paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  121  |  122  |  123  |  124  |  125  |  126  |  127  |  Last
        Next Page
Schmitey Tuesday, February 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 w/RT, Lapco 12" beadblasted Bigshot Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
VForce Morph GunBlack Mask w/mirrored lense...looks freakin tight with the A-5
Strengths: All around awesome gun! Yes it is fairly expensive but consider what you're getting. It's a field legal fully auto gun with the response trigger (the RT scares the c#@p out of the little kids!), and it also comes with the cyclone feed.

Most good electric hoppers run around $100, and you can spend several hundred on an electric trigger frame to make a gun fire at the 12-15 bps rate of the RT!

Just a note on the cyclone feed, I found some year old Brass Eagle paint in my friends garage and decided to fire it through my gun just for the hell of it. This paint was so old there were dimples and stuff in the shell and it was real brittle. All in all I probably fired off around 300 rnds and not one broke in the hopper!!! Stick your finger in the cyclone feed and fire the gun, you can't even freakin feel it move.

Oh and who doesn't want a gun that looks like an H&K MP5? Another nice option I forgot about is that you can easily make your tank a vert feed which is nice 'cuz in the cold this thing freezes up like none other.

It's also very very easy to field strip this gun, you don't have to worry about springs and stuff flying out all over the place. Pop out the pins, take off the trigger frame, and slide out the bolt and power tube.

Lastly Tippmann did everyone a huge favor and lets you trade out your barrel thread. For about $20 you can switch your barrel threads to Spider, Autococker, or pretty much anything you want. To make it better the adapters fit into the gun itself, so it won't make your barrel any longer or make it look like you have a freakin club on the end of you gun.

Weaknesses: This guns a freakin gas hog! First time I fired it was in about 40 degree weather and I went through a 20 oz. tank in about 650 shots.

Not surprising or new but the factory barrel absolutely sucks as far as accuracy. In the cold with the RT the porting just creates a fog that you can't see through.

Speaking of the RT it is very sensitive during adjustment. Find where you like it and don't screw with it (no pun intended). Another problem is that either it's easy to pull the trigger but the RT fires really slow, or it's really fast but the trigger pull is too sensitive to fire off more than like 3 shot burst. It's a fine line between bps and trigger pull. It takes a while to get used to the RT, but definitely worth the while.

Also I watched some clip with a guy firing the RT on nitrogen with the double trigger at an insane rate of speed, so maybe the double trigger would help a lot in letting you fire faster and still let it go full auto. I might eventually go to the double trigger but I get trigger happy and waste enough paint as it is.
Conclusion: -Tippy A-5 $289
-Good motorized hopper $100
-Fully auto gun, not to mention field legal $100+

-Getting an awesome looking fully auto gun with a hopper for $89 priceless. Money can't buy happiness, but for all you other paintball needs there's Mastercard
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ZachTippmann Monday, February 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, other great tippmann's
Marker Setup: 98 Custom /w Nyte Stikk barrel.(upgrading will be fun)
Recommended
Upgrades:
You definitely need a new barrel. I put a 14 inch dye excel. Don't go over 12 inches for the a5,or the shots will mess up. Get a bigger front-grip if you have big hands.
Strengths: Wow. People whine about it constantly jamming. Just the other day I went out with it and shot 2000 severe paintballs, not a single jam, not a single ball break. It shoots as fast as you can pull the trigger. This is good when you don't want to waste balls. It's very durable, and actually lighter then I excpected it to be.
Weaknesses: It does use a lot of CO2. That's fine, I just got a 20oz tank with a remote, so there's no problems. The stock barrel is awful. You can buy a J&J ceramic for 25 bucks. The front grip is a little small for big hands, but a $8 front grip can fix that. If it stops shooting balls, you simply push the little lever on the side which takes no more than a second. There's only one hopper. Who cares? I bought an extra, and they look kinda kool.
Conclusion: This gun is definitely worth it. You can't go wrong with it. Buy "Severe" paintballs, and there'll never be a ball break. $250 bucks for one of the greatest guns in the world seems fine to me. People who complain about it are just people who don't care for fixing little details. I've marked plenty of players with just one shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

josear Monday, February 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
M98 Custom
Marker Setup: E-99 Black
48 CI Nitro Tank
9v Revi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and use a remote.
Strengths: Its fast and its not expensive like cocker though not as good. The trigger pull isnt so light but you can buy it w/ response trigger installed. No need to buy an electric hopper + if you dont get the a-5 special hopper you take a filter and tape ti to your normal one and it works.
Weaknesses: Its plastic and trigger pull is kinda stiff nothing that response trigger cant handle other than that its great.
Conclusion: Its a great gun, tippman quality and its not expensive .
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ZimMonkey Thursday, January 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98, Angel, auto cocker, ect...
Marker Setup: A-5 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
As with all guns, a new barrel might help.
Strengths: Everything! This is the best gun I've ever used. I have such a fast trigger finger, that the balls wouldn't have time to fall into the chamber before the bolt slid forward. When a revvy hopper was used, the balls would get half way in and chop in half. With the cyclone feed, I don't have feed problems anymore. Not only does it shoot incredably hard, but it's accurate too. I especially like the fact that you can screw the tank in between the trigger gaurd and the fore-grip, as if it were the magazine. It gives the gun a realistic feel and look.
Weaknesses: Well, it's kind of loud, but if you hit them the first time it dosn't really matter. :P
Conclusion: This truly is an awsome gun. I could take out Angles and other "high end" guns with my 98, but this is MUCH More effecient. Not only is it more accurate, but has a higher rate of fire... If you have the cash, go buy it. If you don't have a lot of cash, go with a 98, pro lite, or pro carbine. Stay with Tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Speed Dustin Monday, January 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The Tippmann Model 98 is the gun that has the most in common with the A-5, for obvious reasons. Both the 98 and the A-5 have amazing accuracy, and they both are very durable, with the 98 having the edge on durability due to it's all metal body.
Marker Setup: Stock Tippmann A-5 with 14" Lapco Big Shot barrel, running off Co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd look into definitely upgrading the barrel first, to a Lapco Big Shot, then get a Responsive Trigger to fully utilize the capabilities of the Cyclone Feeder, and look into a Drop Forward to compact the length of the gun.
Strengths: -The foremost benefit of this gun is the durability. Rough handling with my A-5 has yet to yield any defects in the operation of it, and if I ever do have any unforeseen problems, it's made by Tippmann which has great customer service and a responsive tech at the Tippmann forum online at their main website.

-Accuracy is a main concern for many people, and accuracy is what the A-5 delivers. You will in fact have to get an aftermarket barrel in order to get the accuracy you want from the A-5, but after that it's smooth sailing. The A-5 has pinpoint accuracy, and easily can paint targets of 3" width when within 50 feet, and after that you can paint targets within 5" diameter no problem, until you get to extreme ranges, like 125-150', where you can successfully arc your shots and have them shoot in a straight line, hitting people and other objects within a 8-12" diameter.

-The Cyclone Feed System is undoubtedly the shining star of the A-5's operation. To date, I have fired about 12,000 rounds of paint through the A-5, and I have only had one paintball break. However, the break did not occur where the Cyclone feeds the paintballs into the marker, but at the end of my barrel near where the porting vents were (In a 14" Lapco Big Shot). The Cyclone keeps up with anything I can throw at it, and coupled with a Responsive Trigger, the marker still has no problem whatsoever with loading. I have yet to see the E-Grip coupled with the Cyclone Feed System, but I am confident that the Cyclone can handle that just as easily as the Responsive Trigger. Another plus about the Cyclone Feed System is that it operates on blow-back gas, utilizing the excess gas left after a shot is fired to rotate the Cyclone, and move the paintballs into position. The Cyclone itself does not actually use gas from your air tanks. It uses only whatever gas is leftover from your shots fired previously. You can also manually turn the Cyclone feeder by pushing a push rod on the side of the gun, which is nice if you are cleaning the gun, or testing it's operation. Quite frankly, the Cyclone is unmatched.

-Another nice thing about the A-5 is that the hopper that sits on the Cyclone has a lower profile than a normal setup on any other marker. Normally, your hopper sits on an elbow or other neck piece, which attaches to your gun, and thus gives the hopper an added height of +1.5" on average. Then of course the hopper itself adds height. The Cyclone's hopper, however, sits directly on top of the gun, on the side where the Cyclone is. It's a 200 round hopper, so it does have the length of other hoppers, as well as the height, but it does not have that additional 1.5" added to it, so it's less visible. It also sits off to the side, on top of the Cyclone (the Cyclone is mounted on to the A-5 on it's right side near the barrel), so it does not obscure your marker's sight, thus allowing you to actually look along the length of the A-5, use the adjustable MP5 style sight, and take aim.

-Another important fact is that the A-5 is a closed bolt system. When you fire, and the gun re-cocks, the cocking handle never moves, so there is no opening in which dust, dirt, paint, and other debris can fly into. It is virtually impossible for paint and other foreign materials to enter the internals of your gun. And if they do, the fact that the A-5 is designed on a push pin system for quick and easy field stripping is a major bonus. It takes about 30 secs, or less, to disassemble the A-5 for easy cleaning of the bolts and trigger assembly.

-Lastly, the A-5 is lightweight. It is not as heavy as the Model 98 or other solid metal guns, nor is it even as heavy as the electro Draguns or Spyder Specials. The grip frame is high impact plastic (it's made for a very comfortable grip), that is *not* going to break unless you hurl it against a rock. Same goes for the Cyclone and hopper. I have taken quite a few hits on my gun now, and none have resulted in any blemishes on the gun or the Cyclone feed, and I have experienced no cracks or other warping. Plastic sounds bad, but when you check out the A-5 for yourself, you'll see that it's poly-carbonite body is extremely resilient and well made. The body of the gun itself is a high aluminum alloy, so it is light weight, and can sustain the impacts of paintballs and dropping it on the ground whilst receiving no ill harm.

Weaknesses: It's hard to sit and think of what's bad about the gun, it truly is. One drawback would be the trigger pull, which is not as light as it could be if it were a double trigger or an electro, but since it is in fact a semi-automatic pneumatic marker, the trigger pull is always going to be longer than that of an electro.

Another drawback is the length with a good 12" or 14" barrel. The body itself is fairly long, compared to the compact square shaped bodies of markers like the Impulse, and with a barrel it is even longer.

The last drawback would be the shape of the Cyclone's Hopper. The front of the hopper, rather than being rounded off like Viewloaders and others, is instead completely flat, in the shape of a circle. Thus, if a paintball is headed for the front of the hopper, the chance of deflection is almost none, so you'll experience more breaks on the hopper than you will on others.
Conclusion: To sum it up, the A-5 is the absolute best marker for it's price range. There is not an equivalent of it that is as accurate, durable, reliable, comfortable, and aesthetically pleasing. The Cyclone Feeder does *not* break paint, a major concern for most players with entry level markers, and the gun is deadly accurate (as my friends call it) with a good barrel.

I wholeheartedly recommend that anyone considering the purchase of this gun due so without any indecisiveness, because you can not possible do better on a pneumatic marker that isn't at the least double the price of the A-5 (And personally, I'd rather just own two A-5's).

Happy Hunting to any who purchase this gun, it won't let you down.

I'd give the gun a 10, but first it would need to have the Hopper's flat surface redone, and to have the trigger pull made a hair shorter, although the trigger pull is definitely one of the lightest for a pneumatic marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Devilmob88 Monday, January 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
1.Electronic Trigger
2.double trigger(more shots)
3.Barrel(Dye Boomstick and ultra-light)
4.HPA(PMI,Crossfire 68/4500 is best recommended)
Strengths: Well what i most like about this gun is that you can take the gun a part and but it back with no hassel. Another thing is that is good about this gun has a Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. But this baby is worth it all the way and not so expensive.
Weaknesses: WEll the only thing i can say about this gun that i didnt like is that fact that i wanted to shoot faster and at the time they didnt have a Rs trigger or an electronic trigger but i think that is really it. but one more thing the sight that come with the gun doesnt work or at least not for me its no point of using it unless u really need it but for all the newb's the aim is a little bad but as u play with the gun more your aim gets better thats how i started.
Conclusion: This is a good gun and it is not to expensive. But this gun will work better with a HPA then a C02 tank. Well that is about it for this gun hope you make the right choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

flex74 Sunday, January 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle talon ( 1st gun I played with long time ago). Stingray . Spyder TL . Rebel 02 . Had a Tippmann 98 for 2.5 yrs ,1st best gun I ever had.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with the response trigger , CMI 14" trueflight barrel , 32deg drop forward , 32deg 6 stage expansion chamber , Lapco laser sight , 16oz CO2 chrome moly tank , Polished internals.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever you can afford . The stuff above in my gun set me back around 550$ , total gun and all.
Barrel is the first thing I would recommend upgrading, than whatever is more important to you.
Strengths: Its a Tippmann. It is sturdy , reliable , doesn't chop paint , and has a high rate of fire if you have the response or electric trigger. Cyclone feed system feeds paint into the gun every time you pull the trigger , no blanks. Easy to maintain and upgrade. Field strips in seconds. Very few moving parts and nothing external that moves .
Weaknesses: The cyclone feed system sticks out from the gun. Plastic parts on some of the gun . Hopper is flat on the front of it making for a good target . Hoses on the outside of the gun are exposed . Kind of a gas hog , everything runs on air , trigger and hopper not just the gun .
Conclusion: Best new gun on the market in my opion. You cant beat a tippmann in reliability . Great gun for the price . Hi rate of fire and with a few upgrades can keep up with the best of the bunch . If you want a gun you can play with every time out , while everyone else is working on thiers than this is the gun for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

motherfu Sunday, January 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom 98, spyder
Marker Setup: spyder tl plus with a J and J ceramic barrel, PMI nitro, expansion chamber when using co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel! stock is junk, response trigger, remote
Strengths: 1. cyclone feed is nice
2. feels like a mp-5
3. tippmann durability
4. upgradable
Weaknesses: 1. tippmann inaccuracy
2. ball eater
3. expensive$$$
4. bulky
Conclusion: well, a friend of mine has this gun and he likes it. It really is innacurate, but for newbies (like my friend) thats ok. Id say buy a tippmann 98 costum and put some money into it and you could have a gun much better than this. The a-5 is decent, but not a great deal. Cyclone feed is sweet though!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Speedball4Life Sunday, January 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Spyder AMG Classic
Viewloader Evolution II Loader
Pure Energy 48 ci 3000 psi HPA tank
14 inch Freak Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
1.) New Barrel
2.) Response Trigger
Strengths: The A-5, like all Tippmanns, is rock solid and almost impossible to break. I especially like the feel of this gun. It's body is really nice and seems natural. The Cyclone Feed System and the Response Trigger make it much faster.
Weaknesses: The A-5 is a bit heavy. Also, I would recommend buying a 12 in. barrel if you plan on playing speedball because 14 in. makes the gun pretty long. With the Cyclone Feed System, the A-5 is a serious gas hog. Definitely invest in a large tank if you plan on buying this marker.
Conclusion: The A-5 is a solid gun with many redeeming features, but I find it overpriced. For the money, I would buy a cocker. If Tippmann found a way to bring the price down, I would favor it much more.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

MikeDaMasta Monday, January 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None, nothing comes close to the A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
All Stock (No money for any upgrades now)
16 Oz Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a new barrel, and a Dead On X-Core 8 stage X-Chamber to get more shots with the co2
Strengths: About everything is good on the A-5...
*Built in cyclone feeder, really nice you can shoot fast...
*Good fire-power
*Decent accuracy with stock barrel
*No freeze ups so far
*Very few ball breaks when the temperature is warm
*A very cool gun design and its has a tough design
*Very easy stripping, field and maintenance stripping, after playing, I found it easy to strip everything and clean up easily, and nothing jumps out at you.
Weaknesses: Only problems I have had were:
*The gun stopped firing at one point, but nothing big, all you do is manually cock it, and it'll fire like normal
*Last time I played I got a lot of ball breaks, but I think I know the problem, my velocity was pretty high, and it was like 25F temperature
*Cyclone feeder stops working when you are low on CO2, and you have to manually load the paint, but its not a big deal, I only had 7-10 shots left anyways...
Conclusion: I love this gun, IT IS AWESOME. I recommend you buy this over many guns... SO BUY IT! ABSOLUTELY WORTH YOUR MONEY!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  121  |  122  |  123  |  124  |  125  |  126  |  127  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media