paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Custom Products Micro Drop Forward / Custom Products Micro Drop Forward / Custom Products Micro Drop Forward / Custom Products Micro Drop Forward

Custom Products Micro Drop Forward Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Custom Products

Buy Custom Products Micro Drop Forward

Paintball Cradles, Rails, Drop Forwards and ASA's

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Custom Products Micro Drop Forward
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $25

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Colors: Black, Blue, Green, Nickel, Purple, Red, Pewter.
Product Availability 
The Custom Products Micro Drop Forward is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Ebonclaw Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 2.5" Lightning Drop
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, 45/4500 Air America High Output HPA, HALO-B, SP 360 QEV, NDZ Roller trigger, Trinity Slim Body blue/black fade, J&J Edge Elite ful bore set, CP Razor drop and CP on/off ASA
Strengths: Small, light, strong, sleek, moves the tank forward and not down.
Weaknesses: No set screws included, may not offer enough clearance to screw in tank.
Review: Bought used but in good shape for $20. Normally goes for $35 which might be a wee bit high, but CP makes good stuff. What I loved was the way it moves the tank forward but doesn't increase your vertical profile at all. The flipside is that as a result, your tank may not like to clear the drop when screwing in. Which means you'll have to use an on/off ASA, screw the tank into the ASA, then mount the ASA to the drop, your tank to never be removed again till you take your ASA off. It's small, light, strong, and good looking. To be used with rail mount ASA's only. Doesn't come with set screws (come on CP, they're just set screws, you could at least give me some) and requires 10/32 threads, probably 1/4", as 1/2" are too long.
Conclusion: If you need your tank moved forward but hate using drops because they increase your vertical profile, give this one a try. Moves the tank forward, but not down. Keep in mind you'll need a rail mount ASA and remember, you may not have enough clearance to screw in the tank. Buy some set screws at home depot, a rail mount ASA, and enjoy, because I can't live without it now.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 15th, 2006 at 3:53 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ksdoc18 Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock bottom line on ion, spyder stock drop, various other dorps.
Marker Setup: Sp ion with pink kit and 47/3k tank, halo tsa backman and a cp micro drop, back up is Spyder xtra with acs delrin bolt 16 in SP progressive barrel 12 oz and 20 oz co2 tanks...
Strengths: Moves tank down a little
Moves tank forward alot
Price
Weaknesses: Tank can catch on drop
co2 may not fit
Review: So i wanted a drop for my ion for some time, but i didn't want anything big or to lower it very far since i wanted to be able to rest my forearm on the tank while holding it. but i wanted something. so i found this at my local shop and i picked it up for about $20. they only had green and purple, so i got puple since my ion is pink, but i painted it black so that it would kind of match. then i bolted it up to my ion with the stock duckbill. it fits my 47 3000tank just fine, but only barely. the fill nipple only barely clears the drop, and i wish it had an on/ off but if i do then i'll have to get a higher profile one, since the fill nipple is so close. but it looks good on the ion, and it really makes the gun alot nicer to hold and balances really well.
Conclusion: Get this if you're in need of a drop, but not a big one for not too much money, and i promise you wont be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Wednesday, August 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hybrid MSD - smaller, better asa retention system (ball bearings instead of screws).
Psycho Ballistics bullet - bigger, on/off dial is hard to turn.
Marker Setup: SP Ion
ASP qev kit
AKA Sidewinder
CP 2-piece
CP trigger
Hybrid Grind
CP Micro drop
CP Twist Lock
Kila detents
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: Brings tank forward without bringing it down.
Weaknesses: See review body.*
Review: Not a fan of full drops but not a fan of rails or direct mounts (unimounts, duckbills, etc), either. I had the Hybrid MSD, which is a tiny drop that functions like a rail but with more style.

I've got a 68/45k tank so with the Hybrid MSD it felt too long when holding my entire setup (maybe my arms are too short). So i wanted something that would bring the tank forward about an inch more but not drop the tank down anymore than the MSD.

CP's micro drop does that perfectly. I compared it to the MSD and it's exactly the same height so the tank doesn't drop down. Makes my marker look very compact.

*However, after installing it i could not screw on my tank. The guage & fill nipple are in the way. Uh oh. I removed the asa from the drop and screwed it on the tank, then installed the tank/asa together. Now that works. Nipple & guage are on the right side, out of the way. So the price for a comfortable & compact setup is having to remove the asa to get the tank off. Good thing the asa has an on/off button.
Conclusion: Very nice drop. But be wary of installation - y'all will have to do exactly what i did to get the tank on there. And if you've got a co2 tank, forget it.

Gave it a 7 overall but once it's on there it deserves a 9.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nick1130 Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: black 03-04 Outkast
black freak 2 peice
pure energy carbon fiber 3000
black cp mini drop
black cp asa on off
black macroline
Strengths: Small
Keeps you gun looking tight and compact
Weaknesses: TOO SMALL
MAY CREATE CLEARANCE PROBLEMS
WONT COMPLY WITH MOST ON/OFFs
NO SLIDING RAIL
Review: Too small of a drop. Doesnt really do much in the first place. All this thing did was create problems for me. So i just saved and got another drop. for 30 dollars you can buy a much better drop than this. I dont like it at all. Take my advice and get something else. DO NOT BUY THIS CRAPPY DROP.
Conclusion: Dont buy this. You can easily get better.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sirsaechao Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock drop, home made drop
Marker Setup: Dye MaTrix LCD
Custom Product regulator
Custom Product drop forward
Custom Product on/off
Crossfire LPA 68/4500
Halo B with rip drive
Chipley Machine mid rise clamp
Dye Rhino tank cover
Strengths: Pro:
Look
Cost
Weaknesses: Con:
To small of a drop for me
Rail type ASA
Review: Custom Products is a company that makes one of the best products...from cheap barrel to cheap ASA to cheap drops...meaning cheap as in price not in craftmanship...everything they make is great...that only really problem is you need a rail type ASA...also the drop is to small for my taste because my tank can't be unscrewed unless I take the drop off of the ASA...but it only takes 2 screws...
Conclusion: Custom Products drops are nicely crafted and reliable...inexpensive...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zerocygnal Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kapp Drops, ST Drops.....
Marker Setup: 05 Angel Speed, Dye BoomStick 14", Evolve Newton Kit, Empire Relaoder B, MacDev Conquest, CP ASA. MacDev Gladiator, CP Micro Drop
Strengths: Very light, precision dove tailing, sturdy......
Weaknesses: None
Review: One of the largest mistakes made in terms of gun placement for firing is the extreme drop forwards that players put on their markers (of course player preference takes precedence). Conversely, this had sparked the new trend of not dropping tanks at all but instead opting to rail them. This too may be inappropriate depending on the player and tank. Using a MacDev Conquest 45/4500 on my speed made my speed so compact I was having difficulty shouldering it. Not wanting to really drop it ( since I didn't want to add height) and only wanting to lengthen it, my searches have led me to the CP MicroDrop.

This drop is excellent. CP has been making quality paintball products for years and this one is no different. CP is definitely one of the most unappreciated companies making durable, high quality products today. This drop is only about 1/4" taller than a standard rail if not less (this is a guesstimate). Length wise it is 3 1/2" long, with the final inch being dovetail, allowing for ample adjustment. The dove tail is precision milled allowing a very snug fit into the receiver giving a sense of impeccable quality. Lines are very clean and fluid. Anodizing appears thick and quality.

Overall, drop selection is something that must be judged by the player using it. Personally, if you are looking for the right length adjustment without adding hopper height, then the CP Micro Drop is where its at.
Conclusion: Outstanding quality, delivers what your looking for. You can purchase this drop without any hesitation.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Genshu Friday, November 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
This with a duck bill, this with an on/off. CP flame, 32* flame, DOP drop forward, shocktech long drop, CP rail, System x 10, Psycho ballisticks long blade on/off.
Marker Setup: RJR 123 /w freak and worr gas
Strengths: Good length, awesome with duckbill, looks, durability.
Weaknesses: needs a trick with on/off's
Review: Great drop, keeps you in the game, nice and short with a duckbill like the stock impy duck bill. Use it with that and you have a cheaper rail without an on/off. This micro has the same problem as all micro's, that you need a special trick to put it on your 45 or clamshell frame to get it on with an on/off, but with a duckbill you dont need it. With the on/off you are going to need to do a trick take the on/off and screw the tank in to it, then when its all the way in, push the on/off on the micro and it will be a little loose and far forward but itll be fine. However, it wobbles a little and its annoying, and the process is rediculous, so i would just use a duckbill and thats where all of your nice little duck bills that came with ur guns come in. Assemble it and put the duck bill on the micro and you have a nice really short micro drop, just like a rail but only 25 dollars instead of 60. Same exact thing as a unimount too cept it doesnt have an on/off. Its good enough for me, but if you want the on/off get a rail or a unimount.
Conclusion: Get it if you have a duckbill and dont mind not having the nice on/off capability. 6 because they needed to think more about the product, they know that people like on/off and they even put dovetail mounting on it, unless you have a vert frame or z frame you cant put this straight on.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mikey B Monday, June 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
TKO cradle
Marker Setup: Stock Class Phantom. Automag with everything just short of x-valve.
Strengths: it moves the tank about 2 inches forward and 1inch down. Looks nice.
Weaknesses: Doesnt give tank enough room to screw in without the gauge getting in the way.
Review: It looks nice and brings the tank to a comfortable position. the only weakness is that the ASA has to go onto the tank first then can be placed on this dropfroward because not enough clearence is given to screw the tank in without having something get in the way.
Conclusion: This is a great product, does cause a bit of a hassle but nothing major to get worked up about.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cocker54 Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
KAPP rhino, CP flame
Marker Setup: 02 WGP autococker
system x 2-piece barrel
48/300 pure energy HPA tank
WGP hinge trigger frame
STO 3-way and ram
jackhammer reg.
CP micro drop
Strengths: Compact, good positioning for the size
Weaknesses: no clearance for a tank gauge
Review: CP produces quality products at good prices (got mine for 11 @ paintball#1) this drop produces a nice drop forward of the tank and gives the gun a balanced feel to it, it also looks great in polished chrome, looks nice on my cocker :-) go out and buy this drop if you want quality and a good price as well as style
Conclusion: this is the best drop i've used and ill be using CP products for a long time, the'yre quality
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big Nate Sunday, November 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Razor Drop
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom
GTA Double Trigger
GTA Vertical Adapter
GTA Expansion Chamber
Psycho Ballistics RVA
Custom Products 12" Barrel
Custom Products Razor Drop
Custom Products On/Off ASA
Strengths: - Price: Affordable, very affordable
- Quality: Custom Products makes very quality stuff!
- Looks: Very smooth, streamlined profile
- Finish: Will make your gun look like you spent a ton on it
Weaknesses: - Fit: Can't use with CO2 tank above 9 oz. Nitro works because of the regulator.
Conclusion: Custom Products makes some very excellent, affordable products for upgrading your gun. I have purchased several things, directly from them, and have had NO complaints. They have excellent sales and service, and make very good products. My only gripe with them, is their website is awful. It only has pics of their older stuff, and they haven't updated it in over a year. Bad, bad, bad.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media