paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  133  |  134  |  135  |  136  |  137  |  138
        Next Page
Unregistered User Thursday, April 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom. How does it compare? Its better than the 98...and that is that.
Marker Setup: Spyder with various upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definetly a new barrel.
Strengths: Umm...lets see. There is that STUPID rivalry between Spyder playes and tippmann ones...I have officaly switched sides.
The reason of this I am sick of having to baby my spyder around every corner. The gun is more "tuff" than any spyder out there. A huge plus. It shoot absurdly fast (if you care for that kinda thing) and when it gets it RT kit...it will be better. It is the first gun Tippmann has mad that I believe will hold up to many MANY other guns in tournies.
Weaknesses: The price...but heck, its new, and all new things are expensive.
I dont like plastic at all, but even still I have had no problems.
Conclusion: Its a great gun, buy it as soon as you can. The people who gave it a 1are rediculous. Maybe they did see a 1 stands for the worst? This gun is as far as you can get from the worst as possible. Seems like they are peoplewho are just being spitful or something dumb. Those reviews should be axed from the site.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost every previous Tippmann gun, multiple electros, and a good assortment of various pumps.
Marker Setup: A5 stock (aside from a Bigshot Barrel) with no other upgrades (since there are really none yet).
Recommended
Upgrades:
RT to tap the potential of the 15+ BPS feed system. Maybe even an E-Bolt
Strengths: First off, the gun is sturdy and durable. I have already put it through some harshe tests of my own and the gun holds up really well. The enclosed bolt is a huge improvement over the M98, and as such it gains big points for this.

The feed system is impressive to say the least. A lot of people say get a Cocker - they are the same price. Well, add a HALO to a Cocker and then compare prices. This gun easily keeps up with me, and I am willing to bet based on the technology being used, that this puppy can shoot in excess of 15 BPS.

The 60 second field stripping time is NO exaggeration. I can open mine up and oil it in a minute or two when taking my time. It really is a gun that can be worked on without any apprehension.

The end cap is also a bonus - by adding the chain ring, you can easily pull the cap off using it, and even add a sling if you so desire.

The enclosed trigger system is also impressive, as now you can "open up" your Tippmann and not have springs fly all over the place.

With the build in vertical adapter, you have more added value to the gun, and less need to go out and spend more cash on such upgrades.
Weaknesses: The lack of a 45 grip is definately a downside. It makes adding a DF a pain, while we wait for aftermarket companies like Lapco to come up with a mount to fix this.

With the velocity adjuster again being in the side of the gun (a la Tippmann) one must consider an RVA (hopefully with the latch like the stock end cap has).

While the trigger, and cocking knob are plastic, I have really beat on both components with no problems as of yet. Time will tell if this gun holds up to the abuse that Tippmann's ahve the reputation for doing.
Conclusion: With the cyclone loading system, this gun can really spray if you need it to. With the addition of an RT or E-Bolt, this gun could easily spray with other semis and electros.

As is, this stock gun is lighter than it looks, and has a very smart sight on it. Definately Tippmann's best gun to date. Although it is pricey, considering its feed rate (at least equal to that of a HALO) the price doesn't seem so bad, does it?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 w/flatline
GT Commando 2
Spyder Xtra
Tippmann Pro Carb
Marker Setup: A-5 Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
a regulator would be helpful but not necessary
new cocking nob
new grips
Strengths: It is the most accurate stock weapon i have ever fired. With a 20oz tank, it feels very ballanced. To me it feels light but sturdy. The loading system. I rapid fired 100 rounds and at 100 ft I was in a 6in pattern and the feeder had NO BREAKS!!! I was expecting a very large, very heavy Item, it it wasn't at all.
No leaks, nothing bad right outa the box. I don't know if you have had a GT Commando2, but that was a horrible gun in every which way out of the box. The foregrip is very comfortable. The Tippmann A-5 was and is great.
Weaknesses: The cocking nob is CHEAP plastic. It probably won't pose a problem, but if you land on the gun wrong, it could break VERY EASILY. The barrel porting on the stock barrel has broke 5 balls out of 200 with my marker. The stock barrel is accurate, but thats only when you don't have a broken ball in the barrel. Also the stock barrel is loud. The grips are plastic. I like the feel of them, but I don't like plastic grips. PEOPLE, the loading system isn't that bad, it is a very reasonable size. The foregrip has the abbility to remove, but the only problem is when you remove it, your fingers are sitting on the loading system, and it make it feel very awkward.
Conclusion: This is a very well built paintball marker. All the problems I mentioned, are very easily replaced. I have heard complaints with the feeding system. It stick out about 2.5 to 3 inches. I would rather have it than not. I wouldn't recommend this product to any beginners just because when you first start, you want a gun that you can make a mistake on, if you mess up on the A-5 you could pay alot for repairs. If you are a beginner get a 98 custom, they are all around great guns, but if you are not a beginner, GET THIS GUN. The only reason i give it a 9, is because it is in the $300-$350 range. This is a fun gun to use and it is upgradeable, so have fun and I hope you make the right decision on the gun of your choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Adam_61550 Monday, April 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom RT
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/RT, Tippmann Ex Chamber, Psycho Ballistics double trigger, rear velocity adjuster, Teardrop, J&J Ceramic, Lapco Bigshot
Recommended
Upgrades:
RT, new barrel, Ex-Chamber, Double Trigger
Strengths: The main thing about this marker that i like is that its light, its lighter than the Model 98 and the Custom. It actually feels to me a little more like a speedball gun than just a regular woods gun. I stress this fact mainly because the new hopper, it maybe a little bulkier but it sits very low on the gun giving you a lower profile. Its also good on co2 i shot 750 rounds on a 12 oz. The cyclone feed may be a little overdone, sure its good and it feeds balls faster than a regular hopper, although, I think were really gonna get some use out of this feature and see how fast it can actually go when the RT comes out. At this moment in time, the A-5 as a marker by itself isnt better than Tippmanns previous marker nor better than a Mag or Cocker or any other high end gun that also cost $300. However, I believe by the time the upgrades come out for it(supposedly mid summer), and the price drops, this gun will definately be worth the money. Were just gonna have to hold out till then.
Weaknesses: I hate the fact that this thing is so expensive, its not worth $350, its not even worth the $299 I paid. It shouldnt cost as much as a Cocker, it just shouldnt, why Tippmann decided to sell it for this much still amazes me. Wait, i know, because it looks like an Mp5. But, like I said, this gun will definately be worth the money with the upgrades and when the price drops.
Conclusion: Dont buy it yet, wait for the price drop, chances are, you wont like it that much. Youll probably even like your 98 better. But for the 3rd time, and i really cant stress this enough, this gun WILL be worth the money in a few months. I believe its gonna skyrocket when these guns start cirulating around and people start tweaking and upgrading them and find out just what theyre made of. Im giving it a 9 because they just shouldnt be $350.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom 98.
Marker Setup: A-5 Tippmann.
20oz tank on remote.
16in. Armson Stealth barrell.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think that a good basic upgrade for the A-5 would be a response trigger to be able to fulfill the 15 rps as advertised by Tippmann for the Cyclone Feed System.
Strengths: Great technology for the Cyclone Feed system. It feeds a ball everytime you pull the trigger so no misfires such as with a regular, small necked, hopper. This way you don't have to keep buying 6volt batteries for your powered hopper system. Uses the CO2 you've already purchased.
Field strips easy.
Weaknesses: Needs a folding stock. I would also suggest that anyone/company that is in the process of making a stock that they design a usable stock that makes it aim like a rifle so you can actually get your cheek on the stock and sight down the sight rail without having to hold the marker up just to see the sight radius.
Conclusion: Great marker. Paintball has needed a new type of ball feed system for a long time. The Pro-Team products Warp feed is the only thing that comes close but too expensive for the rec player. The primary reason for my purchase of this marker was the new Cyclone Feed system. My Custom 98 works great and I was not in the market for anything new but when this baby came out I had to have it.
I give it a nine, only because a folding stock should have came with it or at least been designed and produced at the same time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Dragun, 98 custom
Marker Setup: A-5 stock with dual pt extremes for backup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel.
Strengths: this gun is NOT bulky. anyone who says that it is does not know what they're talking about. it's actually about the same size as a autococker. it's also very light. in fact i thought it was lighter then the 98 custom (which i don't think it is it's just that the center of gravity is better on the A-5). firing rate is awesome.
Weaknesses: well, it does have a bit more plastic then i expected, and no doubt the name tippmann is gonna make the pigs jump to conclusions about it. perhaps the cost.
Conclusion: it's a great gun. even though it's expensive it's basically new technology which is ALWAYS overpriced. pretty much all the bad reviews i've read about on this gun are by people who OBVIOUSLY didn't even see the gun in real life, much less tested it. this obviously isn't the best gun ever. i really like my Black Dragun too. but if you want a gun without needing too many upgrades this is your gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hidden Wombat Sunday, April 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pro carbine Tippmann
Marker Setup: The Tippmann A-5 (Stock for now) and the Classic splatmaster as my side arm.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clearly a new Barrel, the stock is far less than satisfactory.
Strengths: The good:

First off its a Tippmann which is synonymous of fortitude. The gun can take a beating, and if anyone plays rec ball that's what they want. Secondly is it DOES what it says. Today I took it out for its "beat run" and hammered the trigger. Not once did a ball chop; not once did I out pull/shoot the trigger or feed. 60 second field strip? With enough practice you could do it in 30 seconds. Yes, I was exaggerating, but the points there: its very easy to do.
Lets see, what else? The feed system is not bulky at all. Sure its off to the side rather than the top, but what that means is it doesn't stick out as far above the log, rock, bush, etc., etc., that you are hiding behind. Somehow, it doesn't sway you the right (the side the hopper is on) at all. Perhaps its just balanced right or the weight isn't significant; either way it doesn't take anything from you.
In time Tippmann will make a myriad of upgrades for this marker. To me, and my humble opinion, they took a quantum leap in the right direction for what Tippmann wants and stands for.
Buy the gun or at least rent it at your near by field. I don't think you'll be disappointed at all. It does what it says, and you have the security of Tippmann.
Weaknesses: The bad?

Getting a new barrel is absolute. Some of my balls curved off to the left at maybe 30 feet. But its a stock barrel. They are made bad so that you have to buy a new one so they can make more money. AND, it is a slight bit pricey. But its new, so expect that. Other than those things, nothing worth mentioning.
Conclusion: Rent it; try it; fall in love.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, feeds to fast, too smooth, too good
Marker Setup: CCI VSC Phantom (15rd tube, 14" Stock), 45 Gripe, T-Stock, Tuned Port Comp Kit, and Barrel Extension
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, definatly, RT or electro kit to maximize firepower
Strengths: accuracy is good for a stock barrel, does not chop, light and smooth trigger pull, durable, the hopper ain't big as people think, it feels really good, has a lot of potential to be a great gun
Weaknesses: a bit heavy
Conclusion: buy this gun if you want quality, durability, and reliability. Sure, an Angel might out pace it, but heck, can it be dropped and fire perfectly from a 10ft roof? I doubt it, buy a tippmann, you won't regret it. Most of these fools that give it bad reviews haven't used it before and they just don't want tippmann to look good, gun jealousy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: autococker vortex w/centerflag hyper inline reg,jt two piece barrel.pure energy
88-3000.revy w/x board.system-x swing trigger
back up marker-tip98 w/ rt-trigger flatline barrel,metal shroud,expansion chamber.revy w/x-board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel system.rt trigger and double trigger.
Strengths: its light,and very easy to field strip.rate of fire is ok and the hopper is great.
when this marker has a flatline barrel it will rock.do not listen to to the two guys with the spyder or the piranha, the A-5 out of the box stock shoots faster and further then either of theses two markers do.add an rt-trigger and double trigger to the A-5 and you are ready to rock.and lets not forget that the tippmann
will hold up over the years with less problems in the field then any other marker in its class.
Weaknesses: way to much plastic and with that price tippmann should have put the rt-trigger system on as stock.you will have to wait a while to have more variety of barrels for the marker.
Conclusion: tippmann is still the best marker to buy if you are a getting into this sport for the first time.no other marker in its class can offer the type of upgrades tippmann can to keep you competitive.the new A-5 has a cost that is a little higher then it should be, and should come with a couple items such as rt-trigger stock for that price.this marker rocks out of the box for all you new guys, and as you get better tippmann will have the up-grades you want to keep rocking,and buy the time you run out of up-grade for these markers your ready for your next big marker purchase.the A-5 will continue the tradition of a low -cost quality markers for the player who can grow along with his marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Equation multiple switch barrel system. Pure energy 45/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none yet
Strengths: This gun is kick @ss. It looks great, it feels good in your hands. It is pretty light. and it shoots very fast. The trigger pull is short and light. It has five push pins that can field strip the whole thing is 60 seconds. It also has a built-in vertical adaptor. The front grip is adjustable and so is the rear sight. The hopper is the SAME size as a VL200, just shaped different, and if you count hopper hits, then your aim must suck because you need to learn to hit a person, not their gun. The lid to the hopper is smoke colored so you can still see in. It has carbine threads and a quick release barrel system. The feed system is genius, it feeds balls as you pull the trigger so it is synchronized with the ball feeding. Its like a revvy without batteries but better! And it is not as big as some people are making it out to be, The feed housing and the hopper are about the same size as a revvy, and a lot lighter, it is just shaped differant.
Weaknesses: The gun has a lot of plastic on it :grip, feed housing, front grip, front sight, cocking bar
Also the safety is really close to your hand on the grip.
The manual feed button is kind of long.
Conclusion: Well their is some bad but it doesn't really affect performance much. The gun is kind of expensive for how much plastic is on it but if you look at it this way it is a 98 custom 125$ plus a built in revvy 50$ built in vertical adaptor 25$plus the new quick strip feature is worth at least 50$ just for the convenience of it. So add it all up and its 250$ I paid 300$ on Ebay but its new so if you can wait then get one when the price goes down but having it now was worth the extra 50$ to me. Plus there will be many aftermarket uprgades from Tippmann and others very soon. RT, Electric kit, and so on.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  133  |  134  |  135  |  136  |  137  |  138
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media