paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
u_8_my_cookie Wednesday, November 2nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98c, tpn gryphon, bt-4, tpn X-7 phenom
Marker Setup: tippmann A5 w/ 14in hammerhead barrel, remote line, and hpa
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel, e-trigger
Strengths: Reliability, upgradability, maintenance
Weaknesses: Air efficiency, stock barrel
Review: After going paintballing once, me and my friends decided we should get our own markers. After a couple of weeks of research, I decided on the tippmann A5, and I haven't regretted it yet. Out of the box performance was very good, and after slapping on a longer barrel, it was as accurate as a gun twice as expensive! Some of my friends complained it was a bit heavy, but I found it to be quite manageable. It's very easy to take apart and clean out. There's also a crazy amount of mods you can get, from internal upgrades to completely new bodies. Some improvements would be a better barrel and trigger, and it could also be a bit more air efficient. Other than that though, it' a great marker.
Conclusion: This is a great gun, wether your a beginner, or a mid-range player. Though it does have a few minor issues, they are far outweighed by the advantages. If you get this gun, you will not be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballninja3 Tuesday, June 28th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: nothing but i really want to customize it and get a flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
everybody says to get a flatline and a carbonfiber tank
Strengths: Cycone feed
Customizeability i dont know if thats a word
Looks
Toughness
Weaknesses: Air hog
Barrel sucks
Review: The a5 is a pretty good begginer gun, but dont ever use it for speedball unless you have a double trigger. another cool thing is Opsgear. you can make your gun look like anything. go to www.a5builder.com . it is a very cool gun, and it is my first gun
Conclusion: Its a good gun i really recomend it to begginers
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bigjoe11 Sunday, April 17th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-R
Marker Setup: Setup #1:

Tippmann A5
Apex barrel
20 oz co2 tank
14 oz co2 tank
Walmart mask

Setup #2:

Spyder TL-R
Truflight barrel, Redz Peppersticks 14" Two-piece, apex tape mod on both
20 oz co2 tank
14 oz co2 tank
Walmart mask

Setup #3:

Spyder Electra
CCM No Rise Feedneck
Shocktech Low Pressure Chamber
Trinity Front Block and Gauge
NewDesignz HE Valve and Valve stem
Shocktech Spring Kit
I modded the striker to make it a good bit lighter
Replaced the Velocity screw with a knob
Shocktech Regulator
Dead On Drop Forward and ON/OFF ASA
Truflight barrel, Redz Peppersticks 14" Two-piece, apex tape mod on both
20 oz co2 tank
14 oz co2 tank
Walmart mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
APEX 2 barrel, stock barrel is terrable.
Low pressure, so you can get more than 500 shots per tank. But this marker WILL NOT run LP stock, especially because of the cyclone. So you will have to spend quite a bit of money getting there.
Strengths: reliable
upgradable
Milsim look
CYCLONE
Weaknesses: Not that great stock
GAS HOG!!!
Srock barrel is terrable
PLASTIC power tube and trigger
Review: good gun, rarely breaks a paintball, the cyclone feeding system really works and you don't need batteries. I have had it fail on me once because it needs lots of pressure and my tank was getting low so I had to pump the cyclone every shot, but there are mods to make it work off lower pressures. unlike my spyder I know this gun will load in a shot everey time. The gun is very upgradable but the 1st upgrade u need it the barrel, the stock barrel is one of the worst I've seen. My spyder has a better stock barrel, better efficiency, and it's all matal.

Edit: I am selling my A5 and got an electra to use instead :)
Conclusion: I reccomend it, this gun works. Nothing fancy, but it'll shoot paint reliably and will take a beating.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 7th, 2011 at 1:12 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mr.Jigglybeans Wednesday, March 23rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom (Good back in the day)
Spyder MR2 w/out eyes (PAINT BLENDER)
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN A5 w/:
-Response Trigger
-Rap4 UMP Body Shroud
-Vertical Foregrip
-Tapco M4 CAR Stock
-Lapco M4 Air Through Mag
-Weaver Tactical Flashlight
-14" CP Barrel
-14" Apex2 Barrel System
-Ninja Remote Line w/ Lapco Slide Check
-X7 Low Pro. Hopper & Tac-Cap for indoors
-Squishy Paddles
-Lapco Aluminum Ratchet and Shaft
-Aluminum Starfire Front Bolt
-Aluminum Power Tube
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Squishy Paddles
-Aluminum Cyclone Ratchet (Lapco)
-Aluminum Power Tube
-Lapco or other High End 12"-16" Barrel
Strengths: RELIABLE!
Most Customizable Marker there is
Cyclone Feed System
Weaknesses: Weight? That is if youre into Speedball, otherwise... nothing
Review: Ive owned Spyders over the last several years, and theyve done their jobs but theyve also given me some minor and MAJOR problems as well. I recently sold my Spyder MR2 setup and bought a used Tippmann A5 w/ Response Trigger on Craigslist and I LOVE IT. Ive fired a lot of markers, including some VERY expensive speedball guns and yeah, the speedball guns are tiny and lightweight, but the A5 is just AWESOME!

Ive fired thousands of rounds through my marker already and not 1 single problem so far. Ive also Upgraded it a lot (See my setup above) and the upgrades do pay off...

This marker is so reliable and strong. Not to mention my response trigger setup is 100% waterproof. My brother didnt believe me so I fully submerged my gun in my swimming pool and fired it full auto, pulled it out and not 1 problem!

I could go on and on and on about this gun... but just take my review and so many others into account and youll know you cant go wrong with a Tippmann A5
Conclusion: Buy it, this is the best Milsim marker ever!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

2nwyka Monday, March 14th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II
Viewloader Triton II
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder TS
PMI Piranha R6
AutoCockers
Marker Setup: 2k4 Superstock AutoCocker
-DYE/Superbolt/STO pneumatics
-WGP Flame Hinge
-Custom Engraving
-Phychoballistics Featherlight drop
14" Stiffi .686

2010 Tippmann A5
-FOG Shroud
-CAR Stock
-Ninja 62/3000
-X7 Low-Profile hopper
-16" Stiffi .689

2007 Viewloader High Voltage
-14" Stiffi
-Viewloader Revolution X
Recommended
Upgrades:
Inline regulator
Low-Profile hopper
New barrel
Bolts
E-trigger is a possibility and rather nice, but I don't have one or want one.
Strengths: Accurate!
Well spaced handgrips
Looks cool
Durable
Cyclonefeed
Weaknesses: Heavy
Expensive to upgrade
Air Hog
Heavy
Leaky...
Review: All right, folks! I'm here to give you my review of the Tippmann A5. Having owned one of my own for quite a while, I feel pretty confident that I've seen every aspect of the A5 in action, and here's what I thought of it.

User-Friendliness:
This is where Tippmann could use a little bit of work. Supposedly, you are able to remove three push-pins and have the internals out, however it's not quite that simple. You have to first unscrew the VA, loosen almost all the screws on the exterior of the body, and remove the tombstone and triggerframe, all of which takes much longer than simply halving the marker. Putting it back together gets better with practice, but it typically takes a few tries to get every piece lined up and put together correctly. On a positive note, this makes modification easy and allows bolt-on components to be installed in just that manner, bolted on. Tippmann gets a 2/5 for user friendliness.

Ease of Operation:
This is different from the category above because it deals with the actual setting up and firing of the marker, rather than the maintenance and modifications. To set up the A5 is a little more complicated than any other marker. First, you must attach the Cyclone hopper in a special manner, and sometimes it may not fit, requiring modification. With that done, you can screw in the barrel, which has fairly short threads. Add the paint, cock it and pump the Cyclone primer once, then put the tank on. You're ready to rock. This is a fairly easy checklist if you've done it multiple times, and as long as you get the hopper on and cock it, it will work, but it's a little complicated, and for that it gets a 3/5

Appearance:
This is a strong category for the A5. It is styled like the Heckler & Koch MP5, with similar body styling, foregrip placement and style, and sights. In fact, most owners will style their A5s to look like the MP5 from many off-the-shelf modification kits. It looks mean, and with a few cosmetic upgrades it'll blow the socks off any of the meanest-looking markers on the planet. 5/5

Consistency:
I was a little surprised at just how consistent this marker was. I was driving tacks at 100 feet with Valken Red Box and the stock barrel, and with CO2 it dropped only a small amount. With an inline regulator, the consistency skyrockets above its already good accuracy. This gets a 5/5

Efficiency:
This is not a strong suit for the A5. It'll barely get 300 shots off of a 48/3000 and only slightly more with my 62/3000. I added an inline regulator to it and that number doubled. It required a little calibration, but for the most part it shoots 275-280 without any difficulty at 350psi. I get easily 800 shots before my accuracy drops, which makes things cheaper for me. The stock efficiency has to get a 2, though. 2/5

Reliability/Durability:
This is a mixed subject. It's durable as a hunk of iron (and about as heavy :) ), but it can have some reliability issues. Mostly, it's air leaks. I've never had problems with the physical cycling of it, which would be a huge dent in its reputation, but I have had multiple leaks from many locations. It is very reliable, and very durable, so I'll give it a 4/5.

Cost:
An A5 goes for around $150-200 these days, which is a significant drop from its original price of $270. At these kinds of prices, you get a lot of marker with a lot of options. 5/5

So, overall, the A5 isn't a bad marker. It's reliable, durable, and easy to upgrade, but also is inefficient and not easy to maintain. Overall, I'd give it an 8 out of 10!
Conclusion: This is an excellent marker. It's accurate, dependable, upgradeable and durable, but sacrifices some user-friendliness and efficiency in its quest for durability. I'd recommend this marker as a backup or main that belongs in any woodsballer's gearbag. It isn't suited for speedball or hyperball, but on the scenario field it's hard to beat!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 1st, 2012 at 7:44 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Austad The Dark Thursday, January 13th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
original a-5 marker, still in the processes of rooting out the differences
comes with selector switch non electronic grip, low profile hopper, cover for the air line, removable front lip

98 custom, less upgradable, fore grip non removable, minimal barrels for it, gravity hopper
Marker Setup: new tippmann A5 2011 w/ selector switch grip
opsgear 416 shroud
M4 Gas Through Magazine - Selector Switch Compatible
M4 collapsible stock
remote line with valve control
3000psi pure energy HPA
electric trigger
front M4 iron sight + rear iron sight carry handle
1 point sling
red hot power tube
X7 low profile hopper
hammerhead battle stikxx barrel
holographic sight
tac cap 50 round hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
starter- HPA tank, newer barrel (your choice),

advanced- 58+/4500 HPA tank, sizer barrel (hammerhead, tectt i fit, freak barrel), redhot power tube, response trigger (less worry about the batteries),

milsim- 58+/4500 HPA tank, sizer barrel (hammerhead, tectt i fit, freak barrel), redhot power tube, response trigger (less worry about the batteries), any body kit for the a-5 (check rockstar tactical or opsgear for kits) dogleg gas through stock, tac cap, remote line, (coming soon the mag upgrade)
Strengths: Durable, reliable, trusting, upgradable, milsim look
Weaknesses: BPS, sight blocking, non speedball marker. gas hog
Review: this is a review of the new tippmann a-5 marker w/ SS grip. i have used the original a-5 for 4 years and bought the new one for the different "upgrades" they included in the marker, first off i havent field tested this marker personally but seen others use it, this is a bases to bases comparison to the original. four major things they changed in the new 2011 marker is the the selector switch non electronic grip which is a plus to a more milsim look, second they put a black rubber cover on the gas line to reduce the shinny parts of the marker, third is the low profile hopper comes with it rather than the original big hopper, and last but not least and my most favorite the front lip on the marker near the fore grip is removable, yes no more milling and cutting of the marker necessary. they redid the cyclone feed paddles not making them squishy but more smoother than the original, two things i have to say for tippmann owner who are looking to get the new one, the trigger grips body is snug with the tombstone line, which means if the mag kit you have for your marker fits snug it wont fit on the new one unless you cut some parts on the mag kit, second is the places where you put the pins are a bit wider than the original, my opsgear 416 kit back portion will not fit unless i augment the A-5 or the shroud it self.

now the main review about this marker in general, i have been using this marker for four years of my life sense i started playing paintball, dealing with durability this marker can take it, snow, water, dirt, mud, rocks, sand nothing of the elements with truly tarnish this marker, the only repair i had to do was the cyclone feed internals broke but was an easy fix. the accuracy of the marker is variable, you can be very accurate with this marker if you have certain barrels on it, i personally use the hammer head barrel and i can piss someone off 140 feet away. i do recommend a barrel with a bore sizer on it to enhance the accuracy and distance of the marker (or any marker for that matter). i have to say this marker does like to eat air like its going out of style, i recommend i bigger air tank than the "standard" 48/3000 HPA tank. looks are always a plus if your looking for a gun look to it, starting off it looks like the MP5K minus the magazine and barrel length. i personally made my marker look like the H&K 416 rifle which i love, but you can make this marker look like anything from the MP5SD to the M4 carbine to the M107 barret sniper rifle if its a real gun you can make the A-5 look like it. and adding for a bigger bonus tacamo is coming out with a magazine upgrade for the marker, yes that means no more hopper, you will be able to use the RAP4 magazines and box mag for the true hardcore military sim upgrade

(now used over 100 times) EDIT OF THE REVIEW
i have put this marker through all the harsh gameplay i can give it. first i would like to mention ether the marker i got has this only problem or horrible paint i somehow put in it, it will chop paint on the last 5 shots (i really dont know why i did all that is necessary it hasnt done it in the past 5 games but who knows) but the marker performs just like the original, about it using more gas than necessary it in my opinion uses the same amount of air as the original A-5, the new trigger performs just a great as the original just takes time to get used to the selector switch trigger (but only a few games) i did have to mill the parts that hold the pins on the rear of the marker so i can fit my opsgear kit but that wasnt hard. all in all it performs the same, shoots the same, and acts the same, and when i say the same i mean to its best, it has not let me down, nothing crazy has happend besides the ball breaking but it stopped, and still puts up with the 3 times of paintball i do a week. its only $170 so your not killing the bank and there are many many upgrades for the gun
Conclusion: The conclusion of this marker is i still give it a 10 out of 10, for both the original and the new 2011 model, i know this gun is reliable and always will be, i have a plethora of upgrades, body kits, barrels that i can buy for this marker. its not expensive like some mechanical and electronic guns. if your more into speedball, i dont recommend this, but i being the hardcore scenario player i love and trust this marker 100% for starters and advanced players
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 5th, 2011 at 12:46 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

'Ol Paintless Monday, January 3rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
bt 4, bt delta, tippmann 98, spyders, brass eagle POS
Marker Setup: TIppmann A5: 16" JJ Barrel/14" CP/10" Tiller/3" Aluminum barrel, A5 to spyder thread insert adapter, Low profile X7 hopper, Tech T squishy Paddles, Response Trigger (Was using H.E. E-Grip until is tore itself apart.), Rufus Dawg blade double trigger (Tech T Fang Double Trigger with e-grip), Dead On Paintball 6.5 inch drop forward with On/off ASA, custom made wooden foregrip.
Azodin Kaos: ER Db Hopper
Delta 68: Dummy 12 Gram, Bottomline ASA
Spyder TL + (This is the only gun I have running off of CO2)
Invert Mini Storm LE with Empire Prophecy loader
Lapco Grey Ghost #395
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything I have done and more
Strengths: RELIABLE/ Easy to fix
Upgradable
Customizable
Recognizable
Lots of aftermarket possibilites
Weaknesses: Expensive
BIIGG Hopper catches paintballs
Feedneck catches paintballs
Stock Barrel
Can become a money pit
Review: This was the 2nd paintball gun I owned. I loved it when I first got it because it was made to work. Plain and simple it just works.

The first thing I got sick of was the barrel. No problem, most guns have bad barrels out of box. The second thing I got sick of was the stock hopper. Thing may as well have a bullseye painted on it it caught so much fire.

After taking care of those I was happy with the basic usability of the gun. I did some more mods, like the E Grip and put a HUUUGEE drop forward on to make it more like a speedball gun in compact feel. (Its actually more compact than most speedball guns now..)

I love my a5, but out of the box, it was kinda clunky and useless. As I used it more, I started thinking about how I would have been better off just buying a 98. After I have modded it this much and put about 700 bucks into it, I kinda wish I had just bought a MacDev or something.

The fact of the matter is this: I was relatively unexperienced with paintball when I bought this gun. This Gun has been my training wheels for paintball (my brass eagle POS was my tricycle). I use this gun all the time and will never stop using it until it breaks and there is no possible way to fix it. HOWEVER. I will not buy another one. I love it to death, but for the amount of money I have spent on it to get it to this point, I could have got something else that did the same thing except faster and with less recoil.
Conclusion: If you are new to paintball, this is your magic ticket. If you are experienced, I don't know why you are reading this unless you are a milsimmer.

I was new to paintball when I got this, and I loved it. I'm still new to paintball but I have definitely grown. The great thing about my A5 is that it has grown with me and for that, I love it. If I were rating my A5 i would rate 10. But I am not rating my A5. I'm rating an A5 out of the box, so I am rating it a 7. Its too expensive for what you get out of the box.

- EDIT - I have been having issues with the Tombstone adapter. After a few shots, the tombstone shifts and the o-ring in the powertube slips upwards, causing a severe leak of air. Turns out the 'Tombstone Latch' part has broken. Why they made such a crucial part out of such crummy plastic, I do not know. My problems with the tombstone started once this latch broke and stopped as soon as I zip-tied the tombstone onto the A5. A replacement latch is darn near impossible to find so a frankenstein latch like mine might be what you have to do until you can find one. Word to the wise: LEAVE YOUR TOMBSTONE ALONE!!!! The more you take it out and put it back in, the more mileage you put on that latch! - Keeping the rating at 7 for now cuz I still love this gun.

EDIT #2 - So I ended up milling out one of the halves of the body with a dremel tool, seating a bolt where the tombstone latch used to be and screwing a washer/nut down onto the tombstone to hold it in. It's a fairly easy fix if you have a dremel tool, barely visible and WAY stronger than that plastic POS latch Tippmann put in there. I then started having a problem with the slider on the trigger sticking to the sear and not firing if the trigger was being held down as the marker was cocking. I tried replacing springs, adjusting the pull on the trigger, flipping the slider upside down and even angling the spring that pushes the slider out from the trigger. In the end, I bought a Tech T Hair Trigger set and made the sear sit a little higher up. The slider on the trigger no longer catches on the sear, preventing the gun from resetting if the trigger is being held as the hammer is cocking the sear in place. Gun is working perfectly. Will update if necessary. :)

EDIT 3 - So, the A5 started to full auto burp on me. I started troubleshooting by taking it apart and checking for broken o-rings, cracks in the parts (especially the power tube) and scratched or warped pieces. Nothing. Nothing seemed wrong. I replaced the hammer o-ring and the mainspring. It worked, kind of, for one game and then started doing the burp again. The weirdest thing was - if it was set to around 315+ fps, it would work fine! I polished the internals, put a T fitting on the RT and Cyclone (instead of using the two port method) to cut down on the excess gas being used and still - Nothing! At this point I was starting to think it was Effed. Last ditch effort, I replaced the sear and took off the hairpin trigger set. Success! It worked like new! The sear wasn't even catching the trigger slider like I outlined in my earlier edit! Works like new! I guess my old sear had somehow become slightly bent ( which is why it was catching the trigger slider) and the hairpin trigger kit had caused it to wear down a little faster than normal. Everything is good now, though - Again - will update if necessary...
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 24th, 2011 at 7:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Luke3154 Monday, October 18th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: A-5 with RT and homemade stock, 14 inche rap4 rifled barrel
Strengths: Looks
Reliable
Never chops paint
Easy to upgrade
Easy to field strip
Weaknesses: Air Hog
Plastic grip and other such parts
Review: I got this gun because i wanted something that was easier to make homemade mods for and I wanted a response trigger so i could go full auto without worrieing about electronic failures and dead batteries. The draw back to the RT is it uses a lot of gas, well the cyclone feeder and RT use a fair amount of gas but its worth it
Conclusion: This is a great gun that works great right out of the box, and is one of the most reliable markers i have ever owned
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jawshoouh Monday, September 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS3
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with E-Grip
TechT Vortex Mod
TechT Lightening Rod
TechT QEPH
TechT Squishy Paddles
TechT Zero Hammer Kick
Lapco Big Shot Barrel with Apex tip
Tippmann Special Ops Longbow Stock
Trinity Aluminum Cocking Handle
Trinity Low Profile Hopper
Ninja Remote Plug
Pure Energy Tank w/ Reactor III 70CI 4500PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
At a bare minimum, an aftermarket barrel. The E-Grip and the TechT Cyclone Max Upgrade are icing on the cake.
Strengths: Reliable, dependable, upgradeable, customizable, great ROI
Weaknesses: I can't think of anything I would describe as a weakness.
Review: This is an awesome marker. There are enough reviews here to back that statement up. The price you pay for it and what you get in return is incredible: a reliable, dependable, upgradeable, customizable paint marker. Out of the box, it's a great marker for a beginner to a monthly woodsball player like myself. It's gotten muddy, drenched in rain, splattered in paint, slammed into trees, jammed into rocks, dropped on concrete, and it just keeps going. It's like the Timex of paintball markers.

Add a few modifications to it, and it just gets better. The stock barrel isn't anything to write home about, so something a little more accurate is a must if you play often. Accuracy- AND distance-wise, I've had more luck with the Lapco Big Shot barrel with an Apex tip versus a Flatline barrel.

I personally haven't tried the Response trigger, but friends who have an A-5 with the Response prefer shooting my A-5 with the E-Grip. It takes a 9v battery that lasts forever and spits out paint at around 30bps. I'm not a big fan of spray-and-pray, but when you're covering teammates who are trying to flank enemies in defilade or advance on someone in a tower, having the option to concentrate 30bps on that single position can be of great tactical use.

With my old 72CI 3000PSI tank, the A-5 could blaze through that tank before it would use up the 1,200+ paintballs I usually carry on me. I now have a 70CI 4500PSI tank and I'm running out of paintballs before I'm running out of gas.

I would go on about the TechT mods I put in, but this is a review about the A-5, so I digress. Just see the Conclusion on the next line :)
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this marker to anyone who enjoys playing paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 27th, 2010 at 4:08 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tetra22 Saturday, September 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Tippmann pro-lite
JT tac-5m Recon
Autocockers
Spyders
F4 illustrator
Ion
Angels
Piranhas
Marker Setup: Stock Piranha GSX
24oz co2
VL quantum loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed but a barrel only helps
Strengths: Cyclone feed
Reliable
Sturdy
Realistic
Accurate
Cool looking
Lots of upgrades available
Fast ROF
Weaknesses: Very very difficult to come up with any weaknesses
Review: I got this gun used in rough shape for an extremely good price and is the greatest gun I've ever had. It NEVER chops with that fabulous cyclone feed system and even though it has a single mechanical trigger, I can really pump out the ROF. The fast rate isn't even necessary, though, because it is so accurate you can take anyone out in one shot. I use a 16" ACI barrel on mine and it is DEATHLY accurate. I've actually gone up against ions, angels, and other nice electric guns and whooped them all with my accuracy and consistency. I have never had a problem with it and only broken ONE ball out of the 4000 I've shot out of it.
Conclusion: It's one of the most amazing airguns ever devised by humankind. Go get one. It will never fail you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media