paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  134  |  135  |  136  |  137  |  138
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, April 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann model 98 and carbine
Marker Setup: j&j barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
Strengths: this is an amazing piece of equipment, i have had it less then a month and let me tell you this. not only does it look like an mp5 it shoots like one. belive me folks i use them for a living. the accuracy is unsurpassed once you get that j&j barrel in there. the cyclone feed system is simply amazing and not to mention the duribility of the gun not a surprise it is tippman. the sight is really nice like the mp5, makes me feel at home. good close and far range, i tried to scare som buys back from far away and some how got a leg shot, i also popped 4 streight balls in a buddys face in less then 1 and a half seconds
Weaknesses: it will need a new barrel, boulky if ur not used to dealing with a realistic looking gun but it was absolutly perfect for me, i dont even want to say anything bad about it cause i love it so much. but thats about all i can think of
Conclusion: this is the most amazing piece of equipment if have used next to my m14 or my mp5, but this is the closest i can get with out actually killing people for fun, just buy the baby.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98, Pro-Carbine, SL-68 II, Spyder TL+, Spyder Extra
Marker Setup: Spyder TL+ with Drop forward and a Dye Aluminum 14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, drop forward once it is available
Strengths: Field Strippable
light trigger pull
cyclone feeder system --> fast ROF
mp5k styling
Tippman durability
Weaknesses: plastic trigger frame feels cheap and is not grippy
cyclone feeder system is kinda big
Typical Tippman stock barrel :(
Uses Pro-Carbine threads which means some barrels aren't yet available (All American 2002, Freak, etc)
I heard the ASA does not work with Nitrogen
Conclusion: I kind of wish I would have gotten a 2002 vertical feed autococker instead, but this is a good gun. Once some upgrades are available for it, I think I will feel better about it. I recommend this marker to anyone looking for a low maintenence but high performance semi.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

McDead Friday, April 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sypder 2000, 2000 Autococker, Model 98, MiniMag
Marker Setup: Mini-mag, Freak, Intelliframe, Superbolt, 114ci, 12v revvy w/ x-board, shocktech valve assembly, bto cradle
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double trigger, freak, rt trigger
Strengths: The first thing I notice when pulling the gun out of the box was it was alot lighter then my 98. The loader is alot easier to put on since you don't need a elbow for it, just pop it on and it lock into place. The loader has a smaller profile then the revvy but holds just as many balls. The lid does flip up faster and stays up unlike the revvy. The end cap has a hoop where you can add a swing which is great for those long game or at the rest area. The cyclone loader system is great since it shots the ball right into the chamber. The front cocking rod doesn't move after the gun is cocked. Another thing I noticed is that the velocity is very constant with nitro (272, 272, 273, 272...). The only time I misfire is when the loader only had a few balls left in it. Never chopped any balls and I fired over 2000 round (el tigre, nitro duck and even old blaze) in the matter of 20 minutes. Maintenance is very easy, just add a few drops of oil in the tank adapter and it's done. Also the A-5 is very accurate and was nailing a 4 inch circle with 4 out of 5 balls and the 5th ball was outside of the cirle by a inch or so and I was shooting at a target over 75 feet away.
Weaknesses: The only things I found that were bad on this gun was the plastic grip frame (I prefer a metal frame), the stock barrel (just get a pro-carb or a prolite barrel, they both fit on the A-5) and the price (I have found them for around $300 on ebay).
Conclusion: Overall the gun is well built and has TIPPMANN on the side so that means quality!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

duder Friday, April 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Tippmanns, Piranhas and *shuDDDDer* Spyders...
Marker Setup: Piranha G3 EXT Pro, Tippmann A-5!!!!!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber, Response Trigger, Barrell...
Strengths: This gun is awesome. I LOVE Tippmannn markers and have always told my friends to buy them. Well I have just taken my own advice and purchased the new Tippmann A-5. This gun is a MUST buy! Every claim is well meet with tremendus quality. I have yet to shoot someone with this gun but have experinced the accuracy. In the begining of the manual it says "Tippmann promises that this gun will be the most accurate and durable paintball gun in the world" and I can honestly say that this statement is true. The gun is very easy to field strip (although you will never break a ball with a Tippmann so why worry?) and is extremly well made. It has a Glock feel to it. Kind of a rubberized coating that really makes the maker feel like a real gun (please, tree hugging hippies, don't bash me for that comment). The barrell needs upgrading but you can get carbine barrells real cheap. One of the things I really like about the gun is the hook on the back of the bolt assembly. I hooked a strap to the back and wear messenger style. When I'm not playing the gun (which is VERY light) hangs comfortably at my side. I play remote so the tank is not to be seen. This is a very minor thing but the guns looks fantastic!
Weaknesses: I wish they would have included a better barrell. The price of the gun kind of warrents that. The rod you push to put a ball into the Cyclone feeder is a little wobbley. Not because it's cheap but just has no support on the side. It's short though so it's not even a big deal. And the paint kind of scratched off on a SMALL part. Easly touch-up-able.
Conclusion: I LOVE this gun. It adds a real demonsion to the game. I would recomend this gun to anybody. Do not let big name brands fool you. They are expensive for a reason. Cockers, Automags are all great guns, some of the best in the world, but Tippmanns need only slight matainance and are extremly good guns. Remember... It's not all about the gun and how much you spent on it. The player is 90%% of what paintball is all about. I got goggled by a guy with a pump. Why? Because he was awesome. If you want to be awesome too then buy an A-5 and learn how to play.

Good bye guys!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 68-Carbine, Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: 68 Carbine, J&J Ceramic, GTA X-chamber, RVA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline when its available, RT, perhaps electro, LP kit
Strengths: Where should i start? My field owner showed me one of these on april 1'st and i was in love. Now, 11 days later i own one, and i still love it.

- First and foremost, built like a ROCK. The famous tippmann durability strikes again.
- Very cool design, in my opinion, the sharpest looking gun on the market.
- Tippmann fixed so many flaws and addressed so many customer requests in this, it amazes me. Like the trigger assembly. When you remove the grip frame on this gun, you pull the safety out, and the entire trigger and sear assembly just lifts right out. All the parts, springs and pins are totally self-contained between 2 metal plates. No more hunting for flying parts.
- Obviously this shoots very fast and reliably. The feeder is brilliant, works just as it says.
- The trigger pull is extremely nice for a stock gun. Id say the pull is somewhere around 1/8" and very light.
- The integrated vertical ASA adapter is amazing. No more buying adapters.
- This thing disassembles like a hybrid 98 and carbine. The reciever is a clamshell design, but theres pretty much no reason to split it. Pulling 5 push pins removes the grip and drops the internals right out the back. The only thing left in the reciever is the cocking handle and the ball detent.

Weaknesses: Unfortunately, this has its flaws as well. Not many and not bad, but some.

- The price is high right now, perhaps wait a bit. I just wanted a low serial # (000077 hehehe)
- The safety is in a most inconvenient location. Just test firing this gun ive bumped it on accident a couple times. Its right between your thumb and your index finger, so it can be bumped either way fairly easily.
- The cyclone feeder is very cool, unfortunately it spells the loss of the tippmann ultra-convenient flip-down elbow. No easy cable squeegee job on this baby. If you get this gun, expect to buy a stick squeegee if you dont have one. Speaking of such, the gun still comes with the venerable tippmann cable squeegee. I dont quite no what they expect you to do with it. Removing the hopper in game would suck, not to mention itd be near impossible to thread the squeegee through the cyclone's stars.
- The stock barrel isnt too great, its basically a carbine barrel, minus the internal smoothing. I had a J&J on my carbine, so i just swapped barrels and the a5 shoots VERY nicely through the J&J.
- The velocity adjuster is the same old tippmann design of a bolt into the powertube. Argh, expect to buy an RVA to save on gas.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a fantastic gun. Tippmanns best ever, hands down, bloody near the top of the mechanical food chain, second only to the cocker in terms of engineering perhaps. But definately the best blowback.

The bad definately doesnt outweigh the good, this is a wonderful gun if you can afford it right now. as the price is now, this is mostly a gun for tippmann loyalists, but when it starts to drop, i think this gun will sell extremely well, and will satisfy everyone who gets one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom wit a sniper. Brass Eagle Talon hahahahaha (dat gun was a joke)!!!!
Marker Setup: Sniper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline.
Strengths: It is a very good durable gun (like all Tippmanns). People are sayin that the Autococker is a good gun i hate it. My friend has one he thinks its great but i outshot him wit a better barrel. He was gettin mad cause he paid more. It looks like crap it just dont feel right. The cyclone feed system is great i love it. I am very pleased with this gun.
Weaknesses: The loader is a little bulky. And the second handle feels a little weird until you get use to it.
Conclusion: Great gun I am overall very pleased!! Tippmann is the only gun I will ever get!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: stock, really, with 20 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Can't really say, i only tested the thing.
Strengths: When I first picked up the marker, it felt just like an MP5. I went out back with 200 rounds and shot up a cardboard box. I fanned the trigger with my middle finger, and the hopper kept up. WOW. it was fun. anywho, it seemed relatively accurate, and it has a nice feel to it. i was considering getting a 98 to go out to my local field and play with, but now this A5 is catching my atention. also, the 98's are a royal pain to take apart. i took the A5 completely apart in about 2 minutes. sweet
Weaknesses: not really a tourney grade marker (which i think tippmann need to make in order to step out of the ol field marker category, like Kingman or ACI), but the feed system is terrific. i would like to see this feed system on this future tourney grade gun, if possible, it is nice not to have to worry about battaries.
Conclusion: i was very pleased with the performance of this gun. has a nice feel to it, and the feed system is quite an innovation. i would recomend this gun to any scenario or semi serious rec player who just wants to have fun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
the only gun i have ever had, my awesome piranha.
Marker Setup: if you actually care about what my gun(s) have, then ask.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel. maybe a double trigger frame. anything else is just for your comfort.
Strengths: very fast. very accurate, even at long ranges. never busted a ball. that all was with the stock barrel. the new feed system is awesome, i dont think its too big. front grip built in gives better balance, which is good for a stock gun. good sights on the top. looks just like an mp5, right down the type of sight it uses. very very light gun. field strippable, that is a big factor to me. nearly indestructable.
Weaknesses: little pricey. i have a discount which i will use soon to get my own, so i am good with the price. the stock barrel is crappy, but, as said before, should be expected. definitely not for beginners, i could tell during the test newbies would get frustrated. i was totally cool with it, though. thats all.
Conclusion: you read what i said above. needs a new barrel. i will throw in a drop cradle, my stock, an HP system, maybe a double trigger and something F/A or an RT. but every gun needs an upgrade or two. save your money, or find a good price. also, as a side note, i have always been neutral to tippmann until now. this gun is one of the best out there. when i get my own, i will give you all an update. why give this gun a five? i may have only tested it, but i am giving it a ten, especially for the revolutionary feed system, and i am giving a little on looks. the rest is a gimme once you use the gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 with Flatline and 98 Custom with flatline, remoteline, Bi-stand, and pro-team car stock, and 14x zoom with laser.
Marker Setup: None as is...
Recommended
Upgrades:
The flatline...
Strengths: It's is durable and accurate. Has a nice feel is feels more bolder than the other Tippmanns. Looks, well looks exzaxtly like the HK MP5. It has a light trigger pull and is light in genral. Great for speed ball and assualting. I am totaly pleased with the new A-5 and think it is the best Tippmann gun and one of the best paintball guns. I rate it a 9. It is exactly what I have been looking for, for a secondary weapon. And there is no problem with breaks. I TOTALY RECOMEND THIS GUN TO ANYONE!!!
Weaknesses: It is a little loud. And the barrel sucks. Also a little to much money for this gun.
Conclusion: You can't fix the loudness with my conclusion, but I recommend the flatline barrel system. The prices will eventally drop.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

EvilPopTart Sunday, April 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Tippmann 98 and the 98 Custom. (people, this is where you put similar paintball guns... not poo smeared on your face)
Marker Setup: 99 Vert Cocker:

OTP Dream Series Barrel
Delrin Bolt
KAPP Back block
ANS Front Block
WGP Swing Trigger
KAPP Dropzone
Palmer Stablizer
Tornado Valve
68/4500 Tuff Skin
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think when the time comes, Tippmann will manufacture e-frames and circut boards. Also, in time, barrel manufacturers will make barrels for this gun. But for now, the only upgrades can really come from drop forwards and sights.
Strengths: It looks pretty fly and its got a really good rate of fire. Contratrary to popular belief in the premangnum man speedball community of Tippmann haters, the trigger can be tweaked to produce a short crisp trigger pull much like that on an Excaliber. The Cyclone feed system does hold true to their claim of 15 bps as far as 13 bps. (Thats as fast as i could rip on the gun) Also, you don't need to buy a mechanized hopper.
Weaknesses: It is indeed a bit pricey. However, in time, the price will fall like all markers after more and more are sold and mass production is kicked into full swing. I honesty think that within a year, this marker will start to give some higher end electros a run for thier money.
Conclusion: This gun could be something big if it could get the support it needs. (Also, If you write intelligent insight, you won't have to write mindless garbage down.)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  134  |  135  |  136  |  137  |  138
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media