paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO A / Odyssey HALO A / Odyssey HALO A

Odyssey HALO A Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO A

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO A
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Odyssey H.A.L.O. promises to be the next big thing in paintball! The sleek, flawless design of this new hopper promises to make it a best seller in the near future. The H.A.L.O. utilizes a reflected infrared beam located at the top of the feed tube to detect the presence of paintballs. A single recessed push-button is the H.A.L.O.’s only control; it uses an on/off/on sequence to activate the hopper. The recessed button virtually eliminates the possibility of the hopper being activated by mistake in your gear bag. The electronics are in the back, and the battery pack (6 “AA”) is in the front, giving the H.A.L.O. a nice balanced feel.

View videos of the H.A.L.O.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO A is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
ToddsquaD Monday, April 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
9 & 12 V Revvy's
Marker Setup: Bushmaster 2000 with chaos chip, J&J Ceramic barrel, red valve, Zenitram 15* vertical adapter... the list goes on and on
Strengths: My BM2K was a blender until I got this thing. I was chopping balls all the time because my 12 volt just couldn't keep up with me. I am a pretty rough player, and the bouncing around while running/shooting really gave me some trouble. This was like a godsend for my game because it kept paintballs forced into the neck. We played saturday and I used this for the first time, it was the best day of play I had ever had using my bushy. I used my squeegee 0 times the whole day. I see others paid about $130 for them, but I only paid $82.50 (Limited time sale) at paintball inc's store here in dallas. It was less than $10 more than the Riccochet2K. I don't have anymore feed problems, so as far as I'm concerned, it was well worth the money.
Weaknesses: It is a little heavy, but when you are on the field and in the midst of a game you wont really notice it all that much. The motor is a bit loud, but it only sounds off when you are firing your marker, which would give away any concealed location you might have, so I dont know what all these people are whining about with the motor being loud. Oh yeah their probab My only real complaint was that it was hard to tell whether it was turned on or off inbetween matches. Other than that, I thought it was awesome.
Conclusion: This is a great piece of equipment, even with the hefty price tag it carries, I highly reccommend it to anyone looking for a loader that can keep up with the fastest guns on the market. If you are using a mechanical semi, save yourself some money and just go with the 12v Revvy. This one is made for the electro's. There is some room for improvement, (the on/off switch, the lid is a bit sticky at first, neck sanding is just silly) but odyssey has produced a great piece of equipment, and I would reccomend it to anyone looking to improve their feed rates.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

angelfan Monday, April 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: i Have and electric tippmann 98 with the compressed air system and a 3000/68 nitro duck tank with a mini regulator.

Angel IR3 with angel air(88/4500)
Strengths: This is the best hopper ever, it works so good. And there is an adapter so it runs on a lot of double a batteries. I just run mine on one 9 volt battery! Look at the wire that atatches to the thing that holds the double a's. It also is VERY fast, I hate BE hoppers, and the warp feed is the only thing faster, but the warp feed still needs an electric hopper.
Weaknesses: It is a touch heavy, but not that bad. Some say it's pricey, but hey, you get what you pay for!
Conclusion: One of the greatest hoppers ever, doesn't compare with any other hopper, the only hopper that fills my need for a good 14 bps!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12v revolution hopper
Marker Setup: Smart Parts vertical feed, select-fire, Sport Turbo 2000 Shocker with complete freak system, 88ci 4500 tank with max-flo, and of course.... the HALO
Strengths: Never chops a ball! NEVER!!
Easy to clean and maintain.
Incredibly fast.
Very very sturdy. It will last a lifetime! Definitely not cheap plastic!
Very good customer service.
Weaknesses: A bit heavy.
The lid is hard to open but can be easily fixed just by shaving the edges.
The neck has to sanded a bit.
A bit pricey.
Conclusion: I contacted Odyssey, and they told me they were working on the lid problem and that they would send me one for free when it was ready. (within a month or two).
People complain about the size, but really it's not that much bigger than your average 12v hopper. It's almost the same size.
It has a few minor problems, but overall it's waaaaaaaay better than your average 12v revvy hopper.
At a high rate of fire, 12v hopper might not be able to keep up with you, which can lead to chopping paint, but with this hopper, your are sure to make your squeegee obsolete. Go and get one, and u certainly wont be disappointed! I certainly wasn't
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

keeptrying56 Wednesday, March 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
RICO 2000, All Kinds of Revis, and Evolution.
Marker Setup: Intimidator with SOB, and all other kinds of mods.
Strengths: Good build quality, but that is about it since I cannot use it on my marker since it causes chopping.
Weaknesses: Here we go.

1. There seems to be trend of HALO's double feeding on certain markers (Intimidators, Angels, Martrixs and so on), this will obviously cause a ball chop. My HALO definately double feeds on my Timmy and my friends Timmy. The hopper basically has so much force it pushes the paintballs past the ball detents.
2. The HALO does not feed at the advertised 16+ BPS on vert feed markers, due to bolt deflection (13 - 14 actual BPS). Now the HALO will drop test very fast, but that is not real world function. It needs to feed at 16 + BPS on any marker not just power feed markers.
3. Keep in mind the only way to test a HALO is to sand the feed neck to get it to fit your gun. By sanding the neck you void a possible refund.
4. The HALO is double the weight of all other hoppers and it will make your gun top heavy.
5. Horrible service from partial owner Kneedragger/Albert on Paintballcity. This guy is cool to some people and not to others. He blames the design of the gun and not the hopper if you are having trouble with double feeding and chopping.
Conclusion: Definately try and test this product on your individual marker before you spend $130 +.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
9&12 volt revolutions
Marker Setup: 2002 c&c angel fly lcd, crossfire 3000 hp., freak system,cobra bolt,kapp volumizer. 98' custom cocker w/a swing trigger, all sto fronts, boom stick
Strengths: great feed rate, this baby almost pushes the paint inside (like a mini warp feed). we have 3 on our team and have all had very good results. this thing looks very cool, feeds at incredible rates,and contrary to some other reviews on this site are not too heavy, and are as easy to turn on as pushing a button twice. how hard is this? this thing is built like a brick house. its solid. another team mate had his brand new 12 v revvy's neck brake. this won't happen here.
Weaknesses: if you empty a tube w/ broken paint into this you will be taking a crash course in halo mechanics. the first time is hard(so was the revvy,remember?). after that no problem.it can be loud when you run out of paint,so don't ! easy huh?
you have to sand the neck down a little to fit on vertical feed markers. but once you do it's cool. no probs w/ an elbow. 6 aa's is an awful lot of battery power/weight but if you want the power uuuuuuuuuggghhh. ive had the same set of battery's for three months , still rockin.
Conclusion: this lines up the balls in a row and pushes them into the gun. all others just stir them. we have 12 v's, ricochet's, and 9 v's. nothing comes close to the performance and looks of this thing. i only give this thing a 9 because a 10 is perfect, not even my angel is perfect. ( well almost.)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet 2K, Ricochet AK, 12v Rev, 9v Rev, 12v Rev w/ turborev, 12v Rev w/ Xboard, Warpfeed
Marker Setup: Bob Long Intimidator w/ 10" Dye Ultralite Barrel, ANS Reg, Kapp Dropzone Cradle, Pure Energy 68ci 4500 psi
Strengths: Feeds steady and fast. Does not just spit several paintballs at a time like a Rev. Well balanced. Pretty much the same size as Rev and Ricochet.
Weaknesses: The price is high. Loud when running. Hard to turn on.
Conclusion: This is good for a speedball player but i would not recommend it for a woods player or someone who does not play very much because of the cost and noise.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 volt revy
Marker Setup: Impulse, minimag,phantom,model 98...
Strengths: VERY FAST! can not out shoot it. (still trying)
Never had a problem with it yet.
Weaknesses: PRICE! Little on the heavy side.
Conclusion: A good loader to have when you really get on the trigger.
Better then buying a BE product and having to buy an upgrade (x-board) to fix there mistake.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 voltwith X-Board, Riochet, 9volt
Marker Setup: RT Pro, AGD flat line air, Halo loader, soon to be boom stick
Strengths: It is so fast. It will keep up with any gun. Almost to fast for me.
Weaknesses: It will chop balls in hopper if you dont keep up with it. It is almost to fast for me. Only get it if you want to be able to shoot extremely fast.
Conclusion: It is overall a great product mine hasn't broken or broken any balls. It is awesome on my RT and will keep up with any gun. Expensive.............
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JoshFritts Tuesday, March 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 Volt Revolution, VL200 :)
I LOVE my 12 Vl. revolution SO much more than my HALO. It keeps up with me fine and is easy to turn on.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 tricked out, don't feel like listing all my crap.
Strengths: Don't know, MINE DOESN'T TURN ON!!!
Weaknesses: Doesn't turn on. The button looks to be slightly recessed back into the hopper and it won't turn on, even when I carefully follow the instructions. 6 double A batteries!!! C'mon, that's so many, what a load of crap. Price, dear god, so much money for a piece of crap that doesn't work.
Conclusion: Bought this hopper, recieved it in the mail, and it would not turn on. I would say, don't waste your money on this hopper. In the event that it does work, it'll only make you spend more money on paint, and probably make you chop more paint. What a rip off.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 volt revvy
Marker Setup: 2001 sto shocktech trigger frame with swing trigger. 16 inch dye tittanium boomstick and 8 inch taso eliminator barrel with halo
Strengths: it is super fast and runs on doulble AA's
Weaknesses: it is heavy, it is hard to turn on, it is too expernsive, you have to sand down the neck but the worst thing is what happened to me last week at operation paintball i was using inferno and twice that day my halo chopped balls and than my marker wouldent fire. this was very frustrating! for buying a hopper that is way more than any other and having this problem. it took me 10 min to just clean my gun and hopper my advise is to by a richochet or keep the 12volt because you could have two of those for the price of one halo. take my advise and dont get the halo it is a wast of money just get the rchochet or be prepared to clean it.
Conclusion: dont get it!
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media