paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO A / Odyssey HALO A / Odyssey HALO A

Odyssey HALO A Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO A

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO A
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Odyssey H.A.L.O. promises to be the next big thing in paintball! The sleek, flawless design of this new hopper promises to make it a best seller in the near future. The H.A.L.O. utilizes a reflected infrared beam located at the top of the feed tube to detect the presence of paintballs. A single recessed push-button is the H.A.L.O.’s only control; it uses an on/off/on sequence to activate the hopper. The recessed button virtually eliminates the possibility of the hopper being activated by mistake in your gear bag. The electronics are in the back, and the battery pack (6 “AA”) is in the front, giving the H.A.L.O. a nice balanced feel.

View videos of the H.A.L.O.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO A is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
HostileIntent Thursday, February 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 Revy w/ X-Board and J&J Impella. Tested Ricochet's.
Marker Setup: Dark Angel LCD, Angel A.I.R. , JT Barrel Set.
Strengths: The Feed Rate is Unbelievable
Balances out Well
Can shoot at all sorts of angles
Weaknesses: Chops on MANY Angel markers for some reason??
The lid is very hard at first but once you break it in it is fine
The on/off button is ALWAYS difficult
Not a huge issue but it took me 2 hours to sand the neck (i know its for a reaseon though*custom fit*)
Jammed once on me
Conclusion: I will be keeping mine but waiting till they fix the chopping problems on Angels, this is very frustrating!! Untill now I'm waiting for either them (Oddessy) to fix the problem or when an other company has upgrades to fix the problem.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gonzo221 Thursday, February 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 volt revy
Marker Setup: EM!
PMI regulator
Stainless steel lines
multiple barrels
dye stickies
eclipse drops foward
Strengths: GOOD GOD THIS IS FAST!!!!!!!!! I turned up my EM1 to 16bps and let the thing rip.....I let out a nice long string of fire.....it was incredible. I chopped one ball in the entire hopper....and that is with almost constant full auto fire!!
Weaknesses: It took me a while to get used to the weight.....while the hopper itself is not heavy, it does have a high center of gravity and it sits pretty high if you need to use an elbow....still I can see how some people might complain about this.
Conclusion: If you have a marker that's capable of a really high rate of fire and you want to rip it the halo is definately for you...I love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v revvy x-board and bent paddles, 12v revvy, 9v revvy, Ricochet 2k, Mach 404
Marker Setup: Matrix #2000, 14in. Boomstick .686, 12v revvy w/ bent paddels, mid-rise, trinity, kapp drop zone II w/ on/off, PE 68/3k tank
Strengths: um...... it loads fast, thats about it
Weaknesses: This hopper cost way too much for what you get. The hopper can load 16+ a sec, my revvy can keep up with me fine though. The Halo is way too heavy! It is way to loud! It looks like a butt cheek! Heck no to a Halo!!!
Conclusion: I wouldnt waste money on this POS, do yourself a favor and get something else.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 Volt Revy, 9 Volt Revy, Ricochet 2K, Mach 404
Marker Setup: Spyder shutter w/ 14" Dye Ultralite boomstick barrel, ACI Sub Zero 6 stage expansion chamber, palmer stabilizer male regulator, dye sticky grips, MAKO ESP Trigger Frame, Lightning Bolt, Polished Internals , Vertical Feed, Drop Forward
Strengths: Feeds very fast, the fastest feeding hopper i have ever seen or used. The hopper isn't too heavy. You will probably never out shoot your gun, I was shooting 16bps and didn't chop a single one, my friend unloaded a whole hopper with his autococker in about 30 seconds
Weaknesses: Kind of Expensive... You need too many batteries for it.
Conclusion: A Good hopper, if you want the best hopper on the market get this, but if don't need the 16 bps feeding rate you should probably get a cheaper hopper like a12v revy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ben16 Sunday, February 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v Revvy, Eggolution, Richochet
Marker Setup: Shocker 4x4
12" Boomie, Gadget Grip, dye stickies, trigger job
Strengths: Feeds great. We tested on gun and just feeding pods. Fed great with no stops in between, no pauses, very consistant. On gun it couldn't be outshot. We set my friends angel on full auto and let it do its thing. Afterwards we calculated that it fed 17.9 BPS with no breaks, mis feeds, slowdown, or chops. Very unique design.
Weaknesses: Ok. Well, my friend stupidly used an LED bolt in his LCD and proceded to break ALOT of paint while rapid firing. Anyway, took a long time to take apart and put back together. I'd say 30-40 minutes. It's a very complicated hopper, much more so than the revvy so it will take you a few times taking it apart to get a good feel for it. It is heavier than a Revvy I think, at least it seems like it is. The on/off switch sucks.
Conclusion: Overall, the Halo is a pretty good hopper. After taking it apart, we took off the 6 AA battery pack and ran it off a 9 volt. Whether you'll get the same length of use with a 9 volt or not has yet to be seen but it's definately cheaper. The screws which people have said they've had problems withs aren't a problem at all. Stripping them doesn't even seem possible. It needs a toggle switch for the on/off though. Is it worth the price? Not new, but you can pick them up used for about 110 and I recommend you do that.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v revv with a Wicked Air Sports board doesnt even compare to this baby
Marker Setup: 2001 custom Red to Chrome fade impulse Turbo
Vert max flow reg
Dye stickies
12" AA barrel
KAPP drop zone II cradle with Red KAPP on/off
68ci 4500 center flag nitro tank w/ redz cover
Voodo bolt
genisis board (full auto, burts, reactive, trubo)
Strengths: This thing is mad fast. I just got my full auto board and my gun would outshoot mr 12v revvy at 8 BPS (now that sux)
I saw the videos of these guys with the mags shooting these things and i was trully imprssed at the ROF
I brought mine home, and ran my first test. I filled up the hopper with 200 rounds and put a guppy under the feeder, i than let it rip. the 140 round guppy was full in a matter of seconds, i was amazed.
I than hooked it up to my gun, set it on 16 BPS, and fired. I broke twice out of 200 so i set it to 14 BPS. not one ball break, that thing flew. I was amazed
Weaknesses: Its loud, very loud, but you dont hear it when your shootin your gun so that ok.
others complain of the weight, but i think its more balanced than any other hopper i ever shot. the batteries in the front was a great idea wich made it balance oh so nicley
Conclusion: This is a great great hopper for any 15 BPS bacliners, or just any one who has a good trigger finger and knows how to lay down a blanket of paint in a matter of seconds

EAT THIS 2 BPS PUMP PLAYERS!!!!


Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JustMyLuck Tuesday, January 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VLoader, and the Ricochet.
Marker Setup: Matrix
Strengths: This thing is fast. I didn't chopped any paintballs using this hopper. I have set my gun to 9 bps and I still chopped balls using the 12v revolution with the turbo board upgrade. With this hopper, I have tested it on 11 bps just to see what will happen and not one got chopped. I will test it out on a faster setting later.
Weaknesses: The on\off button is tricky at first. I thought that something was loose in the hopper. I couldn't turn it on. I have taken it apart and had a little trouble putting it back together again. It is easier now. ( just assemble the left side first )The price is also too high and it kinda heavy. ( for a hopper that is ). It isn't as loud as I thought. Just don't run out of paint. It can get annoying with the motor running.
Conclusion: Not bad. I would recommand it to anyone who would like something different. And who also has the money. It has served it's purpose with me.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v Revolution w/ X-Board upgrade, Ricochet, . . .
Marker Setup: Dark Angel (pewter), MacDev Gladitor reg, Lasoya Trigger, Lasoya Mid-rise, Dye Titanium Boomstick, AKA Lightning Bolt, Nickel Hydride battery upgrade with On/Off switch, Centerflag Hyperflow 68/4500, . . .
Strengths: The HALO has a nice quality glossy appearance/finish, a good balanced feel with the batteries installed, and takes an innovative leap forward in the sport of paintball. Using centrifical force the spinning "wheel" located at the bottom of the hopper forces the paintballs down the neck. The neck is reinforced and can be sanded down to fit each marker's rise or elbow perfectly.
Weaknesses: Price - When originally released the HALO was selling for $140, but at the last tournament I attended there were booths selling them for around $100.

Performance - Currently the HALO causes my Angel to chop under any sort of continuous firing. By continuous I mean anything faster than 1-2 balls per second. Other team members of mine, who are not using an Angel, were able to use the HALO without performance problems, so this might just be an compatibility issue specifically assosciated with the Angel. Also the HALO is extremely loud, so if you are a front player you might want to consider this.

On/Off Button - Although an ingenious idea, two of my teammates on/off buttons moved back or recessed into the hopper itself. One of them was able to be turned on using a screw driver, and the other was unable to be turned on at all.

Lid - Again another two of my teammates had problems with the lid. One broke off completely during practice drills, and the other had a severe crack down the middle. Again this was under normal practice and playing conditions.

Screws - To easy to strip out the threads, so be careful.
Conclusion: All in all the HALO is a positive move in the right direction. After a few revisions and updates which would include a better lid, stronger on/off button assembly, quieter internal components, it could be the hopper of the next few years. As for me I went back to using the 12v Revolution w/ X-board and I'm considering purchasing a Ricochet. Do not purchase one of these if you shoot an Angel.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WickedAirSportz Wednesday, January 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
9v Revolution, 12v Revolution, TurboRev upgrade, X-board upgrade, Evolution, Ricochet 2K, Ricochet AK, TurboAK upgrade, & ZAP Mach hopper.
Marker Setup: Bob Long Intimidator w/semi-only board, 32 degree 68cui/3000 tank, NW drop forward w/on-off, multiple CP barrels.
Strengths: Speed - Fast. No question it can fling the paint out.

Construction - the material used is thick and tough polycarbonate.

Ball detent - this is great idea... you can remove your hopper without worrying about balls pouring out the feed tube.
Weaknesses: Heavy - more than twice the weight (24.8 ounces) with batteries than any other hopper made!

Loud - 2 to 3 times louder than the worst Ricochet 2K motor. It is as loud as your bean grinder on your automatic coffee machine. There is definitely no hiding your position with this hopper!

Capacity - holds only 170 balls completely packed (including shaking).

Lid - hard to get off, even after broke in.

Batteries - changing the batteries requires a screw driver to remove the 3/4" long screw holding the door in place!

Switch - requires two presses within a certain period between. In tense situations where you forgot to turn your hopper on, this is bad news.

Cleanup - if you break a ball in the hopper, you are looking at 30 minutes of disassembly, cleaning, and re-assembly. There are a lot of parts to this thing.

Price - $140 retail is a bit steep.

Conclusion: It is said that less than 5%% of humans possess the dexterity to pull a trigger more than 10 times per second. Unless you are a one of those people, this hopper is simply overkill for you. It is extremely loud, and very heavy. It is very expensive compared to any other hopper.

If you just have to have the best of everything, you'll probably buy one to keep up with the Jones'. If you are realistic about playing paintball, you'll probably already have a Revolution with a TurboRev board or a Ricochet 2K (or AK). These will fullfil your fast feeding needs just fine.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
9 & 12 V revy's, - I have had several shot through , Halo is Awesome, and appear bulletproof, and I thought that the Ricochet 2K -was the loudest of all three. DO NOT RELY THE INDIVIDUAL SPEEDS GIVEN HERE. SEE THE QUALIFIED REVIEW ON WARPIG
Marker Setup: 99 STO Autococker, Crossfire 68 N2, Boomstick 14", ANS front pneumatics,
Strengths: Fastest thing there is. They have no competition.
The wheel is NOT like an eVLution. The capture spring actually DOES help push them out into the gun. No stalling like the Revys, and the lid is really clear. Lid snaps firmly on, does not pop open. It does not feed in spurts, if anyone has does their own comparisions, they know.
Weaknesses: Using AA batteries adds a little weight, but it is closer to gun, so it feel better.
It will be a tough one to clean out, but you can wipe most of it.
Price, The demand is high, & the Elite will pay to have the best!
Conclusion: For full auto, Hyperframes, E-mags, Intimidators, anything that truly fires more than 11 ball per second. I even had better luck with dimpled paint. It just feeds!
Price is coming down... just sure to get a Price matching & Low freight store#, and always shop for the lowest freight. No point in paying another $18 S & H on a +$100 hopper!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media