paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CORE PT Professional / CORE PT Professional / CORE PT Professional / CORE PT Professional

CORE PT Professional Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CORE

Buy CORE PT Professional

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CORE PT Professional
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The solid and sleek design of the new PT Professional is marker perfection. Everything you ever wanted in a paintball gun. Its fully enclosed design eliminates the need for a loader and gives you the light and maneuverable heft you crave. Load, aim, and think Matrix and the next John Woo film. Its fly-through-the-air aluminum frame and quick-and easy, removable clips make it a force to be reckoned with.
Product Availability 
The CORE PT Professional is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Stan_the_HitMan Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pt extream, pgp
Marker Setup: Primary: tippmann proshop sniper with dye sticky 3's and square shooter
secondary: duel Core PT Processionals dye sticky 3's all around.
Dye invision 03 mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
dye stickies, a good sturdy holster, maybe a new clip if your not completely satisfy ed, or just a more powerful feed spring
Strengths: intimidating
sturdy
makes you feel like a man
Weaknesses: sometimes leaks co2
needs to be constantly cleaned and oiled
heavy
Review: this gun is a dream come true for all of you people who wanted to go laura croft (if you have two of them)
it sometimes leaks c02, but not vitally, mine leaked out off the box, but i just took it apart and cleaned it and reduced it. **leaks wont affect how many shots you get unless you can hear them from your holster**
From one standard 12 g you get 30 or so shots, from brass eagle 12 g however i noticed only 23-26 shots ( 2 and a half clips)
it can hold 11 balls (10 in clip and one in breach)
this gun is a mean little/big piece, it hits hard and generally has high velocity out of box. i mean make-newbie-cry-hard out of box.

many people say it is a waste of money to get duel pt's, but however, if you are reloading with one you use the other to cover you, it is a slow load proses, and even slower for duel, but you get used to it. i also recommend you buy a sling for your primary gun, so you can whip out this little bester for crawling and climbing, ect.

the stock grips are a bit slippery, no problem, get your new best friend DYE sticky grips.
if you don't believe me, just try it once and tell me if its not a dream come true to have a pt with sticky grips, i dare you, i DOUBLE DARE YOU, I DEFY YOU TO NAME ONE THING YOU WOULDN'T RATHER GRAB ON A DAY WHEN ITS HOTTER THAN A DEVILS DRAWERS!.....(chicks walk by) alright alright, name 2 thing!
...
anyway, when you play with this as your main weapon, you will find it does not have the required range, so sometimes you'l be crying for just 20 more feet, but there's nothing more rewarding then to sneak up behind someone and pump 'em full o' paint with this killen machine! try it, i grantee youl be hooked.
while the range is that of any other 8" stock barrel, accuracy is at hand. this gun is VERY accurate for a pistole.
which brings me to one of the few flaws of this beauty, the sight and aiming is very hard to get used to because it has a magazine on top. you could either go the way of the vertical shooter or you could hold the gun up and just point it in the dead center of your target, using the top of the gun as a sight rail, but keep in mind it shoots very low because of the mounted magazine. for my last shot i always take the mag off. the apparatus that holds it on is a very good sight rail, you now have a final "precision shot".

any who i recommend large bore paint, because if you charge the mag with small bore paint and prime the spring, while running balls will fall out continually from pressure from the spring poshing them threw the clip.
reloading is a bit slow at first but when you get used to the flow it becomes second nature.
one misshapen that can occur is when you load a new 12 g in, alway remember to cock the gun first, if you do not do this, the c02 will leak like a balloon with an chainsaw in it.

lastly this gun is intimidating, (this is a true story) once i had my flatline out and guys tried to bunker me, i took out my pt pro and they literally got scared and ran away, they were not newbies, imagine what it would do to one tho.
Conclusion: its so much more than a side arm, its a friend, treat it nice and keep it clean and oiled and it will love you. this gun has saved my assets on many occasions when i ran out of pods or gas.
also pistole fights are surprisingly fun. you should trie some, its like stock, just a whole new world.
im giving it a 9: near divine
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

theguyonthenet Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, PT Xtreme, .45 automatic pistol (wieghs the same but otherwise irrelevant)
Marker Setup: A-5 with R/T and PMI cradle
Trracer pump on 20 oz CO2, 12 volt revvy
PT Pro
PGP2
Assorted holsters, slings and harnesses
Recommended
Upgrades:
an thight pack-style holster or a shoulder holster so this won't get in the way of pods
Strengths: Inexpensive ($160 Canadian)
Semi-Auto
Can buy more mags
Weaknesses: BIG
Cheap price =Cheap construction?
Review: I've only had this for a few days so I cannot give any gameplay information, but he's what Ive found:

My model has the newer grip frame ( aluminum trigger/guard) so that's a bonus
Faster reloading capabilites than the PGP due the aftermarket magazines available
made of solid aluminum
Semi-automatic abilities allow for fast shooting
Considering the short barrel, large bore and open bolt design it has very good accuracy within it's range ( about 50 yards)

However when cocking the marker, if it is not cocked withe the safety ON all the gas will go down the barrel. It says so in the instruction boook but I know I'll forget when there are folks shooting at me.
Conclusion: It is a good chunk of gun for the price and upgrades (hopper adapters, constant air adapters) are easy to find
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 19th, 2004 at 9:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blonz Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 RT with flatlinebarell
Recommended
Upgrades:
4 oz Co2 tank but there's no drop in kit you have to made , adapter to mount a 40rnd hopper
Strengths: very accurate, powerfull and compact, ideal sidearm or to play around trees
Weaknesses: a little gas hog, changing clips and powerlets takes to much time
Review: For a sidearm this gun is great. Thank to it I won several matches: I was behind a tree and the other guy was behind an tree too just a few yards away, the situation will be familiar to most of you: you shot once frome the left side once from the rigt side of the tree and the other guy does the same till one got a hit. So I draw my sidearm and shot it together with my primary, I could nail down my opponent while moving forward and hit him. Till about 15 yards, this gun has an amazing accuracy better than lot's primary marker with much longer barells (the one's we compared had stock barells only).
Conclusion: The magazine's wobble a little bit but you can fix it with scotchtape. When you have to change the magazine there are lot of things to do till you can shoot again and it take's to much time especially when you're under fire. When you change the powerlet you must load the gun before otherwise it leakes. I bought an adater to use a small hopper and I mount a little 4oz tank under the gun so it's still compact and I can shot much longer. A friend was so impressed he bought this gun too, I got one for 100 bucks at paintballonline. Buy one, if you are a woodplayer,as a sidearm
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hollettpete Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used an old cheap pump hand gun which did not compare.
Marker Setup: Spyder Extra, PT Professional with holster.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.
Strengths: Powerful, fun.
Weaknesses: Shoot ten rounds and you're reloading, shoot another ten and your reloading and regasing.
Review: The gun is powerful and accurate, it breaks brass eagle balls but any other ones work. The kickback is strong which is cool. I guess I just don't like handguns because you have to reload gas and paint so much but I am basing this review on using the gun as a primary weapon. I realize now that I only want one main gun, not a primary and secondary weapon.
Conclusion: For the time it takes me to reload I might as well use my CORE PT Professional on the farm to mark cows.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tcbikerguy6 Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme
Marker Setup: Spyder E99 with a quiet riot barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
An extra clip and holster from paintball online
Strengths: This thing is very accurate and it shoots great for a pistol.
Weaknesses: sometimes the balls don't load from the clipand you have to pushthem in manually
Review: I think this gun is great most of the time. it is an awesome gun to have on a holster and use if your main gun fails to work during a game.This thing is very accurate and it shoots great for a pistol. sometimes the balls don't load from the clipand you have to pushthem in manually
Conclusion: i think you should get this gun because it is always great to have a backup gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mac007 Wednesday, April 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PTXtreme, PGP, Nel-Spot 007
Marker Setup: I use a variety of pistols, Nel-Spot 007, PGP, PT Professional
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good holster, different grips.
Strengths: Semi-Auto Paint Pistol - Its a dream come true, good shooter.
Weaknesses: Large Bore, some minnor bugs, inadequate product support, model supercession.
Review: The CORE PT Pro from Paintball-Online is able to maintain a decent velocity out of the box. While many players will purchase it as a "backup" piece the truly hard core pistol packin player will appreciate it for what it is.

My PT Pro has proven itself over a year as a primary paintslinger. I was able to take it to the field and use it without running into real problems. So, it's relatively newbie friendly. In fact I set aside my stock class markers and semi's to see if this pistol would hold up at the field. I was not disappointed although I did run into a few bugs.

Read the directions, this marker must be cocked before you put in the 12 gram or it will leak down the barrel. Also, a synthetic lubricant must be applied regularly to the hammer and bolt. I use PMI Synthetic lube.

Out of the box my PT shot beyond 340 fps. So 12 gram consumption is about 12-15 shots at this speed. This is neither safe nor economical. The field limit is 300 fps and if you chono'ed in at 300 in the morning by noon on a hot day you'd be well over 300 fps. So through trial and error I cut the hammer spring down (6 coils) to bring the velocity into the 275 fps range with the adjuster completely removed from the marker. This allowed for the temperature increase and kept me in the sweet spot. The number of shots increased to 25+ and the risk of breaking paint is reduced.

Some players were talking about the different 12 grams and whether or not they made a good seal. This prompted me to go and actually collect 5 different brands of 12 grams to see if there was any difference. I discovered that there is quite a lot of difference in the "neck" design of the 12 grams. The BE 12 grams have quite a flat top and narrow neck and come in a box of 15. The Crossmann 12 grams come in a box of 25. My buddy swears by them as they have a wider neck and make a good seal. I've used both Crosman and the BE brand of 12 grams successfully in the PT Pro. Note - the Crosman cartridges appear to have more CO2 in them than the BE brand, you'll get more shots.

On shooting I did notice that the PT's 12 gram QC knob appears to back out, causing co2 loss, so I put an o-ring around it to give it a little friction, now it stays put.

The PT is a really good shooter, giving the ball a flat trajectory and good distance. It is certainly comparable to any other marker in terms of accuracy and range.The barrel of the marker is ported, something no other pistol has. There are no sights, just aim along the top.

Its a quick shooter, cycling pretty fast, and can empty the magazine rapidly. Since I most often play stock I found that the recoil takes a bit of getting used to. So, I shoot two handed.

If I have any complaints they are of a minor nature. I didn't really like the size of the barrel as paint seems to roll out if it is too small. I dropped a whole lot of paint behind me as I ran down the road of our field and ended up with four balls left. There is potential for double feeding but using "larger" paint will minimize all these problems. Now that I'm used to the idea I just sort through my paint looking for the largest balls and the problem has mostly disappeared. I use a medium bore paint, Big Ball.

Ball breaks do not really seem to be an issue. I did squeeze one ball halfway into the breech at the end of a 12 gram. For the most part, even if you do get a double feed, both balls exit the barrel without breaking.

The marker can jam balls in the magazine. Basically they don't drop down, your blazing away but not shooting anything. The balls are stuck on the bottom lip of the mag. The feed plug does not go in far enough. So, to prevent balls from catching on the inside lip of the magazine I glued a little foam shim to the feed plug - problem solved. I bought a second PT (white numbers on the side) which doesn't have this problem.

The magazine is "detatchable" but I don't use it that way since they don't give you two. I would have been willing to pay a little more just to have all the gizmos in the box. My answer to this is to put the magazine plug on a lanyard and drop paint in the back using tubes. Extra magazines are available but you have to buy them. Be aware that newer "brand" products such as the magazines for the Armotech Zeus are incompatible with the PT Pro.

The marker is not really well set up for Constant Air. In fact the manual states that the marker is designed for 12 grams and not to use CA. So it figures that attempting CA setup is not going to be easy. The grip has bottom line threading (spyder and standard two hole) which is tempting to new owners. I really believe this is so you can attach a stock to the pistol using a CA fitting. A stock will steady up shooting considerably. I made a wooden stock that bolts onto the bottom of the grip for one of my PTs.

The one place you can put in a line (since your not giving up on this idea) uses tiny weird metric threading (and this is the opinion of a Canadian used to metric) that is incompatible with normal 3/8th bottom line fittings. This hole is forward of the trigger and covered by a brass set screw. This also means you have to seal up the 12 gram chamber since that is where the hole leads. I did find an adapter fitting locally (very hard to find) and tested CA but eventually decided that it was much more practical to use 12 grams. If your going CA its worth having the vertical feed for bigger games. Again, I must emphasize that the manual says not to use CA. A buddy of mine got debris from a CA tank in his and it caused a down the barrel leak. We had to open up the valve and clean his cup seal, no easy task.

The PT Pro is very reliable but parts do not appear to be readily available. If you lose a feed plug or cocking rod (put some loc-tite on the rod or lose it.) you are pretty much on your own. The cup seal is unique, having a beveled edge, so Spyder cup seals are not fully compatible. The closest matching cup seal I found came from an ACI Griffin.

Keep in mind that you will likely shoot far less paint through the PT than you would a hopper fed semi, so the "use" the marker will see is far less severe. The frequency of repair should not be an issue unless you run into problems right out of the box. I've had no leaks or other real problems after a two years of use and all I've done is to keep the marker clean and lubed. No semi pistol can compare to a PGP for reliability but you get more features in the PT Pro - its a trade off.

I tested out shooting two pistols at once and found it awkward but cool. Something worth trying if you can convince your buddy to lend you his PT. Like anything I suppose you could get used to it after a while and make use of it. It means managing the loading of two pistols... I found myself missing the hand I use to steady shooting, aid in crawling etc.

Players definitely will want a holster. I prefer a belt mounted one myself since I can push it around to my back when I crawl. Leg mounted holsters can pick up a lot of dirt if you spend any time crawling. The last thing you want is to put the PT in a muddy dirty holster.

Playing Comments:

Most players style of play involves dumping huge quantities of paint in your direction. I'd be playing sneaky rather than engaging in head to head combat at long range or close ranges, you'll lose. The pistol does not have the capacity to engage in a paint slinging match.
Conclusion: The PT Pro is a step up from a stock class pistol. Keep it clean and lubed and you probably won't have problems. I know some players use them as "backup" markers but I enjoy playing just with the pistol. I like the PT Pro a lot and have used it successfully in rec-ball games provided there was decent cover. I'm impressed with the marker but am disappointed by its lack of product support. I bought a second pistol just to have spare parts available. Players who have always wanted a semi pistol may want to check out the Armotech Zeus - lots of upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 10th, 2003 at 5:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Avery Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think getting a remote fitting (custom made) is nice. I used to make and sell them, but no longer. Unlike some pistols, you can put in a male QD where the brass screw goes and you do not need to plug the marker with a 12 gram powerlet to stop leaks out the front, you can simply leave it there and use it as you wish or choose not to. It still holsters well, and allows you to run remote, which is much cheaper.

I did not like the bottomline kit. I have the hopper adaptor, and it only fits the small size feednecks.

I highly recommend the Ronin Gear holster, it fits the pistol well, is well designed, and is very inexpensive for the quality it is made with. I also replaced the grip panels with Dye Basic Stickies (which required some minor modification of the gripframe).
Strengths: Semi-auto, Fast recharge, Holsterable, Best consistancy of pistols, cheap
Weaknesses: Long trigger, somewhat cheap construction, non-standard
Review: I've had a lot of fun with mine! I had two, and sold one once I realized how stupid using two at a time was. I researched very carefully before choosing the PT Punisher and I'm glad I did. Only the Palmer Squall is better (at $300 US!). The PT Enforcer is an older version of this one, and the clips and cocking are inferior. The Zeus and Zx are newer versions, but are functionally the same. The Punisher and the both the Core and Paintball Online Professional are identical in everything but a couple cosmetic details. The PT Extreme looks cooler and is often considered superior, but is truly not. The Extreme has velocity problems and they worsen as the gun is used more.

The PTP is surprisingly accurate, though not as accurate as a marker with a good barrel. The barrel is very large (I guess so you don't break paint). The ball detente is not so good, and if you run with the pistol you can lose shots out the barrel as it swings in your hand. The rate of fire is upwards of 8 BPS and I'm not that fast on a trigger. The gripframe is only plastic, so its not very durable, but you won't be using it that often anyways.

Sadly, the threads are mostly non-standard, and the marker is designed so that you need to use their parts. The people at paintball online do not know anything about the marker so they're no help. The cocking mechanism is identical to the Core Sharc, and I think you could use those parts. The little brass screw under the CO2 slot is not the standard 1/4 NPT fitting, instead it is an African garden hose fitting!

I highly recommend the Ronin Gear holster, it fits the pistol well, is well designed, and is very inexpensive for the quality it is made with. I also replaced the grip panels with Dye Basic Stickies (which required some minor modification of the gripframe).

All in all, it's cheap, looks good, and there's no reason not to have one! I have so much fun running around with just the pistol sometimes, and the number of people I've scared the bejeezus out of is climbing. Just remember to oil it a LOT!
Conclusion: As the best pistol in its price range, I give it a 9 / 10. You can get them for $70 with a holster from Ronin!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

b-boy1212 Sunday, March 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: I got a 18" Big daddy barrel on my victor that is the most accurate thing on the planet.
Me and the victor kick some ANUS!!
also a tippmann pro lite that kicks ass.
along with some hammer gun i dont know who makes it.
And my baby the tippmann 98 custom with flatline remote collapseable stock and response trigger.
plus a spyder sonix and a PT pro
Recommended
Upgrades:
i dont even know what upgrades there are for this gun
Strengths: One good thing about the PT pro is it looks pretty darn cool. Another is that if ur in a tight spot and run outta co2 this little guy can be your best friend in the world. Its a descent backup. Accuracy is good for about 50 ft or so. After that its luck of the draw.
Weaknesses: Accuracy can be bad at times. Co2 doesnt always last a long time. only 10rd clips.
Conclusion: all in all the pt pro is a good side arm but is by no means a primary weapon.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brandon14295 Sunday, February 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
slingshot
Marker Setup: a-5, bigshot, folding stock, remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
umm, find another pistol
Strengths: the color was pretty
Weaknesses: hmm, where do i start? out of the box, i read all the instructions. i pull back the bolt and stick a 12 gram in. its leaks a little. then i had to put an o-ring on the screwin thing. i get only 14 shots a 12 gram. i was really upset. then one day it just decided to leak everywhere. there was nothing i could do to fix it. i knew i got ripped off as soon as the leak started.
Conclusion: find another pistol. dont get this one.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

piranhaprokid Monday, January 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
all blowbacks, no other sidearms
Marker Setup: 2000 right hand feed cocker, pmi reg, pmi drop forward
Strengths: everything, my friend uses a spyder and when he ran out of air,an di had tosqueege, he had my back with it, he was up against a dude with a cocker, and held his own, this baby shoots fast far and true
Weaknesses: nothin really, it would b cool if the magaxine could somehow hold more then 10 rds, and if it had like two 12grams on it all the time, like 1 in the handle or somehting, i duno, its cool lik eit is
Conclusion: a great sidearm, when u break paint and gota squuege, ur good to go, just whip thi sbaby out and ur good to go also good for close in.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media