paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  102  |  103  |  104  |  105  |  106  |  107  |  108  |  Last
        Next Page
Duffman2765 Tuesday, October 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5; 14-inch Smart Parts TearDrop barrel; Dead-On drop forward, foregrip & double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel, double trigger, drop forward (if you want to use it for speedball), expansion chamber
Strengths: Ease of maintenance
ROF
Accuracy
Awesome looks (my opinion)
Weaknesses: Gas usage
Cyclone Feed may need some tinkering
Weight
Review: I just purchased an A-5 from a friend of mine, and let me start by saying that this is one of the best guns I have ever used. I've shot everything from rental Spyders to an Angel LCD, and the A-5 can compete with nearly any gun out there. It can fire as fast as I can move my fingers to pull the trigger, which is more than I can say of some other guns I've used, both more and less expensive than the A-5. The Cyclone Feed system works just like Tippmann says it does, and Tippmann says some pretty good things about it. In one day I used around 800 rounds (using $50/case paint at a field where Marballizer costs almost $70/case) without a single break or dry-fire. That's a good day no matter what you're using.
Now, on to accuracy. I can't say how well the A-5 shoots out of the box, as I have yet to shoot it with the stock barrel attached. However, using both a 14-inch Tear Drop and the stock barrel from the 98 Custom (that's right, the standard 8.5" barrel from a $130 gun) I could place 4 balls in a row on a hanging paint can about the size of a large coffee mug from 30 feet away without too much trouble - and I'm no marksman.
Okay, the A-5 shoots straight and fast, but with the Cyclone Feed system and all, isn't it a pretty complicated gun? Not at all. Tippmann's website boasts the A-5 can be field stripped and reassembled in 60 seconds, which I think is a bit conservative. The quick disassembly pins are incredibly easy to push out - the only problem I had all day was that one of the pins is located just below the Cyclone, which makes it difficult to push in without using something like a screwdriver to get it out. Even if you need to take apart the entire gun all you need are two allen wrenches and a few minutes.
One more thing that stood out to me is the fact that the hopper is not above the gun like with most other markers, it is on the right side. Not only does this make for a more compact design overall, but it put me at a big advantage over other players because I'm a lefty. I can pop out the left side of a bunker, and the only thing an opposing player has to shoot at is my barrel. If you're a speedball or tourney player, I'd recommend learning to shoot left-handed with this gun, as it decreases your target profile by about half.
As great as the A-5 is, I do have a few minor beefs with it. The most glaring of these is how fast this gun goes through CO2. Basically, if the A-5 was a car, its fuel efficiency would probably compare to that of a Hummvee. I filled my 20 oz tank before the first game in the morning, and was out by lunch. I'd say I probably got about 400 shots out of each fill.
Another problem I had, also Cyclone Feed-related, was that near the end of the day it stopped working on me. The gun was still firing, but the blades in the feed system stopped turning, preventing any balls from getting into the chamber. I asked the guy at the proshop about this - his response? "Yeah, to fix that you'll have to open up the system and file down the rods, and maybe cut the spring too. Or just ship it back to Tippmann, they'll be able to fix it." Now I'm no expert on the mechanics of a paintball gun, so I wasn't about to try filing anything down. I was equally turned-off by the prospect of shipping my recently-acquired gun back to Tippmann to have them fix it. So, when I got home I decided to try and diagnose the problem myself. As it turned out, the man at the proshop had no idea what he was talking about, and I fixed the problem in about 10 minutes. Inside the Cyclone system is a small metal rod that hooks into a sawblade-shaped circular disk when it is pushed in by firing the gun. A spring then pulls this rod back, which rotates the blades and loads the next ball. The problem with my gun was that the metal rod was pushing up against the disk so hard that when it moved forward and grabbed the next groove, it didn't pull back because the spring didn't have enough power to overcome the force of the rod pushing against the disk (it sounds very complicated, but if you ever get a chance look at the internals of an A-5 and you should figure out what I mean in a matter of seconds). I quickly remedied this by slightly bending the metal rod out with a pair of pliers, and just for good measure I oiled all the parts as well. That's all I did - bend a piece of metal.
You'll see I've listed weight as a weakness of the gun, but I would describe it as more of an inconvenience. It doesn't really hinder me at all, but near the end of the day I started to notice that the A-5 is above average when it comes to weight. With my drop forward and 20 oz tank, I'd say the A-5 weighs in around 6 lbs when fully loaded with paint, which is comparable to an M-16. This isn't really a big issue, but I am the type of player who sprints whenever I feel a walk won't suffice, so by the end of the day I'm dead tired no matter what I'm using.
Conclusion: This gun has a lot going for it, and it's certainly another excellent product from Tippmann. My play style and the specific gun I have are really the only things that caused problems for me, otherwise the only issue is the gas consumption. Aside from that, so far the gun has performed flawlessly for me. I'm planning on using it in an upcoming tournament, and I expect I'll be able to keep up with most anything that is thrown at me.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 15th, 2003 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Deer Hunter Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann Pro-Carbine
Marker Setup: M3 T.E.S.
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (Lapco Bigshot)
Expansion Chamber
E-Grip
Strengths: Fast
Durable
Accurate
Looks great
Only busted 1 ball
Weaknesses: See Review.
Review: This gun is awesome. I have chopped only 1 ball in the cyclone feed, because someone shot the cyclone feed and it busted a ball. It was hard to clean but still works great. This gun looks great. Looks like a real gun in a way. This gun is durable. I dropped it on the sidewalk and one scratch, but no broken parts. Great gun for beginners or intermediate players. If you put the E-Grip on this gun, you will be amazed. So fast, i got it around 16 bps on semi. Great gun.
Conclusion: Worth $200-$280. Get it, only 1 ball busted and this gun can shoot 800 rounds per minute. Great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jo_Boo Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Brass Eagle :(
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, soon an Armson stealth barrel. otherwise stock for now
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel. The stock barrel is definitely not very accurate. The short length makes it good for close quarters and that is just about it, however with good paintballs and on a relatively windless day it will do just fine.
Strengths: Cyclone feed is awesome! It Is very well designed. Marker is extremely durable.
Weaknesses: With the stock barrel, this thing is loud and not too accurate.
Review: I have played off and on for a few years now and this is my first higher end blowback marker. I absolutely love this thing. I am highly impressed with the feed system. It works like a dream and extremely smooth. I have not had a break yet with 5,000 rounds through it. The rate of fire of a stock A-5 is good, but with the response trigger it is phenomenal. This thing sends up a wall of paint. Comes in handy when you are being charged.
This marker is extremely durable. It is a great choice for those who like to play woods ball. It will take just about any abuse you can throw at it, (albeit un-recommended). The only aspect of the marker that you might want to be careful with is the charging plunger for the feed system. Other than that this thing should last for a good long while.
For those who like to play scenario games or like to have a marker that doesn't feel like a toy this is an excellent choice. Being modeled after an H&K MP5 and having some heft to it, this thing is very realistic.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this marker to anyone who wants a lower priced, quality made marker. It is fast, smooth firing, can be very accurate with better barrel, has great looks and will not disappoint. This marker is well designed and will serve you well for many a game, and will hold its own against most others on the market.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Exterminex Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippmann 98 Custom
-Many Different Spyders
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5- Response Trigger, Dye Boomstick.
Spyder Xtra- ESP Trigger Frame, All American, Evolution 2 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
First off get a barrel, such as a Freak or Boomstick. After that I would get a response trigger, unless you are a tournament player. Then it's pretty much little things like a Hyperstar Bolt or a new hopper if you need(they have 240 hoppers). I can't think of much more you would want.
Strengths: The Feeder...very nice
With a RT Trigger I get like 10 bps
Durable.
Weaknesses: A little heavy if you ask me....but besides that it's a great gun.
Review: This gun is great. I can play woodsball, speedball, whatever I want to play. I have dropped my gun several times, all I had to do was pick it up and dust it off and I was ready to go. Put a Freak on the thing and you got a gun that can shoot just as good as any of the other guns that people pay $1000.00+ for.
Conclusion: A absoulutely great buy. You can't go wrong with this gun. It shoots fast, wont chop a ball, and it's as durable as the 98 Custom. If you are looking for a good entry level gun, that isn't too pricey....This is the gun for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shiboinka Tuesday, October 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 c
Marker Setup: stock a5
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline remote hpa stock egrip or rt
Strengths: very fast for mechanic gun rugged fun looks cool
Weaknesses: barrel gas usage
Review: ive used this guns for about 3 months and it has been hella fun to play with it always works and shoots in the general area that im aiming at
one thing i dont like is it uses alot of gas due to the cyclone feed and its performance drops alot when tank is half full so get get a big tank
the mp5 sights make for easy aiming
Conclusion: id say that if you are into scnario type play or are a once a month kind of player this gun will do the trick
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eric Ahrens Tuesday, October 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have also used the genesis surge. The genesis surge is about one pound lighter . The a-5 has pin point accuracy.
Marker Setup: I have a a-5 tippmann with a scope,bipod and a 16inch sniper barrel with riffling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A scope any kind. A longer barrel i recommend one with riffling it gives the ball a spin. A bi-pod steadys your shot alot.
Strengths: A-5 is easy to clean, easy to put upgrades. Speed is good.
Weaknesses: Its somewhat heavy. when low on co2 the feed system doesn't load.
Review: The tippmann a-5 is the best gun i have ever tested and seen. There isn't much about it that isn't great. Its the kind of gun u would buy on a different company for over 500 dollars. Its very durable and will last u a long time.
Conclusion: All in all its accurate durable fast shooting a little on the heavy side and looks really cool.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AccessTime Tuesday, October 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Dye Excel barrel, RT
Recommended
Upgrades:
RT or E-trigger
Strengths: Very high ROF. Durable, unmatched reliability. Ease of use.
Weaknesses: Gas hog. Poor single-shot accuracy.
Review: First, this marker can be easily found for $230.00 (no mods), $300.00 (RT installed), $350.00 (e-trigger installed). With the latter options you get a marker with comparable ROF to most high-end guns. And very easy to use with minimal maintainance. Unlike the 98 you can remove and clean the whole firing assembly and reinstall it in less than 5 minutes.

The reliability of this marker, especially when rapid-firing, is simply unmatched. I can go a whole day and fire 1500+ rounds (PMI premium) and it will not misfire, chop, or spray a single one. While the single-shot accuracy is not great, average to below average, the rapid-fire accuracy is as good or better than other markers in its class. The gun is an absolute gas hog, with a 9oz you can go through one hopper and two pods before the velocity starts to drop. A 12oz is enough for one hopper and 3 pods, 4 if you're lucky. I'd recommend at least a 12oz if you want to get through 2 games with this marker.
Conclusion: If you want something that can keep its ROF equal to or near the high-end guns like the Angel Speed, albeit with not as good accuracy, this is the marker to get. If you like to mark from a distance you can probably compensate by adding a flatline. For conservative shooters I would recommend the RT of E-trigger, as it will let you get more shots off in a shorter time period. Use decent paint and check it first -- if the paintballs are sticking together or they have become soft you are almost gauranteed to get misfires or even break a ball in the mechanism, which can make a real mess.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 20th, 2003 at 1:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tofurkey Monday, October 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray; Tippmann 98; Spyder 2000; E-99
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ response, new bolt, RVA, flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline, Response
Strengths: Somewhat lighweight, it DOESNT break balls
Weaknesses: CO2 hog.
Review: Ive owned and shot many guns in the past few years, and few compare to the A-5.
Good
*Feel
*balance
*DOESNT break paint
*Easy to clean
*Simple to maintain, just dont touch the hopper
*Hopper wont fall of
*When the gun fires it ALWAYS loads a ball, no shaking the hopper
*Ive shot over 4000 and havent broke one.

Bad
CO2 Hog
Hopper is a big targer
Conclusion: Its worth it, the Flatline is WAY better then the 98 one. The only real negative aspect is that it is a CO2 hog.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DrewRiggio Monday, October 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98s of various configurations, Orracle E-Class
Marker Setup: Borrowed and Rentals, saving up for an A-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
Basic - new barrel

Higher end - above plus...
Expansion Chamber
Drop Forward
Strengths: Fast, reliable, inexpensive and easy to use.
Weaknesses: Increased gas use, difficult to clean cyclone if it becomes fouled.
Review: I'm fairly new to paintball, but I am definitely hooked. I want my own marker, and have some money to spend but do not want to make a purchase based only on advertising. That means I have spent some time at the field's chrono station and target range with a sack of paintballs asking people if I can test fire their markers if I provide paint. So far this form of bribery has worked well, since most folks seem to love to discuss the virtues of their markers.

I had heard good things about the A-5 and it turns out to be a very popular marker at the local field. I got to test fire several configurations of it. I have a very positive overall experience. My impressions:

The first thing you notice when walking the firing line asking people to test fire their markers is that you always know who's using an A-5. They're the ones that make you want to hold your ears when they fire near you. The A-5 is loud. If you want to hope people will not pinpoint your location after your first few shots based purely on the noise, the A-5 is not the marker for you. If you love "intimidation through big boom" this is a great choice.

The second thing you notice is that A-5 users tend to enjoy an insane rate of fire without chopping paintballs. The ones with the Electronic systems or Response Trigger allow incredible rate of fire, even when not using their "full auto (electronic) or "response trigger sweet spot" fast firing modes. The cyclone feeder keeps up with very high rates of finger pulling on that trigger.

The Cyclone is a neat and innovative addition to the marker. It keeps up with high firing rate without chopping balls because the action and the feeding system are linked. It's sort of like the World War 1 planes with a machine gun that fired through the propeller as it spun; they had a timing chain to make sure the gun fired when the propeller was not in front of the gun when it went off. Likewise, the action in the gun is timed to the feeder so that the gun fires when the cyclone has fed a ball all the way into the chamber. It's fast and rarely chops.

That brings us to the downside of the cyclone - if by happenstance you do chop a ball in the feeder, it's a fairly involved process to clean it out. Also, since it bulges out the right side of the marker it's a bit harder to conceal yourself behind cover while using it to lean out to the right and fire. Your target aspect is larger, meaning the extra size an opponent can see gives him another item on you to target. That's fairly minor compared to the cleaning issue.

Out of the box the barrels are not very good. That's no surprise to anyone here, I hope, about any marker. A decent barrel upgrade will do wonders for this marker. giving it the one element it lacks out of the box (accuracy) to complement what it does have (rate of fire). I saw mixed results with the flatline barrel from Tippmann. When it worked, it was fantastic, but its size, weight, and need for steady vertical aim will relegate you to a back player's role when using it. If you like playing back, I recommend giving it a try. Otherwise go with a more conventional barrel upgrade.

I find myself in disagreement with some others about this marker on the weight issue. Since it is mostly plastic it's very light to begin with. That's why I recommend a drop forward. With a full hopper you will still be back-heavy if you attach your CO2 or Nitrogen tank to the back of the bottom line. A good drop forward will really help balance the marker nicely. A low-pressure kit is in the works for this marker, so I'd stick with CO2 till it comes out. It's a Tippmann, so you will not tend to cause it too much damage by using CO2 - which, in my mind, is a nice advantage over higher end markers. I would suggest an expansion chamber, however, since the rate of fire can be very, very high for a C02 marker.

On the field I saw the marker put to great use. A skilled player with an A-5 could go toe-to-toe with a high end marker player on any recball or woodsball field. Checking the prices at my favroite retailer, I determined that you can really do amazing things with this marker for a very reasonable price. It's this combination of things that makes me believe my first marker will be a Tippmann A-5.
Conclusion: Moderate price combined with high durability, ease of use, rate of fire and reliable feeding make this an ourstanding choice for a first marker. I will stop short of giving it a ten because people mostly give a flat ten to anything they like, and I don't want to do that; and because while you can do a lot to trick out the marker, it is not as customizable as higher end markers like the ever-reknowned autococker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AgentOrange Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98c only real similar blowback I have used in comparsion to this
Marker Setup: Silver 98custom
32* 2003 Expansion Chamber
32* Flame Drop
Madmann Spring Kit
Custom Trigger Job
Ricochet Ak
Clear Dye Stickies
16oz Stubby w\anti siphon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Xchamber, barrel, anti siphon
Strengths: Reliable
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Same thing as 98 really just more expensive
Review: Well I've used this gun and I simply wasnt impressed. Its nearly the same thing as the 98 only more expensive. Has the same valve design so it wont shoot faster. Has the Cyclone which I'd rather not have and rather be able to use my own hopper of choice. For the price of the a-5 if you get a 98 you could get a new barrel, hopper, and anti siphon. So the 98 is the better bang for the buck.
Conclusion: This gun isnt bad. Just overpriced. Its just about the same thing as the 98 except the cyclone, easier feild stripibilty, and it uses more gas. Also is more expensive. In my opinon just get the 98.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  102  |  103  |  104  |  105  |  106  |  107  |  108  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media