paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Psycho Ballistics Power Tube/Front Bolt / Psycho Ballistics Power Tube/Front Bolt / Psycho Ballistics Power Tube/Front Bolt / Psycho Ballistics Power Tube/Front Bolt / Psycho Ballistics Power Tube/Front Bolt

Psycho Ballistics Power Tube/Front Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Psycho Ballistics

Buy Psycho Ballistics Power Tube/Front Bolt

Paintball Custom 98 Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Psycho Ballistics Power Tube/Front Bolt
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Psycho Ballistics has improved on the stock Tippmann power tube and front bolt. It's very smooth and has a teflon coating. This upgrade will improve air efficiency and should increase cycle rate.
Product Availability 
The Psycho Ballistics Power Tube/Front Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
bafrank@att.net Friday, March 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt,Supafly bolt, Starfire bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Using both Flatline and Stone Cold Barrels. CO2, custom spring kit, Stainless screw kit (removed the soft Lapco screw kit), BSA Red Dot sight.
Strengths: The Teflon gliding ring.
Weaknesses: Aluminum is soft, chaffes and gets badly scratched by action. Wears quickly.
Review: I was impressed by the machining when I first got this product. I liked the aluminum forward bolt with the Teflon slip ring (that may be now changed to Delrin) and guide tube. Accuracy was significantly improved over the stock bolt in my Flatline barrel.

Enjoyment was short lived. In just a few matched I noticed that the leading edge of the bolt was getting roughened by contact with the barrel throat. Length wise scratches quickly developed on it from normal contact with the inside of the receiver. Though I meticulously clean after each match the aluminum guide tube/gas feed became scratched. Bolt also began to corrode where it had been damaged by scratches. Small corrosion pits also developed where there were no scratches. These pits roughened the bolt surface enough to abrade the paintball in the feed throat so that I began to have paint break problems. I researched this by cycling the action then removing the ball from the barrel throat. The surface of the cycled balls were all scratched. This damage appears the be what was causing barrel breaks.

I polished the outside of the bolt to a mirror finish with a polishing wheel. The broken ball problem stopped but wear started again very quickly. After several more matches the broken ball problem returned.

I switched back to the stock bolt and the problems went away. I have since switched to the SupaFly bolt (my review is on this site) which I have been using for 3 months with absolutely no problems.
Conclusion: I like the idea of the aluminum bolt and power chamber (bolt guide tube) and I might buy it again to obtain just the aluminum power tube. I would recommend the Supafly bolt as superior, over the long run, as problems with the aluminum bolt manifest themselves in just a couple of matches.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zaqxswcdevfr Saturday, September 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock power tube/bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Flatline, Sniper Stock, PB power tube and bolt, coiled remote, vert. adapter, regulator, spee-t cocker, sling
Strengths: metal, better air consistancy, a little quieter
Weaknesses: does not fit the response trigger
Review: I purchased this product and also a hyper-star bolt. My intentions were to use the aluminum power tube with the bolt, however, the setup was not ment to be. The accuracy I desired was achieved, but after about four shots, the marker began to sputter. I then replaced the hyper-star bolt with the aluminum one that came with the power tube. I found that my marker no longer sputtered, the air consistency was outstanding, and, to top it off, it still had that desired accuracy.

This power tube and bolt combination is an excellent upgrade (when used together). I would definitely recommend this piece of work to anyone with a Tippmann 98.
Conclusion: If this product is added to a 98, use both the power tube and bolt. The accuracy, consistency, and the quietness will all be achieved.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AaronS Saturday, January 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used a friends Star bolt. I don't think a lot of the Star idea...
This bolt is a lot more like the stock, but not plastic.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C With:
E-Bolt set at 11.5bps full auto at 295fps.
Psycho Ballistics Power Tube/Front Bolt.
Lapco feeder with an ACI clear elbow. It holds 7 extra balls!
X-Core 8 stage X-Chamber.
Palmer inline Stabilizer set to 505psi.
Remote line with quick disconnect - (no slide check ever again!).
Smart Parts Freak Jr. barrel.
Smart Parts Teardrop barrel.
12 volt Revi. hopper, upgraded with a TurboRev board.
Evolution 2 Hopper.
Strengths: Price was nice.
Makes my E-Bolt set-up look even better.
Sound is a bit lower in pitch- Its like the tin sounding pop is gone now.
Does not seem to give me any problems in cold play (27F.)
Cuts back on gas use per shot, new power tube is smaller
Weaknesses: Is not made to fit reactive trigger system.
Very bad finish on the power tube, but it seems to work fine.
A bit hard to find.
Silver?
Conclusion: I got it to finish off my 98 E-Bolt, and I think it works fine for me.
If ya want to come see it drop me a line...
8-No room for reactive trigger.
for my use a -9.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sentinel623 Tuesday, October 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Power Tube (Not much difference)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Silver
PB Drop Forward
PB X-Chamber
PB Power Tube & Bolt
Double Trigger
Full Boar Shadow
Maddmann Spring Kit
14" Lapco Bigshot
Ricochet AK Hopper
Strengths: This product is more durable than the stock and seems to be slightly quieter. I don't know that it does much good, but I also love the teflon coating on the inside of the front bolt.
Weaknesses: The power tube is slightly rough from the aluminum machining that has been done. Its not too bad and becomes smooth extremely quick, its just how aluminum is machined without being smoothed out. It should be made to accommodate the RT system for some users.
Conclusion: This product is nice because it will finish off getting the plastic out of the internals of the 98. That was my main goal and it does its job well and also seems to have slight other improvements. I recommend this upgrade if you have the cash to spend on your 98.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FUBARFREAK Monday, July 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock power tube and bolt
32* verturi bolt
pro-team bolt
Marker Setup: Decked 98
Strengths: The good:
-Its metal
-the bolt is a metal stock bolt, and with the 98 the stock is better bolt to have
-a little quieter
-easy to install
-the teflon seal works great, it helps reduced the blow back gases in the breech which helps the gun feed faster
-not that much slop (no different then the stock tube and bolt)
-i guess it cycles faster
-works well with N2
-works in both 98 and 98c
Weaknesses: The bad:
-more metal on metal action = must oil more in that area
-when i 1st got mine no holes where cut but i got a replacement
-cant use RT (i dont have RT and hate it so it isnt really that bad, just maybe for some)
Conclusion: This is a good upgrade for the 98, i bought it in place of the low pressure kit b/c thats a waste of money when your pre-set is 800psi it dosent do you much good. I got it for 22 bucks and it works great, except for that mishap with the holes not being cut.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:19 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Telnets Sunday, July 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmans regular Bolt & Tube
Marker Setup: Tippy 98, and a bunch of stuff that have nothing to do with this review
Strengths: Replaces plastic with metal
Fair price
Increased performance
Installs easily
Weaknesses: First batch wernt up to quality specs
Review: I love the idea of a more durable metal part in my gun rather then a plastic one. The teflon coating makes for very smooth action across the tube and it was easy to install. I can notice a definate performance increase on my shot to shot FPS rate, as i was shooting from 250fps - 270fps spikes with the normal tube, and that reduced to around 260fps - 270fps with this replacment tube, so im definatly liking that! As well as DeadonPaintballs service is top notch! More on that! I will not hesitate buying from DeadonPaintball, and have recomended this upgrade to others which have also enjoyed it after installing.

The first run of these were kinda shotty. The teflon ring was thin and soft, and mine personaly had a problem where the hole for the linkage arm wasnt drilled deep enough. However after emailing deadon about it, they gladly accepted it back, and gave me an entirly new bolt/tube free of charge. I evan messed up my address the first time, and they reshipped it to me once again for free. I also noticed a HUGE quality increase on the new batch, thicker, harder teflon ring and smoother milling. So aside from the first run downfall, i have no issues with this product

As for the metal to metal contact, there is none. Why people think you need to oil this more or it will wear down is beyond me. The teflon ring is what contacts the power tube not the metal, so more oil is NOT NESSASARY.
Conclusion: Definatly recomend if your looking to work on your internals. the cost is reasonable for what you get. I wouldnt recomend it being the first thing you buy, but definatly something to consider when looking at tweeking your internals.

Im giving it a 10 because evan though the firt batch of them didnt work sometimes, I ffeel the service and support offered by DeadOnPaintball makes up for it, and it is a great product!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 21st, 2003 at 9:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soyboy Thursday, December 13th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Stock bolt and powertube.
Marker Setup: I own a regular black Tippmann Model 98, 12 inch J&J 2 Piece, Vertical Adaptor, 32 Degrees/Boblong Expansion chamber, 20 oz co2 tank, 4+1 Harness, Remote, Psycho Ballistics Aluminum Front Bolt and Powertube, Polished Internals, Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger, Valley Firearms Lighten Trigger job (reduces grinding), Trigger stop (makes it shorter), Maddmann Springs (makes the trigger pul lighter), 2 more custom trigger mods, 12v revolution, and i think thats it....
Strengths: -Durable Metal (last longer)
-Very Quiet
-Internal Oring in Bolt (reduces blowback and feeds balls faster)
-Lighter than plastic stock assembley (cycle faster)
-Highly polished ceramic and teflon coated (cycle smoother and faster)
-Increases accuracy
Weaknesses: Nothing really... I think you can't have RT with it.
Conclusion: If you want to quiet your tippmann 98/custom then get this upgrade along with a highly ported barrel! I gave it a 10 because it is the best bolt upgrade you can get for your tippmann 98.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 6th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98, 14" All American, Tippmann X chamber, Full Boar /RCRVA, 32 Degrees Sticky Grips, Milled Gills, Polished Internals, Reduced Trigger Pull, Polished and remilled hammer/sear, Custom Paint.
Tippmann Pro/Carbine, 14" All American/ 14" 32 degrees Carbon Fiber, Tippmann X chamber, Polished internals.
Spyder Flash, 12" Freak kit (fades black to green), ACI 68/3000 N2 system.
Strengths: I ordered this from county paintball and recieved it 2 days later, we installed it, after polishing the internals. Very easy to install.

-Quites Gun
-Decreases Recoil
-Increases Rate of Fire
-Lightweight
Weaknesses: Nothing as of yet!
Make sure you keep your marker well oiled, this is a metal to metal setup, rather than plastic/plastic or plastic/metal
Conclusion: I would advise purchasing this, and sending it in to tippmann to install unless you are familiar with the internals of your marker. It is a drastic improvement over the old aluminum power tube and the customs plastic tube.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media