paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Invision Mask / Dye Invision Mask / Dye Invision Mask

Dye Invision Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Invision Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Invision Mask
[ View Photos (20) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 498
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DYE Invision System offers mask-vent color combination choices that have never been offered before. Invision Goggle Systems are available in a variety of venting, goggle frame and lens color compositions. If you want to truly express yourself or your team, you can do it in style with the DYE Invision System. The DYE Invision System is sold standard with a thermal clear lens, visor and goggle bag.
Product Availability 
The Dye Invision Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (50):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Backman89 Friday, November 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used alot of masks, JT products, Other models from Dye, Vforce's line of masks.
Marker Setup: 05 Prostock
E2
Besales .44 Ram and QEVs
Nexus LPR
Nexus internals
Evil Pipe kit
Strengths: Able to breathe
No fogging
Respectable Field of vision
Weaknesses: Lens replacement
Review: Great mask, not only does it allow the player a nice field of vision, it also alows the player to breathe. too often i find masks stifling. The mask is aslo pretty good about not fogging up. Some do not like the mask because of the " lack of protection". I say to this, Grow up. If you want your neck protected go buy a neck protector. If you dont like being shot in the head, go buy a full head mask. This mask is one my favortive masks to use, I have never regretted buying it.
Conclusion: Great mask, fairly cheap. Great color choices too. You will not be dissapointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball3187 Saturday, June 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Piranha E-Force Ext Pro Sts With a Smart Parts Freak Jr, Flame drop,ect...
Strengths: ~ It is very comfortable.
Weaknesses: ~ It is expensive.
Review: ~GOOD~

~ It is very comfortable.

~ Look really sweet with my mirror lens.

~ You can get them in a lot of different styles.

~ It is made by DYE.


~BAD~

~ It does not offer that much coverage to your chin area.

~ Mine does fog but only if I have been playing for a long time like over 20 minutes.

~ I think it is expensive.

~ If you HAVE to change your lens put back a lot of time because it is hard and it is a big pain in the butt.

~ I have a tinted lens and it is hard to see if it is getting dark outside or if you are playing inside. But it does help in those really sunny days.

~ Like someone else said it is easy to scratch.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to someone I just want them to test one out for a game or read a few reviews first. I am giving it a 8 becase there are more things bad that good but the bad things are nothing to major.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

waorks04 Sunday, December 21st, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
any high end mask
Marker Setup: Blue to silver fade works autococker
Shocktech long drop
shocktech on/off
pure energy 88ci 5000psi
evoloution2
Strengths: looks, low profile
Weaknesses: fogs all the time. It was the biggest waste of money ever
Review: Like I said this mask was the biggest waste of money ever.It constantly fogs up to the point you cant see a thing. this is by far the worst mask ive ever used. not to mention the limited face pertection my whole flippen chin sticks out. Dye should of designed this mask a little better the only thing DYE did right was make the mask look nice.
Conclusion: dont buy this mask it sux. stick with Jt there lens are much better not to mention the foam on the Jt mask is a lot softer to.The reason I even gave it a 2 was for its looks.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 21st, 2003 at 1:59 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

mike.higgins Sunday, March 14th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proteus 2
Marker Setup: 2004 Vertical Autococker
Strengths: Looks good
Weaknesses: Extremely poor ventilation - lots of fog
Review: I recently purchased the Dye Invision goggle along with the Dye Dyetanium Mirror lens and the Dye 2004 turbine fan. I was purchasing this combination for myself with the intention of giving my JT Proteus 2 to my son. I have used this combination 3 times in 30-40 degree temparatures with extremely poor results (lots and lots of fog). I have since taken back my JT Proteus 2 and given the Dye gear to my son. In my opinion here are the problems with the design:

1). There is just not enough ventilation in the Dye Invision Goggle. When I compare it to my JT Proteus 2 notice that there is NO ventilation beneath the lens and there is no ventilation around the nose. When using the Dye invision I actually felt like I was hyperventilating. I couldnt breath with this mask.

2). When you add the Turbine Fan to the top of the Dye it blocks ALL of the ventilation holes which is really bad. The Turbine Fan is so loud you cant play with it. Even with the fan removed it still fogs up terribly.

If I could send this goggle and lens and fan back I would. With all three components I spent over $150...which in my opinion was a total waste.
Conclusion: Dont let the good looks of this goggle fool you. The poor ventilation will cause lots of fog resulting in lots of frustration. Buy a JT Proteus II and you will save money and be able to see what you are shooting at.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

wetwilly1166 Thursday, December 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proilers
JT Flex
I3 Invisions
I3 Pros
Marker Setup: 05 autococker
Smart Parts All american 16
Spyder T-LX (yes i have a spyder)
shocktech bolt
CP 16 in barrel, regulator, microline
Trinity T Lock
SP s-rail and drop
Strengths: Very sturdy
Never fogs!!! (not for me)
Variety of lenses
Weaknesses: Minimal jaw coverage= eat paint
Lens is a pain to change
Review: I wont bore you with the whole story of the pro shop and crap. Fact, it snows where I live. Snow=fog so I got these. For the price (65) I got a tinted lens with it and I have gotten every penny back in return. Pretty sweet for me at least.
:Sturdy: This mask is all interlocked with the lens so that when you get bunkered from 2 feet and get hit 12 times in the face, the knowledge that your mask wont shatter or crack is a good thing.
:No FOG: The key to this is to take care of your mask. When the little booklet thing says 'dont rub the inside of the lens,' you should listen u dumba**. The first thing a person does when their mask is dirty is rub their grubby, paint filled fingers on the lens. When you go to wash it with water or whatever, and you rub the inside with paper or a cloth, this rubs off the anti fog coating that is on it. The easiest way to keep your lens clean, even after getting gogged(dotted, domed,w/e) is to run the lens and mask under running WATER. Dont rub off the droplets, just wave your mask around holding the chin portion so that the majority of the water comes off. This has worked for me the whole time I've had this mask.
:lens variety: I have 3 lenses, a smoke to blue, a clear (stock), and a Dytanium Ocean (mirrored blue) lens. Multiple lenses are useful for playing in different weather, indoor/outdoor, and just whenever. On a scale of 0 to 10(0=total darkness, 10=staring at the sun) I find the Dytanium is good for 4 to 9 in lighting, the smoke for 7-9 (outdoor), and the clear lens for anything under 4 (indoor, night play).
Weaknesses
:Small: The size of this thing is rediculous. So freakin tiny. Barely covers my chin so i cut out the chin strap that comes attached and twisted the tabs forward. Neways, I got shot in the jaw 4 times the first day, all seperate games. The vents in the front prevent fog cuz there are so many of them, but getting shot there, all the paint goes the other way. P.S. Marbalizer tastes the worst of all paints :P
:lens frame:( This is the biggest drawback to all Invisions, the lens frame. This hard rubber is so tight against the lens that your thumbs will bleed in attempt to get it off the first time. I've found that holding the lens under running water while attempting to get the lens out helps a little. I decided to just buy a frame for each lens I have (3) which are only 20 bucks so its a worth while trade off of $40 instead of bleeding thumbs.
Conclusion: I enjoy owning this mask because everyone else has a profiler. Plus, I got a few spikes from a bracelet to make it stand out even more and scare some of the other players. I'd give this a ten but the lens is such a pain that it gets a nine. If it was like the Proto axis, itd be a ten but the axis is just plain ugly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iceburner Wednesday, July 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage X-Ray Single Lense
Proto Switch E.L. Single Lense
V-Force Armour Thermal Lense
V-Force Profiler Thermal
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder TL-X
Viewloader Revvy 12v w/ X-Board
ACI Bulldog 47ci/ 3000psi
Strengths: Light
Comfortable
Intimidating
Never Fogs
Weaknesses: Lack of Protection
Price (At Certain Stores)
Review: I got this mask because of the price. I saw that they're being sold for $60 (original: $81).

When you first put it on, its one of the most comfortable masks you'll ever try. The foam morphs perfectly to your face. The ears are well padded and protected. The mask also has the best voice trajectory range and clarity then any other mask, THE BEST. Take this situation, I was playing the frontman and at the break, 3 of our 5 guys were out. The only other guy on our team was someone playing the back corner. When you're in an inflatable bunker and you're yelling while five guns are pointed at you and shooting 20 BPS at you, and your teammate in the back corner can still hear your voice clearly, that's incredible.

The Invision is the one of the lightest masks out there. It weight just as much as a shoe. (I know it sounds random but it's the only thing i can think of that everyone has unless you live in Africa, and in that case, you shouldn't have the money to play paintball.)

The looks on the Invision are impressive. It has a state of the art modern design that intimidates opponents.

As for the lenses. The company says that you have a 200 degree field of vision, not true. I would say more like a 120 degree which is normal. Nothing I would consider a weakness. If you look at the reviews with lower scores, they say that it fogs up a ton. It'll only fog up if you snort and breath like a wildebeest. I've played around 30 games since I got this, it has never come even close to fogging. All those stories about how they couldn't see a thing, they're probably lies told by people who want to give a popular mask a low score just because they don't have one.

The only weakness of the Invision is your chin. If you have a big/long face like I do, then your chin will most likely peek out of the mask a little. It probably just because of my big head. But nothing to give the mask a rating of 1 or 2.
Conclusion: I recommend buying this mask. Its made by DYE, the best paintball company in the business. If you have $60, then go go ahead and buy it (People say its expensive but only cause they don't know how to shop for the best price) If you don't have the $60 then I'd recommend buying the Proto Switch E.L ($30). Almost the same quality and made by Proto, which is owned by Dye.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 1st, 2005 at 3:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

invision222 Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
jt Proteus 2
Marker Setup: spyder extra
16 inch freak barrel
VL evolution 2
Strengths: Light
Comfortable
Doesn't fog
Vents easy
Weaknesses: Hard to change lens
Chin tends to stick out
Review: This is a mask that is 80 dollars, and I got mine for 40 dollars and came with a sun shade lens. It has vision of the field and you can pretty much count on it to do its job. This mask has upgrades so you are able to make it better and cooler in appearance.

I would personally recommend this mask to you.
Conclusion: This mask works nicely and can be used for a long time. So have fun playing with your dye invision.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Geico not Gecko Friday, March 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT proflex
JT proshield
Java mask
Vforce Profiler
Marker Setup: Black GX4 autococker
Black Halo B loader
68/45 Nitro Duck plasma tank
2 Q.E.V.s
Shocktech Supafly bolt
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: Strengths:
Wow, there are a lot of strengths.
-Extremely low profile
-easier to hear people
-Easier for other people to hear you
-Most comfortable mask I have ever worn
-NEVER fogs
-Twice as strong as the current ASTM impact standards for safety
-Hella sexy
-customizable colors

Weaknesses:
-with somebody who has a big head it may leave a part of the chin unprotected. No big deal, but some people might worry about it
-thats it

Review:

First of all I dont know why some people said that these goggles fog. The don't. It has an antifog lense. I have even tried my hardest to make it fog, but it still doesnt. I have played in humid, hot weather, while talking constantly, and breathing heavily. There wasnt an ounce of fog. The lenses themselves are very strong, they are twice as strong as they need to be actually. I also wanted to adress another problem that people brought up in these reviews. Some people said that if you get hit in the mouth area you will have paint splattered all over your mouth. First of all this can happen with every mask. You show me a mask with no slots infront of the mouth and I will show you a terrible mask. Second of all that doesnt always happen. I have been shot in the mouth area with these goggles a few times and I had only a drop or two on my face. Thats it. The third problem people have brought up in these reviews is the lack of coverage. A lot of people saiy that it doesnt cover your neck very well. If you want neck protection, buy a neck strap. A mask protects your face, and the invision does it very well. And lastly people complained about how hard it is to change the lense. It gives a detailed description on how to change the lense in the manual it comes with. It isnt hard. All you do is pop out the plastic notches. It takes like 2-3 minutes. Simple stuff.
Conclusion: These goggles are top of the line. They are high quality, and super strong. If you are looking for a premium grade goggle system I would definitly consider the dye invision. (on a side note the Vforce Profiler is also a great mask if you are looking for an alternative)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PBGUY311 Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pmi x-ray goggles, v-force morph
Marker Setup: 2003 impulse w/ vert. reg
88/4500 nitro tank
nd blade trigger
12 volt revvy
Strengths: extremely comfortable
good protection
doesn't fog too easily
small target
Weaknesses: pain to take apart
chin sticks out when you yell
Review: i got this mask on sale at my local paintball shop for $60 and man was it worth it. i is SUPER COMFORTABLE, offers nice protection, does not fog easily (and i played in 90+ degree weather). it is a pain in the ass to take apart, but is definitely worth it and you don't have to worry about it coming apart on the field. the only other bad thing is that your chin can stick out when you yell, but you shouldn't be yelling out in the open when you are getting shot at and it makes your head a smaller target.

overall, this is an excellent mask. i will not recommend this over or under the morph goggles. these are more comfortable but the morphs are a little bigger and have slightly better stock lenses. definitely consider both when looking for a new mask.
Conclusion: recommend this or the v-force morph, whichever is better for you
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartparts399 Saturday, March 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto switch le
Marker Setup: stock smart parts vibe
Strengths: Vary comfortable big lens and vary durable made of ruber so balls bonce off
Weaknesses: The lens is hard to change but other than that none great mask !!!
Review: Got it with my smart parts vibe and was vary happy with it .I think balls bounce off easy but no one ealse i know does since they all have eventz.It has a big lens for more view and doesn't fog up easy . Cool looking.Light .Durable.Resonable price.
Conclusion: Buy one they are one of the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (50):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media