paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse

Smart Parts Impulse Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Impulse

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Impulse
[ View Photos (91) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 640
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Impulse is the best open bolt electropneumatic semi-auto for under $500. It has a new lightweight vertical feed body, improved fire rate and integrated on/off switch. The Impulse also features our Max-Flo regulator that works on compressed air or CO2 and includes a Progressive rifled barrel.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Impulse is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (64):  First  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  64
                            
Unregistered User Saturday, December 30th, 2000
Strengths: good rate of fire (ROF) , great effcientcy, seriously love the trigger (the side to side was gone in 3000 and up models (i am talking about serial numbers)) max-flow (best reg out there in my opinion) only chopped one ball that was my fault in over 5 cases of paint. very accurate
Weaknesses: it takes a couple time of disassembling it to get the catch of getting the pin in the reciever. need to get a rev adapter to get the rev to stay tight. (3.99 at my store)
Conclusion: this is a great gun for msrp around 500 i have seen them as low as 420 norm. turbo is a great thing. they have new genesis boards now with a lot of modes , same as some angel boards. all around put an all american on mine , nothing i have ever seen is this accurate. can get over a half a case out of a 20 oz tank. only upgrade i recomend is a drop forward and a genesis board...other than that , those arent even neccessary , this gun us great totally the best electronic marker for this kind of money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 18th, 2000
Strengths: The Impulse is the best buy for the money.I got the turbo board with mine.I was very pleased with the accurcy,just for the stock progressive barrel.It had great speed,fair distance,and good accurcy.
Weaknesses: The only thing bad about this gun is the sloppy trigger,there is alot of excess movment and alot of side to slide play.It also is hard to clean.I also had a minor problem reassembling the bolt,it was hard to get the pin to catch the hammer below.
Conclusion: In conclusion this gun is great.I would not call it and angle,but with a new barrel and a trigger job it is pretty close.If you have any problems or questions about the gun just send me an e-mail,and i will be glad to help.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, December 13th, 2000
Strengths: Well it is a very inexpensive gun, easy to maintain, never given me a problem. Some people like the trigger, if you do it is blazingly fast. Its stock barrel is nice and provides great accuracy stock. It works great on CO2 and nitro, the CO2 being a big plus so you dont have to get nitro right away like most high end electro's. Stock grips are nice, and it comes with one of the best regulators out there: the Max-Flow. Did i mention it runs at 160psi, extremely low pressure?
Weaknesses: As i said if you like the trigger its great, but some people dont and say its sloppy. If you dont like this sloppy trigger you can get it very short with a trigger job for about 10 dollars. The stock barrel is fine but if you wanna play in tournaments you should get a new one. The early impulses had problems but they are all fixed, if you get an impulse later than #3000 it will be bug-free and you will get one of those unless you get a used one.
Conclusion: Overall, this is an amazing gun for the price. Doesnt take much to keep it running, shoots fast, accurate and quiet. It can perform just as well as ANY gun out there. Its great for you if you want an electro that performs great but are on a budget its a great gun because you can use CO2. Its also great if you are a tourny player and want a very good gun, becuase with a few upgrades it can match and angel in my opinion.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 12th, 2000
Strengths: this gun is one of the most accurate, air efficient, and fastest on the market. all you people that dis this gun either have angels or else you got one of the first impulses made. The new ones have all new stainless steel internals and a high rise vertical feed. the old ones had low rise.
Weaknesses: not a damn thing. so all you angel owners might as well quite complaining. Your just jealous because you finally found a gun that is equally as good but half the price.
Conclusion: this gun is one of the best guns to come out on the market this year. so quite complaining!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, November 26th, 2000
Strengths: I purchased mine 3 weeks ago and have since put 1500 paintballs through it. I broke about 10 balls, they were all 32 degrees. Zap, Proball, and First choice(nelson) did well. The accuracy is awesome, even though my choice of barrel is the big daddy, I had noticed there is a little drop in pressure during rapid fire on C02, but not enough to worry about.I had a few stray shots but it still rivals the shocker, minus some of the range. It is light, fairly compact, has a very light trigger pull, and all stock whooped on a stock cocker in those areas. I spent $500 on my gun with the gas thru grip, and I am happy with the purchase.
Weaknesses: However I noticed the same complaints I have with the gun, GAS HOG. Low pressure gun or not there is no reason to suck up 24oz of C02 with approx.700-750 shots running at about 190psi. The trigger is sloppy, it has some side to side movement, but you can adjust to that. And it needs a new bolt.
Conclusion: Overall the gun performed very well. For the price it is worth serious consideration before getting somthing a bit cheaper or a bit more expensive. This gun will give the big boys a run for their money. My only cocern is the lackluster quality on the trigger and the vertical feed. I have read a lot of stories of the feed just falling off. If that happens, a little JB Weld will take care of the problem. The gun is still new to me, but I expect it be a dependable marker. If I had to start over to the day I bought this gun, I would buy it again.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 22nd, 2000
Strengths: You have to love this gun. Small, fast, and light. I like the Boss Progressive pretty good. The gas thru grip makes the gun more comfortable than any shocker or cocker. The rof is absolutely unbeleivable. Angel owners will cry when they see the price.
Weaknesses: The trigger was REAL sloppy. Felt like i was going to break it. I got a trigger job and took the pull down to less than a mouseclick. I upgraded to a 14" all american because the progressive just didn't have what i wanted. I would advise running on remote instead of anti-siphon because we all know how those leak.
Conclusion: I love mine. Shoots fast, long, and straight. You might have to spend a 100 or so in upgrades but even stock its better than any Mephisto, Shocker, etc.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 9th, 2000
Strengths: Shoots very fast, any leaking problems people have had is from using wrong kind of tank. The max-flow is an awsome regulator, the stock barrel is VERY good for a stock and its very quiet. It wolnt give you many problems if you maintain it correctly.
Weaknesses: Gas hog, hard to clean, worst of all a sloppy trigger.
Conclusion: Amazing value, performs fine stock but a gas-thru grip is recommended, outperforms anything in its class, i would highly recommend it to someone who needs a high-performance gun at a low cost.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 1st, 2000
Strengths: This gun is amazing considering the MSRP. A nice stock barrel, the Max-Flo regulator is the best on the market, and blazing fast rate-of-fire. This puppy can dish it out when it comes down to the wire. The new open-bolt format makes it a quick and easy cleanup... I love this gun.
Weaknesses: The trigger has a lot of play, but you get used to it, or you can go to a shop and have the trigger worked on. The stock barrel has got to go and it's probably smart to have a foregrip installed.
Conclusion: I got the gun for $429 from Central Ohio Paintball. So after a nice Dye barrel and a foregrip you wind up spending around $600. Since the gun runs great on both nitro and Co2, gas isnt an expensive problem, just a decision to make. Overall this gun is a must-have for anyone looking for Angel performance minus $500. If you've got the cash, get an Angel, but if you like saving money, there's just no other way to go.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, October 13th, 2000
Strengths: The rate of fire is amazing. The trigger has an incredible sweet spot, and with a little trigger work, the thing can rip. It's also very low pressure (around 170 psi), so it's easy on paint. I have shot about 2 cases through mine and have yet to break a ball. I like the overall feel of the gun...there's just enough recoil to help you rip off some long strings. The design is really simple, too. Contrary to what other people say, it's easy to disassemble and maintain. It has an adjustable dwell, and the max-flo regulator it comes with is sweet...great CO2 performance. I get +/- 3 fps over the chrono typically, which is pretty awesome.
Weaknesses: The trigger needs work to be as good as it could be. The stock barrel is not great. There are also some serious reliability issues...hammer pistons breaking, feed tubes falling off. From what I have heard, many Impulse owners are having to ship their guns back to Smart Parts to get them fixed, including myself. There are few aftermarket parts for Impulses (including barrels). Plus, the tech support is not great. When compared to a company like AGD, Smart Parts' customer service just isn't up to par.
Conclusion: Overall, when this gun is in working order, it really performs. Fairly accurate, not terribly loud, wicked fast and easy on paint. But when these things go down, they go down in flames. A backup gun is definitely not a bad idea if you have an Impulse. Overall, they are kind of frustrating when they don't work, but I think they are worth the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, September 5th, 2000
Strengths: This gun is capable of an amazing ROF once you get it going. It has a smaller, sleaker look than a Shocker, and it weighs lighter than you would assume; it surprised me the first time I picked it up. SP guns are famous for thier ability to take co2 just as easily as compressed air, and in many cases, they react even better to it. This makes the gun a good choice for someone who's looking for an upgrade from an entry-level gun, as they wont have to spend 150-500 bucks extra on nitro. A double trigger w/ trigger guard comes stock, and although I prefer a single- trigger, this does save you an upgrade.
Weaknesses: The trigger is -very- sloppy. It has a mushy feel, along with a lot of side to side movement. Any store with factory trained techs can easily fix this, but the trigger work would probably cost you an extra 30-40 bucks. If you've been playing with an entry level marker such as a Spyder or an m98, and you are considering this as an upgrade, the stock trigger will take a heck of a lot of getting used to. It has custom barrel threads (as to be expected, but aggravating nonetheless) and since it comes with a Progressive, that means barrel upgrade as well. I'm not saying you couldnt get by with the Progressive, but a high-end barrel makes a world of difference. I wish SP offered an All-American upgrade for 50-60 bucks more. If they did, it definitely be the way to go. As of now, you'd probably be stuck with spending another $90 on a good barrel. It's worth the money, but all these upgrades are bringing the price closer and closer to a stock Shocker, which doesnt have these problems. Also, the gadget grip shown in all the Impulse ads does not comes with the gun! A gadget or similar gas-thru grip is a neccessity to balance this gun, and the ad is misleading.
Conclusion: This is shaping up to be an excellent little marker. If you can afford the paint, this thing can spit it as fast as your rev can feed it. I'm certain that you will see more and more of these on the field as more and more people get to try them and more barrel makers start producing Impulse barrels. I admit, I've been very picky. If you think you wouldnt mind any of the small quirks that bothered me, you will love this gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (64):  First  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  64
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media