paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 118
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Inserts fit into a econo back, aluminum only. The Freak Junior Barrel front completes this 14 inch barrel. A 0.693 insert comes standard. Availible for Spyders and Model 98s only.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
paintfreak42069 Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann custom 98, freak jr barrel, ACI sub zero expansion chamber, dead on bullet drop forward, macro line kit, rocket cock, lapco direct feed adapter, lapco sight rail
Recommended
Paintballs:
zap chronics, blaze
Strengths: very accurate
great range compared to stock
strong
interchangeable bore inserts
Weaknesses: none so far
Review: i found this barrel an excellent upgrade from the stock barrel. it extended my rage by 75% and made my shots almost dead on accuracy it worked very well with my gun setup and i would use this barrel on any gun it will fit. i found no weaknesses yet but if i find any i will be ure to update this review
Conclusion: i recommend this barrel to anyone that is looking for a new barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TerribleOne Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock E99 Barrel( it is much louder, not accuate at all)
-JJ Ceramic Barrel(louder, almost as accurate)
-Smartparts Freak(about the exact same, but better finish)
-Dye Stainless(about the same as JJ but heavy)
-WGP Kaner( by far the best barrel)
Marker Setup: Green Orracle #705
12v Revy
Dye Throttle 70ci 4500psi

Black Spyder e99
16oz Co2 w/anti siphon
12v revy
Freak jr
Recommended
Paintballs:
a bigger bore paint
Strengths: -very quiet
-pretty accurate
-interchange with all freaks
-looks nice
Weaknesses: -effective_barrel_length_is_4 inches!
-HATES_BREAKS
-inserts_cheaply_made
-comes_with_one .693_insert(BIG)
-threads_can_strip
Review: Well I bought this barrel to replace the stock barrel I had on my e99. The first thing I noticed was that the barrel was about 50% quieter than my original barrel and the groupings were a lot tighter. It made my spyder become much more accurate, and looked pimp. I can say it is quieter and more accurate than the JJ since we tested both these barrels at the same time in a number of tests and we found that the Freak jr. was a lot better barrel. The best part about the freak jr. is that you are basically getting a true freak for a lot less money. The only drawback to this is that you can only get it in black, 14in tip and one insert that is very big bore, but u can easily buy other freak tips and inserts to fix this. The barrel was pretty accurate with large bore paint since it was less affected by the bigger bore tip. When shooting small paint, the tip bore is so big it does almost nothing, and is like shooting a 4 inch barrel. The barrel is fairly good but I personally hate the inserts since they are the most vital part in this barrel and they are made the cheapest! Their homing is not as good as a true solid back, and you can wreck them very easily. I found that the freak has many great fundamentals with the paint to bore match, but the inserts just runes the barrel since they can be in miss-alignment and also can cause many paint breaks. I would have to say that I will never buy the freak for my cocker since I was not that impressed by the freak jr, it was a good barrel, but still I found it to be not on the same level as my kaner barrel. I would say it is a ok barrel but there are many others on the market that fix many of this barrels flaws.

BTW smartparts uses many marketing hypes to sell their stuff to you, donít listen to their spiral porting BS, their barrels are way over ported.
Conclusion: Well as i said before, it is a alright barrel, it gets the job done well, but if you are going to spend the money I would suggest another barrel system such as a pipe, or kaner. I would give this barrel a 7.5, but i had to pick 7 since there are other barrels for the same price that are better
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 14th, 2004 at 8:37 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

jaguar1125 Tuesday, February 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
the stock barrel for a m98 custom, my friends thunder pig barrel (16")
Marker Setup: 16" smart parts jr. freak barrel, expantion chamber, 16 oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
i like poler ice for cold weather and midnight (draxxus) for warm weather
Strengths: never breaks any ballz
very good accuracy
easy to clean
u can get different inserts for it
very light

if u don't want one bore size u can buy them seperatly ($24.00 ea.) or u can buy the package ($199.99) it comes with all the different sizes
Weaknesses: nothing really....... a bit expensive ($80.00) but i don't care that much......
Conclusion: i love it. its very good if u want to be a sniper. i think anyone would like it. don't listen to anyone if they say the barrel looks bad, it does but i love it. SO BUY IT!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

The-Freak Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO with a Freak Jr barrel & VLocity Selectforce Viewloader. I'm currently running a 20oz CO2 w/ remote but I'm just about to get a HPA.
Recommended
Paintballs:
so far I have used, Swirl, Spank, ZAP practice grade, and ZAP Cryptic and the Cryptic is by far the best.
Strengths: VERY accurate, not really in single shots but makes a VERY tight group.
Weaknesses: Hard to figure out which insert to use. Price.
Review: When my marker's accuracy started getting on my nerves I went to my local paintball store and asked what the best barrel they had was. He immediately produced the Freak Jr. The second I saw just the case I fell in love, sleek and black with the one-eyed green dude on the front. The barrel is amazing looking as well it's the perfect length (14") black with straight porting running along the sides....... but enough about the looks onto performance. I came straight home and screwed it in and went over to my friends field in his backyard. At first I only fired 1 shot at a time and thought it was ok, but thought that it could be better. After a while I just decided to go full-auto on a tree that was say...... 75ft away, I was freaking amazed! (no pun intended) They were all within 6 inches of each-other. (and this with Co2)! Oh and I forgot to mention how quiet it is! Little expensive though paid $90 for mine.

Conclusion: Well I'm happy as a clam with mine! If you're looking to make ANY marker better this is the way to go. 9 because finding the right insert bugs me, and if you put in the wrong one you chop. But once you find the right one............
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 15th, 2007 at 10:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protofreak Wednesday, March 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The stock rail barrel
Marker Setup: proto rail black dust
newdesigns slik trigger
proto alloy back cap
16" sp freak
halo b w/ rip drive
rush speed feed
68/45 cf tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo is all i used so far
Strengths: Bore changablity
Weaknesses: Price!!!!!!
Review: Ok the stock one peice on a pmr is great out of the box but there is better ones out there

enter in the freak i have a jr. back but a reagular freak 16 inch front wich is i say too big for the gun
it makes the gun look tiny i mean tiny

with the .687 insert i can fire most diablo paint very accuratly
Conclusion: Great Barrel for the price but the reagular freak is a wallet hurter
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintbala5 Saturday, August 19th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick
Proto 1 piece
ultralite
Marker Setup: 05 empire timmy
ultralite barrel
cp reg
cp trigger
cp direct mount on/off
new volumizer
twist lock feedneck
eigenram

back up promaster
ndz rail on/off combo
freak jr
cp reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything will work with this barrel
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: This is by far the best barrel i have ever owned. it was really expensive somewhere like $110 that is its only downfall. but with the accuracy i got from it i didnt care. i used really cheap paint and got perfectly straight streams of paint. i love this barrel and encourage everybody to buy one.

EDIT: i encourage everyone to consider another barrel kit. this barrel ahs given me countless barrel breaks even with perfect paint/bor matches. Because of all the barrel breaks ive had i simply have to drop the score. i had about 3 breaks in one game...and since this barrel doesnt clean itself out at all my accuracy was was hurt alot. although i do love being able to match my paint with whatever paint i choose i will not be using this barrel anymore and will be using my ultralite
Conclusion: I highly recommend u look at a different barrel kit...too much money for too little accuracy
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 at 1:28 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

juggalo13 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pretty mutch everything
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION -black
Max-Flo 47/3 -chrome
Freak Jr. -chrome back, green front
Eggy w/ y-board
Recommended
Paintballs:
BIG
Strengths: Sexy
accurate
light
Weaknesses: Big bore
Review: I got this barrel with a gun package and was all exited because well, freaks are friggin awseome. The only problem with it is the big bore size that it comes with. I am going to buy a .689 insert because I heard that that is the best for evils and that is usually what I shoot. This barrel has pretty good weight but is not comparable to ultralites but isn't noticable at all. It's acurracy is in my opinion unmatched. And the kit is awesome (if u have 1).
Conclusion: Buy it but if u have the money get a entire kit.

~CLOWN LUV~


Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SoccerBoy152002 Wednesday, May 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine Stock barrel (Horrible)
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
3000 68 crossfire tank
EggII
Jr freak
dead on drop forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: Very accurate
Always hits its target
quiet
looks awsome
Weaknesses: A tad expensive but its worth it
Review: An excellent barrel, I am never far off with this barrel.
Even as a newbie I was hitting people.
Infact my first game with this barrel I hit a guy with an Angel right off the break.
It gives you all the befefits of a freak system without all the costs.
It is also very quiet
Looks awsome
Conclusion: Buy This if you can't afford a full freak system.
The only way to go.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 5th, 2004 at 9:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

allgunsblazing Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippy Barrel (Terrible)
Sp Progressive (quiet, not as accurate as the Freak)
Tiller 16 inch (ebay) (not a bad barrel for 16, accurate, still not as good as the Freak)
Marker Setup: Proto rail
Empire Barrel Kit
Random Brand on/off
Victory Boarded Halo

Tippmann 98
G36C hand guard and rail
Six Position Stock
Tasco 30mm sight
Freak Jr. barrel
Ak mag kit
Polished Internals
Trigger Spring Mod
Remote line
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, i havent found it to be fussy at all
Monsters
Strengths: Quiet
Compatable w/Freak and All American parts
98 custom adapter included (for a price)
Weaknesses: Can be a little expensive
need adapter for 98 custom
Review: I got my tippman 98 from Badlands, and the first thing i did was take off the barrel, having read horror stories about the tippy barrels, mine was just as bad. So aftermarket barrel here we come.
When i first got the Freak jr., i actually wanted to get a progressive, becuase they were less expensive, but the guy at badlands showed me what the freak jr. could do, and i was sold. i took it out, and did a few test shots with it and was instanly glad i had purchased the barrel

The Jr. is very quiet, with the 16 inch stock tip, and there have been times when the people i have shot out havent known where i was.
The barrel comes with a .693 insert, allowing pretty much any paint to be shot out of it wihtout buying a new insert. strangley, i found even with the large bore, and a small paintball (monster) (about .687) the barrel still maintains its accuracy.
thus far with using the barrel, i havent had any problems with it, other than the paint chipping off the back, and i have found that with the adapter for the spyder threads to 98 custom can become extremely stuck together, and unable to take apart.

The barrel can be picky with breaks, as will any barrel, and with the spiral porting can be a pain to clean. however, a barrel swab fixes this.
Conclusion: a Great upgrade for your gun if you want accuracy, overall i would sugest this barrel, however the price and the price for parts (inserts, tips) makes me have to drop it down to a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zeroskater27 Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used my stock barrel before this, but with this barrel there is a very noticable difference.
Marker Setup: spyder e-99, 14" freak jr., halo TSA loader
Strengths: accuracy
you can buy inserts
pretty quiet
doesn't chop
Weaknesses: none
Review: The best thing about this barrel is it's accuracy, i noticed the difference immediately. It is a huge difference if you were previously using a stock barrel and you will notice the difference right away(just as I did). I also like the fact that you can buy many different size inserts for whatever kind of paint you are using, since all paintballs aren't the same size. Its fairly quiet too, nothing dramatic, but its not as loud as alot of other barrels. It looks pretty cool also, which is always good. It almost NEVER chops either.
Conclusion: I definitely think I got my money's worth for this, it is a great barrel and is perfect for intermediate players. I am very happy with it and if you buy it you will be very happy, too.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 27th, 2004 at 8:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media