paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Vortex Fan / JT Vortex Fan / JT Vortex Fan / JT Vortex Fan

JT Vortex Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Vortex Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Vortex Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 45
Average Rating: 6.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This accessory fits on all current JT goggles, such as the Proteus, Flex 7, IZE, nVADER, and nFORCER.
Product Availability 
The JT Vortex Fan is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
bigshroom714 Thursday, January 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder classic razzor barrel stage 4 lapco expansion chamber lapco drop forward trigger job
Strengths: it definently keeps the fog down i wear glasses and it would be near impossible to play during the summer without it i suggest still getting thermal lenses more you sweat and humidity the little fan just cant handle it
Weaknesses: to loud no one else hears it but it being right ther i have to turn it off sometimes to hear teamates talking
Conclusion: does what its suppose to if you wear glasses definetly get one
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ReTro Boy Wednesday, January 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none...is there another goggle fan? I wish there was...
Marker Setup: Toxic Vision Impulse
I-Frame with Blue Dye Stickies
Jackhammer II LPR
Eclipse DART Valve, DART Bolt, SS Hammer, Valve Cap, Fangz
ND Slik-Shot Ram Shaft, Bolt Pin
Full Freak
Strengths: Keeps my gogs from fogging up.
It's light and compact...fits under the visor.
Operates on a single AAA battery.
Easy to install into a JT mask.
Weaknesses: It breaks so easy. The design is such that any shock to the mask (whether getting gogged, dropping the mask, or the normal bumps and hits that your gear bag takes) causes the battery to come loose. It is such a horrible design for holding the battery into place.

You have to take it totally apart when changing the battery. Not a big deal, but keep reading about how fun it is to reassemble...

It is also not easy to fix WHEN it does break. I ended up having to tape the leads to the battery, and hot glue the battery into the housing. On top of that, I had to hot glue the back side of the housing back on because of a very small piece of plastic that doesn't go back in when you take it apart.

It is kind of loud. I have to turn mine off to hear sometimes. My brother-in-law had one that was so loud that I knew where he was on our field all the time. It was scary loud...
Conclusion: Great idea...not great designing. If the thing was a little quieter, a little more durable, easier to work on and change the battery then it would be the perfect fan. As it is now, it takes so much rigging to get it to work consistently, it almost isn't worth it.

That being said, when it does work, it works great. I haven't had a fogging problem at all when the thing works. If you don't turn it on and you fog up, just crank it on and in about 10 seconds the fog is gone.

I love the small profile, I just wish they would rethink the way the battery goes in and seats. That seems to be the biggest problem. With all of the above information, I think the vortex fan is just below average in performance...
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SigFader Monday, December 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2k1 Autococker
Dye Excel
9v rev
wgp 2nd gen hinge
Strengths: blows noticably cool air to your face
Weaknesses: To be honest, I used this for only 3 games. Once twice indoor, once outdoor. Indoor, it helped A LITTLE, in that turning it on helped slow the rate of fogging, but not stop. Outdoor in 4oC conditions, it proved absolutly useless. No fog protection whatsoever. The last time i played indoors, I took a goggle shot, and the fan broke.
Conclusion: It was half decent indoor, but it also broke very, very easily. So, useless in my opinion.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gungriffin Monday, December 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i guess thermal lenses and rain-x
Marker Setup: spyder shutter, dye chrome double trigger, freak barrel kit, ans 4 stage expansion chamber, 12v revy
Strengths: wow I have used this on my goggles for nearly 3 months and every time out it has kept everything from fogging up. I now have none of the problems since I put this on. It makes noise but not too much(you can hear it but not to where anyone could pinpoint you where you are) just above a whisper.
Weaknesses: I have yet to find anything wrong with this product exceeds expectations.
Conclusion: I wear glasses an live in georgia. In order to see I must wear my glasses underneath my goggle setup. the problem that I was that my goggles were fogging up due to the humidity. I have a thermal lens so that wasn't a problem but even after using rainx they were still fogging up to the point that I couldn't see. After putting this on my goggle system I have had no problems even durring the summer when the temp and the humidity are extreme. my glasses now have no problems with fogging. If you wear glasses and have a fogging problem then don't hesitate buying it. worth every bit of the 30 dollars i spent on it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

p8int4r Saturday, November 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
anti fog
Marker Setup: Angel LCD
Full Freak
Gated Feed
NiHi battery
NitroDuck X-Stream 68/4500
Strengths: It works! I was unable to play without it.
Weaknesses: Buzzy and noisy...very expensive unless you get them off ebay.
Conclusion: Don't know how anyone plays without this. Local field plays every night...we're near the ocean and people are ALWAYS walking out of games with fogged lenses. Doesn't matter if they have "thermal" or whatever...you play hard, start sweating on a humid cool night and you are toast.

For me, I wear glasses and it was hopeless...got the JT glasses inserts, took them to Lens Crafters and had them made to perscription and then got the fan...use it every time I play and couldn't play without it.

If you've never needed it...great...if you've even ONCE had problems with fogging, this is the solution. Pain in the butt to mount on some masks but if you can't see, you can't play and this'll fix that.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

amazngspyderman Friday, August 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: '02 vert cocker, kapp reflex frame, superfly bolt, rat 3:16 valve, armson stealth, home-made drop forward, green electrical tape "paintjob"
Strengths: this fan is pretty much the only one available for any mask (excluding the other jt fan). my mask didn't fog. it did its job.
Weaknesses: my propellor broke, then the motor broke. i sent it in to jt, they lost it, waited a month, called to see what happened, they admitted there was a mistake, very friendly, sent me a brand new one. brass eagle owns jt and vl, right? be and vl have the worst service i've ever dealt with, but jt has the best. guess be hasn't cut good service from their budget yet. too bad i can't say the same for vl.
Conclusion: aside from it breaking (cheap motor, same thing happened with my revvy's motor), it's a great fan. if you fog, paintballgateway has one of these for $25.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnapCrackleP0p Thursday, July 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
umm, this is like one of the firs of its kind so really nothing
Marker Setup: 68 automag classic
18 inch dye barrel
Strengths: I have yet to have fogged on a field with my mask. I have had my fan for the whole time with my mask and never have taken it off, I dont know if the mask would fog without it. Nice and small, fits perfectly under my visor. Easy to install, 4 snaps and your ready to go. Very silent, i never hear it. It sounds the same without it on.
Weaknesses: Lil pricey, i got mine for 50 bucks, that was like twice the price of my actual mask hehe. If you clamp it down too far it wont spin, because the fan is being pressed down apon by the top of the goggles.
Conclusion: This is pretty cool little product here, I have never fogged with it, and ummm i guess it keeps me kindof cool, but when im on the field in the middle of a mtach I really don't think about it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike47 Wednesday, June 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder shutter with a 12 inch dye excel barrel, shocktech quick strip bolt, 32 degrees 6 stage expansion chamber,
Strengths: this fan is great i never have to worry about my goggles fogging up. It is very quite and is not heavy at all. Very easy to install SNAP......SNAP..........SNAP its that easy an it keeps you cool in the hot weather.
Weaknesses: the only bad thing is the people that say it is sooooo hard to install the people that say its hard to install have no idea what they are talking about. Because all your have to do is pop off the visor and snap the fan in than snap the visor back on and your done.
Conclusion: It is the greatest thing to happen to paintball masks I recommend that anybody who plays paintball should get one of these fans WELL WORTH THE MONEY!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Crosswind Fan
Marker Setup: BE Rainmaker, gutted & capped the stock reg, replaced it with a PMI-Pure Energy inline. 1499 board (Select fire.) Derilin bolt, NitroDuck MaxFLO reg/cradle with 68ci/4500psi TuffSkin bottle.
Strengths: Came stock with my Proteus goggle setup (yes, I bought one at the insane price of $139 when they first came out. THEN THE DAMN RECALL!....but I got a new pair right after they got it...woot.) Both blow and suck functions (get your mind out of the gutter.) Moves something like 71ci of air a minute. Not bad for a little brushless fan.
Weaknesses: Loud. If the fan is not installed JUST RIGHT it will create a loud buzzing sound as the blade nubbin rubs against the top of your goggles. Its not dangerous, nor does it do any damage (soft rubber hitting soft rubber and all) but it gets annoying. Installation is a little bit pesky due to the Proteus' bowl shaped visor.
Conclusion: If you don't have a fan, buy one. But if you don't need a fan...don't.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warped Shadow Monday, March 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
there is none!!!
Marker Setup: 2002 Warped Sportz autococker /w warped series drop forward and a warped air set up. oh yeah and warped macroline.
Strengths: Absolutely nothing.
Weaknesses: It is loud. It adds weight making the mask feel unatural. It costs money!!! Someone should pay me to use it. If you get too hot playing paintball and have no other way to cool yourself off then you should use it, but just know that it is a major disadvantage.
Conclusion: Over all, i got the proteus that came with the fan. The fan is probably in a landfill at this point and time.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media