paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Bob Long Torpedo Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Maximum input(psi): 900
Output range(psi): 200-600
Gas type: N2/HPA or CO2
Does not come with it's own gauge, the gauge measures output psi. Gauge should be mounted on side where the spring can not be seen. Threading is 1/8" female and is a ASA vertical. Comes in Nickel or Black. Nickel usually costs more.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Torpedo Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
KalynSS999 Friday, March 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
- WGP Standard Regulator
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP Vertical Feed Autococker
- WGP Pump Kit w/ Hitmen Mod
- CP Unimount

Invert Mini
- VL VLocity Jr. w/ Virtue Chip
- NDZ V3 Bolt and spring Kit

- 11 piece Empire Barrel kit
- Crossfire 45/4500
Strengths: - Very consistent
- Very Durable
- Simple looks yet great
Weaknesses: - Honestly none that I can think of
Review: I bought this regulator used off of a forum. Honestly, it has never failed me. I've had to lube it once or twice over the time i've owned it. I have this on my sniper and I have never had to adjust it. It is very consistent.

It has a gauge port which lots of regulators don't. (I don't use it, but its nice to know its there for those of you that want a gauge) WGP regulator did not have this

It is the perfect size for me. It fits great in your hand when you're playing. Gives you a good fore grip to control you gun. The WGP regulator was considerably smaller.

If it needs any adjustment, the adjustment screw is on the bottom, and easy to get to. You don't have to remove the macroline to adjust it, unlike the WGP. (Bought it thinking I was going to have to adjust it a lot which I didn't.

Conclusion: I don't believe that this regulator is for retail sale anymore. You'll have to pick it up used. But if you can get your hands on one, (they go quick, usually around 35-40) its a great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dpg3 Wednesday, February 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: diablo ar-1
ricochet apache hopper
pure energy 48/3000
Strengths: Light
good feel

Weaknesses: (None)
Review: This is a fairly good regulator but there are definently better ones. It came stock on my diablo ar-1 and was pretty good but it got all messed up for some reason, I have no idea why but I cleaned and lubed it and it works fine now. I really like the feel on it, this makes it so easy to walk the trigger.
Conclusion: It's okay, there are better
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 26th, 2009 at 5:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Agitator Saturday, October 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock dragun reg (yuck)
another stock dragun reg but different... pretty good
Palmers reg... prob'ly better than this one
Marker Setup: 2k2 timmy, was 2.9, st ram+cap, evil detonator hpr, freak kit, 88/45 crossy, vlocity, empire on/off with empire rail, hybrid grips.

2k3 dragun 275 psi blowback, ricochet apache, tornado valve, t1 va, uncapped lcd board, "bouncy" eyes, psychoballistics z-drop, palmer stabilizer, cip bolt, polished internals (lol).
Strengths: Price
Cust. service
Looks
Co2 compatible
Availability
Weaknesses: Gave me problems
Air inlet location
Resale value
Gave me problems
Review: I bought this reg ('05 version). It was great at first. The gauge port plug was hard to remove . If you get this reg, just heat it with a hair dryer and get the right size allen wrench and force the plug out.

I started to have creeping problems. I lubed it a lot and they still happened. Blast sent me a free rebuild kit, which fixed the reg. I then traded it for something else, since I didn't like the air inlet (gets in teh way of ur hand). I also didn't want to have more problems with it in the future. The gauge port is nice, but the gauge gets in the way of your hand. THe port is good for checking pressure.. then degas and remove the gauge and re-install the plug they give you.

I'd avoid this reg in the future due to the problems myself and many others have had.

blast (bob long tech) gets an A++ in my book for helping me so much.
The reg looks nice.
Conclusion: Wouldn't buy again. Good for someone not wanting to spend a lot and trying to go lp with a low end blowback. I wouldn't recommend buying this reg new. They're a lot cheaper used.
Even though I maintained this reg very well, it gave me problems.

7/10 due to problems during regular use.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Spinal Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None really. Unless a tank reg counts.
Marker Setup: Fully upped Spyder Pilot, Evo2 w/ Z-board, JT 50/3000, Empire 7pc kit
Strengths: Inexpensive
Consistent
Easy to maintain
Looks good
Weaknesses: Aside from no manual, none.
Review: For the price (around $60 new) this reg is awsome. They can be picked up used as low as $30. For that price one cannot go wrong with purchasing it. It is just as consistent as any reg out there it has 2 spots to put a gauge/plug and its not that big in size. As for cleaning it, in unscrews into 2 pieces and its fairly self explanitory from there. Also another benefit is that this reg has no problems using CO2 like some other regs may have, and that is always a plus. When I was at the chronograph the reg kept a good +/- 4fps in different so that was quite impressive.

Conclusion: Consistent, cheap price, easy to maintain and with the Bob Long name, it is a quality product. I'd reccommend this reg to anyone who is in the market for one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 16th, 2006 at 10:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

monkeytroy Monday, July 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock regs.
Marker Setup: 2003 Vertical Feed AutoCocker
Smart Parts Freak Kit.
Bob Long Torpedo Reg
Crossfire 4500 psi N2 Tank
Old-school ViewLoader Revolution! Oh yea!
Strengths: None yet.
Weaknesses: Manufacturing flaw that appears to cause major inconsistancy if not resolved.
Review: I have had this regulator for a little over a year now. When I first bought my cocker I was told that the first two things I should upgrade were the barrel and the regulator. So I reviewed barrels and decided on a Lapco barrel. The Big Shot. Reviews on it were good, the price was right and some articles I read suggested that the style of the porting and the large bore of the barrel would not affect the accuracy or consistency.

Shortly after, I went to my local shop to look for a reg and they suggested the Bob Long Torpedo. The suggestion they gave me was, I believe, partly due to the price ( I didn't have a lot to spend on one) and partly because I think they were trying to off-load this particular unit. I really should have brought it back to the store because I suspected, looking at it when I got home, that it was used. I figured no biggie as long as it works though and kept it.

In the year that I have had this reg I have only played about 7 or 8 times. Since the two upgrades my accuracy and velocity consistency has been crap. I mean real crap. Total crap. I am bouncing from 285 down to 240 or worse.

Several people suggested that this was due to my barrel's large bore size. So recently I upgraded my barrel to the Freak Jr. Kit. While my shot accuracy has gone way up, the velocity is still dipping horribly.

I went out today and read everything I could find on this regulator. I found that, for example in these reviews, there is about 1 in 10 or 12 people that think this reg sucks... while the other 95% think it rocks! My assumption then is that some people, like me, just got a bum reg.

I opened it up tonight and gave the internals the once over. Turns out, as indicated in another posting here, that the larger spring in the lower half of the reg has some burs on the side of it. It has scraped the inside of the casing and is causing the lower half to hitch in that one spot.

I took it apart tonight and filed down the burs, re greased it and put it all back together. When I am at my field next I will test out the shot consistency and I expect it to be greatly improved. If not, I'm gonna have to buy another reg.
Conclusion: I would say that there ARE some of these regs with some manufacturing flaws in them. If you are unlucky enough to be in the 4-5% of those that have issues like this, then return it, replace the spring, file it.. whatever. I find it hard to believe that 95% of the people give this reg a 9 or 10 rating if it's not worth it. So, I give it a 5 for now because I know it is capable of working nicely and that I just got a bum piece. The question is.. can it be fixed or should just be trashed?
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 10th, 2006 at 10:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bunkerking1337 Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Maxflo Reg
Dye Reg
Marker Setup: BL 2005 Ripper
Blue Halo B loader
CP Uni mount II
CP adjustable ram cap
45/45k Crossfire HPA tank
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I've owned two of these regs so far and I have loved both very much. At first I was having some problems with my torpedo's but after they were broken in they were easily able to keep up with my Alias and Ripper with little to no shoot down. The only problem I have with the Torpedo is were the inlet hole is. The inlet hole is very high up on the reg. This causes a problem when you have to install the elbow or take off the reg because the elbow gets in the way of the grip frame. It not a big deal its just a pain to have to take the grip frame off of the body every time you want to take off the whole reg. This is probably only a problem with the Intimidator other guns may not have the same problem. It depends on what gun you have and how close the reg is to the trigger frame.

Strengths
Looks nice
Fast recharge rate
They're reliable

Weaknesses

The inlet hole is very high on the reg so this causes a problem when you have to install the elbow or take off the reg because the elbow gets in the way of the grip frame.
Conclusion: This is by far one of the best regs out there on the market. I have owned two of them and I love both. They have a fast recharge rate, they're reliable and look pretty nice too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xorillaxrectax Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Ion With Alot Of Ups
Alias
Strengths: Light, Never Fails, Always Consisent
Weaknesses: What The Elbow Sets Up At. Always In My Hands Way
Review: I Love this reg. Its just like a cp but a little cheaper. works really well and has never faild me. easy to clean and not awhole lot to worry about. Its on one of the best guns ever made and those are timmys. that has to say something. I recmomend this reg to anyone looking to add style and better performance to there marker.
Conclusion: Get It
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alk1979 Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock regulator from my Electra Dx
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra DX
Viewloader Evlution II
Bob long torpedo
Phycoballistics long drop
steel braided line
bored stock vertical adapter
bored and modded stock valve pin and body
removed venturi from stock bolt
32* light main light valve springs
14" evil pipe kit
PMI 48/3000
460 psi / 290 fps
Strengths: Hose fittings left and right
guage fits left over fitting

Weaknesses: Doesn't ship with an allen wrench
Should come with guage
Review: I bought this regulator to take my spyder low pressure. The regulator seems to be very quick and stable. It comes with a plug in one of the hose/guage holes.the hose can be hooked up left or right side on my Electra DX ,I suppose all vertical adapter threads are the same length but if they are not maybe your hook ups will be front and back.

The regulator adjustment is on the underside of the unit and its an inset Allen head.I think for the cost of the regulator they could have shipped an allen wrench with it to make adjustments but I guess most people installing this do have there own tools.
Conclusion: I recommend you buy this if you are shooting less then 600psi. It seems to be of an average price and it does what its supposed to very well on my setup.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

service Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
OEM Spyder Regulator (if you can consider that pos a regulator)
Marker Setup: E-99
Lightening bolt mod (inc. polishing)
J&J 14" SS Barrel
Egg2 Hopper
Heavy Bolt Spring(at weakest setting on marker adjustment/all the way out)
Drilled out stock expansion valve
3500 psi high pressure setup w/ remote kit
Strengths: Rigid construction, very good quality, highly consistent, nice grip.
Weaknesses: Ports are offset differently and in a uncomfortable location.
Review: After recieving this on ebay(~$40 usd) I was impressed with the rigid/solid feel of this. Upon close inspection the internals appear simple(less to go wrong), and the quality appeared to be very good. At first I was not sure if the internal spring would be able to hold up to the pressure, although after I installed it and pressurized it there were no problems.

After installation I also found that the air inlet ports do not line up where the crappy OEM regulator did (used a makeshift washer as a spacer to get it to line up at a decent location). Also I'm lucky I had a remote kit to attach to the regulator, because the threading and port location of the regulator was radically different than that of the OEM (you would need a new line or thread convertor w/ a 90 degree bend(see pictures) and approximate 2 additional inches of line).

In the morning when I went to chrono, the regulator was very responsive to slight angular changes in the adjustment grub screw. After having installed the heavy bolt spring a week earlier I was clocking noticeable speed variances with every shot. After installing this beautiful regulator, the shots were consistent every time(only took three shots).

Dialing in the fps to 280 took very little effort, although an allen key was needed. I would have preferred a click-lock end knob on the bottom with a rotating numbered ring. This would allow me to perform field adjustments when needed (wink wink) w/o the use of a key. And it would let me zero in the speed with less tools(want to neither rely on the field to have the right tools, nor do I want to carry them).

Used it all day(fired off about 750 shots) and achieved two huge benifits;
1) Kept the balls traveling at an extremely consistent trajectory/speed
2) Saved a freaking ton of air(I usually would have had to refill)

Conclusion: This is by far the 2nd/3rd best mod I've ever done(but really each component works together), the vertical accuracy is simply incredible with this regulator.

I am not giving a 10 simply because of the minor (asthetic/discomfort) fitment issue, and the said improvements that I would have liked to have seen. I would still highly recommend this to anybody looking for a quality regulator at a reasonable price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

senghing27 Friday, January 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP reg-better at consitancy, but not so much more
PMI-crap, literally a gas through
Marker Setup: Turtle Autococker
Eblade1 1.06
Nexus Ram
Planet Eclipse QEV's
Orracle Tickler LPR
J&J Ceramic 12"+Dye excel 14"
-or-
CCI VSC Phantom
Roin Gear elite stock class harness

Strengths: Looks
Gauge hole standard
Consitant
Reliable
Weaknesses: Looks
Review: Well its regulator. We all know what it does... Enough said there.
But. here are some aspects of it.
It's very consitant, +/-5 even better sometimes
has two holes for mounting the fittings. So use one, and cap it off or throw a gauge on.
Easy to mantain. Just wipe it down, lube, and reassemble

Now, looks may be a downside, it loooks hideous on some guns, it just does. But on others, it works fine. But overall, performance>looks
Conclusion: Great item, well built.
Bob Long wouldn't throw these stock on millions of Timmies if it were crap now, would he??
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media