paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Bob Long Torpedo Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Maximum input(psi): 900
Output range(psi): 200-600
Gas type: N2/HPA or CO2
Does not come with it's own gauge, the gauge measures output psi. Gauge should be mounted on side where the spring can not be seen. Threading is 1/8" female and is a ASA vertical. Comes in Nickel or Black. Nickel usually costs more.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Torpedo Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
stephenbartone Monday, June 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock
Marker Setup: silver 03 BKO
vaporworks volumizer
torpedo
halo w/ rip drive
crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: very consistane
small
looks great
Weaknesses: none so far
Review: So far I have not have any problems with this reg. The first time it did not work so well just because it was the first time I have shot it and still have to shoot it some more to break it in. Also on the 03 BKO's the lpr is inbetween the hpr and the trigger gaurd and it is a very tight squeeze so when I tried to screw it in the gauge port screw hit the lpr so I had to take the lpr out, screw in the reg then put the lpr back in, but that wasn't a problem with the reg so I didn't take any points away from the rating for that.
Conclusion: This is a great hpr. I have not used it very long but from what I can see it will work very well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXniTemAreXx Sunday, May 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: Consistent, compact
Weaknesses: The input hole points outward, bad grip
Review: This is a great reg for co2, and its only 55$, i admit its no palmer but its pretty good. I get +6/-6 and its not broken in. The reg looks damn sexy, but its really small in person, Its hard to get a good grip on it because its so small. Also, the input hole points outward for my spyder, so i have to grab the macro line when i hole the grip. oh well, also, the milling seems pretty strong to me.
Conclusion: Great Reg, only 55$!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Zero Down Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Spyder TL
cp barrel 14 in
3 inch drop
check it low pressure
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
N2 tank
e grip
Strengths: quick,smooth looking, nice fill
Weaknesses: line adaptor is on side not too comfy
Review: I put this reg on my spyder tl and after doing so it was a huge change in performance even thought its a blow back i could see a huge differnce on where the balls were being placed usly i have a little change in perjectory at about 50 feet with this at 75 it was on the same exact spot for about 5 shots in a row i was very impressed with this reg and would sujest to anyone to get it. i got it for 30 bucks off a friend and am glad i did not turn it down.
Conclusion: great reg uses co2 and n2 im happy with it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chino Thursday, February 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Palmer stablizer, CP, MacDev 2k4 Gladiator, Bob Long Torpedo
Marker Setup: B2k2 - Halo B, Chaos Board, PDS, MacDev Red Valve, Palmer Micro Rock, Zentram Mag Trigger Fram, Zenitram 15' ASA, Full Freak Kit 14", Palmer Stablizer
B2k - 12v Warp Feed, Chaos Max board, Mac Dev Red Valve, CP Reg, Palmer Micro Rock, Full Freak 10", Bulldog 68/3000 Nitrogen tank
Alias 2k4 - Gladiator 2k4, Techna Trigger, Magnetic Mod, CP gas/grip, Dye Ultralight 12", Shocktech adjustable ram/ramcap.
Strengths: CO2 compatible, HPA compatible, easy disassembly, very light, gauge port.
Weaknesses: requires constant lubing with Dow 55 or Dow 33 grease. Quality control issues.
Review: My torpedo has had problems since the inception. They might be great regulators when you get a good one - but the one I received had burrs on the spring so the regulator would not be consistant since the regulator spring would catch on the side of the torpedo. I understand that this is an issue with not just mine but others as well. The solution is to debur the spring or return it to the dealer for free repair.
Conclusion: It seems that the platinum reputation of the torpedo regulator is in doubt recently since so many have had quality control issues. I hope that the next production run will have better luck. Good design - poor manufacturing.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

PyroP8nter Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Vertical Max-Flow
Marker Setup: Smart Prats Impulse w/ Smart Aprts Freak Barrel Stainless system, Bob Long Torpedo Reuglator, new Designz no rise, New Designz magnetic blade trigger, Pure Evnergy 47 ci 3000 psi nitro tank, Smartparts Rase cover Flag Design, Vision Board, I Frame, Dye Sticky 2004 Gips, Marcoline, Evoulution 2 hopper and a fly board, and Super Fly bolt.
Strengths: Great Regulator for it's price, Fast recharge, Great Grip
Weaknesses: A little hard to under stand but you figure it out after a while.
Review: It Rules, The Grip is really good. Bob Long has great customer service so get one! It looks really good on an Impulse too. You can get them in either stainless or black but you can have them annoed to match your gun. If you have a low pressure gun you have to get this, IT'S A MUST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Buy It, it rocks! Everything about it rules. If you get it though get a Dye Gauge.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BloodBlade Sunday, February 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
dragun regulator, spyder two stage expansion chamber (lol)
Marker Setup: Red/Black TES
Ti Boomstick
Bob Long Torpedo
ko on/off
Strengths: looks nice
works well even with co2
extremely easy to adjust
Weaknesses: none
Review: converted my old spyder imagine to low pressure with this regulator and some other parts. it worked very well and i was able to adjust it to my liking very easily, works great but doesnt cost as much as some of the other regulators, when i got my TES i hated how the dragun reg worked so i replaced it with this baby, works great
Conclusion: need a reg? get this. i mean these things come stock on Timmy's so they must be good
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Durrell Thursday, January 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock reg
Marker Setup: -M3 Black Dragun Basic-blue
-12V Revvy w/x-board
-48/3000 Pure Energy N2 Tank
-Bob Long Torpedo Reg
-Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward w/ On-Off adapter
Strengths: looks good,performs good
Weaknesses: it requires some setup when you first buy it.
Review: This is a great reg for someone that doesn't want to pay alot. When i first bought it,it required some work. I had to dissassemble the regulator and lube the o-ring on the inside. Then i had to put teflon tape on the plug and on the threads of the regulator. Then I just screwed it on and adjusted the regulator on the bottom and it works like a charm now!!
Conclusion: buy it!! looks great and preforms great too!! just dont forget the TEFLON TAPE!! if you dont apply it,you will have leaks
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xm65 Tuesday, December 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Plamer Stab, Gen X, Ergo, centerflag, Angel mini, system X pro, AA vig.
Strengths: Small, inexpensive, uses AA springs
Weaknesses: was not very consistant.
Review: I bought this reg to test it out. I was not impressed. While the reg worked ok. It did not perform as well as other in lines I have used. The reg would not recharge as fast as other regs that I have used. There was about a 3 second delay before full recharge. It was a noticeable decrease in performance from most of the other in regs I have used.
I took the reg apart, lubed it and still the same. I switched the Guage on it... still the same. I finally put the Centerflag reg back on... and recharge was almost instantaneous. The reg never crept past set pressure. So that was good.
Conclusion: This reg did not work well for me. I have found much better at this price. Perhaps I expected too much from it.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

Rushifell Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock reg on the Rodeo
Marker Setup: Rodeo, check it 15* assault block, Bob Long Torpedo, J&J Ceramic 14"/Armson Stealth 16", 32* remote, Emp Reloader, soon to be poor mans lightning bolt, ESP frame.

Inferno Terminator T3, ACI 6 stage Xchamber, see rodeo for likely to use barrels.
Strengths: looks good with the Assault Block, does its job very well, price
Weaknesses: none really, not the greatest grip on the planet, little short.
Review: Works very well, well worth the $55 it costs, keeps pressure very stable regardless of how I want to play. Allowed my to lower operating pressure which is saving me some gas and quieting the gun down a little bit.
Tried it and the check it on my friends e99, looks sweet, and after a few minutes of playing with it got his gun to stop sounding like a cannon and more like a paintgun, his gun was horribly loud. Great reg, any further regulator purchases for my equipment will be BL Torps.
Conclusion: great reg, does its job very well, good feel even though it is a little small, looks good with the check it 15*. Great product, worth a look at the very least.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cookiemoster16 Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Stock Reg, Black Magic Reg
Marker Setup: WGP 2k2 VF Cocker
14" Boomstick
Bob Long Torpedo
WGP Hinge
Ricochet AK
KAPP FAT Ram
Palmers Microrock
Shocktech Bomb 3way
Shocktech Supafly Bolt
Shocktech Cocking Rod
Shocktech Minidrop
WGP 70/4500 Adjustable Tank

Strengths: Consistent
Good looks
Easy to maintain
Good on CO2 and N2
Weaknesses: None really
Review: The Torpedo is an excellent regulator on both CO2 and Nitro. I wouldnt put it as the best on CO2 or Nitro, but IMO it is the best all-around regulator. It isn't too small to hold like some other regulators might be, and it looks pretty good. I'm shooting +/- 3 fps with the Torpedo. Also, it is VERY important you disassemble the reg and lube it with DOW33 or 55 BEFORE you use it for the first time. Not much else to say....its a good sturdy reg worth the price.
Conclusion: Best reg under $60. I would highly recommend that you buy this regulator.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media