paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse

Smart Parts Impulse Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Impulse

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Impulse
[ View Photos (91) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 640
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Impulse is the best open bolt electropneumatic semi-auto for under $500. It has a new lightweight vertical feed body, improved fire rate and integrated on/off switch. The Impulse also features our Max-Flo regulator that works on compressed air or CO2 and includes a Progressive rifled barrel.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Impulse is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (64):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Dr3vV Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really
Marker Setup: Impulse
Egg 2
PMI NITRO
STIFFI
BLADE TRIGGER
TAPEWORM
Recommended
Upgrades:
BLADE TRIGGER
TAPEWORM
Strengths: Speed
Slim but tall
Straight
Upgrade able
Weaknesses: Tall
Teavy
Stock trigger sucks badly
Review: I bought mine stock off ebay for 200 buck totally and put a blade magno trigger and a tapeworm with new trigger the gun is pimp but I want to buy the was board looks pimp.
If you want good starting trouny gun then buy a used one and put some ups in it and you'll own it up. I play 3 vs 3 trounys aginest timmys and dmc's and still whip ass!
Conclusion: Giving it a 9 out of ten becuase there are better guns out there
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mullet_rider Saturday, December 10th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle merauder
Alias intimidator
Marker Setup: Now i have an alias intimidator
Reloader b
Dynaflow 68/4500 air tank
Pipe kit barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pretty much everything needs to be upgraded/replaced for this gun to be good.
Strengths: The only strength for this gun is
Its cheap
Weaknesses: Heavy
Inaccurate
Unreliable
Big
Chops alot
Review: This gun was amazing to me the first time i had it. Nobody else out at the field ever had a gun like mine and it was twice as good as my old gun(canadian tire marauder). The firts time i played with it it choped many times and i thought that was something that i did wrong so i tried making it better i lube it took it apart and cleaned it until it was as good as new. I put many upgrades on so as to make it work good. The gun was very inconsistant and always chopped. I couldnt hit anything with it because of ball a ball breaking ever 3 shots. The one thing that put me off this gun was its weight. It is probably the heaviest gun out there. I always said that weight doesnt matter unless your weak(which im not) but once i took this gun to a tourny i started to realize that it is too heavy to slide into bunkers with. At the end of the 2 day tournament my wrist was soo sore that i could barely carry my gun anymore. I got it looked at after the tourny and my heavy gun that i used to slide into bunkers had fractured my wrist amazingly(icouldnt believe a gun could do this). Then i got a new gun and realized that weitgh and size make a lot of difference to your playing ability and i now have my amazing reliable alias intimidator that had won me a tournament against some really good players. Just for people who are looking at buying this gun dont do it. Save your money and buy a cheap used timmy or smart parts shocker(also an amazing gun thats much better than the impulse). Or even any other gun but a timmy would probably be the best choice since they are easy to maintain and very reliable.
Conclusion: I think that this gun should be cheaper so that newer people would buy it because it is not a gun that any good experianced paintball player would buy unless they want to spend alot of $$$$$$ i mean alot of it to remake the gun to make it actually usefull to a tourny player. I give this product a 2 out of 10 because it is not a particularly good dun and the only reason i didnt give it a 1 is because it was cheap and would be a good first gun.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 10th, 2005 at 12:40 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

mdew Saturday, December 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion/dm4
Marker Setup: 2005 black impulse
-q lock feedneck
-ndz magno blade trigger
-tape worm
-14in all american barrel
-halo b
-68/45 crossfire

-soon to come---W.A.S
Recommended
Upgrades:
-halo
-feedneck
-tape worm
-trigger
Strengths: Easy to clean
Always works
Fast
Accuracy
Efficiency
Great reg
No breaks
Weaknesses: Heavy
Tall
Review: I bought this gun after a couple of months of searching on the Internet, talking to people that haved own an impulse, and testing it out. For me all factors played a role in my decision on buying this marker. (i suggest you doing this with whatever gun you buy...you should never buy something right off the bat cuz you might kick your self later)
After owning the Impluse for a while and have learn its good's and bad's i have found that this marker is far under rated for what it is. most people when they think of an impulse a heavy brick comes to mind and while lighter is better sometimes that 1 ounce lighter doesnt make a difference. now yes the impulse is heavy but for some reason it doesnt brother me. im not going to go an say "lift weights be a man!!" cuz thats just dumb but if you work alot anyways and/or weight doesnt brother you then the whole weight issue is not a problem.....just for the record my impulse is 2.75 lb(which is really good)...my halo is 1.75 lb...and my tank is 2 lb
strength's
-its a good solid gun. it never breaks and always works. when the other guys are playing with there dm's or ego's you can be out there having a ball while they are stressing over there fancying new gun.

-fast. the non-vision impulse is capped at 15 (which is the legal limit at psp or nppl) but if that isn't fast for you then a simple upgraded can get you unlimited bps (W.A.S)

-reg. the max flow reg is still one of the best regs out there and with the new shocker reg begin on all 2k5 impulse's it is really a great reason to buy a new impulse. the reg can use c02 or air but i suggest air (crossfire)

-accuracy. since the impulse runs at about 150 psi (low end guns run at about 850 psi) the accuracy increases 10 fold because there is less pressure on the ball which can cause breakage and/or ball curving. the stock barrel is one of the best stock barrels too but if you want evern better accuracy get an freak kit

-effecincy. the impulse is great on air or co2 getting over 1300 shots off a 20oz tank and over 1400 shots off an 68/45 tank

weakness's

-heavy. as stated in opening paragraph if you are so worry about every ounce that is on a marker then dont get this gun but if your like me and dont care then the weight doesnt matter

-tall. yes the impulse is a very tall marker but if you buy an halo your going to need a short feedneck which lowers the body alot. if you have a 12v stick with a stock feed neck (which will make the gun tall)
Conclusion: overall i love my impulse. when people bash a gun because you didnt spend $1300 on it i like to sit back and laugh and just have a great day at the field and take much pride taking aim for that one kid. ^_^ also the impulse will never chop if you have an halo but if u have an 12v u may chop a little due to the fact that the loader cant feed fast enough. now since the ion has taking over the smart parts maket i will talk about why i think the impulse is a better buy. now yes the impulse cost more but personaly i hate the feel of an ion. i think im going to break it when i dive and not just the shell but the whole gun. Also if anything went wrong with an ion you cant field strip it and fix it with in 10 mins. it would mostlikly take a half hour or an hour because of the way it is made. the impulse on the other hand can be taking apart and put back together within like 5 or less mins. the impulse has been batted tested for years and years and has been improved on over those years and that is why i bought an impulse. this marker will never let you down but do your research and see if this is the gun for you. i know it was for me

viva la impulse

the impluse will never die!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 4th, 2005 at 11:38 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

el venezolano Thursday, December 1st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None that are like it, my first electronic gun after 2 years of playin.
Marker Setup: 2004 Impulse
Cricket Board
Blade Trigger
Max-Flo Manifold Regulator
PMI 45/4500
Empire Bottle Glove
12v Revolution w/ X-board
St!ffi 14" Barrel .689
New Designz LPR
New Designz Ram Housing Assembly
New Designz Stubby Equalizer Bolt
New Designz RIP High Flow Valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
St!ffi or Freak Barrel or Ultralite
LPR (Smart Parts or New Designz)
New Designz Ram Assembly (better efficiency)
nitro if you don't have it
a new board and better hopper and vision if you're trigger happy
New Inline Max-Flo Regulator or Micro Max-Flo (i like mine but these are more balanced and smaller)
And for cosmetics and firing speed get an Off the Break Trigger Frame.

Basically just go with New Designz they made the impulse their baby.
Strengths: It's upgradeable.
Weaknesses: It's moody, fat, and it's a brick.
Review: This gun is old technology. I've had it for about 6 months and i still can't find it's problem. It's a piece of crap and can't stay consistent. One day it's a leak, then it's an electrical prob, then the solenoid breaks. It is entirely bullsh!t. I am sick of tryin to work with it. It's too much time and money and effort.
Conclusion: Don't get it, get a freakin Ion or Proto Matrix. Trust me, this thing is to a CD player as a Proto Matrix is to an IPOD.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 27th, 2006 at 1:20 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

JaX BaLLeR Thursday, November 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bushys Nothing else really like it
Marker Setup: Impulse 2K4
Vert Reg
Halo B
Blade magnetic
NDZ bolt
Freak Kit
Trinity T LOCK feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
A bolt And a Fast hopper
Strengths: Fast,Accurate,Durable
Weaknesses: The weight,
Review: I have played with many guns in my day I own about 4 of them High end Markers
The impulse is one of my favortie projects Becuase there is no end to upgrading this gun You can turn it from a stock impulse to a gun that woudl outshoot almost anything out there. I like this gun becuase You can roll reallyt ight and Get soem quick shots of the response of this gun is very nice and the accuracy is fphenomale even with just the stock barrel..This gun is a must buy esepecially now that they run for about 400 and you can get a good one used for about 200-300 dollars
Conclusion: This is a excellent gun for any serious tournament player.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer1769 Tuesday, November 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stock impulse with halo b with rip drive and 68/3000 nitro duck tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
lpr kit, freak system deffinatly a drop forward and you should be good
Strengths: Speed and accuracy
Weaknesses: Very high maintanance
Review: I got my impulse for christmas last year it is the best marker ive ever owned it has great speed accuracy and i just love it i have a team and this keeps me up and running its awsome i can walk the trigger and bunker people great the only thing is that it is a very heavy marker someone who is not used to carrying something and running would have to take some getting used to but i hate that u must clean it a lot but overall its a great marker
Conclusion: I personally if you are into tournaments but dont have a lot to spend on a gun buy this its great
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

why_me_47 Thursday, November 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Nerve, Timmy, and DM5
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Imp
Equalizer Board and eyes
Equalizer Bolt
Magnet blade Trigger
Rat internals
Freak Kit
ANS LPR
Crossfire 90/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
right from the start the equalizer board and bolt, and definitely the rat internals. A new barrel won't hurt to. magnet blade gives you a great new feel for the trigger, the LPR just maximizes the guns already super efficient and low operation.
Strengths: efficient, fast (even if it is caped at 13), Light weight
Weaknesses: Price, Stock Barrel, No Eyes (,-.-)(Tear)
Review: This gun isn't a new gun out on the market, but i finally got one and i was impressed right when i pride it from the box. I only fell in love with this fast, light, and super efficient -compared to my last gun a 98 custom- GUN. this gun is perfect to have if you a rec ball junkie looking at a fast but not timmy sized prise tag, or a player getting into the tournaments. Now as this gun is its great but a gun can always get better, this gun has SO MANY UPGRADES, you'll wonder which ones to get, well mine are on the recommended list and they are great, no, flawless. this gun also has a ton of body kits, Goth, Toxic, Python,Cash Money, and a lot more
Conclusion: the conclusion is, The marker is great and you can usually find this gun for 250 to 400 dollars. perfect ten
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 10th, 2005 at 6:28 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tessai4 Sunday, November 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't...it's my first electro
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Impulse
-Cricket board
-Empire 14" barrel Kit
-68/4500 LP Crossfire Tank
- Apache Loader
- CCM lo-rise feedneck
- shocktech bolt
- Evil Respirator LPR
- Max-flow Reg on bottom of the marker
Recommended
Upgrades:
The feedneck is a must and a blade trigger of some sort. I have also been told to get a board upgrade, and both WAS and Blackheart boards have been recommended to me.
Strengths: -not problematic
-accuracy
-distance (great for back players)
-Max Folw is a God Send!
Weaknesses: -not as efficient on air as I initially thought
Review: OK let me start out by saying that I am going from an A5 with no response trigger to this Impulse. It's like night and day...and Oh what a wonderful day it was!!!

- Looks
Ok all the guys that I played with are 98 custom/A5 guys, so I expected some comments about the looks of the marker. They lit me up in the staging area as far as aestists, which are of no real concern to me. It is a plain glossy black marker with no milling or anything. Just the way I like it.

-Performance
The marker shoots very straight and smooth. There is little recoil,and it is on the quiet side. My hopper was making most of the noise throught the day. It is the most accurate marker that I have ever shot and I'm not just saying this to be cutting my A5 or anything, but as soon as I can gogg someone looking through a peephole in a spool with my A5 I'll come back and edit my review. My only real concern was with the air on my marker. The tank gauge wasn't accurate, and it seemed to be making my impulse out to be an air hog. But I plan to get another tank and try it again next weekend. I did not chop a single ball...NOT A SINGLE ONE! This in itself was the tightest feature of the day and mind you I was shooting Draxxus Midnight paint. I even went a couple of steps down and used up what was left of some Bigbball paint that I had from wal-mart...oily as heck, but not a single chop!. I chronoed at 282, 278,279 at the start of the day, and this after adjusting my maxflow to 220...no more air adjustments needed.

Barrel-
I had a 7 piece empire kit, and I was not dissappointed in the least. Others had told me that it was all about the freak kit....Ummm OK sure. It was accurate as heck. That's all I needed.
Conclusion: I guess that is all i can really say about the marker at this point in the game. I want to complain about the air thing more, but I can't seeing that A) I had free all day air and B) I plan on getting another tank. I think that this is a great investment for anyone who want to really get into paintball without having to spen god awful amounts of money on features that can't make or break them as a player. I took out more guys with 2 ball bursts than shooting streams of paint in their direction...so I'm happy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snowborder891 Wednesday, October 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none other than my brothers ion
Marker Setup: I have everthing stock i have 4500 psi 68 ci fiber wrapped tank
also a ccm feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW TRIGGER
getting one in like a week
NEW FEEDNECK my halo wouldn't fit or my brothers egg
Strengths: Pretty quit, light, good marker, eyes, good barell.
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I used it once going paintballing again in 2 days it performed great. You need to get a new trigger the one stock is garbage. You can't use a 48 ci 3k psi tank it gobbbles through air like no tomarrow 2 rounds max out of that get a 4500 68 ci that will get you 800- 1000 shots. Get a Halo or an evolution II. Make sure to always have your eyes on or it will chop like crazy. It comes with a great stock barrel progesive rifled barrel. PB review rates it a 9.1 I think. Overal great gun. Its so easy to chrono to its right under the front handle.
Conclusion: Get it good price get 4500 compressed air and a eletric hopper and it will be great
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

I_Am_The_Walrus Monday, September 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every thing smart parts, and every thing else
Marker Setup: I have now a Impulse with all the fixings but thats changing
Recommended
Upgrades:
LPR, All American barrel, new trigger is a must (mine's custom made), WAS board,or vision
Strengths: Reliable, Customizable, true skill gun, easy to clean, compared to others cheap
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: Let me hit on my downers and upers, this gun is incredibly reliable u don't need to bring 4 guns to a Field in case on breaks this gun will give u very few problems, (customizable) personally I believe this is the most upgradable gun on the market u can make it adapt to ur playing style front/back/mid don't matter. (skill gun) unlike those 1,200+ doller markers that shoot 31 bps or 5 doller markers that shoot 1- bps this gun plays directly off how good you are and ur experience
Conclusion: Go for it this gun is a great, slap on a few upgrades (or make some like cheap me) and your set this is agreat gun for some one coming of a spyder or tippman im giving it a 8/10 because i grade on a pump 5 doller gun to insane 1,450 doller gun base (the way the grades should not ohh 10/10 for a tipmann cause i have one).my gunis the one with yellow to black fade
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (64):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media