I say a hopper that can deflect some of the balls is better than a hopper that can deflect none of them. You decide what you want.

O-Ring Neck
The AK has two O-Rings on the feed neck to create a snug fit on any gun. On the Tippmann 98 Custom I really did not need these however because the elbow can be tightened to fit the hopper. The newer models come with a few different O-Rings, varying in sizes (I think)

Ball Tab (I don't know the "official" name for it)
This works in place of an 'eye' that would decide when to load the balls. The good thing about this tab is that a broken ball will not effect its performance. If paint manages to get on the 'eye', it could prevent it from reading the balls that are actually in the feed neck. It can also detect colored or translucent balls an eye could miss. This ball tab will count a ball as it falls which will then load the next ball into the feed neck.

Battery Compartment
The battery compartment is located in the lowest part in the farthest back point. It provides a concealed place to hide the battery. One of my friends has an Evolution II hopper and the battery compartment broke off. That is almost impossible in this case. The cover slides in two tracks and then locks in. To remove it all you have to do is pull it out. Only one 9 volt battery is needed which is a plus. (A piece of electric tape is recommended to add pressure to the back of the battery because the friend I bought it from said it would sometimes not work and that fixed it.)

Recessed On/Off Button
The on/off switch is located in the back and is in a small alcove to prevent accidental switching.

Cheap
I did buy my hopper from a friend for $25 which is below the price of a new hopper, but I have never heard of an electric hopper cheaper than $35 which is the price I saw for this hopper.

Weaknesses

Loud
A lot of people complain that the motor is pretty loud for the job it does, and I agree. However, I disagree that has an affect on anything. The hopper will only load the next ball after you shoot. If someone hears your hopper loading but not the ball being shot out of the gun, then they need to get their hearing checked.

Somewhat time consuming to clean
If a ball breaks in the hopper it can be a bit difficult to clean because you have to take the hopper apart by removing 7 screws on the side. These screws are not all the same size so to prevent even more time wasted arrange them in a way as to not forget which one goes where. Then the paint has to be wiped out with some sort of cloth. The trick is to not mess with the computer chip or the wires. Try to move them around as little as possible because paint should not be in that compartment anyway. Make sure not to forget the rubber on/off button. I accidentally put my hopper back together without it on, but I took out the back 3 or 4 screws which loosened it enough to put it back in.

170 Balls
This hopper only holds 170 rounds which isn't that many considering how much others can hold. I recommend that you carry pods with you on any game.

Shape and Weight
Some people don't like the shape and say it is heavy, but the shape is the deflective technology, and I really did not notice a difference in weight from any other hopper.
Conclusion: I would recommend this hopper for someone who wants a cheap electric hopper. Be aware that this is not the fastest hopper and it should not be used for high quality automatic triggers or someone who likes to shoot really fast. Carry pods with you due to small capacity of balls. Also do not expect every ball that hits it to bounce. I will give this a 9 because it is not perfect but it is pretty close in my opinion.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 25th, 2005 at 3:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sPyDeRdAwG Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feed hopper- good but there were to many breaks
Marker Setup: Spyder Esprit
12 inch Teardrop Barrel
Ricochet AK
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Deflection
Light
Fast enough fo me
See thru window
No ball breaks
Weaknesses: Might not be fast enough for some people
Deflection doesnt always work
Review: This is a great hopper. It loads fast enough for me (I'm slow) The deflection design is great but it doesn't always work. I haven't broken a ball yet and I dont expect to with this hopper. It looks a lot cooler then revvys but I know looks dont make the hopper as good as it is.
Conclusion: Get this you will not regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

10stair Tuesday, July 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12 Volt revvy.
Marker Setup: Automag classic, Taso foregrip, taso pro series stainless barrel, PMI perfect drop, Ricochet AK, Java 68/3000 nitro.
Strengths: Read review.
Weaknesses: Read review.
Review: This loader is great. I like it very much, it's fast, it agitates on every ball which is a plus over the revvy's sensor thingy. The plastic it's made of is very similar to the older version of the 12 volt revolution hopper's which is a big plus over the new revolution's plastic. The shape works, it does deflect balls. Just make sure you don't hold your hopper level with your face or else the ball will fly off and hit your mask.
Conclusion: Overall, a great loader. I would recommend it over the revolution any day. The other good thing is that if you forget to turn your loader off and on during games, there' s a light that'll tell you if it's on or off, just a quick little reminder device. 10 out of 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball3187 Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: A Piranha E-Force Ext Pro Sts With A All American Barrel.
Strengths: It look cool and it loads fast.
Weaknesses: It is loud when it loads.
Review: ~Good~
~ Looks cool.

~ Has a window.

~ Very easy to reload.

~ Very easy to take apart.

~ It is kind of cheap at $60.00.

~ When you put in a new battery it lasts a long time.

~ The name does what is said it can Ricochet balls off the hopper but not all the time.

~ It comes it a lot of colors

~BAD~
~ When you take it apart there is like 13 screws.

~ You might have to sand the neck.

~ It is loud when it loads.
Conclusion: I love this hopper and I would tell anyone when is looking into a revy of some kind get a Ricochet I have tested meny other ones and I like this one the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media