paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Bob Long Torpedo Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Maximum input(psi): 900
Output range(psi): 200-600
Gas type: N2/HPA or CO2
Does not come with it's own gauge, the gauge measures output psi. Gauge should be mounted on side where the spring can not be seen. Threading is 1/8" female and is a ASA vertical. Comes in Nickel or Black. Nickel usually costs more.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Torpedo Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
0_Jester_0 Sunday, December 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
aka sidewinder
Marker Setup: Evil pimp gold/black fade
halo w/ rip
delrin trigger

2004 vertical feed cocker
egg
crossfire 68/45
dye boomstick 14"
aka sidewinder
shocktech super fly bolt
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: everything( I will explain)
Review: Alright, well i bought this regulator from 888 paintball. I put it on my cocker it acually made everything worse, it needed to be rebuilt-keep in mind brand new never been used. So i was like whatever and decided to deal with it and take it to my local shop have them deal with it i don't feel like it. So they put 2 different rebuild kits in and it didnt work, and then they gutted a brand new torpedo reg and put that in and it still didnt work-By this time I'm very pissed. Now the guy fixing it calls me about 3 weeks latrer and is so pissed he's cussing at me(acually quite halarious if you ask me) so they sent it in to national paintball- they couldn't fix it and this is about the time that blast bob long fixing place wasn't well known by the people they sent it there. THEY COULD NOT FIX IT! they must have had the worst customer service in the world if they cannot fix one of there onw products and on top of that didnt replace it they gave it back to me un-fixed or replaced.

Now that has got to be the WORST cosumer service in the world and you cant say it's nto under warrenty cause you dont get a warrenty sheet to fill out. So the people who i sent to fix it just gave me a sidewinder reg and it regulates beutifly very good regulator spend the extra 20$ and buy one instead of a torpedo. Now i hate bob long even more then I did befor
Conclusion: NO! DO NOT BUY THIS PART I know what happened to me is BS but it could happen to you so i wouldnt buy it. I'm not saying it's bad but if somethign goes wrong they will keep it for like 6 months and not replace it horrible comstumer service.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

AznRevlAzn Wednesday, November 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS GX style regulator
Marker Setup: Psychoballistics Super Bolt
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator Chrome
32 Degreees Macro Line twin right elbow kit
Halo B w/ Rip Drive and Z-Board
32 Degrees Carbon Fiber Barrel 14"
PMI PureEnergy HPA Tank 88ci 4500psi
Smart Parts Bottle Armor
Teflon to further seal the threads
New Designz Micro Rail Combo
Slik Lite Cocking Kit
CCM STO NoPro Chrome Feedneck
Strengths: Can be used has LP or HP in a marker
Always constant
Very hardy
Weaknesses: Chrome version is not quite "chrome" if you know what I mean
Review: Ok so i got this bad boy off ebay from map_paintball and i couldn't believe it, 31 bucks plus shipping was a miracle and a hell of a bargain. So i recieved it and there it be my holy Torpedo (get your mind out of the gutter :P)

So i ripped open the postal packaging and finally the product packaging. As usual with all paintball products it was a close lock packaging so you just have to pull it apart and bam, there your product ready to use.

The products comes as a whole item instead of the usual extra screw or o-rings ans etc. The Item was like a plug in play. Buy it, open it, plug it in, bam your done. It was that easy for me. The lightning bolt design on the reg fit perfectly with my gun because there are there random lightning bolt designs on my gun :P

The regulator is very easy to take apart, twist off the bottem, tap it sot he seal comes out, and ever so carfully use a screw driver on the valve pin to disassemble. It's very easy but would not recommend it to the inexperienced.

Now, I went to my local Paintball shop where my cousin knows a guy, Jim, i forgot the places name, i'll re-edit this review for the store. Great small store and very friendly customer service.

So I got the 32 degrees macroline kit, plugged it, and played with it. Timing the gun was a female dog and a half but well worth it. This regulator is so consistant i fool you not. I was shooting the fence and the grouping was 3 -4 inches from 50ft away and this was all on CO2.

But the sad thing though is the regulators is not quite chrome. Well you see, Bob used a different type of metal, kinda like a mix of Tin and Brass and maybe Steel. It was shiny alright but not a chrome color, wasn't angel silvery at all like the other parts of my gun.

And heres my cocker porn:
http://l2concept.nrgservers.net/psychoballistics/psychoballi
stics_super_bolt_5.JPG
http://l2concept.nrgservers.net/psychoballistics/psychoballi
stics_super_bolt_6.JPG
Conclusion: I higly recommend this product, even if it aint "perfectly" chrome. It's very constant, keeps a constant charge, and hell, it's a Bob Long baby, GO FOR IT! I DEMAND YOU!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 20th, 2005 at 7:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderp8balla Sunday, July 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A few stock regs on various guns
Marker Setup: E99 Avant with:
>Crossfire tank
>Egg II
>14in SP Teardrop
>Kingman ACS Delrin Bolt
>Bob Long Torpedo
>Dye Stickies
>Shocktech Blade Trigger
>DOP Drop
>Shockteck Spring Kit
>Macroline
>NDZ HP Valve
Strengths: >Consistent
>Looks good
>Guage Port
>Price
>Works with CO2 and N2
>Sturdy construction
>Easily strippable
Weaknesses: >Air inlet on the side (personal preference)
>Max 600PSI
Review: Well, all I can say about this reg is just "Wow". This is an awesome reg for pretty much any gun that runs under 600PSI. Using N2 with my Spyder, I chronoed my gun and got great results. I got +/-3 over the chrono! Besides consistency, this reg simply looks good. With its sturdy construction, looks, and consistency, it is one of the best and reliable regs I've used. It also has the feature of CO2 compatible, so you dont have to blow all this money on HPA to use it, even though HPA is worth it. There's a few negative things about this though. I couldn't just put this on my Spyder right away. I needed higher flowing internals so I could lower my pressure, low enough so I could use my torp. So if you have a blowback, you're going to need to mod/buy aftermarket internals that have more flow. Also, the air inlet is on the side, rather than the bottom. Where the air inlet hole is, is really personal preference, and I hapened to not like that spot.
Conclusion: All in all, this is a great reg. Don't let the 2 negatives turn you away from this product. Newer ones are $50, so there's no reason not to pick up this reg.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 27th, 2005 at 7:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rammstein187 Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 04' Spyder Imagine, Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward, New Designz clamping Feed Neck,14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, Snap Dragon Magno Trigger, ACS Delrin bolt, Dye E-spyder Stickies grips, ricochet apache, 50G switch, CIP Assault Block, Bob Long Torp, 68ci 3000psi crossfire tank.
Strengths: Pretty consistant
Works with co2 or N2
Looks nice
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I ordered this reg online and got it a few days later. When i put it on the only problem I had was that I followed the info in the description that said put a gauge in the hole where the spring can be seen, but if i do that i just send unregualated air into the gun. I switched that around and got it working right, and it has worked great since. The reg is pretty consistant, and it looks pretty nice with the new design.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this reg to anyone that wants a good reg without spending too much money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

JGAC Tuesday, June 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Max-Flo - better (depends on how well maintained)
CP Reg - better
Marker Setup: I did have:

FBM Spyder Teardrop Body
Smart Parts Teardrop 14" barrel
Check It Products Assault block w/ Bob Long Mini Guage
Check It Products Sweetspot Trigger
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
Kingman E-Frame
Scenario Dreams T-Board w/ break beam eyes
DYE Sticky Grips
Otterized Internals

12v Revvy
45/4500
Strengths: Great regulator for the price used, comes on Intimidators, common upgrade on many many markers.
Weaknesses: Colors, black or chrome only. Output is stopped at 600
Review: I bought this reg becuase of its durability on both CO2 and on N2/AIR so I could use both. I also bought it in chrome since it matched my assault block, and oh boy did it look nice.

Once broken in it performed well, keeping me in a range of +/- 10 at most times and it got worse with co2 when shooting fast, but it kept up well and stayed within the limit.

Looks well, has a guage mount, easy to maintain.
Conclusion: I recomend this to anyone who's gun doesnt come with a regulator or has a spyder. Other than that, you want an increased recharge rate

8 because commonly found used, great performers for price, and looks great depending on accessories.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IUBushido Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye hyper reg
testing a few others, will post those reviews later
Marker Setup: Here we go
03 Dye Reflex Autococker
Halo B w/ Rip drive (blue)
12'' Blue Evil Pipe kit (excellent system, highly recommended)
3ds Litestik bolt (2nd generation, smooth as silk)
CCM Delrin back block
Shocktech FGP regulator (awesome)
Eclipse Ram w/ QEV's ( a must for e-cockers)
E-Blade trigger and solenoid (E-1, has a few kinks but overall very good)
Bob Long Torpedo Reg w/ Centerflag gauge (see review body)
Eclipse Supercharger vavle
Nelson hammer and valve springs
Jackal Str8-line pump arm
Eclipse SS hammer with Rex Dialer
Dead on Paintball Bullet drop (perfect possitioning for 68-72ci tanks)
68ci 4500psi Nitro Duck Plasma tank
70ci 4500psi Worr Gas
Dye Rhino cover (blue, best tank cover, and very sexy too!)
Strengths: Adjustabe pressure
Doesn't creep
Drilled for guage (unlike dye hyper reg)
Decently comfortable grip
Weaknesses: Recharge rate
Poor consistancy (becuase of recharge rate)
Review: This reg has a bad recharge rate, plain and simple. If you plan on shooting more than 5-6 pb/s then look for a better reg. That's really all there is to it. If you set the reg at 250psi and your tank output pressure is set at 800-850psi there shouldn't be too much recharge time right, wrong. While waking the trigger I would watch the gauge and it would start at 250psi and after I started shooting the gauge would drop to about 200psi and stay right around there, that's horrible in my opinion. I tested that over a chrono and it translated to a 70fps drop from 285-215fps. That's very bad if you really need to get a guy out and your shots drop instead of hitting him.
Conclusion: If you need to get a reg a don't have one this reg isn't a bad starting spot. If you are obsessed with perfection (like me) don't get this reg, there a better ones out there. I give it a 6 because it does its job, doesn't creep on you (increase pressure in the reg above set pressure), but has a horrible recharge rate (somewhere around a second or more). So overall it isn't perfect, but nothing is, but this is further away from perfect than I find acceptable, and wouldn't recommend it to those serious about getting the most out of there gun.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 7th, 2005 at 5:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

penguin lover Tuesday, April 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
cp reg,stock reg
Marker Setup: Dragun tes red/black,cp one piece classic barrel,cp lighing drop,cp on/off intimidator reg,derilon bolt,t- board,clampinging feed neck,halo b,92/4500 crossfire
Strengths: Consistant,cool lookin
Weaknesses: None
Review: This was probably one of the best upgrades that i ever got for my gun because my gun got more consistant and plus i got it for free from my freind he got a reg for his empire timmy so i was happy, but this is the best reg i used my stock one stinked it went from 247 to 274 so it was all messed up.
Conclusion: I love and u will love it to
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

importknight Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
fenix reg (nothin special)
Marker Setup: imagine 2k4, freak jr , halo backman, stock bolt removed venturi, drilled va, dye stickys, 72ci nitro, tons more to lazy to name em look at my sig for pis there just from before i got the bob long so ull have to bear with me till i make more.
Strengths: Easy to install ,easy to use , works great ,awsome looks , very cheap.
Weaknesses: O i wish it had higher psi even though mines at 375.
Review: As soon as i got this i screwed it on put the macroline put the guage on it went out back and started with the pressure all the way down meaning the botttom screw was farther out. to raise u just simply screw it in and watch as ur psi rise i would reccomend a guage. My guns almost all Low Pressure except for my valve (saving up maddman). back to the review i went out back took a couple of shots like around 40 and was set perfectly at my pressure of 375 i did have to raise my velocity because i got a very light spring int the gun.
Conclusion: Buy this reg it is the best in my opinion!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder_king06 Thursday, February 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Reg.
Marker Setup: BKO, CCM clamping feedneck, 14" evil driver, supa fly, BL trop, Kapp Med drop w/on/off, eggy, PE 68/3000.
Strengths: Looks Nice
Consistant
Inexpensive
Good Quality
Weaknesses: Macro line fitting on the side (rather than bottom)
Review: This is an amazing reg. It has been very consistant on both my Spyder and on my bko. I have been hitting +/- 5 fps on my spyder with the Torp which is pretty good. On my i'll hit the same fps almost all the time.

The only thing I dont like is how the macro fitting is on the side rather than on the bottom. But you get used to it after playing with it for a while. Other than that no complaints at all.

This reg is very nice. I love it. Definatly worth the money. Good buy, and a great product from Bob Long.
Conclusion: Definatly worth the money. I love it.

Go buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JD-Fuel Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DOP Reg
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics Lightning:
32 Degrees Duckbill
Bob Long Torpedo
PMI 48ci Nitro Tank
Empire II reloader
Macroline
Strengths: Low Pressure System
Gauge Screw (optional gauge on reg)
Small
Sturdy as hell
Weaknesses: None....at all
Review: Ok so I just bought my new rocking Psycho Ballistics Lightning and I needed a reg so...the guy told me the only reg that would fit they had was a torpedo (which I know wasnt true they had a psycho ballistics reg right there) but anyways I wanted to check it out so he show me and tells me all the stuff about it...I really didnt know regs were that high stantard now. Anyways it didnt seem like anything else could compete with it except for its price (60 bucks lol). So I bought it thinking low pressure expansion chamber AND and reg on the autococker would be crazy! It ended up....IT WAS! The only part that really effects my FPS is my piece of crap stock barrel.
Conclusion: Very good on any gun that uses nitro! Dunno what it does for CO2. It will improve anything you slap it on. I recommend a macroline for it instead of steel braided. I think its the best reg out there. I dont think theres any with low pressure systems at least. Buy for any kinda gun you want especially if you coverting to nitro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media