paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest

Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Flurry Industries

Buy Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest

Paintball Vests

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 64
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $65

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Ultraback Tactical Vest incorporates everything into it that you might need on the playing field. It's modular, Special Forces inspired design lets you configure it how you want. Whether you want to wear the packs horizontal or vertical its very easy to switch the setup. You can also add or take away the tank holder attachment if you want to run a remote setup! When playing with friends with these vests you can toss a whole attachment pack to them that they can secure it right onto their vest.
Product Availability 
The Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
stealth_warrior Friday, December 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Strengths: great fit, modular, very functional
Weaknesses: kinda warm
Review: I've had my vest just over a month now and I love it. It fits well and although I've used it pretty much in the standard configuration since I got it, I like the fact that I can alter the setup of the pod carriers. I use a radio when I'm playing rec ball so the front pouch is an excellent feature, as are the two additional pouches which are great for carrying spare o'rings, tools, spare batteries for hopper, marker etc.
Mask clip is a great feature rather than perching ur mask on ur head all day.
I'm looking forward to Flurry bringing out a hydration system to go with the vest; playing in california it can get pretty warm with the vest on. I guess it wouldn't be hard to put together something that would work just with a regular water bottle and pouch but I look forward to seeing what Flurry come up with.
Lot of reviewers complain that its hard to clean, but there are a couple of options I've found:
1. wear it in the shower and sponge it then hang it to let it drip dry or
2. you can machine wash it, just put it on the delicate /handwash setting and the slowest spin setting and it cleans up pretty good.

I'd also like to see a couple of other features like D'rings and a sleeve for a battle swab, which could go on the bottom at the back of the vest. These are just personal preferences though and the vest works perfectly without them
Conclusion: Fantastic product compared to the regular belt style pod carriers. Modular so look forward to new features to add on. Would recommend it to anyone who plays rec or scenario p'ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BoutYummy Friday, December 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI camo 4+1 with h-type suspenders-( works well with tank on set up)
Cops911 modular custom tac. vest -(this is definitely the way to go)
Marker Setup: A-5 response, Flatline, remote, 70ci4500 worrgas tank
WGP VF Tactical cocker, halo b w/ ripdrive, 12" hammerhead barrel, 68ci4500crossfire,
Strengths: Good storage, easy and fast access to pods and pockets.
Looks pretty cool.
Good padding
Weaknesses: Velcro closures bunch up and seperate during high speed movement
difficult to clean
Review: I would have used speed clips on the kidney closures instead of the cheezy velcro Flurry is using, but the design is basically sound.
Heavier stitching around high stress areas would have kept me from staying up all night sewing this thing back together (I DON'T LIKE SEWING).
There really is nowhere to store a large battle-swab, they could have put in a pocket for that .
This vest is well padded, BUT- you wont get many bounces on it (unless you're playing against some Wal-Mart warriors shooting blue streak or brASS eagle) All this padding does is make you sweat, and soak up paint
You'd better Scotchgard this vest, or try very hard not to get shot up, because cleaning this beast is no fun. The best method i've tried so far is to wear it in the shower and sponge it down with baby shampoo, Then hang dry for a couple of days
Conclusion: Over all this vest has treated me pretty well over the last few months. I have, however, switched to my cops911 vest. It fits better and works better.
Being that a cops vest is a little more expensive but rates a 10......I'll give the Ultraback vest a high 6
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HairyIceJug Wednesday, November 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've used the Dye Excel Pod pack and it was alright. But the Flurry vest is in a class of it's own. Nothing bounces around when I run, and the rip cords make it so easy to access the pods.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
Strengths: Durable
FulVest
ManyPockets
ClipForMask
ModularDesignLetsYouAdjustPods
FullyAdjustable
Doesn'tBounce
Padded
Comfortable
Takes Sting OutOf Getting Hit.
Weaknesses: Very warm in the summer, but perfect for fall,winter, and spring.
Review: This vest is absolutely awesome! It looks and feels great. It's got pockets for everything. It lets you adjust everything from it's fit, to how the pods are attached. Whenever I play without it now I feel so vulnerable. Definitely worth the money. It's even got a pocket for a radio with a hole for the earpiece wire to come out.
Conclusion: If I had known how great this product was I would have ordered one sooner. I definitely recommend getting one. I got mine from 3gponline.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

american defens Saturday, November 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none for paint ball
Marker Setup: tippmann a5/rt, 88ci. 4500psi. / with 32 degree coil remote
flatline barrell, flurry knee pads and flurry ultraback tactical vest
Strengths: quality construction, versatility and useability
Weaknesses: not good for players who like to roll arond on the ground
Review: from the moment i opened the box i have felt my money was well spent. indeed it was.
. the front and rear panels are separate components and secure together via Velcro fasteners. this is why the vest will fit any and all sizes. the front panel is made of heavy duty cordura which seems almost indestructible. there are three pockets one large pocket in the upper chest area and two smaller pockets running verticle in the abdomen region. the two lower pockets are sealed with flaps and Velcro while the upper pocket has a nice quality zipper( in fact two zippers, there is a small zipper on the side of the pocket which i use to tuck my remote connector into when not in use, keeping it from dragging on the ground) the upper pocket has a pretty cool flurry logo embroidered into it. it is black and green very subtle in appearance yet just one more sign of quality that flurry has included. there is a sort of hand warmer style opening on the front down by the waist. it was not designed to really be useful as it is there to protect the elastic on the flaps that hold the front and rear halves together. but i have used it during long and scenario games to hold a spare 20oz co2 tank in case my 88 runs out while in the field.
the rear half is pretty basic as 2/3 of it is covered in Velcro so that the included pod holders and tank holder can secure to the vest. the pod holders each hold two pods and since two are included the vest in stock configuration can handle four pods. there is an elastic strap between each pod holder this is to hold a third pod on each side. when i tried to use it though it proved to be totally useless as it was impossible to get the elastic around the pod without ten minutes of fighting. and once i did manage to get the pods in i was unable to remove them for use. so i do not use them and stick to only carrying 760 rounds with me each time i go out ( 4 pods 140 each and a full 200 round hopper). the tank holder is really well thought out. it is one of the few on the market that will fit a 114ci.. i have the stubby 88 which is the size of the 114 and it fits perfect. the tank holder is held in place with Velcro plus there is a quick release strap at the top i assume this is a just in case strap., like if you were running and the Velcro gave out this way the tank will not hit the ground and become a missile if the valve is broken. there are also two thin straps that surround the neck of the tank to further secure the tank from movement. at first i thought all this might be over kill. but after setup and trial i found it to be a beautiful design. i like to secure the two thin straps first and then tighten the web belt around the tank. this covers the end of the thin straps and prevents possible release from a tree or any other foreign object. the quick release web is a little too long but it doesn't really matter i can not see ever relying on it to catch my tank because with flurry's quality the tank will never fall. running with the vest on is as comfortable as it could possibly be. considering what it is you are carrying. there is no movement from the tank and if you pack your pods right there will not be any rattle from them. i have used tactical vest like the black hawks before in real life ops and they are great for their intended purpose. but those vests have to be altered for paintball use and therefore have no place on the field. as i would never wear my flurry vest when issuing a high risk warrant it is not intended for that purpose. at half the cost of black hawk flurry has introduced a product that rivals the best in the world and it is intended for paintball with no alterations. buy this vest you will be the envy of all players on the field. in looks and function.
Conclusion: there is no better product out there even at three times the price. you will not regret it from the day you open the box .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

isuck2 Thursday, October 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees 6+1
Marker Setup: 98c, flatline, lapco powerfeed, tippmann expansion chamber, remote
Strengths: fits perfectly, pods don't bounce, many valuable things fit in pouches
Weaknesses: a little hot sometimes
Review: this is almost perfect, the only thing bad is the heat but thats nothing to be really concerned about. unlike other packs, when you sprint to a bunker the pods dont bounce at all. you can fit tools , 2 way radios , and many other things in the front pouches. this pack is also so adjustable , it wil fit on almost anyone.

12/14/2003

my ultraback was recently stolen and i got a raven pack, the pods dont bounce, it has a mask holder and it doesnt get hot, instead of the ultraback get the raven and a jacket with front pockets.
Conclusion: if you really want to get a good pack get any raven pack instead, im giving this a 9 because its not the best but still very good
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 14th, 2003 at 8:08 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wAX Wednesday, October 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
REDZ comfort gear... but none really
Marker Setup: 2K1 shocker 4x4 sport
vert. max flo reg
DOP bullet drop forward
68/4500 centerfire nitro
12V revy
16" all american barrel/16" armson stealth barrel
shoctech delrin bolt
itchy trigger finger
Strengths: comfort... looks... varibale positioning
Weaknesses: padding could be a little less plush
Review: this vest might actually look TOO cool... people maight take it for a joke, but it works surprisingly well! being able to adjust the harnesses is a really good idea, but really all you'll end up doing is adjusting how high they sit on your back... but for smaller players like me, it helps big time. (if you play with a remote, being able to change the set up will help a lot... or if you just feel like bringing out two pods instead of like six...)

the pockets in the front are handy for wallets when playing rec ball and stuff, or to hold allen keys or battle swabs... i don't use em too much, but i see how they can be handy. the tabs that are on the pod holders are made in a way to very easily pull down to get at the pods, and they have preformed rigid plastic pieces in them so when you have to put your empty pod back in, it slides right in.

the BIG thing about this vest is that it's bloody comfortable. the weight is distibuted between your shoulders and your waist, so there are no pressure points (almost as comfortable as the REDZ comfort belts...) and even on a small body like mine, the vest doesn't move around when i'm running and sliding. and the shoulders and waists are adjustable.

they only complaint i have is that the padding is TOO SOFT, and can feel like ur wearing a cushion. it's nice when you get mad bounces, but it's almost cheating in a sense. maybe they coulda used blue firm camping foam and done in modularly, so you can remove the padding in certain places (like behind the front pockets... ya don't need more protection) and put more in the small of the back... for support. the parts underneath the arms coulda been wider too, but that's my preference. if they just switch the padding to more ergonomic spots and use the kind companies use for hiking backpacks, this thing'll kick even more tail..

i give it a nine despite the fact that i love this thing because of the padding... although i prolly can mod it myself... and that i haven't played that much speedball with it yet. but the logo now is stitched in black (no annoying colours) and it is machinewashable, as i have discovered!
Conclusion: i give it a nine despite the fact that i love this thing because of the padding... although i prolly can mod it myself... and that i haven't played that much speedball with it yet. but the logo now is stitched in black (no annoying colours) and it is machinewashable, as i have discovered!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 11th, 2004 at 5:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper111387 Wednesday, October 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 sniper with extension and sight with flurry tactical vest
Strengths: Great fit
Awesome mobility
Neat interchangable system
not bulky
great feel
Good price
Weaknesses: none
Review: My props to flurry industries for their awesome vest and products. Even has padding if some one on the field has cranked up their velocity in which it will reduce the pain. I have used it for about a year now and i feel that this vest is great. Sometimes i where it and not even know i had it on. It is so versatile in its configurations that i have no problem finding one that will work for me.
Conclusion: Great vest for any player at any level. Good price for what you are getting. I think more people should get this vest.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ODD_JOB Wednesday, October 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye 6+1
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra:
Pure Energy 68/45
Dye 12" Boomstik
Halo B
Palmers Stabliizer
Magna Valve
Bandit Bolt
Check it Products 15 degree Assault Block
Check it Sweet Spot Trigger
Dye Spring Kit
Dye Izon red dot sight
Check It Products Sure-Fit Feed Adaptor
Strengths: -light, durable, looks cool
Weaknesses: -kinda a bulky
-sometimes can't feel hits when hit\
-a little pricy
Review: This vest is awesome for those who want to look and feel like they are part of an actual tactical team. It's padded and comfortable. Fits any size person cause of the adjustable velcro straps. You can setup the pods on your back anyway you want to give u that customized feel. Clip to hold mask, and a slot for the walkie talkie. All around great product.
Conclusion: I say get this if u got the money, it will enhance your gameplay and lets you have a lot of fun with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KillerWale Saturday, September 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Home Made Setups using A.L.I.C.E. gear and Redz packs. Viper Pack ( No Longer Available I think)
Marker Setup: Free Flow Autococker Boxer
Dye Boomstick
Rat Valve 3:16
Superfly Delrin Bolt
etc.
Strengths: Great harness and equipment placement. It is very comfortable to wear and play in.
Weaknesses: Not enough assessories yet.
Review: This pack is the best yet. It places all of your equipment in easily accessible areas. The tank and pod holders on the back are adjustable with Velcro. There are only two drawbacks that I can see. First of all, the waist band securing the front to the back, would be better if they went from back to front instead of front to back. ( If you have one you understand.) Secondly, being a scenario player, I have a sidearm. The front of the pack would be better suited if it had Velcro as well as the back, and came with interchangeable parts, such as a holster, grenade pouches, CO2 holders, Magazine Holders, and for the back of the pack, something to hold a hydration system such as a camel-back. This pack is the best one I have come across yet, but there is always room for improvement.
Conclusion: I would definitely purchase and use this pack system until, hopefully, one day a new and better system is developed. I give the folks at Flurry a 9 out of 10, they have made great steps toward the perfect system. I hope to see a better and more adjustable pack from them soon.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 28th, 2003 at 12:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderwolf Thursday, August 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: light,interchangeable
Weaknesses: a little hard to clean
Review: LOVE this pack have tryed other packs were very uncomfortable to wear especially on the hips when running .This pack is light, bears all the weight on your shoulders, doesn't move on you when you hit the dirt ! and is interchangeable so you can configure it the way you like it .
Conclusion: This packs is well worth the money and i wouldnt wear anything else
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media