paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  116  |  117  |  118  |  119  |  120  |  121  |  122  |  Last
        Next Page
a-5king Monday, April 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann custom
autococker
Marker Setup: a-5, responce trigger, 14 inch tear drop barrel(AWSOME!!!!!!) drop forward,(homemade)
Recommended
Upgrades:
response trigger foe sho, and a new barrel, stok is alright but tends to break balls
Strengths: accurate, durrable, solid, shoots fast, cyclone feed is awsome
Weaknesses: goes through gas but who cares, youl kick thier ass b4 its out
Review: this is an awsome gun, i totaly recamend it bc it is so awsome, never never never chops balls, and is totaly reliable. it shoots so fast, i think that the cockers and emags are so overrated and this gun is so much better
Conclusion: buy this gun because it is awsome, and because i said so
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 27th, 2004 at 1:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

D-$$$ Monday, April 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
n/a
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ R.T., 14" J&J 2-piece ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
R.T. , Flatline(if you want to be a sniper), Or any other barrel that is better than the stock.
Strengths: You have a ROF up to 13bps. You'll never chop a ball.
Weaknesses: I would say the barrel but it isn't as bad as most would say.
Review: I love this gun. It is easily the best tippman out there. The cyclone feed system is awesome. It will let you have a high ROF without having your gun be electric since it's completely run on CO2. A lot of people will complain how the hopper is to big for speedball and is only good in woodsplay. That is completely false. I have not had any troubles it yet. The barrel is fairly accurate too. It also has a lighter trigger pull than most other guns out there. And since it 's not too expensive those of you that can't spare a lot of cash this is a very good gun for how much it costs. Don't let someone persuade you from buying it just because they say Tippmann sucks, or the barrel isn't that great, because they most likely have never even held one let alone shoot one.
Conclusion: I would recomend this to anyone. It is nearly impossible to chop balls even while on full auto. It's barrel works really good in speedball and preaty good in woodsplay. It's super durable and lightweight. And if you need to it's easy to upgrade.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

onlyfortheweak Sunday, April 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
T 98 custom..maybe
this is a pretty unique marker
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5
-E-GRIP (and) RT
-Flatline
-bullet drop forward
-20 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you get this gun, hands down youre gonna do some upgrading. First...FLATLINE!! Get an e-grip, alot more useful than an RT. The RT screws with the pressure in your tank and giving it less time to expand. I fired like half a hopper on a full 20 oz bottle and went from 1200 psi to 900. I did the same with my e-grip on full auto, went from 1200 to about 1150. One minute later it went back up to full capacity at 1200 psi. A drop forward has been FRICKIN useful.
Strengths: CYCLONE FEED
nice design
accurate
FAST
loud (i like loudness)
better upgrades than the 98
Weaknesses: gas beast (if RT used)
price (especially w/ aftermarket upgrades)
a b%@# to field clean
Review: The cyclone feed... never missed or chopped a feed, its amazing!! The only way you'll break a ball is if you shoot cheap paintballs, an occasional faulty paintball, or your barrel size is screwed up to your paint size.

An R/T is pretty nice at first preinstalled but later on when you use it, it's fault become more and more apparent. Inconsistent ROF, gas usage and consumption, and one hard trigger pull. If you're like me, lazy and everything, get a E-Grip---shoots WAY faster and more consistent.

All in all it makes paintball very fun for the guy with this gun, mainly if you make the suggested upgrades. Where I play, most of my friend's guns break down every freakin game so they wanna use mine.. the reason is obvious. People say it's made for woodsball--which it is--and doesnt work too well on a speedball field. Shoot, it works great on a speedball field for me. Im a more agressive player, and theres just something about the A-5 that suites me perfectly.
Conclusion: Tippmann makes great stuff for players on low budgets. The A-5 is fast, usually reliable, and a frickin durable gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 10th, 2003 at 8:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nofamousfx Sunday, April 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rebel aggressor, some other crappy pump guns
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 with coiled remote and 20 oz. tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much really, a new barrel would definitely be nice to have though.
Strengths: cyclone feed system and well everything
Weaknesses: just the barrel probably
Review: Man, I love this gun it is so much fun to use and shoot. You'll go through plenty of balls just because its fun. Also i've gone through over 2000 paintballs and i haven't had a single break yet. Just don't buy brass eagle balls cuz those stupid things will break in anything pretty much. It has a nice feel to it especially with the front grip. A coiled remote will make it all even better. I used my a-5 on semi-auto against a friend with a fully automatic spyder and i completely wasted him. He's also played longer than me too. This gun was perfect right out of the box when i got it, I didn't have to adjust anything. GET IT!
Conclusion: Obviously you should get this gun, it is definitely the best in its price range. You'll have plenty of fun with this thing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mujothebard Saturday, April 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
98C, All manner of Spyders, Pro Carbine, Automag
Marker Setup: Speedball) E99 with 12V revvy, Poorman's Lightning Bolt, 12" Teardrop, Palmer Stab, Polished Internals, C02, Maddman Rocket Valve, CIP 15* Assault Block, CIP Sweet Spot Trigger
Scenario/woods) A5 withFlatline, Teardrop, Intruder X Chamber, Combat Sling, Adco Sure Shot, C02, More to come

Recommended
Upgrades:
DEFINITELY the Flatline, it is such a vast improvment over the 98C Flatline
New Barrel besides the Flatline
Lapco Bottomline adapter
Intruder x chamber
Strengths: The Flatline! see below
Strips easy
Aftermarket parts
Barrel selection see below
Weaknesses: Price
Looks
Gas efficiency
Price
Review: When I say I reccomend the flatline for the A5, this is what I mean: Most of us have seen the 98C Flatline in action, and it wasn't that impressive. The Flatline on the A5 fixes EVERYTHING that was wrong with the 98Flatline. There's no way to install it wrong, it's not plastic, it's not huge. The A5 makes a great Speedball marker, or an even better woods/scenario marker. I don't reccomend the response trigger, but I do reccomend the Egrip. The marker isn't overly heavy, very rugged, and has a great selection of aftermarket parts that keeps growing. Have you ever used a barrel adapter? Like to put spyder barrels on a cocker? It adds another step in the barrel to break balls Well, the GREAT thing about the A5 is, the way it's set up, it takes a special barrel adapter to use ANY barrel, so you can use all those spyder/98/cocker barrels you already have on it, just by buying a $15 adapter. IMO, a great plus to the marker.
Conclusion: Don't listen to the guy below me, he either fiddled with the marker, got a lemon, or is just an idiot. With aftermarket parts like the LP Kit coming soon (I hope), the A5 can be a speedball/woods/scenario marker all in one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

revmutha Saturday, April 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
autococker and tippmann 98
Marker Setup: tippmann A5. Flatline barrel(kicks ass),double trigger/w guard
Recommended
Upgrades:
response trigger
Strengths: accuracy {did i say Accurate!!!!!!!!!!!!)
price
looks cool
feeds great no chopped balls yet
Weaknesses: hopper
hopper
hopper
plastic side cocker seems fragile
Review: ok. let me start of by saying that this gun can go deep. With the flatline barrel i have never seen a gun so accurate and with so much range. I you like sniping i think this is your gun. I play a perimeter game. usually with a 2 man group. and when i tell you that i can cover range, i can cover range. Im taking out dudes that are all the way across the Field. And actually hitting where i aim.
When i first got the gun, my brother and i went outside. up to this point we both have shot only cheap paint-markers and even with them i was surprised how far a paint-marker
could shoot. I loaded up the hopper with some cheap paint ( viewloader i think)
and took aim at a cement pillar about 200 feet away, I really didn't think i would even have a chance at this range. I aimed dead center and didn't aim high to see the drop at a far distance. I fired 4 shots in a row. It was dark so i couldn't see that well. The only thing i heard was the echo of paint hitting the pillar. I put the gun down and went to see what i hit. To my amazement 4 balls hit in the exact same spot!!!! DEAD CENTER!!!!
i couldn't believe it. So i aimed at the next pillar, about 250 feet and fired 6 shots
i aimed a little high this time to see if it would drop a bit. No $hite!!! it hit dead center 4 shots grouped real tight in the center and 2 shots went a little left, about an inch away from the center hits. I was sold from this point on. Im really into sniping so i knew this gun would work out just fine
the first day i took it to the Field i showed my friends how it shot. They all went out and got one the next week. They all had auto cocker's before.
Conclusion: i highly reccomend this gun to anyone who appreciates accuracy in a gun. If you want a fancy and expensive lazer -gun looking marker that you need to spend loot on then buy something else. If you want an inexpensive( sort of) quality gun that looks real and is highly durable, accurate and fun as heck to shoot buy the A5 and get the flatline barrel system. i didnt test it with the standard barrel, but like most stock barrells, better can be had. and if u like to hear " Oh $%##*, where did that come from?!!!!!!!" alot in the field get the a5 with flatline. You will absolutely love it. Specially snipers

i base my 10 rating on the fact that it does everyting a good gun needs to do well.
ROF
durability
accuracy
reliability
price
Basically it hits what you aim at from close range to far away
Nuff said
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bc176 Monday, April 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman smg-60(first semi-auto made by tippman)
Marker Setup: E-grip
20 oz. co2
lapco bigshot 14"
flatline(very soon)
double trigger

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
E-grip
Strengths: very high rate of fire(thanks to e-grip)
cyclone feed system
easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: size of feed system
loud (don't bother me)
some say lbs.
Review: This is a good gun. Very dependable, easy to clean,/upgrade. Very few breaks, never chopped a ball, never broke a ball in the cyclone feed system. Not that expensive w/ my upgrades: a-5 $310 with e-grip, $100 flat line, $18 double trigger, $47 lapco bigshot, still under $500. Compared to the high end guns who I can hang with. Also some think it's a gas hog, I get about 1000rds per fill. The cyclone feed system does stop feeding paintballs when air is low(last 15- 20 shots), this is a plus because I know when my air is low. I had a player w/ a $1000 marker come up to me last week and say "that a-5 has a intense rate of fire" he just got done seeing it first hand since I was firing at him.
Conclusion: If you want a good easy to use marker then get a a-5. I mainly play woods ball and some speed ball, I never had a problem w/ this marker. Some say it's not for tourney's I would play w/ mine, and be $500 richer.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 21st, 2003 at 2:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

justin14_ Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom and model 98
Marker Setup: an upgraded piranha g2 vtl, a 2002 rebel, and a tippmann model 98 custom with a 16' taso winforce barrel........
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double trigger
Response trigger
Strengths: Shoots faster than any other gun
Weaknesses: Expensive
Chops
Review: ***RATE OF FIRE***

The Cyclone Feed System with the Response Trigger can make this gun capable of shooting over 700 rounds per minute. It doesn't do this out of the box unless you get the Response Trigger System or the E-Grip System. That combined with the Cyclone Feed System make this the fastest gun in the world. It should work fine with no chops on full auto if you have decent paintballs.

***RELIABILITY***

Well, I love Tippmann's guns for how well built they are, but for this one I'm not so sure about. I tested it and I shot 10 rounds at the most and the 3rd ball chopped and ever since then it was all spray and curved balls. I don't know, I think it was just the paint. The barrel is crap and there aren't many barrels that fit on this gun so I suggest you get the Spyder Barrel adapter for it so you can use Spyder/Piranha barrels on it.

***ACCURACY***

The accuracy with the stock barrel sucks. It has holes only in the middle of the barrel and the barrel itself is only 4 or 5 inches. Get a barrel adapter and get and get a new barrel.

***PRICE***

$420.00 for this gun isn't worth it. Everything in paintball is overpriced. Get this if you have a ton of cash.
Conclusion: Get this if you have a ton of cash. Its an OK gun for the money if it was 70 bucks cheaper then it'd be a lot better.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 21st, 2003 at 3:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daigle98sn Saturday, April 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-grip, Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: -Very fast
-Light
-Accurate
-Durable
-Not too expensive
Weaknesses: None
Review: The A-5 is one of the fastest guns I have ever seen. It is just as fast as Autocockers and has a ROF of 13bps. It is mostly plastic which makes it extemely light. for its low price it's alot faster and more accurate than many people think. When my friends see the A-5 they run.
Conclusion: I think the A-5 is a very good gun for a cheap price. I would recommend buying one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gordito1886 Saturday, April 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Pirhanna Pro, WGP 2001 Atococker
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
RT trigger, If you are going to be running CO2, a 20oz tank
Strengths: Out of Box Accurate (for a stock barrel), High Rate of Fire, Cyclone Feed
Weaknesses: Requires more gas than other markers to operate, Larger frontage in which to get hit
Review: After reading several reviews of the Tippmann A-5, I decided to purchase one my self. I am not dissapointed. It seems everyhting that others have said about the marker is true and it hasn't fallen short to my expectations either. My first game with it I was able to pin down opponents beacuse it burps out balls like no other gun i fired. And yes, it is just as accurate as an out-of-the box autococker. I took my cocker and restored it to its original parts and i was amazed. For the tippmann being around 100 dollars less than the cocker, its a great bang for your buck. The downsides to the tippmann are very apparent, and I believe others may over look how much gas this thing uses. It goes through a 20oz tank in around 500 shots, even though it claims to be able to get 500 out of a 9oz. It really is a gas hog. Also, the frontage on this gun is very large due to the cyclone feed. It's a big disadvantage until you get used to it, because its like having two hoppers, one one the side and one on the top. But the cyclone feed makes up for it's bulkiness by its performance. It does do exactly as tippmann states, feeds the balls as fast as you shoot them, and i havent broken a single ball out of my 2000 box of Diablo Infernos.
Conclusion: If you were even thinkning about buying this gun, dont think any more. Go ahead and buy it, you wont be dissapointed. It dosen't break balls, it dosen't miss a feed, and it fires like crazy. Even if you already own a "better" gun and you got extra money to spend, buy this gun. It's not like anything you've experienced before. I give the A-5 a 9 only because of it consuming more gas than other markers, but as long as you dont mind driving back up to you local paintball dealer a bit earlier than usual, GO BUY THIS GUN.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 29th, 2004 at 2:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  116  |  117  |  118  |  119  |  120  |  121  |  122  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media