paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Bolt Kit / Tippmann E-Bolt Kit / Tippmann E-Bolt Kit / Tippmann E-Bolt Kit

Tippmann E-Bolt Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Bolt Kit

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Bolt Kit
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $295

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Ebolt (electro-pneumatic conversion kit) uses a electronic control board that controls a solenoid valve. The solenoid valve operates a pneumatic hammer that opens and closes the valve. After being inactive for 10 minutes the system will go into sleep mode, with an instant awake on the first pull of hte trigger. The Ebolt has the following burst patterns: Response: fires on the pull and the release of the trigger Full Auto: 4 to 13 shots per second Turbo: starts as Semi Auto, goes to response mode as trigger speed increase past 5 times per sec. Burst Mode 1= 3 shot bursts Burst Mode 2= 6 shot bursts.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Bolt Kit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
paintballer1231 Saturday, October 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 e-bolt
spyder avatar
shocker
98 custom with response trigger

Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
-E-bolt
-Empire twister barrel
-Shocktech bolt(newer than superfly)
-Innovative Works double trigger and guard
-Ricochet Apache Attack hopper(20+ bps)
-Dye Sticky Grip(red)

Strengths: Very fast
Makes the gun quieter
No cocking required
Adjustable trigger pull
Weaknesses: Some wire connection are weak
Besides that nothing
Price and availability
Review: After going from a response trigger to an e-bolt I would highly recommend getting one.
The installation of the e-bolt is simple if you follow the directions. And you can adjust the trigger pull but make sure there is enough room so the electric receiver can reset itself after each trigger pull. To change the firing mode you just have to switch 3 switches either up or down. The switches are inside of the gun which is good and can be bad. The good thing is the switches and circuit board are safe inside the gun. The bad thing is it is harder to switch the modes but I don't care about switching them because I only use turbo. The e-bolt will quiet the gun because you remove the rear bolt and the cocking bolt and you just have to turn your gun on and off. The wires connecting to the on and off switch are very thin so you have to be careful with them. My wires broke off the solder so I just soldered them back on and I had never soldered anything besides this and it worked fine. Also your rate of fire is increased by a lot I can fire up to 20bps with my gun. If you don't have an electric hopper buy one or buy a cyclone feed because you will need it. Also it does not matter what air supply you have I am using co2 right now and it works fine. Although I am looking in to buy a low pressure system and nitro but that will cost a lot. Finally I got my e-bolt brand new off of e-bay a couple of weeks ago for $115.00 I have seen the online for between $210.00 and $336.00 Tippmann no longer makes them so if you want an e-bolt buy it soon.
Conclusion: By getting the e-bolt your gun will become a high performance gun and will fire the same if not faster than other high performance guns. I would highly recommend getting and e-bolt. If you can't get an e-bolt and want a good gun buy an A-5 with an e-grip. Do not buy a Pro custom because if you buy a e-trigger for it you will than have to buy a electric hopper for it. Where the A-5 comes with a cyclone fed and that feeds as fast as you fire. Also a response trigger will fire almost as fast as the e-bolt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OBAtippy Wednesday, October 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder Imagine w/ e-trigger
Marker Setup: Tipmmann 98 custom
GTA Flatline Barrle
GTA E-bolt
GTA Cyclone feed
Voodoo Folding Stock
Strengths: High fire rate, Quiet, multiple firing modes
Weaknesses: Kind of fragile for a tipmmann product.
Review: This is by far the best available upgrade for the 98 custom. coupled with the cyclone feed, this cranks out paint like nobodys buisness. not to mention, with only slight modification to the shroud (The battery cover gets in the way, just file down a bit of the plastic) , it can be combined with tippmanns imfamous flatline barrel system, which gives you not only the power to reach out and touch someone, but do so at an incredible rate of fire. quite, very little kick, and the choice between 6 firing modes are just some of the reasons this system makes your gun a real head turner, as well as a tail turner for the other team : ). very adjustable, of course this means it can take a little time to get it firing just right if your not sure what your doing. i have heard not to get it wet, but thats rumor not my personal experiance. i also had a little trouble with one of the internal hoses poping off of its fitting on the control board. all it took was a little bit of the supplied thread locker to fix this tiny problem.
Conclusion: these are quickly becoming rare, so if you see one buy it! like i said best mod for a Tippy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bafrank@att.net Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Have used Apex, Hammerhead Pro, Stone Cold II and Flatline barrels. 90/4500 HPA, , Stainless screw kit (removed the soft Lapco screw kit), BSA Red Dot sight, Dead on Drop, Rufus Dawg bolt, Palmer Stabilizer, Modified GTA LPK
Strengths: Eliminates the mass of the heavy hammer through the firing/re-cocking cycle. .
Weaknesses: Discontinued...Are still available from some stores online.
Review: I HAVE JUST BEEN INFORMED BY THE TIPPMANN TECHNICAL DEPARTMENT THAT THE E-BOLT HAS BEEN DISCONTINUED...TO BE REPLACED IN A FEW WEEKS BY ANOTHER ELECTRONIC FIRING SYSTEM. I was in the process of buying two of these units for both my and my son's markers. With two new Battle Stixx barrels and Halo-B hoppers we expected to be on level with the Angles out there.

-UPDATE- 6/13/05

We have now been using the E-Bolt in two 98Cs for over a month now. About 16 hours of speedball play time on each marker. First let me say that the difference between the mechanical hammer and the electronically controlled pneumatic ram is like the difference between night any day. The reduction in "shake' of the marker upon firing is dramatic. The rear bolt (hammer) moving back and forth in the original 98C tended to move one off target. The high rate of fire is awesome with a double trigger and the ability to "walk the trigger."

After initially setting velocity, I am impressed with the ability to adjust the ball velocity by adjusting the pressure the to the ram. The lightness of the trigger pull is perfect.

The accuracy of the Tippmann 98C with the correct barrel puts it in a class equal to most high priced markers. With the E-Bolt we now have the ability to lay down a rate of fire on level with all the other electro markers out there. The heavy trigger of the original limited our ability to return fire when playing in advanced level speedball. Now we can walk the trigger so that when we can pop out to shoot we can finger three to five balls on target. Overall we have discovered that we are using less paint than before due to more on target paint.

When Tippmann finally comes out with an E-Grip conversion for the 98C I think it will not bring the marker to the level of that accomplished by the E-Bolt. The lower moving mass and the reduction of wear on sear and hammer notch maintains the ruggedness of the Tippmann and the shoot-ability of a Cocker or Angel. The E-Bolt is an expensive conversion and they are becoming scarce on the market, but we now have top competitive markers with the total cost spread over a couple of years.

This past Sunday I played the whole day in the advanced field. Very much higher level of play compared to intermediate. But, for the first time I was competitive. Stayed in the game longer than ever before. Finished several games with no one out on our side. Wouldn't ever go back to a stock firing system. Well worth the cost. Several Internet stores now list it at $229.

One little last comment about the cost. Many people seem to think it perfectly acceptable to drop $250 to $300 on a HPA tank. Spending money on this inexpensive marker takes it from a pretty good solid rugged marker right up there with to the spectacular level...while maintaining its durability and long life. Except for the flashy geegaws and the blinking lights you now have a marker that is in every way equal to the top priced markers...and you have spent a total of less than $500

Further UPDATE 7/20/05 reprint

My son and I play speedball almost exclusively, playing at least once a week. We both started out with the basic 98 Custom and over time added Flatline, Hammerhead and Stone Cold II barrels.

Having modified competitive firearms for decades I set out to improve the triggers on our markers. After several tries and some short lived success I gave up. Even those changes that worked reduced the dependability of the marker.

After reading up on the E-Bolt and the E-Grip I concluded that one or the other was necessary to really improve the marker. Since the E-Grip was available only for the A-5 and would require modification to the 98C, I went looking for a good price on the E-Bolt. Just my luck that Tippmann decided to discontinue that accessory about that time.

After several weeks of Internet searching I found a dealer with stock and place orders for 2 of them. The dealer called me to say that he actually no longer had them. After some discussion he said he knew a warehouse that might have some and would get back to me. I lucked out in that this dealer found two and shipped them to me about a week later.

Before we installed the E-Bolt in my son's marker we had installed the Palmer Direct Stabilizer and also bought the Palmer Mini-Rock regulator (the Mini-Rock to supply the low pressure air for the E-Bolt)

With the Palmer we found he could drop operating pressures to about 500 psi and the marker worked perfectly and much more quietly. A few days later we installed the E-Bolt...what a difference!!!

Suddenly we had a crisp light trigger pull. That by itself was significant to me, but an E-Grip would also accomplish that. We noted that there was less recoil/movement of the marker due to the lower mass of the pneumatic ram.

Now the real advantage. Without the need for the higher pressure to blow the bolt back to the cocked position we found that we could adjust the Palmer Stabilizer to even lower pressures. Ball velocity could be maintained by adjusting the controls for dwell on the board and the pressure to the ram with the Mini-Rock. Ram pressures are limited in that if you go too high the system starts to leak, but it has been no problem to maintain the field limit of 270 fps.

Last Friday, after adjusting the Palmer to set the fps during chrono, my son realized that the gage was reading only 300 psi. The marker is operating in a whisper quiet mode. Now the Stone Cold II barrel is part of that. The way it is ported reduces report even standing right next to it when he is firing. At fifty feet away the noise level is as low as that of his friends brand new Angel.

The marker is extremely effective on the speedball course now blowing the minds of those who are firing the high end markers, Angles, Ions and Cockers. Sunday he went to Bear Creek Pursuit to play woods ball. People kept asking what he was shooting. It looked like a Tippmann but was too quiet.

In conclusion, with a slightly modified Tippmann double trigger he is able to reach 12-14+ bps. The marker is full competitive on the speedball field. The operation of the marker as it is now could not have been accomplished with an E-Grip. Quiet with low gas consumption and low recoil along with about a 4 ounce trigger pull while retaining the dependability of the Tippmann make this a formidable piece of equipment. Tippmann has made a mistake by not continuing to produce this accessory and offering it in the 98C or the Custom Pro. To equal the performance we'd have to spend $1200 to $1500 on another brand of marker. My advise, if you can find an E-Bolt, snap it up.

I love the Tippmann product, but as our playing skills have improved, had we not been able to make this upgrade, we would have moved on to a different brand of marker.

Update 7/19/06

With the low pressure kit installed there is no need for the blow back gas. That allows me to adjust the pressures to really low levels...just what it takes to propel the ball at the desired velocity. With the Hammerhead barrel and Nelson Hemorrhage paint, I maintain 275 fps at only 140 psi!!!
Conclusion: Hope TIPPMANN has something "ASTRONAMICAL" with which to replace it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 19th, 2006 at 9:37 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Subby Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: A-5 egrip, stock, x-chamber, flatline
Model 98 ebolt, LPK, palmer stabilizer, j&j ceramic, LAPCO drop w/ stock
Colbalt DM4 mushashi, CP roller trigger
Strengths: Fast!!! Turn your 98 into a gatling-gun. Very tunable. Different ROF settings
Weaknesses: Makes taking apart and putting the gun back together more difficult. No eyes. Price.
Review: I love my e-bolt. This with a double trigger and you got yourself one mean gun. You will want a force fed loader like a Halo-B to keep up with this thing. I have had ZERO problems with my ebolt. This thing is as consistant and durable as anything else Tippmann has put out. Add the low pressure valve and low pressure chamber with a nice regulator to this setup and you have one QUIET super-tippy. People can't believe how fast and quiet my marker is now. Only problem I have is when I forget to turn my halo on and I chop some balls because e-bolt kit does not add eyes.
Conclusion: If you want to take your marker to the next level then go out and get this. On ebay they are now $150, much more affordible now.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

james52 Friday, February 4th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Respoce, E-grip
Marker Setup: Z Intimidator
Strengths: Nothing
Weaknesses: Where to start
Litterally everything
Review: This was not my gun. This was my friends gun. anyways he wanted to get the ebolt trigger for his tippmann. he sent it in to get it put on at the local paintball shop. and bought the ebolt for 300$ Can. I don't even know where to start. We took it to the field turned it on and pressed the trigger about 4 balls just drop off out of the barrel. Some gameswe couldn't get it to work. Huge bounce problems. Pull the trigger once and like 2-3 balls come out. Then some games it wouldn't even work. We never found out why. Obviously it wasn't working right so we sent it to the tippmann plant. oh it only took 2 months to get it back. One of the worst services ever (tippmann). When we got it back it didn't even come with a blade gaurd. weird, we put c02 on it and it still hasn't changed. Still some major bounce problems. oh and yes we had it on semi not 3 round burst. So we really don't know what tippmann plant did other than take the blade gaurd. We opened the trigger and there was one of the tape worms leaking like crazy. The bolt got stuck half the time also. You have to open the trigger to change mods, which to me is retarded in my opinion. This is a piece of garbage, maybe it wasn't installed right, I don't know but from my experience this is a really bad trigger.
Conclusion: If i could i would give it lower than one but i cant so i give it a 1. I recomend this to no one, on this piece of garbage. Get a recponce, i had an a-5 with responce and it was awsome.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Teamcompound Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various e-grips for blowbacks and The ONE Kit
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Ebot
Bigshot

Dye Matrix
Strengths: Fast
Reliable
Makes 98 quiet
No recoil
Weaknesses: Hard to Install
Easy to pinch hoses and wires
Maybe Price
Review: I got this for my Model 98 about 4 years ago and I love it. It makes the 98 recoiless just like a high quality electro-pnuematics and because it is electro pnuematic. Witht he proper ebolt and trigger adjustments you can make your 98 run at about 290 psi, fire 14 bps, and make it quiet. I love this product and I would take it over most guns today.
Conclusion: Unless you plan on spending lots of money for it, it is not necessary. But, if you want your Tippmann 98 to rock, get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Intimidator_980 Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 98 custom, E bolt, Vertical tank adapter, Phat inline reg, Crossfire 68/45, Superfly bolt, Tippmann blade trigger, 32 degrees Whisper barrel, Lapco direct feed
Strengths: Durable and reliable the most solid gun ever
Weaknesses: Slow r.o.f. and a paint to clean and maintain
Review: The E-bolt is a nice upgrade to any 98, you'll love the modes of fire (respons mode) and the fact now you're once stock sear 98 is now an electro pneumatic. it is so much better than a stock and you don't have to worry about you fingers fatiguing as much. The bad thing is the battery is a tight fit unless you can find a different kind of battery that still takes a 9v link or something like that. you will have fun with this upgrade

The best thing about it as well is that it replaces that heavy hammer for a much lighter and smaller one and another problem is you cant put it on a drop forward or something because of a little hose that connects the tank adapter with the board inside to the solenoid valve behind the hammer.
Conclusion: Any way i'll get to the point, this upgrade is a nice and quick uprade for you'r 98 its too bad they dont make one fot the A-5(besides the E-grip) this upgrade is a must have

I give it a 9.5 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 6th, 2004 at 10:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbfdex16 Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
um just about every gun u can thinks of
Marker Setup: 32 degrees model 98 jt two piece and a hydro flow n2 tank
Strengths: FAST!! and light trigger
Weaknesses: COST!!!!!! who wants to put 300 bucks into a $120 gun?
Review: this product is sweet it makes the 98 so fast i mean i can RIP!!! on my 98 without it but......... it makes the trigger pull so light and really cuts down on the kick and makes it easier to keep your gun on target i really like it but it is really all just personal oppinion
Conclusion: i think this is a GREAT! product but........ the price i think is crap if u are really into 98's or u want a good back up gun or heck just have the money to spend get one but if u are just shooting a 98 till u can afford a better gun then wait and get a better gun and if u are really just looking for speed then a double trigger helps a LOT!!!!! i'm going to give it a 8 because it is a great product but it is very expensive but i hear they are going to lower the price
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JWMS Perk Friday, April 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix
Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: 98 custom, e bolt, low pressure kit, boblong torpedo regulator, dye boomstick, Kapp Mini Apocolypse Drop Forward, Crossfire 68ci 3000psi Nitro tank. 12v vl rev, coil and harness, adco sure shot.
Strengths: 6 firing modes, very reliable, long lasting, very fun
Weaknesses: Busts up in the rain, (like anyone besides those crazy pros would play in rain)
Review: I have had this kit for 3 years, it has never failed me in any way. It stays quiet with my lp and boomstick, it soots crazy fast with turbo mode, give it a try. You never have to cock it. I have won many games with this one. It works for speedball or woodsball, and has very fast bps. This is one of tippmann's best upgrades besides the lp kit. I also highly recommend the lp kit with this so you won't hog all your air. It is better than spyders in ters of maodes and also you cant cheat with it. With spyders, people can say they are on semi auto, and then go full with the push of a button without notice. With this kit, it isnt hard to change, but you have to remove the grip, so you can't cheat. I'm not saying that spyder users are cheaters, and spyders are great guns, I have 2, but I prefer tippmanns over spyders.
Conclusion: I highly recommend htis product, but only if you are worthy of it. It's getting annoying these days when people who ahve never played paintball spend 1000$ on a gun. Just know yourself as a player, and have fun with this kit, it has so much capability, it may be expensive somewhat, but wouldn't you pay 200$ for 6 different awesome firing modes in one kit?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann505 Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock 98, autococker, angel,impulse
Marker Setup: 98 custom
evolutionII
14"J&J ceramic
twisted system drop
ebolt
vertical adaptor
pmi reg
Strengths: increased speed, accuracy, lighter trigger, less kick, quieter
Weaknesses: kind of expensive, not the fastest marker shoots only 13 bps
Review: I bought my e bolt used so it was a little dinged up but it still performed well. I can easily reach the e bolt's maxium rate of fire on semi auto, which is a lot faster than it was without the e bolt. Plus I can see an improve in accuracy. and it is easier to aim after each shot because there is a lot less kick.
Conclusion: I would recomend this to any one who doesn't want to spend the money on an impulse but who wants a great increase in firepower, and accuracy. But I will give it a 9 because it was kind of hard to install and it only shoots 13bps
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media