paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
xXxCAPNxCHARxXx Sunday, April 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom flatline
Marker Setup: A5 w/ response trigger
Offset mount w/ tacticle red dot sight
Flatline with Tacticle shroud
PMI 64/ 4500 HPA tank
*sometimes*
SAW Stock
PMI remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
recommend? nothing. Marker is amazing right out of the box.
Strengths: Accuracy!
Size and Shape
Cyclone feed
totally upgradable
TOUGH
Weaknesses: loud, some people dont like it. I love it.
Review: Ive had this gun 2 years and i LOVE it!!

this gun is so accurate right out of the box. Its balanced very well, the cyclone feed is amazing. Ive never chopped a ball. This is the only gun I will ever use. If your looking for a gun look no further. This is it.
Conclusion: BUY IT! there is no weakness to this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

harrytwang Sunday, April 13th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 customs, Bob long intimidator,
Marker Setup: tippmann a5, flatline barrel, response trigger, double trigger, m4 collapsible stock, evil regulator, upgraded cyclone ratchet, gas chamber/piston housing,
Recommended
Upgrades:
cyclone upgrade for sure, e grip or response trigger ( preferably egrip a lot faster), regulator.
Strengths: Cool looking marker. lots of upgrades.
Weaknesses: Cyclone, bps, air consumption, shooting consistency
Review: All and all it's a decent marker for woods ball and scenario but speed ball you will be left in the dirt crying to your mom when someone with a ion or bob long gets you with at least 5 to 10 ball without trying. I know, except the whole crying part. I like my marker but i have a lot of friends that play speed ball and i just can't keep up, and when i do keep up i am trying hard. When i was in the marines we were taught fire suppression is the key to winning the battle and incorporating this into paintball bps is the key to beating your opponent in speed ball. On the other hand woodsball/ scenario,stealth and tactics and then fire suppression is your best bet.
Taking this into account review what kind of game you want to play. Speed ball i would not reccomend this marker just due to the poor air efficiency and the lack of bps. Bps and air efficiency is the key which the a5 does not have.
Woodsball on the other hand is a lot slower and easier paced. Great marker for woodsball/ scenario. Great marker for a sniper.
If you're looking for a marker play first and see what kind of game you want to play. Then try some markers out.
Strength on the marker: None really. Except you can find parts everywhere why because you are going to need it.
Weaknesses: Like i said above the cyclone ratchet stripps out. What do you expect from plastic. With the use of a gas powered cyclone it has poor air efficency for how many ball you fire. Bps is the largest weakness to the a5 even with the e grip. the egrip is not as good as some people say and it is also an accessory that is not allowed in a lot of tournaments due to the types of mode that are available. Mechanical or electronic firing mechanism? Electronic is your best bet.
Conclusion: Good marker for woods and scenario but not for speed ball. This marker is made for slower paced games and someone who doesn't fire a whole lot. And if you want to make this marker fast up grade your cyclone, bolts, trigger, and barrel. If you want a marker that you can use for both there are markers designed for speed and speed is the key to winning. you get what you pay for in a marker and this game is not cheap.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Sp4nkySlayer Saturday, April 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Played with friend's 98's, Ions, and Spyders
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Response, Double Trigger, Co2, 16" Thunder Pig barrel, two pod pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, double trigger, response, a sight for long range
Strengths: Stock power and accuracy
Will fire almost any paint
Response has great feeling
Weaknesses: 8 Inch barrel needs to be destroyed, replace asap
Review: The Tippmann A-5 is a great beginner marker for all who want to try paintball and don't mind taking the hit on price. It is a higher end Co2 marker and can be later converted to Nitro, making it keepable as your skill increases. Getting used to the response can take time, but once you find that sweet spot, its real easy to drop five round bursts on the run. Once you put a longer barrel on, it really becomes a gun you can reach out and touch someone with. Its loud, so in woodsball you can scare the pants off people, but in speedball you give away your position quickly. The marker was not that expensive for its durabilty and longevity, so I feel it was worth it. I picked it up in a starter package for $240, which i felt was completly worth it.
Conclusion: A great starter marker for someone who really thinks they are going to be into paintball. It can be used for woodsball or speedball. Reliable and sturdy, you have to try to break the mechanics of the marker. Definate buy worthy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

exodus19 Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5
Full metal parts upgrade for cyclone
Full metal parts upgrade for power tube
Apex m4 shoud barrel for a-5
Adjustable m4 stock
Stovepipe hopper elbow (to move it outta the way so i can see :P)
Tippman a-5 e-trigger with WAS board
42mm red-dot scope
double trigger
m4 magazine expantion chamber with air through
remote line
20 oz. c02
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think my setup is probably the best setup for it. For me anyway.
Strengths: Accurate
RELIABLE!!!
Easily modified
Easy to take apart and clean
Weaknesses: Its not the best gun out there
Review: So I got a Tippmann 98 about a year ago, didn't modify it at all, didn't think i should. It never broke once, never chopped paint once, and it never did anything to upset me. I probably only had to replace the o-rings. So then I decided to purchase an A-5. I've never fallen so in love with a paintball gun as much as I have with this one.

First gun I've ever added on to. It looks very nice. Its practically an mp5k paintball gun. But I wanted to make it better. The gun was about a 7 before all the upgrading but now its a 10. Upgrading it to everything metal that moves in the gun is probably the best thing you could do. Everyone says its a gas hog, which it is, until you get these upgrades. It makes the gun so much smoother and it actually adds about 150-200 more shots to your tank(mines a 20). Then with the apex this gun is unstoppable in range compared to other guns. I play woods ball so range is a nessisary for me. Then with the added stock it is so much more comfortable. The gun doesn't come with one but putting one on is as easy as taking out 2 pins. Adding a red-dot gives you fast and easy accuracy. People argue that sights are useless but your first shots count. Also for me the Hopper add on elbow was a nessisary because it is kinda in the way all the time. The e-trigger goes great with it, and the double trigger makes it even better.
Conclusion: Its a good gun out of the box but with the right add-ons it can be a dominator on the field. Expecially in woodsball. I give it a 9 out of 10 because in order for it to be a great gun you have to modify it. Its a 6-7 straight out of the box though. But with my set-up its a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

earlybird Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
'99 Autococker, Tippmann '98, Smartparts ION
Marker Setup: 32 Degrees Coiled Remote w/ Slide Check, APE Rampage Board, JCS Duel Trigger, Metadyne A-5 Tri-Rail, Ricochet R5 Black, Special Ops A-5/X7 Cocking Handle Mod, Special Ops and Stiffi C-Serise A-5 16" Barrel O.D., Tapco A-5 T6 Adjustable Stock, Tech T A-5 Vortex Cyclone Mod, Tech T Squishy Paddles, Tippmann and Special Ops A-5 Stovepipe Hopper Offset, Tippmann and Special Ops A-5 Flattop Rail, Trinity AR-15 SWAT Force Mount, TAC GEAR 4 Reticle Halo Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel(Flatline is a good choice), Offset hopper if you're going to add scope mounts, HPA if you can spend the extra money, response trigger or e-grips, Tech T Vortex Mod, Tech T Squishy Paddles
Strengths: A ton of mods available
Very reliable
Weaknesses: Hopper blocks sight line, cyclone parts are junk, pricey to mod
Review: I've been playing paintball since 1998 and have not seen a woodsball gun as reliable and moddable as the A-5. Normally during woodsball games I play the sniper position and with an upgraded barrel you are going to hit your target almost every time. The Cyclone feed system is a work of art, unfortunately it's also the most likely to fail. The stock parts in the feed system aren't very well made so I upgraded them and haven't had a problem since. If you have the e-grips you're going to get a very high rof as well...not as fast as some tourney markers but you'll be pretty close. I've managed to get about 20 bps.

Since nothing's perfect...like I said, the stock cyclone parts are crap so you might want to consider upgrading those. Also, if you want to put a rail system and scope on your marker, the stock hopper blocks the view (I have an offset elbow that cants the hopper off to the right, clearing the sight line). This ball is not a tournament gun in the least, but seeing as how it's not an electronic gun I'll assume you already knew that, hese gripes are negligible though.
Conclusion: If you are wanting to get into paintball (woodsball specifically) then pick this gun up. You won't be disappointed at what you can do with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bette10 Saturday, April 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
better than bt4's
Marker Setup: shockteck drop forward, on off asa, low pressure kit, R/T, apex barrel, Ricochet hopper crossfire 4500 penut tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward, apex barrel
Strengths: accurate, high rate of fire, VERY durable, Never breaks balls
Weaknesses: cyclone sorta hard to clean but ok. Sorta needs a drop.
Review: This is the best woodsball gun ever!!! It is for anyone. Very easy to upgrade. Stock parts are ok. C02 with rt isnt very smart idea. was alot of co2 but way more air efficient on n2 or compressed air. It is the ultimate gun for a woodsballers. It is definatly recomended for any1. never chopped 1 ball. My friends both have a-5s and never cleaned it once never chopped a ball. All of our a-5s never had problems!! They had theirs longer than i had mine. they had thiers for 5 years. Great with freak jr or the freak kits.
Conclusion: The best woodsball gun ever never brokin in 5 years. Never even oiled it be4!! U need to buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CyclonicMonk Saturday, March 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
MY first gun
Marker Setup: Im working on it
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel
Strengths: -Never chops
-Reliable
-Durable
-Accurate
-Fast
-Great feed
-Cyclone feed
-Super easy to clean
Weaknesses: I cant think of anything!!!!!!!
Review: This is an awesome gun.
i shot probably 2000 balls and i didnt chop any.
after i got home i had to clean my gun and it took me only 20 mins to completely clean my gun...someone shot it...paint was everywhere.
It was suprisingly accurate
i love this weapon
Conclusion: Buy it you will not regret i promise...You can never go wrong with Tippmann
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pantherfan88 Friday, March 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Tac five (ops i mean crap five)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, Virtue Boad, Pro EQ bolt, Sp 360 QEV, Full Freak Barrel Kit, Hybrid Virtue Grip, Q lock feed neck, New Designz Roller Trigger, New Designz Scopian frame, Virtue'd Viewloader Vlocity (Basically nothing stock except for the reg)

Smartparts NXT Nasty Shocker #27 Tadao Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Responce tirgger
Stay away from barrels that just look cool because they are heavy as hell!!
Strengths: Tippmans are Tanks they dont break
Dont break
Weaknesses: Heavy
Breaks paint(less often than crap five though)
Review: The a5 is a beast of a paintball gun it just doesn't break. I had it break twice and that is only because after the Responce trigger was installed the rate of fire was too high and so the rachet arm broke. And then it broke again. Yes i was pissed to say the least but then the gun tech at pevs installed a stainless steel one that never broke no matter how fast i shot the gun....As for price dont go spending 1000 bucks just to make it look like an m16...yeah i spent over 1000!! yes i'll say it again over a thousand!! And no my mommie doesn't buy my paintball stuff!!! I'm giving it an 8 only b/c i just recently sold it....and yes i miss her already!
Conclusion: Wonderfull starter gun...Durable as hell!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fideru Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C
Spyder Xtra/Pilot
Smart Parts Ion/Ion Max'd/XE
Marker Setup: In-between markers at the current moment.
Recommended
Upgrades:
As with all Tippmanns, new barrel for sure.
All else is really up to you.
Strengths: Reliability
Comes with Hopper
Lighter Mech Trigger
Looks Good
Lotsa Upgrades
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Gas Hog
(Imo) Price
Review: Tested this marker for a bit, shooting approx a case of balls.

First I tested it stock, which I noted the stock barrel is not good at all. Replaced with it a Linear, and shot quite fine.

Hopper does its job, fires as fast as you shoot it, which is great with no e-grip, because you'll never chop (unless your cyclone went wrong somewhere).

It is a Tippmann, and is quite reliable, took a bit of a beating from the current owner. Battered and bruised, but still works.

In my opinion, the look of the MP5 really makes this marker appeal to me. Specially with upgrades, really good for milsim and woodsballing.

One thing I did note though, is I ran out of CO2 3 times shooting approximately a case of paintballs. So approx. little over 650 for fill? That's not very good. But still, when is CO2 good to use other than cost-effective?
Conclusion: I fully recommend this product, it does do its job, and its pros fully outweigh its cons.
Although the price is a bit high, if you need a good woodsball marker, hit this up first.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Byrdgod Tuesday, March 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, flatline barrel with shroud, expansion chamber added.
Strengths: Sturdy, easy to maintain, workhorse marker.
Weaknesses: Really must add accessories to make it an effective marker.
Review: The A5 is just like any other Tippmann; tough, affordable, unbreakable marker. The cyclone feed system that comes with this model is a huge step up from the 98's gravity feed system. No ball chop. Accurate up to a point but you will want to use decent balls to improve the accuracy. Not fully automatic but will keep up with your finger.
Conclusion: If you are new to paintball and want to buy a decent marker that can stick with you and be upgraded as your game grows this is the ONE.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media