paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  125  |  126  |  127  |  128  |  129  |  130  |  131  |  Last
        Next Page
jezral Sunday, October 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All tippmanns, some spyders and pyrahnas, Jt excellerator 3.0, pt extreme, sheridan pgp.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 + double trigger, system X drop forward w/ on off, shoulder sling, and PMI Pursuit Barrel 10".
Car stock, and response trigger are soon.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel of course. Like any other low cost marker the stock barrel sucks. No other upgrades are necessary. The marker is awsome just the way it is. However if you get one, you might as well get one with the response trigger already installed. I have seen them for almost as cheap as without it.
Strengths: Every time you pull the trigger a ball flies out the barrel. This gun is the most reliable I have ever used, no misfires, and no broken paint in the gun. If you are using a good barrel and good paint you can go all day without a single break. The first 6000 balls I put through this gun with a new barrel were clean, no breaks. The cyclone feed is the best feed system I have ever used, and I have used them all: revys, warp, halo, ricochet the works. (By the way don't waste money on the viewloader evolution, thats the egg shaped one. IT totaly blows.) The A-5 cyclone feed kicks @$$ not only because it performs flawlessly but also because it uses no batteries. It runs off the gas that is expelled from the gun after recocking. This gun is by no means a gas hog either. Tippmann realy did an excellent job in the design of this marker. Oh Yeah, I almost forgot about the design. It looks great, like something out of a schwartzenegar movie.
Weaknesses: I cant realy find anything wrong with this gun. The stock barrel is poor, but so is every low dollar stock barrel. If you get paint in the cyclone feed it can be tedious to clean, but nothing I would dock points for.
Conclusion: In conclusion this is by far the best gun on the market for the price. My advice is get one. Get one of an ebay auction, that is were you can find them for the best price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bolter Friday, October 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98, Pro-Am--The A-5 is yet another quantum leap by the Fort Wayne Armory! The A-5 raises the bar yet again in a paintgun.
Marker Setup: A-5, R/T, shorty barrel, Ronin Gear sling, CO2 20oz on Pure Energy Remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
R/T, Nitro, sling. I'd like to get a H&K style fixed stock also, as I'm a big believer in stocks.
Strengths: Cyclone feed.
Solid construction.
Modular design--check out the barrel adapter--they put in a removeable adapter (I haven't seen this mentioned elsewhere) so theoretically any manufacturer could make a different integral adapter so the A-5 could use ANY kind of barrel ever made! Easy to change to vert setup, easy to add expansion chamber. This gun is designed to handle all kinds of mods. The R/T installed in less than 2 hours, no problems, and it was the first time I dissassembled an A-5.
Solid shooting, excellent ROF (thanks to R/T and cyclone)
Easy to field strip.
Slick H&K sights, with the rotating "barleycorn" or drum in the back and ring sight in the front.
Super cool looks.
Much lower profile than other guns using speed or powered feed systems (seen the size of the Warps, etc lately?)
Mechanically driven. No chips, batteries, LEDs, etc. to break. The Army doesnt have an electronically triggered rifle--why complicate things. All is powered by the air source. Keeps it simple. Less to break.
The plastic parts are super tough polycarbonate (as others have said, the same stuff rifle stocks, pistols, etc are made from).
One of the first guns in a long time that can easily accept a sling--finally!
Can run CO2 or nitro (with fixed pressure bottle) just as well with no mods.
Removeable front grip, and it can be moved forward and back. There will probably be a lot of custom grips out there--already some out.
OH, another thing great about this--the hopper attaches to the Cyclone in an INGENIOUS way--a square "stud" protrudes from the hopper, you place the hopper on maybe 20 degress off of center, then rotate and snap the stud into place. The most solid attachment of a hopper I've ever seen! And simple! (I've been playing since 90 so I've seen a few). No goofy elbows, speedfeeds, fooling around with electrical tape, etc!
Weaknesses: I can't really say much bad about it, although the air system for the cyclone and the R/t has exposed small hoses on the right side of the gun, could be a little more fragile than I'd prefer. Cyclone will be a pain to clean (and can be removed only by removing one Allen bolt). But--haven't broken a ball yet. The barrel can't be easily cleaned with a pull-through like older Tippmanns, due to the Cyclone. But again, you won't break a ball (or rarely).
Uses a little more air than others (but you are driving the Cyclone and R/T, that's where the additional air is going).
Rapid fire with CO2 and R/T can chill the gun quickly--that's why I'll be going to a nitro setup soon.
Conclusion: You really owe it to yourself to try this gun, electro guys may not be interested, but I like the fact that the gun is one integrated system...I don't have a Revvy breaking, needing batteries, etc. An outstanding gun all the way around. I think we're going to see a ton of these out there in the very near future. Another winner from Tippmann. Been shooting Tippmann since my 1990 Pro/Am, have always been satisfied. They won't let you down in a pinch.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GwanGwanish Sunday, October 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98c,
A5 is Much better, higher bps, looks nicer, course A5 is the newer Tippman gun so shrug,
Marker Setup: Lapco A5 Bigshot 12inch,
A5 GTA Double Trigger
Xcore 8stage expansion chamber
Macroline
20oz Bottle
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel and then expansion chamber
Strengths: Durable, in my last game I accidently leaped into waist deep water and got it all over the gun, still shot fine.
Hopper, Holds enough balls, the cyclone feed system feeds perfect, never broke and I was using Zap Select and a mixture of other balls I could sneak off friends.
Fast, Shoots as fast as I can pull the trigger without ever breaking or not feeding a ball, with the double trigger thats rather fast.
Accurate, Was accurate for me but I am using a upgraded barrel
Co2 was consistent, but again I do have a expansion chamber

Easy to upgrade, with little to no experience I was able to field strip it fine, fiddle around with it, put it back togethor, upgrade it on my own, and still shot great
Weaknesses: Plastic Pieces, Supposely they are very high strength plastic but Im paranoid that Im going to break them. Of course had the entire gun been metal it would have been much heavier I suppose.

Cyclone feed system has a piece you push to start it off to the side, feels unprotected and it wobbles, also its plastic.

Stock Barrel, Short and not accurate, first upgrade should be a new barrel

Gashog, make sure you grab a 20oz, I never ran out in the field because after every two rounds of woodsball I refilled.

Cost, Its rather pricey
Conclusion: Nice gun, loved it alot when I got a chance to use all my upgrades, first round I nailed the entire team except for one player, I never actually used it without any upgrades so Im not sure how it excels on just stock options

since it hogs Gas and it has those annoying plastic pieces I only give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:52 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Alexi1337 Saturday, October 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Vertical Adapter
14" JJ's Ceramic Barrel
Scope Rail Adapter
Fiber Optic sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel.
Strengths: Rate of fire.

Smaller than 98c.

Feels like a real gun.

Better shot consistancy than 98c.

The bolt - The bolt doesn't blowback. Cock it once, and it stays in the foward position instead of swinging open and closed.

The feed system is smaller than you think. Its really not as bulky as you would imagine from pics.

Good accuracy.

Weaknesses: Looks ALOT like a real gun. (depends on your definition of good/bad)

Plastic Bolt.

Isn't really in the same 'league' as cockers that cost only 60$ more.

Conclusion: My friend let him use his for a game of sup air. I ended up pinned in the snake (of course) with two people who HAD me! I got hit twice and neither broke (cheap FPO). I managed to hold them from getting a really nice firing angle because i could fan the trigger without chopping. Basically, because of the A-5's compact size (had a 7.5 in. Lapco) I was able to avoid being lit up by 2 cockers. Sure I was pinned down, but if I had had my 98c I would have been toast. The gun is more accurate than the 98 and I would have definitely traded him guns!

However, I wouldn't sell my 98 to buy one. The A-5 is basically a hyped up 98. If I was going to spend that much money, I would probably go with an 'cocker.

Overall, a good gun. Tough enough to wear the Tippmann name, good enough to hang with cockers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nozra Wednesday, October 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c, RT trigger, Psycho Ballistics Drop and Tippmann Double Trigger.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse.Vision: All American Barrel, Tapeworm, Maxflo Reg, 3000 psi pur nrg nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel; Preferably Dye Titanium - from personal experience
Strengths: A major dispute coming around to the A-5 is its supposed lack of accuracy consistancy... whether thats bore size... co2...whatever, lets face it, It can keep up with anyone else, but when it comes down to it, it's NOT the most accurate in the world.
On a more positive note; Cyclone feed WORKS its not just some doohicky that makes a gun look pretty or fancy, it increases performance of a tippmann vastly.
The Site rail is accurate to the point. It's circular aiming circle is about the spread you'll get from the tippmann when firing. (no joke)
ROF is fairly high.
Easily Field Strippable
Reliable, DURABLE, ready to go out of the box.
And stylish til the end.
Weaknesses: The gun, when added with Co2 is too back-heavy for my taste. This gun isn't ideal for blitz players - front players - whatever u call them... its too encumbering.
Stock barrel is a sad excuse for a cardboard toilet paper role tube.
Like all tippmanns... it scratches easily
Comes single triggered... and moreover, the trigger pull requires too much of your finger
Piston needs some work... it scrapes away lube fairly fast for some reason
Hopper is irreplaceable.... its bulky, and ugly... more than 3 times in a day i got out because my snapshooting was impaired by the fat extension of the cyclone feed.
( this might just be me... ) : It seems inefficient with co2 - u can tell by the fat cloud that emanates from the muzzle as the projectile leaves the barrel.
IT . IS . LOUD - no doubt.... stock barrel makes it loud.... bolt makes loud clicking noise... cocking is loud ( somewhat given )... strange plastic trigger sounds.... loud loud.... noisy... annoying ... loud
Fore-grip is awkward; suggest removing and using expansion chamber as fore-grip.... however, large dropforwards in unison with xchamber is horrid.

and as a matter of preference.... the plastic all over the gun and the unsmoothed edges feel a little icky...
Conclusion: perfect beginners weapon... tho the bad look like they outweigh the good, it isn't so. Just try it out, its very easy to use and great to use to get to learn the game with. Its probably the ideal starter marker i would suggest.... plus u look like a badass with that sucker in ur hands
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Abe Wednesday, October 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: right now i use an A-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: its a really good size not to heavy. it is the most acurate gun i have ever seen. it shoots really fast because of the awsome feed system and it is just a great gun and you should defedently by this gun you will drule over it it is the most sweetest gun you will probaly ever have in your life and when you het it you wont regret it.
Weaknesses: its sort of lowd when you shoot it but its not like when the person hears it he can dodge it. but one thing i think you should get for this gun is a new barrel no dought about it.
Conclusion: two words


NO PRISONERS
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

youruglybuddy Friday, September 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Cycolone Feed, 20 oz Co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel system thats coming out soon for the A-5
Strengths: 1. Fast shooting. Can go as fast as you want with the Cyclone Feed System.

2. Great looking. It looks like a Mp5, and it feels like an Mp5.

3. Cyclone Feed System. With the Cyclone Feed System, you can shoot as fast as you freakin want. Hasnt got stuck on me, which is great. The Cyclone Feed System works great.

4. Performance. It shoots fast, it works great, it shoots far. It is really accurate. I don't know why people are complaining about how unaccurate it is. Those people got to learn to aim. This gun has the best aim. It will hit whatever you want it to hit as long as you aim it right. This gun is just GREAT.
Weaknesses: 1. The barrel. It is really loud. You have to get the Flatline for the A-5 for silence, and greater distance. This is the only thing ive found thats bad so far. This gun is great.
Conclusion: This gun is a great starter gun. This is the BEST starter gun i would say. It works great, havent seen anything better then this gun. Ive seen my friends, they spent more then 700 dollars on their guns, and my A-5 was better. So A-5 is a must get. Its a good deal! Paying 400 dollars for something that is worth more like 600!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Z-28 Friday, September 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom w/Tasco Acudot and Tasco laser sight, Care-15 F/x Stock, Mamba Remote coil setup.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ response trigger, laser thermal detector (very bad a$$!).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Responce trigger, any barrel, aluminum forgrip.
Strengths: This thing fires those paintballs like a GAT! The stealthy feel really works for me and it looks like an H&K MP5-SD. Dead on sighting! I don't know why peole wine that it's not accurate because mine was deadly right out of the box. I would suggest a remote line though. Pretty heavy when you crawling on your belly in the mud.
Weaknesses: I don't like the primer knob sticking out by the cyclone feed. It's a problem waiting to happen. You would have to be totally insane to pay more than $270 for this gun. Heavier than the 98 custom. Why? Hopper is so huge that you can't load the gun with high tech scopes, lasers, etc.
Conclusion: I sold my trick 98 custom on Ebay for $270. I bought my A-5 for $258.00. Had it in my arms in 3 days for $271.99. Got a super deal. Thus, upgrading to the A-5 was worth it for me. I would never pay over $270 for the gun alone. All- in -all this gun is exactly what I wanted and every Tippmann user would agree.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:55 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pondpond Friday, September 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 - Liked the Flatline, but heard Tippmann was going to come out with one for the A-5.

Spiders - All different ones, nice thing with them is all the upgrades available, bad thing is you need them!
Marker Setup: A-5 Run remote (looks awsome, very easy to manuver around with a snap sling.

-Added Dead On double trigger, anyone who has a A-5 needs one, kicked up my ROF a notch, and keeps my trigger finger happy.

-Armson Stealth barrel, ncie accuracy
-ACI Carbon Fiber Barrel , even better accuracy

Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the double trigger!!! You won't regrete it!
Strengths: Cyclone feed system, it works, it rocks, every gun needs it!

I am sure in reading the reviews you notice the same things being said about the A-5, no ball breaks, and a ball leaves the barrel every time you pull the trigger. This is true, no lies. I wanted to break it, so I took the sh$%%#est paint I could find, poked holes in it with a needle and the cyclone didn't break it (yeah some broke in the barrel, but NONE in the feed system).

Stock barrel sucks, big surprise. People get all worked up about this, but show me on marker under 300$ that the stock barrel doesn't suck. Automag - crap. Autococker - Junk, M98- stinks. I expected this going into the purchase, so figure on getting an after market barrel. (I recommend the Carbon Fiber from ACI, nice shooting, good looking, and real light.

Weight of gun is a little more than one might expect, but still nothing to worry about. It is very balanced, the hooper sites nice and tight to the gun. Speaking of Hoppers, yes this one is a little weird shaped, and people have complained about the impact angles which are true. But it does have a positive fit, even a full hooper - tilt it upside down and shake, it is not coming off. Plus I wouldn't be surprised if someone offers and aftermarket one that has a smaller "footprint".

Field Stripping - ability to tear down gun very fast is amazing. When I mean tear down, I mean everything! Not just the bolt an'or hammer Assembly, I mean every part very, very fast. My 12 year old nephew could field strip it in a minute, with no directions!
Weaknesses: I am not going to mention the stock barrel, I consider this a given.

Nothing I can think of, the only problem is lack of third party upgrades, but since this gun is new this is expected.
Conclusion: Highly recommend this gun. I have a bunch of different markers (14) and this is the only one I would recommend to any player, in any environment. Speedball, CTF in the woods, indoors, rec, weekend this gun will do it. ROF is very comparable to an electro.

I just want to add here, some people are "mad" it looks like a real steel MP5. Come on people, you add a tank to it, the big ole side hopper, it doesn't look like a real gun! I think Tippmann did it right, they took a proven design (comfort and feel)and converted it to paintball, without scaring the neighborhood cops in the process.

Mark my words, when the Flatline comes out for this maker, you will see it in the hands of tourney players, long balling fast shooting!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

italianbaddog Monday, September 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custome
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, the stock is hella loud
Strengths: im a lefty so it is so easy for me to snap shot. this is the first gun that acually helps a lefty, i never thought such a gun existed but here it is. the way is helps me so much is because most of the gun is on the right side so if a lefty is on the right side of the field he can expose verylittle of himself and still get shots off
Weaknesses: i havent found anything yet but if i do ill tell u guys
Conclusion: great bang for the buck and awsome beginer to veteren. it can hold its own against angels atocockers ect
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  125  |  126  |  127  |  128  |  129  |  130  |  131  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media