paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Bob Long Torpedo Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Maximum input(psi): 900
Output range(psi): 200-600
Gas type: N2/HPA or CO2
Does not come with it's own gauge, the gauge measures output psi. Gauge should be mounted on side where the spring can not be seen. Threading is 1/8" female and is a ASA vertical. Comes in Nickel or Black. Nickel usually costs more.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Torpedo Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
L337 krew Saturday, January 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ergo, more comfortable
Marker Setup: egg
68/3000 pure energy
1)Dragunfire, 16" demon, 12" teardrop, lapco drop, blue sprint frame, new version torpedo, milled so it looks like a timmy
2)some brass eagle thing
Strengths: Easy pressure adjustments, looks great, great consistency, gauge port
Weaknesses: Not to comfortable to hold
Review: great product, extremly easy to adjust the output pressure all you have to do is stick a allen wrech in the bottom and turn. i loved the gauge port, lets you see you output preesure not the input like some others, i have the new version adn it looks pretty sweet, it has a high pressure range making it great for lots of guns, and it cheaper than alot of other regs, and CO2 works pretty well with, my guns capped a 13 so im not hittin anywere near the rate the thing can go without shoot down:P
Conclusion: Great product, you can find them pretty cheap, i found mine in the trade forums here for 35 shipped
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

magnus_pyros Tuesday, November 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
j&j ceramic 14" , Bob Long torpedo
Shocktech Supafly bolt, Empire reloader
32 deg spring kit, Pyscho Ballistics drop
pure energy 48/3k
Strengths: Price, looks, it does work.
Weaknesses: Guage screw , adjustment screw
Review: I bought this regulator mainly due to price and the reviews i had seen. I got it, installed it, and tested it out. I first had to tighten the adjustment screw all the way in so it would close my valve and then if i tried to back it out , i found that it was crossthreaded (no biggie it had to be all in so i could use it). I bought a gauge to put in, but I COULD NOT GET THE SCREW TO BUDGE. I read that some people sent theirs in for replacement but i bent two allen wrenches and stripped the screw , ordered new reg waiting for it to arrive.
Conclusion: Decent product, i will not buy another one but you might have more luck than i did. Other than what i wrote it did perform for me nicely!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

drkstr740 Saturday, November 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cp reg
Marker Setup: Dark Timmy Frenzied, Cp reg, Reloader B, Check it on/off, Freak kit
Strengths: Good looks.
Weaknesses: Regulator quality inconsistent
Review: Within a week of purchase, the reg on my Dark Intimidator developed a groove causing it to break down. The same thing happened to my brother's Lasoya. Additionally, the regulator changes speed during play, +/- 1oo feet per second. The store i brought it from was willing to repair or replace it, but i was not willing to go back every day so i decided to buy a different reg.
Conclusion: If you are in the market for a regulator, don't buy this one.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

hugh jass103 Monday, October 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just the stock reg. on the fenix
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix
Bob Long torpedo reg
16" night stick barrel
new designs high performance valve
dead on products drop forward
ricochet ak hopper
and hopefully an acs bolt soon
Strengths: Good looking and fuctional
Weaknesses: It isn't that comfy
Review: I had purchased this reg as an upgrade and to start with i couldn't get the plug out of the hole to put a guage in it. this made me awfully mad but i returned it and asked them if they could get it out or give me another one. well leaving and then getting home and they called and said that they had gotten it out. they had another one in the store and it was the same way. but after i had bent allen wrenches to get it out i don't know how they did but they did. then after that everything went great. hooked up my macroline from drop forward to it and no leaks and got the operating pressure at about 500 psi because i don't buy the low pressure thing for a spyder. i can get around 1400-1500 shots out of a 20 oz and about 1000 out of a 68 3000 psi system. so gas efficiency is a lot better.
Conclusion: I have no problem with the reg other than a stubborn plug. other than that it is a great reg. go buy one if you want to be able to use co2 and compressed air.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KloudPB Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
My lousy ergo blew and another reg I had died, but I LOVE the torpedo.
Marker Setup: Cocker, OTP Barrel system, the awesome, low maintenance, and affordable torpedo reg, revvy and 47/3k.
Strengths: Easy to adjust, maintain, and attach. Excellent consistency.
Weaknesses: Air line connection is high up, but not a real big problem.
Review: Man, what else can I say? This is an awesome reg that you'll use forever on any gun you own. Great for spyders, tippmans, and cockers, as well as just about every high end gun you can think of. The thing looks great in either timmy black or sexy chrome and takes to macro line like a fat kid to cake. Easy to adjust via a bottom screw and a very short break in period make this reg one of my personal faves. If you need a reg for any marker set-up, look no further. This one comes with Bob Long's personal stamp of approval, which is good enough for me. Find one. Buy it. Love it. That's it.
Conclusion: Go buy this reg. I have yet to see anybody's go down and I know lots of players that use 'em. Get yours now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ergo reg-uncomfortable, not as consistent
Sidewinder: better quality, but Torp's still decent
Marker Setup: Unmilled WASd AKA Viking, Smoke Halo B, 45/45, St!ffi/Ultralite, CP stuff

VSC Phantom

But I used the Torp on my Timmy.
Strengths: Cheap
Easily adjustable
Looks cool
Easy to clean/disassemble
Weaknesses: None really...there are better regs out there, but not for the price.
Review: I used the Torpedo on my Timmy, on which it comes stock. It's a great reg; no shootdown/consistency issues, and gets even better after the break-in period, as with every reg. It's very easy to adjust, and as easy to disassemble and clean/rebuild.

There are only a few gripes I might have; namely, the output fitting is on the side, which makes it more uncomfortable than, say, a CP reg or a Sidewinder that has the fitting on the bottom...w/e. At least it's not as atrociously uncomfortable as the WGP Ergo reg, which is designed to be comfortable but ironically has the worst hose placement ever, and gets even worse when using a gauge.

Also on the Torpedo, you can only put the hose on one of the output holes, so that might pose a placement problem...but it should work with most guns.
Conclusion: A great affordable omnigas reg...there's a reason it comes stock on Timmies; it's one of the best.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pbkid39 Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP reg ( not bad )
Marker Setup: 2k3 WGP cocker w/ ups
Strengths: * Very cool looking
* Easily strippable
* Very consistent ( even with c02)
* Cheap
Weaknesses: I have yet to find any.
Review: The BL Torp. reg is an awsome reg for anyone who would want a cheap reg that works great with c02/ n2. My first few shots wit this reg were: 284-287 and it wasnt broken in yet. It usually takes I figure about 3000 shots to fully break it in. The lightning milling on this reg. is very cool looking. It is recommended that you lube the o-ring inside the reg before you use it so you'll need to know how to take it apart. Pretty simple, there's a place in the middle of the reg where it can separate in two. Inside, you should find an o-ring on the piston, lube this o-ring with some Dow 33 and then put the reg back together. If you need to adjust this reg, turning the screw at the bottom clockwise will result in a higher velocity and turning it counter- clockwise will result in a lower velocity.
Conclusion: This reg. is very good. Its a nice, cheap and consistent reg. Other alternatives would be, Palmer Stab., CP reg, Sidewinder, etc..
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 6th, 2004 at 2:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

timmyfreaker Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock outkast reg
Stock Spyder reg
Palmer stabilizer
VIgilante
Marker Setup: 2k2 Intimidator
Freak Barrel kit
88/4500 crossfire stubby
47/3k pmi
Custom dual battery Halo B
CP adjustable ram cap
Strengths: Fast recharge rate
Consistant
Variety of available pressured
Weaknesses: New non-coded springs arent as good as the old orange ones
Review: I first bought one for my intimidator, then bought another one for my spyder. The intimidator one worked fine, but the spyder one didnt. It would creep and my velocity would be pretty screwy. Turns out that the bad one had a silver spring and the good one had orange. I called up blast and they sent me a new spring immediatly. Now I have 2 perfect torpedo regs. They take both HPA and CO2, which is perfect for my spyder(although I would recomend a/sing your CO2, especially if youre using any reg).
Conclusion: Definately worth the money, but only get it if your marker runs under 600 psi.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder freek Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pmi inline (worse) Palmers (better with co2)
Marker Setup: blue Spyder victor body
Cp 1 piece barrel
Ans feedneck
black raised sight rail
Supa Fly delren bolt
Dark horizon Ti hammer
Rocket Valve
Assault block
Torp reg set at 230psi 300fps
steel hose
Physco Drop forward
Ipi 2.0 Esp frame
dye gen 3 stickies
check it sweetspot trigger 1mm pull
25g switch
empire reloader
pmi 72ci 3k
Strengths: Sleek
regulates
fairly consistant
low pressure
Weaknesses: Terrible with co2
6fps diff at chrono max, usualy aroud 3 though
Review: Good Reg does what it should, great for guns shooting at or below 400 after being worn in, at the crono it is fairly consistent....helps with accuracy allot.

But the bad, i ran out of Hpa and my field doesn't fill it so i used a spare 9oz, now I HAD a bob long guage 300psi one, but with co2 on there for 500 shoots (not quick shots over an hour or so) it creeped up to what im guessing was 600psi.....ruining my guage, and compromising my rocket valve (not supposed go over 500psi). It was my fault i guess, but i know now to Throughly Lube this thing....i use white lithium grease its like 3 dollars for a HUGE TUB of it so i lube after 500 shots when running co2 to be safe, otherwise about 2000 or day of play with hpa. its very easy to strip down....i have a socket screwdriver in my tool kit just for it, i can strip and lube it in less than 5 minutes...easy for in between games when necessary
Conclusion: I recommend Buying this....and lubeing it often. its great for the price, HAs fairly quick recharge, it keeps up at 13bps without to much shoot down. 9 because its good on hpa, but not on co2 but for the price its AWSOME!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

BlackOwl Sunday, July 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Magic Regulator
CP Regulator
CIP Powerstation Regulator
Palmers Stabilizer
much much more......
Marker Setup: -Dragun TES
-APM Tigershark Bolt
-J&J Ceramic 16 inch
-Mag modded trigger w/ 50g IS switch
-Bob Long Torpedo
-Psycho Ballistics on/off Drop Forward
-Eggy II
-20oz Anti-siphoned
Strengths: -fast recharge
-excellent with Co2, good for N2
-Stylish
Weaknesses: -May be hard to hold for HUGE hands
Review: I use this regulator on my TES and i've used it for two outings. It doesn't ice up very easily, and provides good consistency and recharge rate when firing. If you have bigger hands, you may have a problem holding it without your pinky finger hanging off.
It works excellent with my C02, and is pretty good on N2.
Conclusion: Have c02? Consider this when buying one. If you ever want to upgrade to n2, it still works well with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media