paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame

Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Mako

Buy Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame

Paintball Spyder Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 50
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electronic trigger frame for Spyders, Inferno. Features include:2-12 Shot Burst Mode, Full Auto,Semi-Auto, Turbo Modes, LCD Display, Aluminum Trigger Frame and Adjustable Trigger Stroke.
Product Availability 
The Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
obsin Friday, February 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock trigger- massively lame... but what can you expect eh?
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter, Mako Storm eLCD frame
Strengths: Well, I was approaced with the option of buying somthing for my gun at christmas when my parents didn't know what to get, so I picked this out. When I first took it out of the box, I realized that the wider/better grip fit my hand better than the stock frame. 5-15 BPS is great, if only I had a hopper that would go over 10... Burst mode is very cool, mostly because of the ability to set the burst length as opposed to being held into 3 or 6 shots. MICROSCOPIC trigger pull (probably just compared to my stock frame). PLUS, (yes there is more) when I screwged up the frame, MAKO repared it for me, at super low cost. really amazing.
Weaknesses: no mechanical safety. I can just think of whats gonna happen when I forget to monkey with the buttons and walk off the field with a live gun.... The holes for stock spyder bottem lines interferes with the holes for the screws that hold on the grips... oh well, need to get a new bottem line/regulator setup any ways (stupid kingman regs)
Conclusion: great product, slightly on the high priced side, but a good up-grade. Buy it if you want a better feeling marker with a shorter/lighter trigger pull (dang, I guess that just about covers alot of what your lookin for in a gun eh?) I bought it, I like it, and I cant wait to play speedball with it. Plus the MAKO service is great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD, stock spyder with wicked trigger job
Marker Setup: Spyder 2000, Low pressure mods, palmer stab reg set at 335psi, 12" cp barrel, 12v revy xboard, lapco drop forward, 16oz anti-siphon co2, mako storm electro frame
Strengths: Bolt this grip onto a spyder that's capable of handling the rate of fire and you have a marker that can shoot as fast as any marker available. I keep it set at 12bps with NO chops with my 12v xboard revy. Virtually eliminates ball chops because it allows you to limit the ROF. The grip is built from machined metal instead of cheap cast metal like the stock frame. Looks stylish and feels very solid. Electro grips give you the ROF advantage of a true electro but without the complications of a fully electronic valve system--if it goes down you can always attach a mechanical frame and your back in business.
Weaknesses: Quite frankly, this grip frame won't work as designed on a stock spyder with co2. If you were to even try to take advantage of the ROF available your marker would either freeze up, shootdown horribly, or sputter and "blend paint." You need HPA, or co2 that's regulated down to 450psi. Make sure your low pressure setup is free flowing as well, kingman regs or micro lines will cause nothing but problems. The only mode that you can count on using is semi-auto, cuz most fields ban the other moes. However the VERY short trigger pull coupled with the vibration from firing creates a reactive trigger effect that allows you to shoot as fast as you'd like in semi mode. If you are using a high operating pressure or a stiff main spring be prepared for a lot of kick, my marker uses light springs and runs at a low pressure so the kick isn't much, simular to that of an Angel LCD but not near as smooth as an impulse or shocker. It's not waterproof and I would not use it in wet conditions. I've never heard or seen a mako frame where the battery level meter actually worked.
Conclusion: A great upgrade if you have a spyder that's capable of taking advantage of the ROF. I highly reccomend low pressure mods to be used in conjunction because running at normal operating pressures is quite jolting and will likely hurt the lifetime of the spyder and the frame.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Boo-Yah ELCD Trigger Frame
Marker Setup: Compact 2000 Deluxe JAVA edition, expansion chamber, gauge, regulator, drop foward, 14' Dye Stainless Steel, Boo-Yah ELCD Handle and 12 volt JAVA REVVY hopper
Strengths: It shoots very fast and accurate. I love the timer and the shot counter so I can know when to cut down and minimize. The trigger is very easy to pull and you can prolly get up to 15 balls per sec. works great with Compact 2000
Weaknesses: Easy pull trigger a few accidents. Have to get good paint/ bolt or your balls will be chopped.
Conclusion: I really like it, I was a bit shaky when I got it, but now it has paid off
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder w/ elctro setup (now back to stock with Trigger job)
Delron Bolt
remote
Perfect Expansion Chamber
Strengths: I was intrigued by this upgrade. I had read several reviews before buying and thought I'd try it to increase sustained ROF.
Weaknesses: Well, I received the product in the mail and tried it without the gun. It worked. I attached it to the gun and it did not work. I went through the troubleshooting guide and added spacers etc. The gun worked when dry fired for the first shot, sustained shots were not achieved with pressure. It seems as though the sollonoid does not have the power the release the sear with any type of spring, except my softest spring and even then not all of the time. I have tried new and rechargable batteries, so power is not the problem.
Conclusion: Well, I have a compact 2000 and it has yet to work properly on mine. I do like the idea, not to make it competitive with the Big Boys, because it won't, but just for a higher sustained ROF. I gave it a 5 because it has worked for some and I like the idea behind it. If you have encountered similar problems with this unit and have been able to solve them, please feel free to e-mail by clicking on my name at the top.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive shot an angel a few times
Marker Setup: Bruizer Outlaw with an 18" boomstick, a mako storm handle, 9v revvy, core performance CO2 reg, 20oz CO2 tank, and a dye sticky grip
Strengths: the good about this product....lets see...about everything. its got a bajillion modes on it...u can set the rate of fire from anywhere btween 5 and 15bps. now all i got is a 9v revvy...but if u got a warp feed or a halo, it will easily go up to 15bps. it has game countdown timer, shot-counter, and several firing modes. it has true semi auto...which incase u are in a tourney...it has a semi tourny lock on it so it cant be changed, burst fire, full auto...and turbo mode up to 1.9x speed. now i guess i got a real good battery bc ive had the same battery in my handle for about 2 months now and it hasnt died yet..prolly jinxed myself but thats not what is important...the important thing is that it will last longer on a 9v than most people give it credit for. i got a hell of a deal on this handle, i got it for a 128 bucks brand new from 888paintball, only bc they read the price wrong on another website...but do u think i told them that? but u can find this handle for around 180-190 bucks. i noticed that this handle on my bruizer can keep up and even surpass an angels semi auto firing rate bc of this handles small trigger pull.
Weaknesses: the bad about this product..its got plastic grips which make it feel cheap...but believe me, its not cheap...should of came with rubber ones but u get used to the feel. another bad thing which is a spinoff of a good thing, when u slide into bunkers..u may actually fire ur gun bc of the short trigger pull, but just learn to not have ur fingers on the trigger while sliding around or u might just shoot urself in the foot.
Conclusion: contrast to what some people say, id say that u should upgrade ur current spyder or spyder lookalike instead of getting an angel or emag or something bc this handle does the exact same thing to ur gun as buying a electro straight out of the box. this is a great handle and worth every penny you pay for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goldclasssniper Sunday, January 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used angels and automag rt's
Marker Setup: shutter with angel air 14inch boomstick barrel bob long cyclone 3 bolt and 32 degrees expansion chamberand a warp feed
Strengths: everything i havent had a problem yet. it shoots fast. whats great about it is that u can adjust ur bps for ur gun specifically. i usaully put mine round 14.
Weaknesses: u just have to make sure ur loader can keep up or it'll chop balls like carzy cause some guuns cant recycle that fast to keep up
Conclusion: u should buy it defintley. make sure u get barrel before u buy one cause a barrel is the best upgrade for a gun u can buy. basically u'll see more improvement for less
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
auto cocker
spyder em1
spyder amg
spyder 2000
Marker Setup: i use whatever gun i feel like using
on my spyder 2000 i have an expansion chamber, the new mako storm grip and many other upgrades
Strengths: this frame works very well with the spyder 2000 i think
i just got it but i played 4 games with it already. i like this frame a lot
Weaknesses: of course the gun is going to chop balls if your firing fast any one that doesnt understand that is just stupid. thats why you get a 9v or 12v hopper. it helps a lot. any gun will chop balls if your firing to fast.
Conclusion: this is a great upgrade for a gun.I recomend it for everyone with a spyder or any other gun this fits.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hyper Frame from Kingman
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus with Boomstick and new springs.
Strengths: Fast rate of fire
Great way to switch between modes
Many different modes
Weaknesses: If you set it to fast it will chop a lot of paintballs.
Many fields will not let you use anything else besides semi-auto.
Conclusion: This product makes your gun fire a lot faster but you have to find the maximum rate of fire for your gun first. If this rate is to high you will chop all the paintballs.
This product is worth every penny and for making your gun automatic it has a great price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ebonclaw Tuesday, January 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter with Storm frame
14" JJ ceramic barrel
9V revvy
Crossfire 68/3000 stubby
Strengths: Well, frankly, it's got more modes than a Swiss Army Knife.....it's programmable and the shot counter and game timer are also bonus features......has a WONDERFUL trigger pull that's like clicking a mouse, but without the big "click". Comes with shims just in case you have a Rebel or non-Spyder gun.....the NORMAL ASA holes are wonderful to have on a Spyder, along with classic Spyder holes...
The only things it can't do is grate cheese and chop lettuce. I only have a 9v revvy, but shooting the balls in the elbow and feed, I can maintain a temporary 12 BPS, hindered only by the feed. Never really tried 13 or up but it could probably manage 13....just gotta have a loader that will keep up.
LOVE this grip
Weaknesses: Plastic grip panels? Come ON! Has a place for a battery charger, but I didn't really want to buy one specifically made for it, not to mention it DIDN'T COME WITH ONE. Went ahead and bought a battey charger, and two 9V NiMH batteries (one for the revvy, one for the gun). Now I have no worries about going dead on the field. Mainly, it's only downside is the plastic grip panels. Mako markets colored aluminum ones, but I'm waiting for them to start making rubber ones cuz the aluminum will be kinda slick.
Conclusion: Contrary to what many people say, I reccomend buying the frame for your existing Spyder (which is probably tricked anyway) as opposed to buying a "true" electro. It's a great buy and once I shot it, I haven't looked back. Just gotta wait for some new grip panels though....
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder TL+ Frame, Angel trigger Frame (LED and LCD), and a Benchmark MicroMag Frame.
Marker Setup: Java TL+, Armson Elbow, 9vt Revy (soon to be Ricochet AK), TKO Drop, PMI 48ci 3000psi N2 tank (soon to be Nitro Duck Fiber wrapped 68ci 3000psi tank), Vigilante reg, aftermarket SS hose and fittings, MAKO Storm frame, TKO nipple cap. DYE 12" Ultralight barrel, Shocktech Cocker beavertail, and maybe an SS valve and a Shocktech Alien Bolt.
Strengths: Well, this is my first electro, so it seemed very fast! It was a little longer than a mouse click, but less resistance. The trigger is very wide, which makes it very comfortable too. I could get up to about 9 bps on my gun. The adjustability of the rates of fire and bps were extremely easy to program on the LCD. It has very user friendly options, and make changing bps or rof (Non-fire, Semi-Auto, Burst rounds, Full Auto, and turbo Fire) very quick and painless, plus, there's also a tournament lock option. I must say, even though it's not allowed in games, turbo fire is the best firing mode idea in existence. It allows you to be conservative on paint, like in semi, but when you are in need to shoot very fast, for cover fire or for something else, the frame switches to full auto for you! The LCD also has a shot counter and game timer-not necessary, but fun things to have. Plus, it's very easy to take the frame apart and adjust the solenoid. I'd also like to point out, that the frame came with a battery, and it fit nice and tight, but not too tight, which was nice. that was partly due to a long screw I was using though. It also came with offset and standard holes! That was very nice, since now you don't need a converter, but can still use your old Kingman bottomline if you want. For an electro, this also gives you more control over how much paint you shoot than you might think, and the manuel was also very comprehensive-I learned all the controls in no time.
Weaknesses: The Bad: Well, it did have it's problems though: First off, I noticed, this frame can't use Dye Sticky grips, because the screws are too far apart. That's really too bad, since I was planning on using those. Second off, the plastic grips make it feel cheap, which I do not like-why couldn't they have used rubber wrap around grips? For that poor choice in options though, a good pair of gloves will fix it. Second off, since the gun was originally designed for semi auto only, it's got a bit more kick than guns that are electronic stock. So, when rapid firing, there's tons of kick. You get used to it though. I also had to buy a new bottom line screw, because the rear screw was so long, that it interfered with the electronics. For that, you can conveniently go to home depot for. I found a 1/2 in. screw works best for the rear screw hole. But a 3/4 in. (or 1/2 in.) screw will work fine with the front hole. Then there's also the battery life thing, while they do give you a brand new one, these things only last a little time. Mine only gave me about 3500 shots. So when you go PBing, be sure to carry an extra with you.For the first few times out, it would always skip the first shot after I turned non-fire off, but that went away after about 100 paintballs went through my gun. Other than that, I have no real complaints.
Conclusion: Conclusion: Well, before you buy this, upgrade to N2. Try to get a Crossfire if you're going cheap, because the PMI tanks will not recharge fast enough. Most of the problems are fixable, and the ones that aren't, are minor ones. When you get on the field though, the problems virtually disappear, because now you can have power over those high end guns. Personally, I think it's great buy if you're willing to put up the money. I'd probably give it an 8.5 if you could, but you can't, so I'll round up to 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media