paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs / Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs / Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs

Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Nelson Paintball

Buy Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 87
Average Rating: 7.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Nel-Splat line was designed to compete in price with products from lesser known companies, but without any reduction in performance.
Product Availability 
The Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
sab541 Saturday, April 23rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Special Forces
RPS Premium
RPS Stinger
Core Prime
Core Action
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with ACT
Smart Parts 14 in Linear Barrel
View Loader Eye Force Loader
Double Trigger kit
Remote Coil
Recommended
Barrels:
??????
Strengths: Nice looking
Moderately priced
Weaknesses: Breaks!!!
Review: A friend of mine gets wholesale prices on Nelson paint so I thought I'd give them a shot. Nel-Splat was my first choice because of the price. I bought a whole case and had nothing but breaks with this paint. I don't know if it's because I have a tippmann and the fact that they strike the paint a little harder when fired (so I've been told). Or maybe it's my barrel, I have a 14 inch smart parts barrel. Either way this is the only paint that I've had a consistant issue with breakages so I'm not going to be using it. It was a fresh case too, so that wasn't the issue. The friend of mine who gets the paint told me that her son has the same problem with Nel-Splat in his X-7, I should have listened too her instead of wasting the money.
Conclusion: I can't recommend this paint to anyone using a Tippmann but i suppose that a different marker might use it with no issue.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

General Fuct Sunday, June 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Killer (Fieldgrade)
Meteor
Stingers
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
32 Degrees Whisper Barrel
Full TechT cyclone upgrade
TechT ZKH
HPA
Borg Cocking Handle Mod
UMP shroud etc etc
Recommended
Barrels:
Smart Parts Proggressive seemed to have the best results of the day (still not good enough IMO.)
Strengths: Breaks on everything, even tiny stands of grass (which is also a weakness)
Weaknesses: Chops
Barrel Breaks
Curves
Inaccurate
Bore sizes all over the place
Review: I rocked up to our monthly game yesterday and found that the field had changed from Killer Paintballs to Nelson Nel-Splat and woe to me and majority of other players it was terrible. The temp was quiet good at around 18-25C during the day.

This paint barrel broke 1 in almost 5 shots, I had a brand new dye fuzzy stick I had never used that is now bright pink all over from constantly cleaning the barrel over and over again.

At the end of the day while cleaning I discovers a chop had occured also but the techt cyclone luckily manged to keep going despite the paint all through the housing.

I tested the balls down a few different barrels out of 5 different balls grabbed randomly out of the box they all were different bore sizes..one ball would roll straight through, one would roll halfway and get stuck, one would stick right at the bore mouth. VERY VERY inconsistant sizing...

On in consistant, the accuracy was almost non existant, even at close range with an aimpoint I struggled to put a ball in the same spot as well as shooting off a bench (groups 200mm at 15 metres). After a barrel break the point shot like an apex barrel, some curving as far and 3 metres from the target.

Some of the other more expensive barrels had better results then mine. But still nothing close to other paints myself and others there on the day had used for the same price point.
Conclusion: This is the worst paint I have used so far, I'm not sure if we had a bad batch or it may have degraded on the trip over to Australia. As mentioned above I have never had a barrel break or a chop in over 10000 balls I have put through my A5.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ITSRAININGPAINT Sunday, May 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nelson Special Forces (better)
Tippmann US Army balls (better)
Conquest paintballs (rocks)
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3
Custom Products 2 piece, .685
EVLution 3 hopper
DXS 48/45 CP tank cover
Recommended
Barrels:
smaller bore, around .685
Strengths: Cheap, bright fill and shell, fairly accurate
Weaknesses: Stain clothes
Review: I finally went and played at my local field, and they were selling a variety of paint. I got Nel-Splats for $50 for 2000. For the most part, my experience with these balls was good. I had no barrel breaks, chops, or hopper breaks and I also got a handful of outs. This paint was kind of greasy, but all of the balls were round and flew straight. As I stated in the weaknesses, this paint did stain my clothes and my rags that I used to clean, but since I don't wear nice clothes paintballing, this wasn't anything horrible. With my new Custom Products barrel, these balls had pretty accurate, nothing too accurate though. All-in-all, these balls were pretty good. By the way, my friend did have some barrel breaks in his Infinity Legend, and my other friend had a break in his Ion with a Freak barrel (.687 back), I did not have these problems.
Conclusion: Good balls, pretty accurate, good price. Pretty good. 8 of 10 because of greasyness and stains.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 9th, 2010 at 11:07 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MongooseHunter Sunday, April 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Premium
Diablo Nightmare
DXS Midnight
DXS Field
Basic Training
Nelson Anarchy
Marker Setup: BT Delta Elite
- Pure Energy 68/3000
- Remote Line
Recommended
Barrels:
Smart Parts Teardrop
Hammerhead Battlestikxx
Strengths: Thin
Bright Paint
Free of Dimples
Weaknesses: Too Thin
Review: I paid $50 per case of 2000.

These paintballs were insanely thin, which is a good thing and a bad thing at the same thing.

To give you an idea of how thin they were, I put one in my Dye Locklid Pod, shook it, and it broke.

I dropped one on to a small rock from about 1 meter in the air, and it broke.

Heck, I dropped one on to the ground from my hopper while standing, and that broke too.

The balls did fairly well in my pumped Autococker, and in my friend's Smart Parts SP8. They were very, very good for those markers, and would reliably break on every person that we shot them at. The balls also didn't curve outside of what is normal for a paintball.

However, three of our Tippmann 98 Customs and my BT Delta Elite consistently chopped every ball we fired, sometimes every other ball, even when we switched to air and used low FPS settings. The paint and the style of gun were the only things they had in common, so I'm assuming that it was the mix of the paint and style of gun that caused them to chop.
Conclusion: This paint does have it's uses for speedball and pump players, so I will give it an 8 for performing exceptionally well there.

However, with the ridiculous amount of chopping it did in several low-end mechs, I'm not impressed and I would not recommend anyone use these.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scooter7897 Wednesday, March 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
have used many many different kinds of paint over the years
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot acs '05: 14" tru flight barrel
low rise clamping feed neck
dye sticky grips
run on HPA 72cc 3000psi
Strengths: Cheap
Thick fill
Decent accuracy
Weaknesses: Only decent accuracy
Review: Over the years I have used just about every brand of paint thats been out. From Brass Eagle bought at wally world to the top of the line from most manufacturers. I ordered these on line simply due to price and I could choose my fill color (local field requires white fill). I was pleasently surprised with the accuracy. The fill was thick and they seemed to break upon impact. If I ever return to that certain field I would more than likely buy this paint again.
Conclusion: Nice solid product. Above average accuracy. Thick fill. Breaks on target. And above all..... CHEAP. Get low budget wonder. High quality at a low price. Highly recommend for rec play or woods ball. Might be a little pricey for team pratice.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lemi205 Thursday, October 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI stingers (Good), Monster (BAD!!!), Brass Eagle (BAD)
Marker Setup: Woodsball/scenerio:
Long range- Tippmann 98 Custom Pro w/ realtree camo, Cyclone feed, double trigger (removed the drop forward: not for my style of play), J&J ceramic (14" or 16") barrel (VERY QUIET!!!), Tapco CAR stock (a stock is the best investment for accuracy you can buy), Weaver rail risers, weaver rail offsets, 2X-7X Tasco Rifle scope (kept on 2X), and a Barrel mounted bipod
Short range/CQC- Same 98 custom pro, same setup except stock barrel in place of J&J (shorter gun needed, and at these ranges, accuracy is less of an issue), Reddot w/ realtree camo in place of offset mount and rifle scope, bipod removed (for lighter setup). Shoot CO2 now (want to get compressed air tanks)
Recommended
Barrels:
J&J ceramic (seems to help with the smoother interior)
Strengths: -Cheap
-Think fill, good shell
-Did I meantion cheap?
Weaknesses: Not the most reliable for accuracy, but never broke in the hopper or barrel
Review: Not bad paint. Grabbed 2 cases for play, since the store that sold my PMI stingers stopped doing paintball stuffs. Hard to find a reliable cheap paint, but you get more than your fair share for the price. Good stuff, will probably buy again. I used the pink fill for rec. use. Worked well for woodsball, though im not sure if I want to go back to the PMI Stingers or not.
Conclusion: Good, unless you like high paint prices. Personally, I cannot afford them as a college student
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

STOCKHOLM JOY! Tuesday, June 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nelson hot spot and other paints
Marker Setup: smartparts ion
Carolina blue body kit
DXS locking feed neck
68 ci. 4500 psi DXS carbonfiber nitro tank
Velocity jr. with speed feed
Strengths: CHEAP!!
Thick fill
Breaks on everything
every color imiaingable
Weaknesses: Nobody buys it so they think it sucks so not very avaible
Review: Last sunday, i went to my field and they sell nelson paint only, so i bought a case because it was cheap. It was 94 dagrees with 95% humitldy so it was really hot and sticky outside.(since my field is really awsome and there was only 14 people there, one of the owners went out and bought a bunch of dish towels, soaked them then put them inthe freezer for us, witch was sweet!) ok back to the paint, it shot amazingly dispite the 95% humitily. every ball broke, the fill was really thick, and it was very accurate. They had orange/silver shell and neon orange fill there but online you can find slmost every color paint you can think of.

june 10, 2008
On a different note if you live in southeastern Michigan, you probally know we had 2 days of SEVERE thunder storms with 60 MPH wind gusts.Also we lost power for 3 days. I was wondering of anybody knows of other fields that may have been damaged or destroyed during this weather. I dont know if salt river speedball has been damaged (see my review) but i know that they dont take down their bunkers at night and that their X is held by the net posts that arent very sturdy. leave it in the comments!
Conclusion: Go buy this paint if you wanna get kills and not spend $60 to get them, And dont let the western box style turn you away.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 10th, 2008 at 6:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mxer394 Tuesday, May 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Origin, marbs, ekg, tons of stuff.
Marker Setup: VS2
Reloader B
Tadao Board w/ M7 chip
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Polished Internals
CP reg
DP on/off
Recommended
Barrels:
A barrel kit is the answer to all problems.
Strengths: Good shell
Good Colors
Great fill
Weaknesses: Even if you have a good barrel, shooting through breaks is impossible
Review: I have used this nonstop for close to 1 year, for tourneys, woodsball, and practice. At 36 a case, these CANNOT be beat. The shell is great, it breaks on the opponent 9 times out of 10, it seldom breaks in your hopper. It's never broken in my hopper, and I play front all the time.

However, if you get a barrel break, you HAVE to squeege. The fill is so thick, that even using a carbon fiber barrel kit, I had to squeegee before the balls stopped flying everwhere.

All in all, great paint, I used it in an Eggy, a Reloader, a halo, and a Magna, and it performed like a champ each time.
Conclusion: Great paint, even if you're not on a budget, get this and save money get yourself something nice. You deserve it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

weeweeman Thursday, November 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rec sport- a little thicker shell but brighter fill
Nightmare-not nearly as good as nel splat
marbs- better
evil-better
diablo heat- much worse
stinger- a little worse
impact - a thinner fill and thicker shell but much brighter fill
Marker Setup: ion
qev
redz bolt
all american 14 inch
evil pipe kit
trinity on off
virtue eyes
redz clamping feed neck
new designz roller trigger

DMC
hybrid grips
J&J edge barrel kit
Recommended
Barrels:
very small but most fit in a .685
Strengths: Accurate
Consistency
Perfect shell thickness
Thick bright fill
Break on target 98% of the time.
Weaknesses: Very small bore size
Review: ACCURACY- I have to say that these paintballs are very accurate. I have only had an occasional flutter that goes off target but 99.9% of the time it is ball on ball. I am very pleased with the accuracy.

CONSISTENCY- The only thing is that they are small, but stay small from all 3 cases of this i have shot.

SHELL- The shell on the paintball is great. It is always round and i have not ever seen a dimple on it. It is the perfect brittleness that works in HP guns as well as LP guns. I was about 85 feet away shooting at a bunker. 15 out of 15 broke on it.

THICKNESS/BRIGHTNESS- This is the thing that you have to look out for. I have tried yellow fill, orange fill, and pink fill. Out of all of these the orange fill was the dullest, and the yellow fill was the runniest. But the pink fill was incredibely bright and thick. This paint smears all over when you try and wipe it off, but it doesn't stain.
Conclusion: I highly reccomend these paintballs. I would suggest to get the pink filled ones if you can because i have had the best results fill wise.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

camodogfighter Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Karnage Bite, Karnage Tear, Karnage Rib, Monster Ball, Worr
Marker Setup: 2k3 Impulse w/o vision
Cricket board
Blade Magnetic Trigger
Ion stock reg
Recommended
Barrels:
Freak, Freak jr., Evil Pipe
Strengths: Nice shell
Breaks good
Fill is thick, so they cant wipe
Comes in bright colors

Weaknesses: Breaks if you dont have your hopper on.
Review: I played a tourney where this was the only type of paint. It did really well. I hadnt ever used nel splat before. I always used Karnage. It broke really well, you could tell when you hit your target. I only had one break and that was because I forgot to turn my hopper on. The rest of the day I never had break. The paint shot realy well, it also shot alot stratier than any paint I played with. I enjoyed it alot, but from where I am from we dont have nelsplat. Oh well it does really well. Play with it, it is really good, it normally sells for like $50 a case. It may not be as good as some of the higher priced paint, but if you dont have alot of money to spend on paint go with this stuff.
Conclusion: 9 out of 10 for being really good. Dont have to worry about the paint running or players being albe to wipe while player it is really thick.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media