paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  117  |  118  |  119  |  120  |  121  |  122  |  123  |  Last
        Next Page
A5runner Saturday, April 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Flatline, Rear Vel. Adj., X-Chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline!
Strengths: Accurate, Fast, Haven't broken a ball yet.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is just that stock.
Review: Do you want a great marker? Don't feel like spending alot of money? Don't like broken paint? Of course, yes, oh oh yes this IS the marker for you, and you and you. The mechanics are perfect. Three month NO broken paint, I lost my squeegie, I should buy one to clean my boots.

What you should get: Big Co2- 20oz or compressed air, a new barrel - the flatline is an artillary piece. With the flat line you can sit back and suppress people or take slick shots. You can tilt the gun either way and you get a great curve. This works great when you got a fellow say some ways out behind a bunker. Play with the tilt and he'll be walking out with his hand trying to touch god!
Conclusion: Great marker, I read the reviews from this site and they pointed me straight! Worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 9th, 2003 at 6:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quaffloid Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stingray, tippmans 98, and pro carbine, various spyders
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ hyperstar bolt (in the process of being upgraded)
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, Dye ultralite or boomstick
low pressure system, such as a 32 degrees expantion chamber
Strengths: very reliable and tough, easy to upgrade,not a bad trigger pull either, cool looking
Weaknesses: stock barrel is not to great, feeder makes a large flat target
Review: This is a nice gun, comes with a feeder so u don't have to buy one which is nice, however the feeder makes a pretty big target for speed ball, but it's profile is low which is good for woods where there are a lot of things u shoot over rather than around, u will definitly need a new barell though, the stock is pretty inacurate, if u have a 98, this is much more reliable, accurate, and easier to upgrade, pretty heavy compared to spyders, but it takes incredable abuse, i once fell and shove this strait into the ground and it was completely undamaged could use a low pressure system too, it kinda hogs gas, and when u get low, it stoppes feeding, the only fragile looking part is the manual feed handel, but that is just against the rest of the gun, this looks awesome too
Conclusion: This is a good buy, if u have the money u shuld definitly go up to an autococker though, it is definitly a good buy for the money but it is not incredable when compared to markers of all levels, (my friend has an impulse and I am using that as a refrence to high end guns)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5PBaller1337 Thursday, April 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 01 Autococker, WGP 03 Autococker, Spyder TL Plus, Rebel, Tippmann 98
The a5 almost compares to the autococker, both are very nice.
Marker Setup: A-5 Tippmann, E-grip, 32 Degrees Drop Foward with Psycho Ballistics On/Off, 14 " DYE Xcel, Crossfire 47ci 3000psi HPA system, Dead On Paintball Double trigger and Rear Velocity Adjuster.
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip, Something way better than the cheap stock barrel, Expansion chamber or regulator, depending on your gas system. Also get a drop foward, helps balance the gun out.
Strengths: 1. Stylish (MPK look)
2. Accurate
3. Sturdy, unlike the plastic stingrays
4. Cyclone feed
Weaknesses: The cyclone feed is a gas hog.
Review: Pros:
It's very stylish, it will bring oo's and ahh's to people who ask to see it. The cyclone feed stands out from other guns, it's an anti chop system and feeds as fast as you want without breaking a sweat. I think it compares to a Halo. It's also accurate with the sight rail, unlike autocockers and spyders, you have to aim with the barrel. It's easy to clean and mantain. It should last you a life time if you grease it up weekly. It's also easy to upgrade.
Cons:
The cyclone feed is a gas hog! The gun is very heavy, but that's sorta a pro too because it's made of good quality. The stock barrels, like all other tippmanns, suck. I recommend you get a new one.
Out-of-the-Box:
It's battle ready and works really well.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to people who speedball and woodsball. It's especially good in woods ball, hard to scratch and damage. ( Just like all tippy's their almost invicible)
I highly recommend good paint, cheap paint chops easily in the cyclone and it's a hassle to clean.
Now stop reading and get an A5!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jefangel Tuesday, April 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98,
Spyder TL
Mini-mag
Auto-cocker
Marker Setup: A-5
E-Grip
Palmer stabilizer
Flatline barrell
Boomstick
Solid FX sniper stock
Custom drop sideways
Crossfire 68ci 4500psi tank
Check it out at www.mehr-usa.com/a-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel
E-grip
Run on compressed air
Strengths: Smaller than my Custom98
More durable than a cocker or spyder
Weaknesses: Little heavy (not as heavy as my Custom98)
LOUD!!
long trigger pull without E-grip
Review: When I first saw these over a year ago I really didn't like them. They were loud, they were fast, but they could not compare to any gun that I had for the price. When the prices dropped to the $200 range I decided to give it a try (thinking I could return it if I hated it). I recieved it and gave it a try...and FELL IN LOVE! This thing shoots incredible...the hopper doesn't require batteries, it is so much smaller than my custom98! I ordered the flatline for it....HUGE improvement!!! Accuracy went up tenfold from the stock barrel (on par with my boomstick which is impressive in its own right) PLUS I gained distance shooting! I found nothing to complain about except the long trigger pull (took a little getting used to), THEN I got the E-grip....hands down made my gun the envy of everyone I know (coincedentally, they have all now gotten the same setup with E-grip, Flatline and A-5) I have yet to break a ball....even in FULL AUTO at 15 rnds a second.
Conclusion: Combined with an E-grip and flatline (or RT and flatline if the field allows it) there is nothing that can touch it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

synn-the-ronin Sunday, April 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Model 98 custom (upgraded) -dye reflex
-M3 dragun sniper -tippmann pro carbine
-M3 patriot -spyder flash
-spyder flash lcd -Spyder xtra
-spyder AMG classic -spyder shutter
Marker Setup: -tippmann Model 98 custom
-Dye ultralite -boblong torpedo Reg. -titanium internals -pro team CAR stock
-Tippmann A-5
-Dye ultralite 14'' -Pro-team F/X sniper stock -2 crossfire 68/4500 nitro tanks
-Tippmann drop forward -A-5 E- grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New barrel definitely needed, recommend a Dye light accurate cool looking
-Or the new Stiffi barrel
-A-5 E-grip is a must have, will turn your rugged tippmann into a whole new animal
-3 round burst -Full auto -Turbo every time u pull it fires and every time u release in .25 seconds it fires again
-semi auto

-Pro team F/x sniper stock for all you scenario players but speed ball u can do without it.
-Nitro is a for sure upgrade, no matter what they tell you tippmanns run nitro perfectly
BUY NITRO TANK good tank is a crossfire tank.
Strengths: -The cyclone feed er system
-durability
-Awesome looking
Weaknesses: Not really any for a scenario player
Review: I love this gun i never leave home with out it. Its tougher than any gun out there, throw it against a tree drop it on the rock................run it over with the car. This is by far my favorite gun if it has the right upgrades. And as you have read above i have shot alot of guns. And the tippmann is well balanced well designed and well engineered. Its hard to find bad things about it really. It field strips in 60 easy to clean. But keep it well oiled tippmanns will hate u if their not oiled.
Conclusion: Excellent marker and very versatile. With another 250 dollars in upgrades you will never need to a thing to it. Buy this gun if you seek perfection.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ogiee Saturday, April 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never had a Tippmann before the A-5. I had a PMI and the A-5 is so much better
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Flatline Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
First thing is the change the barrel. I went all out and got the flatline, but there are plenty you can get for 30 - 50 bux. I also recommend getting a 20 oz CO2 tank since everthing on the gun runs off of it. (i.e. trigger & cyclone feeder) If you actually want to capablity to shoot 15 BPS, get a double responsive trigger.
Strengths: Cool looks, its scary, easy field strip, and lots of options
Weaknesses: Gas hog, and I worry the manual cocker will break, barrel is horrible
Review: All in all it is a great gun, with a little bit of upgrade. I have had this gun for a little more than a month and I had a ball break once in the barrel, but thats because I was being and dumb. It is extremly durable and I know I will enjoy it the more I continue to use it. The only thing I worry about is the cocker push thingy that it might break, but tippmann has a warrenty on it. I bought the gun for 250, just plainly stock and have put the flatline on it. It is really sweet as is. I am considering the responsive trigger, but I havn't decided yet. I played the other day the look of it, literally scared my firend and he went home. He's kind of a baby to begin with, but you get the point. Anyways, Tippmann made one great gun for a good price.
Conclusion: I would definetly go out and buy it, enjoy it, and love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kirby Thursday, April 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippmann Model 98 Custom
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5 w/ R/T
-DYE Ultralite Barrel 12"
-68ci 4500psi Crossfire HP Tank
-DOP Universal Mount w/ System X Cradle
-Double Trigger
-Pro Steel Bolt
-DOP Fore Grip
-DOP Rear Velocity Adjuster
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel (of course)

That's about it. All my other upgrades are not NEEDED. It was a personal decision.
Strengths: RARELY chop balls. Very accurate.
Weaknesses: Kinda hard to clean
Review: I love this gun. I am about to start tournaments, and I just know it's gonna hold its own. It's the best gun I have ever bought for the price(280 with R/T installed). That's about it for the "full review". lol... well it just told me that I don't have enough words!! AWESOME!!! The gun is awesome!!! I hope that's enough words...
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN!!! It's awesome for beginners or for someone who is serious. It has many upgrades available to make it preform better than you would ever think. I can vouch for that! As I said before it's very inexpensive for the potential it has. So go out and buy it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SuperRat2002 Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan XTS - Poor to A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 - Stock
Sheridan XTS - Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
If anything new Barrel, Venturi Bolt, and Response trigger
Strengths: The Cyclone Feed, front cocking lever, vertical tank, and open sight rail.
Weaknesses: If anything, the size of the Cyclone feed
Review: I have owned this gun for about 2-3 months now, and i love this piece of work. this is by far the best gun that i have ever shot and used. I goes up against any other full semi autos on the gun line and smashes them down. i love the feed system. this is by far this gun's best quality. it operates perfectly.

Some people say that you need a e grip and or a response trigger. but i don't think so. hey, one shot kills right????? This gun is perfect for me stock. as long as you have a quick finger, you'll do fine.
Conclusion: i recommend this gun to anybody ranging from professional to beginner. is an awesome machine and you won't regret buying it. I was thinking about not buying it at first, but then got it and i never looked back. This gun is the best gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

d0z Monday, April 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward, barrel, 20oz co2
Strengths: reliable, fast, easty to maintain
Weaknesses: length, loudness, air hog
Review: this gun is pretty sweet. ive gone through about 3 cases of paint and ive prolly chopped one ball while i was testing how fast i could shoot it. after the chopped ball, we continued to shoot to see how its accuracy would be with it. it was very accurate even with the chopped ball! the gun is actually pretty accurate even though all other reviews says its not. i am upgrading the barrel though because of how loud the gun is! it seem prettttttty long too so im getting a drop forward for it. all in all this gun is great
Conclusion: i think its a tad bit too much, you should save your money and get something else like a bushy or an impulse.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rjohn8 Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 w/ RT, Tasco Exp. Chamber
Marker Setup: 2002 Intimidator
Dye Boomstick
ACI Bullday
SP quick Valve
Evo II loader

A-5 w/ RT
Strengths: Price, Construction, Reliability, Looks
Weaknesses: Basic CO2 inconsistency, breaking a ball in the feeder is a pain.
Review: Great Price: Can find one with an RT trigger for less than $325
Great Construction: No fear of droppin this sturdy marker.
Reliability: Very seldom will you chop a ball. This marker never malfunctions, you'll be able to play when all your electro buddy's are blowing valves.
Looks: Pretty darn cool lookiing right out of the box, not to mention you can buy acc. to make it look more like the real thing.

This is one of the best values in the industry. I play on a team full of angels and when not using my Timmy, I play just as well with the A-5.

For Woods ball, nothing beats this Marker... I can lay down a blanket of paint accurately with my off hand. If you are a true player with descent shooting skills, this is the cheapest way to keep yourself competetive.

The only real negative thing I can say about the A-5 is that when you do break a ball in the feeder, its not gonna clean easily.... your probably gonna have to field strip it.

Conclusion: Buy it if you cant afford the "touchy" electros and cockers... this marker hardly ever gives me problems!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  117  |  118  |  119  |  120  |  121  |  122  |  123  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media