paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 118
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Inserts fit into a econo back, aluminum only. The Freak Junior Barrel front completes this 14 inch barrel. A 0.693 insert comes standard. Availible for Spyders and Model 98s only.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
crzypntballer Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12" Dye Xcel
14" Smart Parts Progressive
Marker Setup: 2005 WGP Trilogy Pro
Dye drop forward
Dye Throttle Hpa Tank
Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel
Viewloader revvy
Recommended
Paintballs:
the higher the price the better the quality
Strengths: Accuracy
Anodizing
Ability to change fronts
Weaknesses: Absolutely zero
Review: Awesome looks. Great quality for the price. I got it for 65$ and I dont regret it one bit. You can change fronts. Unlike that of the Freak. I had a 4" spread from 50 feet. When used with an autococker you can take out any1.Great barrel buy it now.
Conclusion: Go buy it now. Great quality and great price. Come in many gun threads.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bulldogsapint4 Monday, December 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP ONE PIECE
Marker Setup: YELLOW ION,JR FREAK,EGG,DEAD ON BIG DROP,CROSSFIRE 45,BLACKHEART BOARD,CP REG,CP TRIGGER.
Recommended
Paintballs:
PROTO
Strengths: Very easy to clean shoots clean and accurate.good looking
Weaknesses: Hard to get inserts in and out of barrel.
Review: I have this barrel on my ion and it shots awsome. If you are a beginer you want this barrel instead of the freak because there are less inserts and less room. I have yet to break a ball with this barrel.it is awsome.it may not come in all the colors but it shoots just as good.
Conclusion: This is s great product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

walkthetrigga88 Saturday, November 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels, and a bunch or 32 degrees barrels
Marker Setup: sp ion, qev mod, orange bolt, redz low rise cam lock, new designs on off, CP blade trigger, 45/45 x fire hpa tank, egg, freak jr
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi premium, marbs, hellfire
Strengths: Cheap, interchangeable bore sises, accurate
Weaknesses: Paint gets in the inserts if u chop
Pain to clean
Review: Ok so a kid at the school i go to offerd me his freak jr front and inserts for 10 bucks, i figured eh even if it sucks its still cheap, then i headed to my local store and bought the back on sale for 40 bucks, figuring it had to be better then the stock barrel on my ion, so i take it home and went shooting at some targets with my stock barrell, then with the new freak, and i was suprised at just how much more accurate it was. now ill admit it im not a very acurate to begin with so this barrel helped me quite a bit the next time i was playing, normally im a horrible shot on the field mostly i only get people out by bunkering or just by sheer volume of paint but my first game out i managed to nail somone in the gogs right off the break, it may have been luck but i know using his barrel has helped with my accuracy.
Conclusion: This is a good barrel for a beginier like myself, its cheap, light, and pretty accurate, my advice is think of how much money you want to spend and if ur cheap like me go with this barrel, im giving it an 8 because nothing is perfect and its a pain to clean
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BTRobertson Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tiller barrels, stock Spyder Rodeo barrel (which is actually really good)
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Rodeo Green
Kingman IPI 3.0 C.A.M.D. e-frame
Empire Reloader II e-hopper
Pure Energy 88cu 4500 psi HPA tank
Smart Parts Freak Jr. rear, Freak front, .689 bore insert barrel system
Kingman Delrin ACS Xtra rear-cocking bolt
Java remote coil
Scepter 4000-A Grenade Launcher
New Designz Low Rise Feedneck
Bad Habitz spring kit - high velocity installed
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Blaze, XBall Silver/Gold - prety much any mid- to high-grade paintball will work beautifully, but crap rec balls will fire better in this system too
Strengths: Quiet, accurate, light-weight, interchangeable inserts
Weaknesses: None to speak of yet
Review: Understand something first: my paintball store was out of the All-American system in its stock configuration that I originally ordered, so they swapped the All-American for a Freak Jr. rear and Freak front system, which turns out works out better for me.

First, my test was simple: I went out into my backyard, loaded up the hopper with the crappiest paintballs I've used yet - Zap DBXs, which I think are a Dick's Sporting Goods in-house brand (someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I see no reference to these balls on Zap's website). I had my Freak Jr. rear, my .689 bore insert, and the Freak silver ported front on it (total length of 16"), and I nailed everything I aimed at!! I didn't break one ball, but mind you I wasn't shooting for speed, I was going for accuracy. My Co2 tank was nearly out of juice, but the balls didn't drop, fly weird, or anything like when I had my Tiller barrel on it. For those of you who don't know, Tiller is a barrel found on eBay, made by an overseas company out of Taiwan. It's a good-looking and cheap barrel, but I think the quality speaks for itself. I wish I would've saved the $25.00 I spent on that barrel and applied it to the $70.00 pricetag of the Freak Jr. system. Even with the worst paintballs and little Co2, I literally had a 50% increase in accuracy, if not more.

You're probably wondering: "$70.00 is a good price?" Yes, the price is well worth it, and you will definitely see an increase in accuracy with this barrel system. Smart Parts engineers these barrels perfectly for what you pay, and the "slippery" inside will ensure the ball encounters little to no friction on its path to the target. Smart Parts practically invented this awesome barrel technology, and they're certainly a trusted name. It's worth it, splurge and find out why.
Conclusion: I can't wait to test out other inserts and fronts on the Freak Jr. system. It's easy to use, is insanely accurate, quiet, and, above all, comes at a great price for all of this. Excellent upgrade to any marker, especially low-end mechs or electros where you're looking to upgrade cheaply. Highly recommended, and you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 5th, 2005 at 6:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sockfoot Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
only the A-5 stock
Marker Setup: stock A-5 with a few homemade blocks of wood (butt stock and forgrip) and Freak Jr.
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium works well for me.
Strengths: Accuracy
switchable inner diameter
Weaknesses: 4 Pieces
Broken Paint
Review: I will not be grading this product on price or looks because everyone can see that for themselves.

Configuration: The Freak Jr. is a four piece barrel. It has a front, back, insert, and addapter. When you insert the insert you will notice an O ring. This O ring holds the insert in place, but it does not always hold the insert in the right place. The insert can be tilted in any direction. I find (probably because of the A-5's kick) that pointed high of center works best. If it is down of center, your shots will divebomb and no amount of aiming the gun high will help. Trust me. Check where the top of the barrel is when screwed into the marker and allign. This could take a few tries because the addapter will move the insert when it is screwed in.

Accuracy: When properly configured, the Freak Jr. is extreemly accurate. It took me some time to become as accurate as this barrel.

Accuracy with paint in barrel: When it is clean I feel like I could shoot the fly off of a horses back at 30 yards. When it has paint in the barrel it is like I couldn't hit the horse at 10 yards. Here is why you have to take out the insert in the first place. Paint will fill the cracks and drain back into the barrel. So you have to clean out the barrel, remove the insert, wipe off the insert, wipe out the back, and put it back together 2 or 3 times until you have every thing alligned up right. The small amount that drains is not too bad, so you could finish the round before you clean out the cracks.
Conclusion: It is the ideal barrel under ideal conditions, but if you break paint, it a bad barrel to have. I have only had paint in the cracks twice since I use an A-5. I think there are better buys for your money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OrAnGe SwItCh Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick, smart parts freak, cp classic one peice, stock barrels
Marker Setup: Ion, blue body kit, q lock, ndz S-tream, freak jr., fbm on/off, 32 degrees flame drop, z boarded eggy, aci 47/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any since you can buy any bore size to match any paintball.
Strengths: Accuracy, paint to bore sizes, looks
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is by far the best barrel i have ever used. it is the exact same barrel as the freak except the milling and price. the price of the freak jr. is much lower then the freak, which makes it better. the performance of the freak and the freak jr. are exactly the same. since you can buy inserts for this barrel, your paint to bore match will be perfect. this barrel is very accurate compared to any stock barrel out there and many aftermarket barrels also.
Conclusion: Very good barrel. definately my favorite barrel i have ever used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Revolution13 Monday, July 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ultralite
Lapco Bigshot
Marker Setup: A-5 R/T
14" Freak Jr.
10" Freak Front
DOP Bullet Drop
Palmer Stabalizer(Male)
48/3000 Crossfire
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything thats round
Strengths: Accurate
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Only Comes In Black and With a 14" Tip.
Review: This thing is perfect. I don't know why people would buy a whole freak kit if you only use about 3 or 4 inserts. I play front so the only problem is the overall length is too long, but you can get different tips for only 35 dollars. Also this is the most accurate barrel I have ever used. It probably would be even more accurate if you bought ss inserts, but I don't to save money.
Conclusion: Accuarte, Versitile, Inexpensive, Buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyep8balla24 Tuesday, May 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Driver, Pipe Kit, Tear Drop, Progressive, Other Lower end Products
Marker Setup: SP Impulse Vision, Eggy 2, 68 300 nitro, freak jr, OTB frame, Phat Flame Drop, Evil ASA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Something with a pretty big bore size, like premiums or pretty much any rps paint, if you have the kit then you can pretty much use what ever paint you want.
Strengths: Very accurate, Affordable, Inserts
Weaknesses: Not as Flashy as the Regular Freak (since it is a cheaper version)
Review: I think the freak junior is a great barrel all around, even though it doesn't look as great as the freak it still shoots about the same. It is very affordable and you can change the fronts to make it look a lot more flashy, since its the same threads as the all - american , freak, and big daddy. Also if you buy the barrel alone it only comes with one insert (.693) which is pretty big and you might want to consider getting a smaller size. But if you get the kit it comes with 3 which is good enough for me since i use rps and evil paint which is about right for the inserts that come with the kit (.691, .687, .685 or thats atleast the sizes i got)
Conclusion: If you want to shoot a lot more accurate for an affordable price , i would go to the freak jr. without hesitation, you will see a huge difference with this barrel compared to others, and it is a lot more adaptive than others as well , since there are inserts you can choose what paint you want to shoot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jai Armstrong Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CMI 16" QB
Marker Setup: 03 WGP vertical feed cocker
CMI HUGE drop forward with psi gage
PHAT 47ci 3000psi tank with a Bulldog preset regulator
14" Freak Jr kit
VL Evolution II
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, you can fit the barrel to the paint with the incerts provided
Strengths: It's the most acurit barrel i've shot and it's very well made.
Weaknesses: If you brake you are going to have to squigy it with a GOOD one.
Review: this is a great barrel, it is at a good price for what you get, i got mine off of ebay for about $80. if you play in turnys every so often, none at all or one every week, this is the best barrel youl find, I can almost garintey.
Conclusion: Get it off ebay RIGHT NOW!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soldat Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
14" spyder jr. barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I like Blaze the best, but with all the inserts just about any paintball will work fine in this barrel.
Strengths: -Accurate
-Can use almost any paintball
-Havent broken any paintballs in it
Weaknesses: -Look- Its kind of shiny, but you can put camo tape or something over it
Review: I personally love this barrel. It shoots as well as any barrel that I've seen, and you can use any type of paint you want becuase of the inserts. Like i said, it is shiny but if that really bothers you, just go to your local army and navy store and get some camo colored tape. Just put that over it. I just leave it as it is, its really not that big of a deal.

This is a great barrel and i would definately recomend it to anyone looking for a good, reliable barrel.
Conclusion: This Barrel is awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media