paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader Surge / Viewloader Surge / Viewloader Surge / Viewloader Surge

Viewloader Surge Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader Surge

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader Surge
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $240

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Genesis Surge df is a custom grade semi-automatic marker with features that include: a light weight aluminum alloy receiver with custom green wave pattern, rear cocking knob beavertail sight rail, velocity adjustment, finger grooved expansion chamber and volumizer working in conjunction to provide gas equilibrium and consistent velocity, a vertical feed port providing maximum feed rate, wrap around grips for positive control with double finger trigger allowing up to 10 shots per second, removable micro finished barrel ported and fluted for increased accuracy and noise reduction, and manual crossbolt trigger block for safety. Special features include an onyx drop forward for improved marker balance, increased cylinder clearance, and compact profile. Along with the onyx drop forward is an adjustable regulator and a micro gauge.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader Surge is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Unregistered User Sunday, April 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Variety of cheap semis
Marker Setup: Viewloader Surge, 20oz CO2, Armson SSR barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
12V Hopper, decent barrel
Strengths: Feels pretty solid, nice grips. The double trigger is a bit long, but works well. Vertical feed, volumizer and expansion chamber work pretty well too.

It fires consistently well, pretty fast and quite accurately. The stock barrel is not too bad, but its worth upgrading for two reasons: 1st) Its too short 2nd) It has a small bore, so if you are using the wrong size paintballs you will get some barrel breaks. Very efficient on CO2.
Weaknesses: So far I've had no complaints except for the barrel breaks which I had initially. Once I'd upgraded the barrel (and paid more attention to the size match between barrel and paint) I had very (very) few breaks.
Conclusion: All in all, a great marker to begin with... and perfectly fine even for semi-serious recball games. Obviously it won't compete with an Angel at tournament level, but for the price you get a very decent marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't used much...
Marker Setup: Out of the Box.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Custom Barrel (I'd like to get the viewloader barrel specifically made from viewloader. I read that I can get it at Wal-mart, but they only had a shelf that said custom barrel and they were out.)
Strengths: I've only played paintball twice, once with the gun, but here it goes...

-The package deal is great for beginners. I usually see the gun go for about $160 dollors on it's own. Without some sort of CO2 regulator, I got for $190 the gun, barrel plug, squeege (it stinks though), 200 round hopper, 9oz CO2 tank, and a tinted, fog resistent mask.

-Built in expansion chamber / foregrip
-Very few plastic parts.
-Awesome grip
-uses very little CO2 (shot 500 rounds and people claim it's not even half empty on a 9oz tank
-Accurate even with the stock barrel
-Double Trigger
-Beaver tail
-Breaks very little good paint. (Cheap paint breaks easily. Broke 1/about 500 last time I played.)
-Laser Chamoflague swirl hides the gun.
-Uncocks when paint breaks, or if something else is wrong. (not sure if all guns do that or not.)
Weaknesses: The sight rail is useless due to the vertical feed. My friends say that you should aim down the side of the barrel anyway, so it's not that bad. Also, it supposed to fit Spyder barrels, but they are too loose and do not fit the gun.
Conclusion: I think it is a great gun for beginners. Once I figured out how exactly to play paintball (like figureing out that you can't hit anything behind a bush) I started to go great with it. Two stories..

A couple of guys played a 3/3 game. 2 of the guys playing were really good, and one was on my team, explaining tatics. I decided to advance very quickly, and never stayed in the same place for long, to keep my location hidden. I knocked out two of my enemies, the third (the other good player) I almost hit three times before he got me. He then ran out of ammo aginst the other two using a 45 round hopper. (he said it was for conservation of painballs.)

Later that day, we played a free for all game. Our field was at a one of the guys house, where he owned a field with many trees and a beach. One guy hid out by the beach, where I saw I could get him later from behind just about anything. Everyone else I had no idea. One was behind a tree near me. After about 8 minutes of waiting, I went out to find the other player and get the one at the beach. I saw two of the player out, one ran out of ammo, the other CO2. As I walk ed around the field, I saw another walk out. Just two to go. They were duking it out. Me and the beach guy knocked out the other, and I went after the beach guy. We ran into open field and shot like crazy. I go him on the leg.

All in all, this is a great gun that has served me well. I recommend it to anyone. Also, from other read review, it seems that viewloader is making up the bad brass egale marker name. GET THIS GUN! It's worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tippmanns, lots of damn blowbacks...
Marker Setup: Spyder SE
Dye 14" Boomstick
CMI R-2000 Regulator
Hogue Grips
High-Speed Loader(I made it with a really fast motor :P)
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel, motorized hopper
Strengths: ok. so. My friend got one of these for his birthday because he wanted to try paintball about 5 months ago. He played with me at a local field and he did great, and fell in love with paintball. Anyway, thats beside the point.

He's on my team now and is a great addition. This gun has great accuracy when it works, and has a unique yet great bolt design. The trigger isn't the lightest in the world, but it's easy to keep cranking on it. If you learn the trigger it shoots pretty fast. It's also very consistent most of the time, about +5 or -5 average. Another good feature, especially for my friend(he is weak) is it's light as hell, and small depending on the setup. Good grips on it.
Weaknesses: now i would like to say that this gun has its great features and its great drawbacks. I recommend a rev or other motorized hopper. Not because of a high rate of fire, but the vert feed allows to much ball blowback when it recocks, making it chop balls like a mofo. The valve assembly is faulty, and screws up often. I am the tech and captain of my team, and it is annoying to have to mess with the valve every couple of days. But that was a rare problem, when its clean, your kicking ass.
Conclusion: A good buy for a beginner
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tippmanns, Rebels, and Piranha's
Marker Setup: Halo Hopper (black), 68 ci 3000 psi nitrogen tank, Strorm electric frame, 8 stage expansion chamber, JT 2 piece barrel 14'', Bob Long Cyclone Bolt III, and Diablo Hellfire paintballs.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Motorized hopper, good size CO2 and barrel and although it costs big money get compressed air! It runs like a dream on compressed air trust me!
Strengths: It is accurate, it is quiet, it has a great range, and it makes BE haters change there mind about the Genisis markers I personnaly love this marker and would recommend it to anyone!
Weaknesses: It occasionally breaks a ball it is'nt easy to turn this marker to a Tourny marker, and not enough people these days own one. It has a terrible stock barrel and does'nt run well on CO2.
Conclusion: My conclusion is get this marker! It is good for any kinda of player from a rental gun for a pure newbie all the way to the NPPL. I recommend this marker to any one! If you have the money now go get it! If you don't have the money now start savin!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder ?, PMI ?
Marker Setup: 200 round hopper with 20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing some people say it needs a new barrel but i think the one on it is just fine!
Strengths: Everything! Shoots at a very fast rate and you can easily reach 8 shot a second and the drop forward is awsome. There are so many things good about this gun i would run out of room or time so i will stop at this, if i could i would give this gun a 12 out of 10 but thats impossable!
Weaknesses: Nothing, nota, zilch, but it does break bad paint like brass e. and viewloader paint because those brands of paintballs suck more than a rednecks sister.
Conclusion: Buy this gun now it is the shiz, and if you think it is to much money be jewish and pick up some coins of the ground and start saving like me!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder one
Marker Setup: Genesis Surge DF and a CP 14" barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
---A custom barrel
Strengths: ---Great weight; well balanced
---Fairly accurate with stock barrel
---Great looks
---Vertical feeder
Weaknesses: ---Trigger pull is a little long
---Sight rail is useless due to vertical feed
---A little loud (my friend says it sounds like an M-16!)
Conclusion: Overall this is a great gun. I think it's great for people with little to no expirience but it can also be good for people with a little more expirience. Can be a little pricey at first but it is well worth it! Go get it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Stingray I got a way better gun but it aint brass eagle
Marker Setup: How can i tell when i dont have the gun :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrle and a trigger job
Strengths: The gun is pretiy accurate with the stock

I think shoots pretiy fast

Vert Feed

comes with an elbow :)

Light and well balaced (if you think its heavy start liften weights weaklings)

good for noobs
Weaknesses: Sux in the cold

Trigger Pull is to long

Hard to find I barrle for it over here in NJ

if you buy cheap paintballs like zap It breaks like 5 out of 10
Conclusion: This gun is pretiy good I like it buy it now!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Genesis Surge with 20 oz. anti-siphon tank, 12v Veiwloader motorized hopper, and 12 in. custom barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a custom barrel and 12 volt hopper. This set-up will greatly improve accuracy and provide consistant feed when shooting rapidly.
Strengths: For the cost ( I paid $ 140. for just the gun) the gun has a sturdy construction, good balance, and functioned reliably without any modifications. Spyder threading makes it real easy to find a custom barrel to fit this gun. The camo/ splash patterned finish looks really good . I 've looked around and camo finishes are pretty hard to find
Weaknesses: The gun cannot be quickly field stripped. Field stripping requires two hex keys. Because of the height of the sear electronic trigger frames readily available for Spyders won't work with the Genesis.
Conclusion: The Genesis is good marker at a reasonable price. With the set-up I have described above you will get fast, accurate, and reliable performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
gt-2000, spyder compac, jt excellerator 3
Marker Setup: 14" barrel, rest is standard
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, but the stock one isnt horrible
Strengths: the drop forward is really nice for controlling pressure and balancing the gun. the grip is really comfortable and the double trigger is nice, although it has a long pull. it shoots straight and is reliable. the only time i break a ball is when i have up my fps too high by accident. it's a light gun, yet its study.
Weaknesses: it could use better verticle feed, and some barrels dont fit all the way in it, which causes shaking loose. the gun isnt very quiet, but it's not really loud either. the stock barrel is good for close combat, but i would definitly recommend a longer/nicer barrel otherwise.
Conclusion: good, solid gun with nice add-ons that come as standard. this gun can hang with just about anything, if you use it the right way =].
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HOLY][ce Sunday, February 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: a Genesis Surge out of the package
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
Strengths: It shoots straight if u use good paint. I use Sheridan Visible Impacts and have broken a single one out of 500. U can get about 350 shots from a 9oz Co2 container. I don't know if thats good or not, but I'm happy with it. The color iz pretty good in the bush. The rubber grip is good.
Weaknesses: This thing is nearly impossible to field strip. It does shoot straight, but not really far. Other then that, this gun is great.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for begginers like me. When u get a new barrel, u are a force to be reckoned with! This is just an all around good gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media