paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame

Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Mako

Buy Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame

Paintball Spyder Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 50
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electronic trigger frame for Spyders, Inferno. Features include:2-12 Shot Burst Mode, Full Auto,Semi-Auto, Turbo Modes, LCD Display, Aluminum Trigger Frame and Adjustable Trigger Stroke.
Product Availability 
The Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
yoky2008 Saturday, November 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
regular ESP frame
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine 04 (removed venturi)
4 stage X chamber
16" Smart Parts Boss Progressive
Physcho Ballistics Drop Forward
32* Rocket Pressure Chamber
Ricochet AK
Strengths: Fast
Cheap (for me)
LCD
Short Trigger Pull
Weaknesses: Eats 9volts for breakfast
bottomline holes
Review: OK this trigger rips. you can shoot 15bps in full auto. It is fully versitile. You can change it from 2-12 round burst. There are some bad things about this frame thought. Like how if your screws are to long for your bottomline. With universal inline screw holes if you put the screws in to far they will hit the LCD screen and make it change modes whenever it feels like. The frame litteraly eats 9 volt batteries for breakfat lunch and dinner and it never gets full. I would suggest a 9.6 rechargeable for this frame. It has a stock charging plug like the Kingman ESP frame.
Conclusion: If you can buy it off a rich kid who dosen't know what he has for cheap get it. If not i wouldn't have paided 200 buck for it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Russtee06 Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Esprit Trigger Frame
-LED
-Not as many fiering modes
Marker Setup: Core Hammerhead w/gas thru foregrip and drop cradle,Mako Storm Trigger,RIchochet AK hopper
Strengths: Many Firering modes
LCD
Tourny Lock
Burst fire/Turbo Fire Progamablitiy
Adjustable Trigger Stroke
Weaknesses: Grip Leaves a tiny opening
Doesnt come with Charger
No sound with Timer
Review: This trigger is awsome it has 2-12 shot burst, Semi auto mode, Full auto mode , Turbo mode, Tourny Lock, Lcd display, Machined Aluminum frame , Adjustable Trigger Stroke,
Countdown/up timer, shot counter 5-15bps programablity. EASY TO USE AND EASY TO INSTALL!!! i love this trigger!! it turns ur low end semi into a Tourny beast!!! itz great for tournaments cause it has the tourny locks eliminating all the illegal features...(such as Full auto burst fire etc.) The grip is a lil frustrating cause it bulges out a tiny bit leaving it open for rain drops... dont worry i played out in moderate rain with it and it dint effect it at all. The timer is kind of pointless i mean itz better to have a timer than no timer at all.. but at least with a sound timer...u wont be distracted from the game..because u wont have to look at ur timer every minute or 2. i have it on my Cheap Hammer-head and I took out a Spyder Fenix, Spyder Esprit and even an STO with an E-blade. Then again itz the player that makes the gun.. so dont be hot headed with this trigger. They couldnt phase me with their 300 to 900 dollar markers!! GET THIS TRIGGER FOR NE MARKER USING SPYDER PARTS!!
Conclusion: GET THIS TRIGGER FRAME!!!!!! It truly is a work of art!!! The grip is annoying and they dont have grips that came out for it..but be creative itz alwayz fun to be creative. I got two rubber sheets and cut a grip for it and now it flawless and plus my very own.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pabll1224 Tuesday, March 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: Speed speed speed!
Weaknesses: Lots of them. Disapointed with many design flaws.
Review: THE GOOD:
When it works right it is an amazing frame! Fast Fast Fast! The lightest trigger pull ever! So light, in fact, that you have to be careful not to hit the gun from the rear too hard or it will fire! I love the features available on the LCD screen, The Ball Counter and Game Timer especially. I almost always use the unit in tournament mode because I play at certified fields so I don't have live experience with it in full auto or 3 shot burst mode. And I feel that the turbo mode is just a waste of time.

THE BAD:
On my frame I've had problems right out of the box. The wiring harness is loose at the connector to the circuit board and requires that I jam a wad of tape behind the grip to hold it in place to function properly. I will have to ship the frame to Mako to have this repaired. I also had to drill the holes for the function buttons to a bigger size because the buttons were binding against the sides which prevented operation. The side panels of the grip are cheesy and do not keep the internals protected from moisture or paint.
Conclusion: OVER ALL:
It's a good idea, but I see a TON of room for improvement in the design and engineering of this frame. I wish I could work with Mako to design a much better frame. (My wannabe mechanical engineer side poking out)

RECOMMENDED IMPROVEMENTS:
--Lower profile or differently positioned electrical connector to the circuit board.
--More ergonomically designed grip. It's currently too square.
--Lower profile trigger. The separation between fingers is too large for most people.
--Rubber grip side and panels and front and rear of frame.
--Moisture sealing around side panels, function buttons, and charging port.
--More easily accessible Battery compartment rather than jammed in along side the electronics of the gun.
--Include 9.6 volt rechargeable battery and charger with unit.

I realize that changes of this type may double the price of the frame but after all of the bad experience I've encountered with this unit it would be WELL worth it!
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 16th, 2004 at 12:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

btopunkrock Friday, March 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock spyder trigger, autococker wanna be
Marker Setup: Spyder Tl+ deluxe, 12v revolution with x-board, mako storm trigger, 16oz chromoly Co2, 14" SP All American soon, regulator soon
Strengths: High rate of fire
Tiny trigger pull
Easy to switch modes
Many modes
Weaknesses: 9v Batteries last 'bout 5000 shots
trigger a little wiggly
Review: This trigger has an incredible short pull with allows you to get at least 4-6 bps in semi. Has semi, selectable bursts(2-12 balls per pull), turbo(switches into full-auto after certain number of pulls per second), and full-auto, all able to have the rate of fire adjusted from 5-15 bps. Has a game timer, and shot counter... kinda nice when you have a limited amount of ammo.

My hopper says it can keep up with up to 12 bps so really anything over 12 bps will turn your gun into a paintball blender... not a nice thing... on semi and trubo it sometimes fires twice and chops a ball... NOT WATER PROOF...


Conclusion: Its a good trigger.. pretty fast... nice elcd... chops unless you got a halo b or keep a low bps.
Personaly i think its great considering i got it for about $70 on ebay.... however retail it goes for over $200... i dont think its worth that kinda of money.. if you can find it cheap buy it!! but anything over $150 isnt worth it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

robdamanii Tuesday, September 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
IPI frame
Marker Setup: Spyder SE, Taso turbo valve, Mako Frame, freak barrel kit, Bob Long Torpedo reg, polished internals, Rocochet 2k
Strengths: Excellent trigger pull, rliable
Weaknesses: Eats batteries quick
Review: This frame is very good. Mouseclick trigger pull, which makes pulling 10BPS pretty easy. It is fairly sturdy in terms of construction, however might be a little uncomfortable to small hands. The modes of fire are nice, but more or less useless since almost every field outlaws multi-ball modes. As for fitment on the body, it fit perfectly and fired without any adjustments.

For weaknesses...it NEEDS a hgh mAh battery, prefereably 9.6 volts. It also drains them incredibly quickly. The battery charge graphic will not display a full battery with a standard non-rechargable battery.

Conclusion: All in all, a good investment. If you can get a decent price on it (less than $125) I'd go for it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xLiLHockeyFreak Tuesday, August 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Upgraded Nasty Impulse
Strengths: Fast, looks nice, many modes and features.
Weaknesses: Mako closed down, so no more warranty. Stock grips are decent.
Review: Well this is an awesome trigger frame. I installed a trigger stop, and adjusted it just right, so the trigger pull was VERY short, and I was able to rip even with my Spyder. Only problem is that one of my screw holes stripped, and I couldn't get it fixed by Mako because they closed down. But it didn't really matter, cuz it wasn't 100% stripped. I also had one of the only known pairs of Mako chrome grip panels, that looked really awesome. There's a site that you can buy black/red/blue Mako grips, and I think Zap's Madhouse now makes them as well.
Conclusion: Great trigger frame if you want to increase your ROF, but you'll need a fast hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

E99Beekz Wednesday, June 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ESP Frame, Booyah Frame
Marker Setup: E99, Mako 4.0 Frame, SP AA 14", Palmer Stabilizer, Kapp 0-800 psi gauge
Strengths: BPS! the LCD screen
Weaknesses: grips, and threading
Review: I found this well worth the money, but that's when it's working correctly. You should definitely use 9.6v batteries. NOT 9v. They die very quickly and sometimes have not enough power at all. The shims are kind of a pain to adjust it correctly. But once you've got it working it's sweet. Very high rate of fire, tiny trigger pull. Great modes, and i love the LCD screen.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone. Instead of buying an ESP, an IPI, or even a sprint frame buy a mako or a booyah! Much faster, better trigger pull, nicer LCD, and look better.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

reneirwolf878 Friday, May 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ESP frame
Marker Setup: spyder xtra w/ goodies
Strengths: HIgh ROF, LCD screen, many modes.
Weaknesses: Grips and crappy battery counter.
Review: This is really an awesome frame. I got it for $90 and am very happy with it. It has a lot of firing modes and is highly adjustable. Setting it up to catch the sear took a few minutes but after that it was all set and ready to rock. It can hit 15 BPS and has a very light and adjustable trigger pull. You can easily change firing mode and set up a timer and shot counter using the two F1 and F2 buttons on the backs. There's also a slot for a wall or car charger that is able to use the kingman ones.

The grip really sucks, its aluminum and doesnt seal the insides very well. However with my gloves it ain't a problem.

There's also a switch inside to turn the frame to just a tourny mode. It shoots emi only but yet lacks a safe mode! I guess turning off the frame is fine but it just gets annoying.

Uses 9v and 9.6v batteries but drains the 9v's quickly. The battery metter sucks, it says that my battery is empty and i can still pull off over a case of paint with it.

The double trigger is huge! It's takes getting used to, but I didn't like it so I sanded it down to a blade style.
Conclusion: A great frame. I got it for $90 and it was well worth it. Mako is out of business so if it breaks you gotta fix it yourself. It is the best frame for a spyder, right behind the centerflag, but who wants to spend $200 on a frame?! Get it if you can find it cheap.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mitchell Monday, May 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
my friend had some grip that cost about the same amount of cash and it was terrible compared to the Storm.
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus with 14" Custom Products barrel and the Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame.
Strengths: Awsome adjustable rate of fire and many different firing modes. BEST ON THE MARKET!
Weaknesses: My only complaint is that it comes with plastic grip covers.
Review: It is an awsome over all product and i would recamend it to any who wants a great deal on an electronic grip. My grip had an LCD screen that stuck out way too far from the grip frame. other wise it is an awsome grip frame for an awsome price and i am extremely happy with my purchase of the frame.
Conclusion: I recommend that everyone should buy one because they are so awsome!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dazo15 Sunday, March 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Frame
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact Dexluxe Java Edition,expansion chamber with bottom line, custom products 14in barrel, Mako Storm Frame eLCD
Strengths: Full-Auto
Burst
Semi
Turbo mode
count down and up timer
Weaknesses: Eats 9v
Review: This is a good frame to buy if your looking to go electro you can find it cheap in places got mine for 106 bucks at Action Sports Paintball in Cheboygan. It is really easy to use i get took it out of box and put it on my gun and plugged in the battery and it worked great. Also the LCD display is really easy to use. If you do get this i recommend that you get nitro if your running co2 because if you shoot full auto to long it could freeze up your gun. I would also recommend getting a version 3.1 or higher because all the others don't have much stuff for them.

Conclusion: I recommend you get this product if your a serious player. It maybe a little expensive but its worth the money. The only problem is keeping 9v on your hand thats the money getter.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media