paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  112  |  113  |  114  |  115  |  116  |  117  |  118  |  Last
        Next Page
NoNoNolan Sunday, June 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Pump-Action Blade (Nothing compared to this NOTHING), Tippmann Custom 98 (This is the little brother to the A-5, Not as good but still a great gun!), Spyder Victor (This is a beginners semi-auto, not as great as Tippmanns but still awesome
).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger, Longer Barrel, Nitro or 20+ Ounce CO2.
Strengths: -Fast/Distance
-Durable
-Good Front Grip
-Nice Aiming
- Cyclone Feed System
- Pretty Much Everything
Weaknesses: -Nothing Except Its Mostly Plastic, But its HARD AS HECK Plastic!
Review: This gun is sweet...GET IT. I got mine for like 290$ (just the marker) and the price right there tells u that this gun rocks...heck...the msrp's like 370$ or sumthin like that. This gun shoot pretty accurate...it curves sometimes....listen to this, i pumped my velocity all the way up and shot, my barrel was a little loose and it popped out...talk about power...this gun is awesome....get it!

I hit a slim tree about 9 outta 10 times! and my accuracy sux...hahaha!
Conclusion: get it get it get it...the best 250 bucks u will ever spend in ur life>!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skat6374 Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98c., 16" Carbon Fiber Barrel, CAR Stock, Remote
Marker Setup: A-5, 16" AA '02 w/ Freak front, E-Grip, Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Grip, new barrel
Strengths: Durability
Accuracy (W/ new barrel)
Cyclone Feed (no breaks)
Weaknesses: Stock barrel (but what do you expect w/tippmanns...)
Review: Ive played with this gun many many times and it hasnt ever failed me. The E-Grip makes a TON of difference with this gun. Standard is good also. The accuracy isnt as good as i thought it would be w/ the AA barrel, but maybe bc im shooting with it on Turbo, but when you shoot one ball at a time, its perfect. Its hard to get paint off your gun when it gets hit, the cyclone feed covers up some of the gun and its hard to clean in those tight spaces, but i havent field stripped it ...EVER... and it shoots wonderful. The Cyclone Feed is great feeding 15 bps and with the E-Grip... its needed. Great Gun.
Conclusion: This gun is very very very good, put on a new barrel and an E-Grip, and you'll be smokin'm up
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neodanger Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C with FlatLine, AT85 STG1 S/F, Spyder Victor, ZEUS, RainMaker, 97 Autococker.
Marker Setup: A5 with Lapco Dropfoward reversed for compactness, Flatline barrel, Sling, RT, HPA and CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel, Responce Trigger, HPA ( a must with a responce trigger ). A sling would be a welcome addition to anyone slinging it around for more then a few hours.
Strengths: Quality Build, Cyclone Feed System, Reliability, Comfortable handeling.
Weaknesses: Heavy after a few hours.
Review: Finally a quality marker that makes it virtually impossible to break paint no matter how fast you fire and NO BATTERIES!!!!! I hate having to worry about batteries in the field, even if it is just in a Revii or Eggo 2. The A5's cyclone system gets rid of the need for all that and makes it virtually impossible to break or missfeed a paintball. That alone makes it well worth the cost.

The body is a combination of aluminum alloy and synthetic polymer (plastic for you laymen’s), making it both tough and durable. Some people do not seem to like the plastic, but I think it is a welcome change from some of the other guns out there.

I would recommend getting the RT over the E-Trigger, simply because the RT is a field legal form of auto and can be just as easy to use as an auto setting on the E-trigger.

The stock barrel is not as bad as some people make it out to be, however I would recommend the new A5 Flatline barrel for added range and a straighter flight path. To be perfectly Honest, you are not going to get 1 shot kills with a flatline past 80 feet, and then it's still questionable,. It is very accurate for what it does, but if you combine the FL with the RT and sent quick well aimed 5 shot bursts you are practically assured of a hit.

On to reliability. The Cyclone system as stated earlier makes it impossible to break a ball or missfeed / double feed. I took a case of paint (NitroDuck) and rain 1/2 of it on CO2 in 15 - 20 shot strings without a break, and only minor shootdown with the exception of the last 100 round where it started freezing up because the tank was almost empty. (20oz). The 2nd 1/2 case was run on HPA in strings of 100 or more on auto (Response trigger) and there was no shootdown, no velocity spikes and 2 times I emptied the hopper on 15 BPS full auto, and I did not get 1 single break the entire case! That is saying something. Not just 2000 rounds but 2000 rounds on auto! After all that full auto shooting I broke her down to look for anything that may be lose, cracked, or worn and she was still looking brand new and just as tight as before.


Conclusion: The best gun in the $250 - $700 price range. Strong and made to last. A workhorse among paintguns, and can easliy compete with any cocker out there and most stock Angels. Worth well more then twice the price and I would not hesitate to buy another one if need be.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rosskrmlmp Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom (A-5 blows it out of the water)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Response Trigger
14" all american barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
response trigger, new barrel, thats about it
Strengths: Durability, you cant break a tippmann
Warranty (not that you'll ever use it)
Weaknesses: NONE, a little heavy if your a 90 lb wimp
Review: Ok here it is.

TIPPMANN A-5, it doesnt get any better for the blow-back marker. The Tippman name is trusted in the world around for its durability and accuracy. This is just another notch on the belt. I had a spyder shutter, boy was that a mistake. Every five minutes i busted a ball (and i was using marbs at 285 FPS, im not an idiot.) i hated that gun worse than anything ever. I then bought a 98 for my brother and ended up using it alot. I learned to love and respect the Tippmann name.

Alot of people complain about the price. Heres what i say. If you bought a 98 custom, you are paying roughly

98 custom---------$120 A-5---------------$279
12 Volt revvy-------$$70 cyclone feed---stock
RT--------------------$80 RT-----------------stock
__________________ _________________
$270 $279
WHAT WOULD YOU DO
The A-5 is just a better gun, i dont know what else to say, but thats my opinion



Conclusion: OK go buy the A-5, its worth every penny. Especially if you are me, and you got the MARKER, ALL AMERICAN 14", AND RT FOR ONLY 330 WITH SHIPPING!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Abduction Man Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix
Tippmann 98c
Procarbine
Sl-68 II
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 RT w/ Double trigger, 14" AA barrel and 68ci 3000psi Crossfire fiber wrapped tank.
Tippmann 98c w/ Flatline, ADCO sure shot sight and Rico AK.
Tippmann SL-68 II
2001 PGP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel a must
Response Trigger
Strengths: Rate of Fire
Cyclone Feed system
Weaknesses: Accurcacy and its a gas hog.
Review: Well this gun is a good all around gun. The stock barrel like most tippmann stock barrels sucks. Thats why i quikly bought a 14" AA for it. Otherwise this is a very good gun. And easily upgradable. Buy buying the RT I can keep up with some guns that cost 4 times as much. Also with the cyclone feed system I never out shoot the hopper. Thats a nice reasurnce when in a fighfight. But this gun is a gas hog. But thats the only bad part about it.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great gun. But you do have to spend some on it to get it to its full potenial. I recomend this for the intermediate player who plays rec games often and goes to the occasional tourneys.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 5th, 2003 at 5:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

32degrees2 Tuesday, June 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: ProShop 98 E w/ 14" Big Daddy
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. This gun is perfect the way it is.
Strengths: Look at review
Weaknesses: Look at review
Review: ***Cyclone Feed***
-You'll never bust a ball
-Fastest loader ever.
-Looks great on gun.

***The A-5***
This gun is the best gun you will find. It's fast, it's always accurate with 32 Degrees Competition paintballs, and I have nevr broken a ball.....NEVER! This is my favorite gun. I have Response Trigger on mine. It's fast with it and without it. The stock barrel is accurate with almost any paintballs. It looks so great.

***Made by Tippmann***
As most of you know, Tippmann is the most reliable, biggest pintball companies ever. I think Tippmann can beat any gun, anyday. Tippmann has they're guns tough, fast, upgradable, accurate, and intimidating.
Conclusion: Get this gun. I have never busted a ball. It's dead on accurate with the stock barrel. It is definatly worth almost $300.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TimberWolf Monday, June 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None - I am a total newbie
Marker Setup: A-5 Response Trigger, 20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
* 20 oz co2 w/butt stock and cover
Strengths: *Functional iron sights
*Reliable
*Durable and solid
*Ease of maint
* Cyclone feeder
Weaknesses: *Bit of a gas hog
*Short front handle
*Flat edge on hopper
Review: I am a total newbie to this sport, but not to guns. This thing feels and shoots like a real gun (even looks remarkably real). I even like the "single" trigger - feels more like a real trigger to me and made me feel right at home. Since I have experienced no other markers, I am not biased (I have shot others that belonged to my friends, but only a few tiimes and never in combat).

Having read the reviews from others here, I half expected to not be able to hit the broad side of a barn with the stock barrel. Boy was THAT wrong! This thing shoots great right out of the box. I was able to hit soda cans at 50 feet with a SINGLE SHOT. Granted, accuracy fades proportionally as distance is increased, so perhaps that is what the others meant.

We play scenario-style CTF in very thick woods. Seldom are targets encountered at great distances. In those cases, I would just lay down a lot of fire and advance (and boy this thing can lay down an amazing amount of suppression fire).

Two of my four kills this past weekend were when I was laying down and using the sights, and in both cases, a single paintball was used. This marker fits my style of playing like a glove! You can use wolf-tactics very effectively due to having real sights that really work good, or you can stand your ground in heavy shootouts by using short, fast bursts. An EXTREMELY versitile weapon, much like it's real world counterpart, the MP5. Also like the MP5, it can be shouldered for a tight, accurate shot, or pistolled like a handgun when in pursuit or being chased. Especially useful in CTF since as the flag carrier, you are usually holding the flag with one hand. I made a kill on a friend that was chasing me in just that fashion.

The marker seemed light to me, but not having owned others and having experienced real guns, I don't see it's wight as an issue unless you have a long march to the battlefield, which we do (about 20 mins). The metal ring on the back is very easy to clip on a sling. A very solid weapon that just feels right when I hold it.

The front grip is short. It doesn't fit in my (somewhat large) hand well, but that didn't bother me much; it was when I was laying on the ground trying to line up a shot, it would have helped a lot if it had been a bit longer. As it is, I had to prop my left fist under it to elevate the barrel - no big deal, really, but I'll be getting a better one when they come out.

To date, I have fired approx 3000 rounds through this baby without a single mishap or chop. Very easy to disassemble, but each time I take it apart after playing, it is sqeaky clean on the inside - no paint anywhere, even though the outside was covered with it. This brings up another good feature: the entire marker is enclosed. There is no entry point for dirt, paint, etc, except right down the barrel, and no annoying hammer/cocker to hit your face or thumb.

It's true what they say about the front (flat) edge on the hopper being a paint magnet. I took a direct hit there (no damage whatsoever to the hopper) which by our rules, constitutes a kill, so I was dead. Had it been more rounded, it would have deflected the shot, which MAY have then hit me, but it's definitely gonna break when it hits it as is on the hopper.

It does use a little more juice than say my friend's tweaked-out Spyder E99. But this last time I used a 20oz aluminum tank and had no problems. Previous times I was using a 14oz, that always ran out before anyone else.

You might want to get a chrono, though, mine was set to 305fps (+/- 5) from the factory, which might explain some of the gas usage since I only fixed it (280fps) this weekend.

One thing I noticed, and this may be my own ignorance, but it seems that when I wanted sustained auto fire with the response trigger, it would only go a couple of seconds. I couldn't lay on it and empty a hopper, which is no big deal for me and my style of play, but others should take note. There were NO problems in combat shooting frequent bursts, just didn't seem to like sustained (which I only tried when practicing). But for all _I_ know, this may be normal for a RT.

Overall I am VERY impressed with this product and am happy I made the purchase. I will probably get a better barrel eventually, but I am not in a hurry. There are enough upgrades available that I feel this is a gun that can grow with me as I get better.

Since I never have and likely never will play speedball, etc, I cannot speak to the marker's performance in those applications, but out in the woods, it is taken VERY seriously by your enemies!

The quality and thought that went into designing this marker are obvious at the onset, and become more so as you use it in combat.

So that's the total newbie's view on this thing - hope someone finds it useful.

-TimberWolf (June 2, 03)

Conclusion: I bought the gun, read the manual, set it up, entered the woods and began killing! No malfunctions or mishaps, no surprises, just good quality fun. I am very pleased and would recommend this to anyone who plays woodsball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RuffRyderZilla Sunday, June 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom with Flatline/Armson Stealth/All-American
Marker Setup: DYE Ultralite
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel - DYE Boomstick/Ultralite - Lapco Big Shot - Evil Pipe System - Freak Barrel System - Armson Stealth - Flatline - etc.
Response Trigger
Strengths: Cyclone Feed - No need for electronic hopper.
Weaknesses: Entire marker is basically plastic.
Review: This marker is great. If you can pull the trigger fast, you may not need to get a response trigger. The stock barrel is terrible just like all Tippmann stocks. I bought a Dye Ultralite barrel. I haven't tried it yet though.

I have heard that since the gun is mostly plastic, it is very easy to break. The hopper has flat edges so it can be a big target at times. Nothing has happened to my A-5 yet though.

I got the A-5, 20 oz. tank, and a V-Force Mask for just $256.65. Everything was brand new too. Most people don't trust e-bay/users on ebay or don't want to deal with someone else to get what they bought. Just buy from people who have over a hundred or a thousand positive feedbacks and you should be fine.
Conclusion: This gun is great. I think it could be a great gun for beginning players as I am a beginner.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 21st, 2004 at 7:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

plugray Sunday, June 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder SE
The A-5 beats it hands down. (ROF, Accuracy, feed)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Flatline, Double Trigger, 20oz CO2 Anti-Syphon, Evil Adaptor, 14" Lapco Bigshot
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline, good paintballs (RPS, Diablo, etc...)
Strengths: Good accuracy, cyclone feed system is great, no chopped balls, no breaks, fast ROF
Weaknesses: A little bulky and it helps to replace the stock barrell.
Review: Right out of the box the gun worked great. I've shot 2000 rds and haven't had a break or chopped ball. I've used my Lapco Bigshot and the Flatline, both worked well but the Flatline was better.

The cyclone feed system worked perfect. The only time it didn't shoot paint when I pulled the trigger was when I ran out of paint in the hopper or the CO2 tank was almost gone.

I plan to get more accessories for the marker later. But it doesn't require any aside from the flatline. And even that isn't needed but it sure is nice.

The size may be a problem for getting hit. I mostly do woods play, but the couple speedball games I played my gun wasn't hit.
Conclusion: For the price, ~$230 online, it is a great marker. Best for woods play but not bad for small feild play. Plenty of accessories and upgrades for modding your gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jacquestalbert Sunday, June 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulse autococker 2k2 pirahna none as good as a-5
Marker Setup: A-5 with co2 and flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline is kickass and response trig is a must for woodsball
Strengths: speed that can match any highend gun and very good accuracy with a flatline
Weaknesses: sort of heavy but this reduces kickback
Review: best gun i have ever shot. better than an impulse with a dye barrel. To get another gun as good as this one, you would have to get some $900 gun. Autocockers are good, but they lack in speed and range when they aren't heavely upgraded. The best part is that the A-5 comes with the best hopper on the market.
Conclusion: Don't hesitate to buy this gun. It will outpreform practicly every gun out there if u have a response trig and flatline.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  112  |  113  |  114  |  115  |  116  |  117  |  118  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media