paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Hammer / Kingman Hammer / Kingman Hammer / Kingman Hammer

Kingman Hammer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Hammer

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Hammer
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $72

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Standard Features: Pump Action, Power Feed, Adjustable Bolt, Composite Trigger Frame, Two Arm Pump, Auto Trigger, Light Spring, Anti-double Cocking, 45 Grip, Muzzle Brake Barrel.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Hammer is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Jakeweeks Monday, March 21st, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Converted Trilogy Sport pump
CCI Phantom
Marker Setup: Kingman Hammer
Custom Products .689 16 inch barrel
9oz Co2 tank
100 round hopper
45 degree feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Find a good feedneck. I've had several break on me because of the weird neck size.
A barrel is a good upgrade. The stock barrel is loud as hell, but accurate for it's length.
This gun screams "Make me a stock class!"
Strengths: Accurate out of the box
Smooth pump stroke
Extremely lightweight
Highly upgradeable
Back-bottle setup
Weaknesses: Back-bottle setup
Loud out of the box
1' feedneck
Some rollouts
Review: I have to say... I was impressed with the Kingman Hammer. I intended to buy it as a backup gun... and now it's the only gun I use. I got it for around $40 on Ebay, a great deal. I have shot a lot of paint through it, and my consensus is overwhelmingly positive.

Gassing up the gun, I immediately noticed two things: It was ball-on-ball accurate, and it was shooting hot. While I eventually cranked the velocity down, I didn't crank the accuracy down. Even with rubbish paint, the only thing I could think of whenever I shot it was "Sniper". The velocity was an easily fixable problem. This marker came from the era of Nelspots and Sheridans, and even cranked all the way down it was barely chrono'ing legally. I didn't clip the spring, and once I put my new barrel on, it shot fine.

Speaking of barrels, with the stock barrel this gun is LOUD. I mean real loud. Like, people around you plugging their ears loud. It was far quieter and more accurate with my CP barrel, however. It is still quite loud, but it's more due to the loud metal-on-metal interior components than the rattling around the end of the barrel.

The pump stroke is smooth. It is really solid with almost no play in the pump handle at all. With a good rhythm, you could shoot this gun really fast. One problem I do have is that the cutout on the right-hand side of the pump arm sometimes scrapes on the feed neck; on my Hammer, a 1cm circular area on my feedneck was scraped away. Not a real problem, but a minor cosmetic flaw.

The gun is super-simple. Internally, it resembles a scaled-up Nelson pump. The whole thing can be field stripped in under a minute, making for easy cleaning. On that note, it is nearly maintenance free. I've never had a mechanical problem with this marker.

The tank has a back-bottle setup. This makes it incredibly maneuverable and well-balanced, especially when shooting 12 grams. And without the steel-braided line, ASA, and drop-forward, it keeps the weight down. While I personally like this setup (it gives a more stable shooting platform and keeps a low profile for you and your hopper) it does have a few flaws. First of all, it's hard to look down the stock sight pin with a mask on and a Co2 tank on the back. Second, it makes it a bit clumsy in airball and exposes more of my body than I like when I snap out of a bunker. Tourney players might find the setup cumbersome, but it isn't really a serious problem.

The biggest problem, without a doubt, is the stock feedneck. It's a one-inch diameter feedneck, and that creates problems. Way back when, a 1' feedneck was standard. Not anymore. Every marker for the past 12 years or so has had a 7/8 inch feedneck. No modern hopper will fit in the feedneck. You'll need a WGP 40 round box or something, or hook up a 45 degree feedneck. The only problem is... most modern feednecks are designed for a 7/8 inch anyway. I've had feednecks snap from the stresses of "barely fitting" on the feedneck and had to wrap the neck in duct tape. It's inconvenient and frustrating.

The second worst problem is the rollouts. Too often I'll pump the gun and switch hands to go around a bunker and shoot... and nothing will come out. Double feeds are also a problem. It's hard to get small bores in Spyder threads, so I'll have to deal with it, probably. Better buy some bigger paint.

These problems are kind of nit-picky, I know. At the end of the day, you're still using an awesome, old-school pump gun. And, at the end of the day, you've only shot 500 paintballs, which means you can buy a case of top-of-the-range paint and play all month long. Better paint improves your accuracy, which improves your kill-count and improves your game. Once you get used to using a pump, you'll be having the most fun you've had playing in a long time.
Conclusion: If you want a solid, accurate, feather-weight, inexpensive pump gun with some funky 90's style, this is your gun. Although it may require a little modification to become a truly awesome pump gun, it is well worth it. A good Hammer can match any modern pump gun and many semi's as well. Definitely worth looking into.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cpt_crunch Friday, August 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Oigershark pump.
other milsim Semi's
Marker Setup: J&J ceramic 16" Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Light
Shoots strait
Cheap
Durable
Weaknesses: Feed Neck
Loud
Stiff pump stroke
Review: I tool this marker out because I wanted to start playing pump. I was surprised at how well it worked. The marker is very light and shoots very straight. I was hitting soda cans at 100 feet without a problem.
However there are some downsides. The pump stroke is pretty stiff and pretty loud. Other players said they could hear me pumping the gun even when they couldn't hear it firing. Pumping it gently reduced the noise but was more difficult due to the stiff stroke.
My biggest complaint is the feedneck. Most hammers have the right offset, the hammer PLUS (the one I had) has a powerfeed. However decided to use that was not thinking straight. powerfeeds use blowback to bounce the balls into the breach. PUMPS AREN'T BLOWBACK! It doesn't work. That annoyed me to no end.
Conclusion: Other then the feedneck its a wonderful marker for anyone wanting start playing pump. It will be hard to find one around but they will be cheap. If you find one buy it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

K-Red Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Tiger Shark, PMI Tracer, CCI Phantom, and PGP series if you count them.
Marker Setup: Core marker, 32* 14" barrel, newer spring, and a few "Unauthorized" modifications.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a longer barrel. The stock one kind of blows, but it's an improvement over the stock barrel in a Sypder Compact. (I moved this one's stock barrel to my Spyder after I got the 14".)
A 12 gram adapter works nicely (if you're keen on the idea).
A red-dot sight helps.
Strengths: Reliable
Durable
Easy to use
Simple design
Weaknesses: Not many upgrades
Ho hum accuracy
Tends to double-load with some barrels
Review: I bought this new and this is possibly the marker I've used the longest, and I very much enjoy it. I always carry it with me to games, and I fall back on it often whenever any of my other markers jam or shutdown on me. This would be it's key strength: Reliability. I have never had the thing jam on me while I have had it.
Over the years I've never seen it wain in structural strength, not even the plastic parts. The only thing I've worn down was the spring, but even then I think it was still usable. I just wanted to put a more tense spring in there and see what it did. The velocity jumped a little, just enough that it would chop cheap paint. (Since then I've been shooting Marbleizers out of it.) I can't see much of a reason for the chopping, but it does it from time to time. If you don't mess with it, I don't think it should chop anything.
Due primarily to the fact that it's a pump, this marker is very easy to use. Pump, point, shoot. Very little can go wrong with it, and after you have taken it apart a few times you can kind of diagnose any problem you may have in the future.
The significant flaws lie most solely in the fact that Kingman never seemed to put much time to this marker. Aside from the barrel (Spyder/universal thread) there are virtually NO OFFICIAL UPGRADES for the Hammer. While this is annoying, it does make you curious as to what you can do with tools, extra parts, and some ideas. If you really feel like challenging yourself, I heard someone once say that it is possible to put an Autococker valve into one of these to make the velocity easily adjustable (though I have never tried it this way. A new spring seems to do it fine). I have filed away some of the feed-neck to cause paint to feed more smoothly, and I've done a few thing to the tap behind the bolt to increase the velocity. Be creative... ...but only if you have spare parts to undo mistakes.
The stock accuracy kind of blows.To really make this shine you need to change the barrel out. Be careful what you get, though because I've found some barrels cause the marker to double-load and sometimes chop paint in so doing. I'd recommend SmartParts or 32*, seeing as I've had good lick with these two.
Conclusion: If you like pumps, this is a definite buy. I would think that this is compareable to a CCI Phantom of similar configuration. Great for pump-only games, and a great marker to fall back on if you need to.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pudamobile Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Tigershark- It was cheaply made compared against the Hammer, but still a fun cheap pump.
CCI Phantom- Slightly smoother, and the stock barrel tends to be more accurate, but I don't know that the price difference makes up for a smoother pump stroke and a stock barrel.
Marker Setup: Kingman Hammer
16" SP All-American
Lapco Gas-thru Stock
Remote Coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
Some sort of barrel, I like my AA but many people would also consider a J&J Ceramic for on their Hammer.
Strengths: Lightweight
Reliable
Relatively Cheap for what you get
Relatively Accurate
Weaknesses: The Hammer-Ps have plastic triggerframes, that's pretty crappy.
Review: I picked up my Hammer a couple years ago off ebay for around $35 shipped. I pulled it out because at the time all of my friends were obsessed with fast markers. So while everyone else was running around shooting 15 BPS, I was rocking the pump. In my opinion, it made me a much better player because I couldn't just "spray and Pray" like everyone else did. Now a bunch of my friends are buying pumps, but not a one has considered a used Hammer, all have gone out and spent $200+ on a Phantom. Now I've shot a few Phantoms, and they are NICE, but for the difference between the $35 I spent for my Hammer and $200+ on their Phantoms, I'd take the Hammer and buy a good barrel, possibly some new grips and still come out ahead $100 on the deal. The only reason I could see buying a Phantom was if you got the VSC variation to play in Stock Class Tourneys. But if you're only going to Rec-Ball at your local field, pick up a cheap used Hammer and give pump a shot!
Conclusion: Buy one of these if you're curious as to if you'd like SC paintball, if you don't like pumping and such, you don't have much money tied up into your pump, if you do like pumping, you have either a great starting point for your setup or a cheap taste of what a Phantom can do.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

3022 Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Arrow Precision Sterling Bronze, PMI Trracer
Marker Setup: Old style PGP (many), ZGP-94 (two), Sterling Bronze (three), P68SC, AGD MiniMag, Kingmann New Hammer, Spyder Compact (two), Crosmann 3357 Spotmarker
Recommended
Upgrades:
10-rnd tube as magazine or small 40-50rnd hooper (WGP Ammo box is great on this marker)
9oz CO2 tank with siphon tube
Red dot sight (I sugest ADCO Sure Shot as cheap and durable sight) with raised sight rail
Ball "rollout" detent (I use homemade "CCI detent rings")
Doublecock ball detent (make you own from screw & piece of paperclip)
Polished internals & barrel honing
Lightened (20g) stock hammer
New custom made frame-screws with knurled-heads
New bolt-screws (change original Hammer screws for Spyder Compact bolt screw)
New sight rail screws (longer) with split washers
New anti-kink hammer with new bolt when you really like this nice marker
Strengths: Cheap
Good accuracy & range
Lightweight & compact
Great trigger pull afer running-up
Weaknesses: Plastic parts
Not usable iron sights
Poorly stock screws
Rought external diameter of stock barrel
Review: Kingmann New Hammer is simple, inexpensive pump-marker. Of course not the best, but really nice and one of the best for its prince. He haves good rate of price/performance and is able to compete with the best when is used properly. You can have some better guns for slightly more money, but you do not need them for really good play. But though you can live with the performance of this gun, you might want something more elegant after time - more quieter, more durable.

Simply, probably the biggest advantage of New Hammer is that he is cheap in itself, and needs not to many set-ups or accessories for really good performance (but some though). With only small tinkering work, you can have one of the best shooting markers for little money - simple, very accurate, consistent, lightweight and compact, dependable, with good range, and some pleasing minutiae: Anti-doublecock security (what prevents "manualy" doublecock), comfortable .45 grip frame, decent pump-stroke, Spyder threated barrel, surprisingly good trigger pull.

When you buy this gun and make some light tinkering work on them, then Im sure that you will have a lot fun with them and he will help you improve your game - it is accurate, long-range, dependable and compact enought to be sure that you have not problem with performance of your gun, but only with your skills and/or playng style. Because he haves slower rate of fire and he is loud, you have everytime only one or two ball to eliminate your target - you hit the guy or your are alone eliminated. So, it teaches you to make your shots count, good moving, use hides and covers and go in the right positions, not only spray and pray, but it still has a good (2-4 bps) rate of fire to compensate natural imperfection of world and human. Everyone who learns play with this will be a nightmare for other players.


Some details:

Like as most of nelson style pumps even the New Hammer is pretty accurate and consistent, but likewise very loud (I think that it is because nelsons are hight pressure guns, not fully sealed around the powertube and they have thin "breech casing" where the hammer moves). Especialy with the short stock barrel and without hammer lightening he sound´s like a canon... but it can be really intimidating and satisfying on other side :-).

Because Hammer is Spyder threated and his pump handle has removable insert it is easy replace stock barrel for "better" aftermarket barrel. But the 9" stock barrel with internal diameter .689" is really great for shooting. I have tested 12" Smartparts Ventury, 12" Smartparts Teardrop, 14" J&J Ceramic, 16" J&J Ceramic barrel on my New Hammer and they are all only equally accurate as the stock barrel. The only real drawback of the stock barrel is that he is rought an external diameter, what affect pumping smoothnes. But after thorough honing from the inside and outside there is no really need of replacement... when you do not "need" longer barrel or barrel with porting.

There are some plastic parts (grip frame with trigger, security pin), that have not best impact and abrasive resistance. But on the other hand, on the trigger, the pressure is distributed on great surface, so the stressing is acceptable here and other key internals what are really under stress are made out of superior materials (brass and stainless stell), so with some care and consideration you Hammer will be have long lifetime (and if you really wish, you can later easy replace the entire Hammer plastic grip frame with a the aftermarket Phantom .45 grip frame).

Stock screws are junk - screws what conecting pump rods with bolt screw its self slow down while pumping and frame-screws are even so not the best - better replace it both with custom made knurled-head screws. Below the sight rail screws is good tack on spring lock washers to prevent loosening, so you need replace them (for longer) likewise.

Powerfeed works well with autotrigger (I do not like autotriggering, but some too), its opening makes it possible to see in chamber with mounted hooper and in its elbow you can easy fit direct 10-round tube as small and inexpensive magazine. But on the other side, because powerfeed are "iron" sigts not usable - you need red dot and for the most part even raised sight rail... but that's even so good for good play with modern masks on most frequent back-bottle configuration and for comon small ADCO red dots you can make raised sight rail on this marker very light (longer fixing side plates).

Hammer goes good on 12g (with Quickchanger) or gas CO2 (best with half filled 12oz with anti-siphon tube), but is perfect on liquid - so, use 9oz CO2 tank with siphon tube when you do not live somewhere in Africa (there is only one drawback of using liquid CO2 - in high temperatures it is problem to hold the liquid CO2 in the gun properly).

There are no ball detents, so when the paint is virtually small, for guaranteed preventing rollouts you need something like CCI detent rings (or well known tape/nail polish mod) and for guaranteed doublefeeding solution you mus make you own ball detent (use drill press, tap, screw and piece of paperclip - look how wire ball detents on modern Sterlings look) or use powerfeed for "careen cock & rock"... but due good "ventury" bolt, even Hammer adjusted on 300 fps is able shoot two loadet balls (when it is not cheapest No name paint) without break, and with autotrigger you will have not problems with rollouts, so you can live without ball detents for while.


Results of my performance tests:
Kingmann New Hammer with 9oz tank + siphon tube (going on liqud CO2) in backbottle setup, honned stock barrel, polished internals, custom made "CCI detent rings", lightened (20g) hammer, new (stronger) valve spring (from Spyder spring kit), raised sight rail, ADCO Sureshot red dot. Using RPS Marbalizers with middle muzzle velocity set to 287 fps. Consistency: +/- 4 fps (90% of shoots only +/- 2 fps). Accuracy: diversion below 90mm (3.5 inch) circumscribed circle on 16m (50 feet) distance. No drop out with autotrigger, 4 bps are easy achievable.
Conclusion: I’m a usually SC player and a steady Sheridan favourer, and when goes on DF CA pumps i prefer tuned Sterling, but I was very impressed with real possibilities of this cheap Kingmann "aluminium/plastic toy". When you are looking for high-power, low-cost, light, C/A, DF pump-marker I can recommend it warmly. It is really good marker for anymore who looks for inexpensive pump-marker and is able make some small tinkering work on it (barrel honing, ball detent addition, raised sight rail - that is all what you really need).

It is perfect choice for people who are low on money and need a decent pump-gun. Because he is light, haves decent pump-stroke and consumption of ammo he can be good even for small kids, when he is little "prepared" for them. But it haves some limitations and you pehaps do not want to stay with him forever most likely. This is good gun, but there are simply some better.

I give 7 from 10 what mean above avelerage, but not perfect for me.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 5th, 2006 at 7:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaan Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelspot 007, PGP, P68SC, Sniper (2k3 Autococker with WWA pump kit)
Marker Setup: Bone stock Hammer A
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottom line, barrel.
Strengths: Durable, slick action, accurate, autotrigger
Weaknesses: Plastic grip, trigger uncomfortable, back bottle
Review: I bought this marker brand new, the last day National Paintball sold them. I happen to be at the right place at the right time and got one at closeout for $35. Originally I bought this as a backup marker or for friends to use when playing renegade, but little by little I've grown found of this marker. Almost 10 years after I bought it it's the only marker I've owned that hasn't even once given me any problems ... even my Automag has a couple of minor glitches here and there.

This marker is mostly metal. You could probably run over it with your car and it would still work. Except for the springs there isn't much to rust here either.

It's accurate right out of the box.

It takes Spyder barrels, so nice barrels for this marker are a dime a dozen. Even the stock one is good.

It has one of those plastic "M-16" hideaway style grips ... not the nicest grips, but functional. Prepare to loose the hideaway cover. Everyone does.

The trigger is a bit uncomfortable. It sits at an odd angle. You're not going to be shooting that much, so it's not that big of a deal.

It does come with an autotrigger for those times where you need a little more volume and can spare the accuracy.

I love the feel of the action, at least on my marker. It's silky smooth, and a hell of a lot smoother than a Nelspot 007 which it's based on.

Adjusting the velocity is easy enough ... you need a really long screwdriver to put down the barrel and turn a screw in the bolt. If you don't have a long screwdriver, you can always unscrew the barrel, and take off the pump handle. It's still easy to do it that way.

It comes set up for a "back bottle", which means the CO2 bottle is screwed in right behind the valve. It's not bad, but a bottom line would probably be more comfortable.

If you have a soft valve spring, which is what mine came with, the hammer will bounce on the valve and make a burping noise ... so you basically have a burp gun. It just sounds weird on the field. I could always tell where mine was when I let people borrow it from the burrrp burrrp burrrp sound it made. Eventually I changed the springs. Alas.
Conclusion: If you're going to play pump, this is a nice gun to start with, and as accurate as anything else, even those other sexy looking acid washed splash anodized pumps. I have a Nelspot 007, and this marker is basically the evolution of the Nelspot. It has all the upgrades people would do to Nelspots back in the day ... longer barrel, pump handle attached to the bolt on both sides to prevent kinking of the hammer spring, direct feed from a hopper, constant air, and easily adjustable velocity through the bolt. (I would mention autotrigger but Nelspots had that too, just not deliberately).

This is a great gun for the price, and now that pump is making a comeback, Kingmann ... or someone else for that matter ... should consider making this marker again. If pump will truly come back the sport needs a good, reliable pump for a decent sub $100 price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jfd Saturday, December 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Maverick, CCI Phantom, NPS Diablo,
Marker Setup: Hammer A, stock barrel, M16 grip, WGP 45 rd hopper, gas through t-stock and remote line.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Polish internals, lighten hammer, Maybe a 45 grip, shoulder stock
Strengths: metal grip frame, brass lined barrel, brass internals. Good eficiency, anti double feed . Spyder threads
Weaknesses: Plastic pump handle, pump stroke rough. Hard to find.
Review: I bought this used off ebay as part of a lot of gear. It ended up one of my favorite guns. If your looking for a pump this is a good one to get, if you can find one. Usually you can find them used for about 40-60 bucks.

The Kingman Hammer A is a Nelson based, bore drop, pump action paintball gun. It features anti double feed as well as anti double pump, so once you pump the gun the pump locks forward until you shoot.

This Gun is pretty solidly built, Aluminum body, cast aluminum grip frame with plastic grip and pump handle. the barrel is a brass lined with an aluminum outer sheath. I like the brass lining because its easy to polish. Also the brass internals polish up real nice, which improves efficiency and eases the pump stroke a bit.
The gun is about as accurate as any pump, which can be improved by using quality paint and taking time to match the paint to the barrel. (which I dont bother doing)
I play mostly pump and one of the problems with lower end pumps is ball rollout, I haven't noticed that happening too much with this gun. If you do have this problem a quick fix is to make a ring of nail polish on the inside of the barrel, at the threaded end just far enough in to hold the ball against the bolt. another thing that I do is to compensate by not pumping til I'm ready to shoot. If you do pump and the ball rolls out you have to shoot before you can pump again.

You can also increase efficiency by lightening the hammer. I did this by drilling a hole through the hammer, from left to right. I used about a 3/8 inch drill bit, I didn't do any research into what would be the best size hole to drill, so it's up to you if youwant to do it.
When I first got it the safety button was loose so I knocked it out to avoid problems. I don't recommend doing this for the reason that the field you play may not let you use ot without a safety. I havent had this happen but you never know.

I have used this gun for the first 6 mos without any mods and it performed great as it was. It is alittle loud, but I like it that way for the intimidation factor. The pump stroke was a little rough but with use I got accustomed to it.
Conclusion: I love my Hammer. As I said I play mostly pump (Ok, pretty much exclusively). After using this once it became my main gun. Because these are hard to find I was afraid to try any mods, But I got over that and started making small improvements. Now that the cold weather is here I'm adding a vertical asa and a 3.5 oz co2 tank and I'm hoping to add and under barrel pump.

I would definately recommend this to anyone wanting a pump. It is a low end pump but still serves its purpose very well. The main components are made with quality materials (brass and aluminum) and those that aren't can be replaced ( pump arm and grip). This past summer this gun shared duties with my Phantom. Because it is a low end gun I can not give it a 10, but don't get me wrong I personally love this gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OutlawJ Thursday, November 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Piranha (brother's)
Autococker pump convert
Marker Setup: Stock setup
Standard 200 round loader
9oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Good value
No velocity drops (any temp.)
Great accuracy (with upgraded barrel)
Weaknesses: Plastic kinda sucks
Safety is only 50% reliable
Valve design is poor
Parts are expensive
Review: This was my first gun and really it was one of the most reliable guns I have used for under 300 dollars. Whether it was 20 below or 100 degrees, I have never had any velocity spikes or drops. The gun is fairly accurate stock but with a new barrel you could get it as accurate as a stock Automag . The best thing about it is that everybody underestimates you and that is where it bites them in the ass. Autotrigger works but not recommended for more than 10 shots because the valve can't keep up but for a 50 dollar gun( I paid 70 when they first came out), Overall it is a great gun and I would recommend it to anyone starting out or as a backup gun because it is so reliable. Now I barely ever shoot it due to the aging of it over the years it will no longer fire worth a damn, but I got three great years out of it!
Conclusion: Great gun for a great price, it is so cheap now, it is worth trying, if you can find it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

YellowMaranello Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing other then BE crap.
Marker Setup: Kingman New Hammer with a J&J 12" Ceramic barrel and a spring kit for Nelson clones.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (unless you like scaring every living creature within a 5 mile radius when you shoot)
Strengths: Light
Rare
Very easy to take care of
Weaknesses: Loud
VERY loud
Powerfeed (some like it, I don't)
Review: I bought this gun used from a local shop and promptly went out and fired a few rounds through it. The first shot was quite suprising. The noise that penetrated my ears from the barrel is the kind of noise that I would expect to hear if Zeus was standing right behind me throwing lightning bolts. Okay, its not THAT loud, but it's close. The first thing I did was get an new barrel, that helped the noise significantly, but I had another problem on my hands at this time... My paint was taking some flight paths in midair. I knew it couldn't be the barrels fault because the J&J is a highly rated barrel, and I knew it couldn't be the paint because I checked it before I put it in the hopper and it was all perfectly fine (PMI Premium). Next step was to replace the springs. I replaced them with a generic Nelson clone spring kit (blue main spring, green valve spring) and it was shooting much much much better. The performance of the gun is exceptional as of now. The next issue I'm going to deal with is really just a preference. Right now I'm running a 9oz tank from the back. The 9oz makes the gun longer then I would like it to be. It's not a problem, just a personal preference, so I'm looking to make it vertical air. After that, I can see myself keeping it just the way it is for a while.
Conclusion: If you find one, buy it. The springs may be worn and should be replaced anyways. I mean, its $4 for the kit and the performance you gain is incredible. This gun is perfect for anyone looking to get into pump play. Highly recommended.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WAPballer Saturday, March 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used brass eagle blade pumps(never ever buy one) and a PMI tracer with a 16" barrel and CMI bottomline.
Marker Setup: Right now im using my kingman hammer which has a custom pump i hand crafted from aluminum and a 16" J&J ceramic barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel oh my god the barrel that comes with this one is junk its nothing but a steel tube and maybe a bottomline or butt plate for your co2 to give it that rifle look.
Strengths: Accurate
Cheap
Sturdy for bieng plastic
Weaknesses: plastic
stock barrel like a cannon
hard to find
Review: Overall a great gun its reliable cheap and acurate as hell. It has several weakness look above but its strenghts overcome its weaknesses. Its rather cheap but hard to come by so are the parts if you know where to get any let me know. Id have to give the gun a nine its better than the PMI traccer but a far cry from a phantom but its still better for the price.
Conclusion: Buy it!! Its great look on ebay!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 20th, 2004 at 1:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media