paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper / Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper / Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper / Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper

Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 62
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 98 Sniper is a 98 Custom with GTA accessories. The 98 Sniper comes with the farthest shooting barrel on earth, the Flatline Barrel System. The Pro Team F/X Collapsable Stock is added for unparalleled stability, thus improving accuracy. Our Pro Shop Remote Line gives versatility by allowing the player to choose where the air tank is stored, this helps with crawling and strafing maneuvers. The 98 Sniper is more for a player that likes to shoot from long distances, and uses sniper like tactics.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ArcLight Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98's, Pro-Lites, Pro-Carbines
Marker Setup: 98 Custom w/ FlatLine, CAR Three-Position Stock, and unmarked double-eye redpoint sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd suggest a remote feed, to better utilize the stock.
Strengths: Accurate, powerful, and able to hit what other markers can't.
Weaknesses: Needs specific paint, or it chops; takes up considerable air.
Review: Having been a Spyder fan most of my time as a paintballer, I wasn't very impressed with the basic 98 design. It had a short barrel, and just wasn't that great.

But then I borrowed my friend's FlatLine rig for a church outing, and I've yet to give it back. I'm very impressed with the ballistics that this gun can pull off. The gun was reliable and never fouled on me.

And of course, the barrel made sure that I could take someone down from 25 yards with ease, while they were lucky to come within five feet of me with their shots.
Conclusion: If you got a spare four hundred or so lying around, go pick this gun up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cort422001 Thursday, January 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippman 98
-Tippman pro-carbine
Marker Setup: Autococker with E1(Zero-B), Freak, Halo-B, Eclipse Internals, Orange bolt, CCM feed neck, gen-x, palmers LPR, Psyco-Balistics Bullet Drop, 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: -Flatline does shoot further and is accurate
-Remote
-Stock improves accuracy
Weaknesses: -This gun is enormous (if you play "gun hits kill" this is very bad)
-Loud
Review: I built this gun out of my 98 only a few months before getting into speed ball, so I did not get to use it for long. However, when I did use it in the woods, it rocked. Of course we have durability. The flatline allows you to shoot further than the other players and most people think it looks cool. A little on the loud side.
Conclusion: This is a good choice for scenario gamers of avid woodballers. I give it an 8

**** WARNING! THIS RATING IS BASED ON WOODBALL USE ****
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shakman119 Monday, December 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders of all sorts, PMI guns,
Marker Setup: Currently:

Dust red proto
Virtue
ST clamp neck
ST On off
Lucky 15
Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
A spare barrel incase flatline acts up
Strengths: Looks
Its a tank
Range
Comfort
Weaknesses: Not for everyone
Review: A Solid Gun for the money, I traded my sorry PMI evo for one of them.

When I first shot the marker, I used my revy, and Diablo heat paint. There was a footbal sized field and The marker cleared the whole thing, wow. I started to get the trigger speed up, to around 9 BPS and I did chop, O well. This gun isnt made for ripping.

Accuracy was Great, along with efficencey on C02.

It was easy to balance with the stock. In woodsball games I became sniper eliet (appealed to me at the time). Do not use the flatline in the cold! It is instant chopping. In cold weather switch out the flatline to a SP progressive or Dye barrel, and your gun will still own people.

Sadly, this is hard to play speeedball with. :(


Conclusion: -1 for chopping

-1 for lack of speedball play

Solid sniper gat that wont break
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Garp Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra '05 acs
48ci/3000psi hp tank
VL eVLution 2 hopper
Freak Delux Kit (coming soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double Trigger
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: LOOOONG range
cant judge speed of ball

Weaknesses: Very big
Heavy
Lots of ball breaks
Very weak plastic case
very small nuts/screws
Review: I have used this gun for about 1 year with the flatline, and 1 without it. This barrel is wonderfull for woodsball, it goes in a straight trajectory, thus making it so your opponents cant judge the speed of the ball. It does make the balls drift up a little, but that is just something you learn to compensate for. Just be carefull with the plastic case that holds it to the marker, it is very weak, and mine broke when a friend tried to grab it from me. While this gun may be great for woodsball in many aspects, it does break alot of balls, and you cannot use a stick squeegee with it. This is one of the major flaws i found with this setup. There are also some small screws and a very very small nut that you need to hold it on, just be sure to keep track of all the small parts. It can also be tricky to install the flatline on the marker if you dont know what you're doing.
Conclusion: I would recommend this setup to anyone who plays woodsball, but if you tend to play more speedball, go with a smaller barrel or an e-marker. *Edit* I recently bought a wgp trilogy pro, and if you want the accuracy in a smaller package, get it.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 at 1:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Arrowle13 Friday, October 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloder
Pro/crabine
Ion
To many more names
Marker Setup: Flatline barrel
Stock
Bi-pods
E-tigger
Cyclone feeder
remote system
Recommended
Upgrades:
the stuff on my gun
Strengths: Fast, Good accuracy, light with remote
Weaknesses: Big,expensive
Review: This gun is sick, Big but light with remote, Very good accuracy, and a good sniper. THE BEST SNIPER IS THE TIPPMANN 98 CUSTOM. 3 words: of the hook. The Bi pod is very helpful when snipping. E-bolt with cyclone feeder is the best duo ever. VERY FAST. Very light with remote. Ez seetup with sniper.
Conclusion: Awsome gun, but big and expensive
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

def4 Sunday, September 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spider rodeo
prahana r6
brass eagle
tipman 98 sniper
Marker Setup: Spider rodeo
14" CP barrel
Trinity spring kit
CCM feed neck.
Strengths: It might be able to hit someone if your lucky.
Weaknesses: It is not accurate and it is way way way to huge and hevy
Review: I had the diss plesher of shooting this bolkey inaccurate pice of plastic.I was not at all inprest with it no pb gun should ever be over three feet long and who cares if the flat line makes it shoot far if it is less accurate than a ruber band gun.I dont think any one should by this gun for the mony you could get a WGP pro stalk auto cocker.
Conclusion: Dont buy this gun.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 9th, 2006 at 5:33 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

disasterflme767 Monday, May 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The 98 sniper is amazing compared to most guns
Marker Setup: 98 sniper,flatline barrel, e-grip,nitrous hook-up, bi-pod, and scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel, e-grip,nitrous hook-up, bi-pod, and scope
Strengths: It use much less co2 than the a-5 and carbine,great sniping(accuracy)
Weaknesses: Has minor mechainical problems, like trigger and bolt
Review: its one heck of a gun, great with out hook-ups and stuff has a minor issue with how the trigger sticks and how the bolt can break,but ive been using it for 3 years now and not many problems. It really needs a flatline on(although it already has one on it). It uses so much less co2 than an A-5 or pro-carbine. Overalll its a great long term gun. Not recomended for begginers
Conclusion: Overalll its a great long term gun. Not recomended for begginers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer1069 Friday, May 20th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares to it's crappiness
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5, e-grip, flatline barrel, all american, 32 degrees drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
get rid of flatline,stock,remote and get a new barrel
Strengths: Nothing at all
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: The tippmann 98 flatline barrel is a piece of junk, it makes a dramatic cuve upward so if you were playing then you would have to shoot at their toes and maybe you will hit the top of their head if you are lucky!!!! and if you have a stock your better off holding it at your waist because you cant aim with the piece of crap.
Conclusion: Do not buy this gun.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jfranz Thursday, May 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
sim 4 A-5 spyder, lots of tippmanns.delta 68
Marker Setup: tippmann 98
qloader
flatline
32 degree collapsible stock
32 degree remote line
Simmons scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
sight rail electronic hopper or qloader warp feed halo.
Strengths: Reliability of a tippmann, proven distance of a flatline, inexpensive.
Weaknesses: Side to side accaracy, no field stripe.
Review: I was very happy when i first got a 98 costom it is a great first gun I chope the stock barral to 3in it is loud and not accurate so idecided to get a flatline barrral and and it helped get the dystance but i foun out it is hard to make the side to side accuracey any better then i found a scope an it helped to see people but not accuracy then i got a stock and i found it did not help with anything. I got a remote line and that mad the gun lighter.
Conclusion: Get it if you want a great reliable first gun
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PBsniperman Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Piranha GTI with E-Force grip frame
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with flatline barrel, steel remote line, collapsible car stock, and red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric hopper?
Strengths: Best for snipers.
Weaknesses: Not very good for speedball / close range shoot-outs.
Flatline goes crazy in cold weather!
Review: I originally started out with the Tippmann 98c, and have purchased the upgrades as I've gotten more into the sport. I think this is an excellent purchase if you are a sniper, because the gun gets a ton of range, and the flatline barrel quiets the gun a lot more than the stock barrel does. Many people say that the 98 sniper sucks. This is because all they've ever played is speedball. When they get out in the woods, they don't know what to do. YOU CANNOT PLAY SPEEDBALL WITH THIS GUN. It's not what it was designed to do. Personally, I like to set up strategies and game plans, so I can pick off my opponents one by one as I lie hidden out somewhere in the field. I love this gun because I have a huge advantage over many people on the field.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you want to be a sniper. It will not help you at all in speedball. That is why I have the piranha gti as my speedball gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media