paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  Last
        Next Page
KRA SHARPSHOOTE Wednesday, August 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Brass Eagle Tac 5
Pirahna GTI
Other Cheap Markers
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Special Ops Dogleg stock
Special Ops 12" C-Series Barrel
Opsgear Remote Hose with Check Valve
Opsgear CO2/Compressed Air Tank Pouch
JT Pro Shield Spectra Mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel
Remote Hose
Strengths: Durability, Reliability, Simplicity
Weaknesses: Better Barrel.
Bad Tank adapter
Review: The first paintball marker I ever used was a Brass Eagle Tac 5, which I used when I played my first paintball game. After my first time playing paintball I started looking for my own marker. My first thoughts where of getting the Tac 5, but I realized I didn’t like how heavy it was so I started looking for alternatives. Most of my friends had $40-$70 markers from large outdoor retailers or GIANT commercial retailers. They weren’t all that happy with their markers and told me to look at the Tippmann 98 Custom, because Tippmann is known for producing products that will hold up to a lot of abuse, and that the 98 Custom had many upgrades for it. Let me tell you I wasn’t all that impressed with it’s looks. But while I was on Tippmanns website I mine as well look at there other markers right? Needless to say the A-5 got my attention. With it’s body and grip modeled after the MP5 sub-machine gun this was a cool looking marker. So I went ahead and bought an A-5 from a LARGE outdoor retailer with a kit that came with a mask, squeegee, CO2 Tank, ect.

LOOK
The major difference between the A-5 and cheap paintball markers is that the A-5’s frame is completely made out of metal. The Grip, front sight, and cyclone are plastic, but they are very strong plastic. When you are holding this marker it feels solid, unlike many models that seem to flex in your hand. I have never dropped my A-5, but I know of other who have dropped theirs and they said it didn’t harm it at all. This marker also has more upgrades for it than any other marker I know of.

Mechanics
The cyclone feed system is simply amazing. I have had a broken ball in my barrel, but it was because the ball was broken before it went into the gun(I let my friend load my marker up and he dumped in a bag that had broken balls in it), but I have never had a jam in my gun and I’ve put at least 8,000+ balls through my A-5. Even when I was playing in the winter with the temperature below freezing, my marker never chopped a ball. The other players who had cheap markers where having trouble with jams and broken balls, but my A-5 never let me down(although my JT Elite mask kept fogging up on me, but what can you expect without a thermal lens).

I would also recommend a remote hose for most players. A remote hose removes that big chunky tumor off the back of you marker and allows you faster and more precise movement.

Accuracy
Definition of the word Barrel: “the metal tube of a gun through which the projectile is discharged”

The stock barrel on the A-5 does what a barrel is supposed to do, it sends the paintball flying in a general direction. After shooting 1,000 rounds of paint at distances from 20-150ft I have to say that I have seen better. At 20ft I could hit a plastic ice-cream pail lid 10 out of 10 times, at 30ft 10 out of 10, at 40ft it started missing. I averaged 8.5 out of 10. At 50ft I was getting about 6.5 out of 10, at 75ft about 4 out of 10, at 100ft I could still hit it 2 sometimes 3 out of 10, but at 150ft forget it. I hit the target 2 out of a whole hopper (about 200 rounds). Now I know that these results will differ with the type of paint used and the weather. Just for the record I was using Triax paintballs.

The stock barrel is also very loud. I have purchased the Special Ops C-Series Barrel, but they don’t have it in stock so it will be awhile until it arrives. I will add this barrels results when I have tested it. Other paintballer’s have recommended barrels from J&J.

Rate of Fire
This isn’t all that important to me but for some people this is the deciding factor. The standard grip will shoot 8 balls per second (bps). This is plenty for me but if you need more you can get a response trigger that will bump you up to about 15bps, and you can always get an E-Grip with full automatic 17bps!

Problems
The only problems I have encountered with this marker is the tank adapter that came on the marker was defected (when I would screw my tank on it would spray CO2 out because the tank wouldn't screw in all the way). After a quick e-mail to the Tippmann service center. they shipped me new one for FREE and my problem was solved.
Conclusion: This is an excellent product. If you want a great woodsball/scenario marker than this is the marker for you.

I give this product a 9.5 out of 10 because of the defected tank adapter. I won't deduct anything for the barrel because their isn't a marker that comes with a perfect barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 28th, 2007 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

purelycanadian Thursday, August 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom -- Slightly less value stock.
Kingman Spyder M-1 -- Beaten in every way by A-5.
Smart Parts Ion -- Faster but less reliable and durable.

I've tried a lot of markers so that's all I'm going to list.
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN 98 CUSTOM

-- BE Folding Stock
-- BT Adjustable Rail
-- BSA 30mm Red-Dot
-- PMI Remote Coil
-- Smart Parts 14" Progressive Barrel
-- Tippmann Double Trigger
-- Tippmann Camouflage Graphic Kit (98 Custom)
-- Pure Energy 20oz. CO2

TIPPMANN A-5 CAMOUFLAGE

-- PMI Remote Coil
-- Pure Energy 20oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel
Strengths: Cyclone Feed
Durability
Reliability
Disassembly
Looks
Rate of Fire
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Cocking Lever
Review: As I'm trying to sell my 98 Custom, I needed to buy another marker. It was going to be another Tippmann, because I liked my 98 a lot. My decision was between the X-7 and the A-5. I chose the A-5 because I want to keep it simple - not overload myself with upgrades like I did on my 98 Custom. That and the fact that the X-7 is just an A-5 with a different shell that can accept a lot more upgrades.

So I come home with my new A-5 (bought the camouflage version), the first thing I do is check out the cyclone feed. There was a bit of a sharp edge on one of the teeth that I sanded down just to be safe, but no big deal.

Next thing I did was take the marker apart. The pins you push out for quick disassembly were quite stiff. One of them was completely stuck.. so I'm going to have to take it back to the shop to see if they can get it out.

The rate of fire of this marker is also quite exceptional - considering it's a semi-automatic designed for woodsball. I didn't count how many bps I was firing, but I got it going pretty good with the stock assembly. The trigger pull isn't too heavy, but it also isn't hairline, which is good. I couldn't shoot faster than the cyclone could feed.

Another thing is the look and feel of this marker. It's great. I don't really care if it looks like a real gun or not, just that it doesn't look like a plastic piece of crap. Which this marker does not. The feel of it is pretty good, although not as comfortable as my 98 Custom was to hold.

The stock barrel on this marker is, obviously, not the best. It works though, and it's better than the 98 Custom barrel was. Next trip to my proshop I'm picking up a flatline. Although I didn't go hardcore and make up targets to measure shots within a certain radius, I did shoot at a tree in prone position. One shot would hit the tree, two would miss, one would hit below the last shot, another miss. It's pretty random.

The other weakness is, in my opinion, the cocking mechanism. I'm not sure if it's really an issue, but it seems delicate. The plastic hook that you pull back seems cheaply made, and the whole thing wobbles up and down like it's a loose fit. Maybe it's not a problem, it just bothers me.
Conclusion: I recommend you give this marker a try. It's better than a 98 Custom in that it has a few more features. Spend the extra $100.00 and pick this up instead. It's not as fast an Ion (but you're playing woodsball I hope so it shouldn't matter), but it's certainly more reliable. This is the best marker that Tippmann has made to date. I don't count the X-7 as new, because it isn't. It's just a redesigned A-5. Grab a better barrel and you won't be disappointed.

(Also this marker is not as heavy as some people complain it is... it's a few pounds, you can handle it.)

Have fun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Voodoonose Friday, July 20th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
4 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Ironmen Timmy, Frenzy Board, Shocktech superfly bolt, Shocktech ram, Shocktech drop, Crossfire 45 cu 4500psi carbon fiber wrapped tank, Empire 11-piece barrel kit, Macdev Front reg, Halo B

Tryxmann A-5 as backup gun (my A-5 is called a Trixmann cause you can shoot 20+BPS no lie!)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrels barrels barrels, LPR Kit.
Strengths: Extremely durable, reliable, good starting gun.
Weaknesses: LOUD, horrible stock barrel, extremely bad air efficeincy, easy to outshoot cyclone feed. (see below)
Review: Ok starting gun but if you have a 98 or a spyder then upgrade to a smart parts Ion or something. Bad air efficiency i have NEVER found a gun that was even remotely close to as un efficient as this this is like a tank which gets 10 gallons to the mile not 10 miles to the gallon bad. About the cyclone feed if you shoot more than 20 balls per second then the cyclone feed turns backwards and causes you to shoot blanks. True story happens on my Tryxmann all the time
Conclusion: Ok for a starter gun but nothing more.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 20th, 2007 at 7:39 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

skandalous_MF Tuesday, July 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1 and Victor II, A5 owns both
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ vertical tank mod

Recommended
Upgrades:
A remote line or stock maybe, I don't have any mods on mine yet.
Strengths: -Never chops
-Cyclone feed
-Nice trigger pull
-Lightweight
-Compact
Weaknesses: -20oz tank offbalances it
-slightly less gas-efficient than Spyders because of cyclone feed
Review: I bought this gun after two Spyders, both of which were all right, but after I borrowed my friend's A5 for the day I was like, I want one of those!!! So I saved up and finally bought a semi-auto A5.
This is by far the best paintball gun i have ever fired. The Cyclone feed system keeps the gun from chopping and skipping shots like my Spyders (no shaking the gun to get a ball in the chamber, woot). This is good because it makes it so i can buy cheap paint and it won't even make a difference. The trigger pull on the standard version is good... I don't like hair-triggers or long-pull triggers like the Spyders have. Also, this gun is very lightweight... others say it's heavy, but I don't think so. Once I get a remote line I think it will be light enough to fire accurately with one hand. It is also very compact. I modded mine so it's even more compact, which I will explain later.
The gas efficiency is not as good as my Spyder guns... I can get about 900-somethin' shots out of a 20oz tank. My Spyder gets about 1200 on average. This is because of the gas used on the Cyclone feeder, which makes it worth it.
Also, since the gun is light, a 20oz tank on the back makes the weight a little off-center. This isn't really a big deal, but I fixed it by removing the air hose and putting the tank between the trigger and the foregrip. I'm a close-range shooter, kind of a pointman, so compact weapons are advantagous to me. If you remove the screw from the trigger grip's bottom, you can unscrew the steel-braid hose and there is another ASA built into the reciever. I think it's meant for a remote line, but i just put my tank on there and it works fine.
Conclusion: Buy it. I think this might be the last paintball gun I ever buy because it's very good quality and upgrade/repair parts are easy to find and affordable. All in all worth the $200.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 21st, 2007 at 12:34 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Corrupted355 Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Pro - same durability, not as upgradeable
DM5 - a completely different animal
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5:
PPS Brass barrel w/ Apex tip
X7 hopper
APE E-grip
Response Trigger
Vortex mod
Palmer's Male Stabilizer
OPSGEAR G36 folding stock
CMI micro-coil remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
A trip to Palmer's Pursuit Shop for a Brass barrel and maybe a Stabilizer
Lower profile hopper
Firepower - Response or E-grip
Strengths: -->Durability<--
Highly upgradeable
Cyclone feed
Field strip
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: This thing is prettymuch indestructible, as long as you don't use it as a pry bar. It shoots very, very reliably. As long as there's air on the marker and paint in the hopper, a ball will come out of the barrel, no matter the condition. I've used the Response trigger in rain so hard I could barely get my boots unstuck from the mud, and it fired the same as it always does.

The A-5 responds very well to upgrades, provided you pick the right ones. It's a little difficult to weed out what's a good addition and what's not, simply because there are so many options in the aftermarket. My setup (as seen above) works very nicely for me in the woods, and there's not much I'm wanting for. Feel free to copy any part of it or ask me any questions.

The Cyclone feed is one of the best loading systems I've come across as far as dependability. The only issue is that after you shoot enough, you could break the plastic ratchet, so I recommend either a JCS Jet Click or a Tech-T Vortex. In addition to being made of aluminum, they also allow the Cyclone to work all the way to the last of the air in the tank.

Though I've never needed to take it apart on the field, the field strip feature makes it very easy to clean out after a day of play. Also, it's the Quick Strip feature that allows me to swap between the E-grip and Response Trigger in a few seconds.
Conclusion: A great choice if you're looking for a woodsball marker. One of the best, actually. I'd give it a 9.5 if I had the choice, but a 9 will do.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dr.C Saturday, July 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tapco Adjustable Stock
16" Tippmann Werks Barrel
Remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock
Barrel ( Stock isn't bad but could be better)
Remote Coil
Strengths: Upgradiblity
Ease of Use
Durability
Excellent Feed System
Weaknesses: Hopper is hard in certain places and to remove
Review: I bought this gun to play paintball with my buddies over the summer and all I can say is that I'm impressed. Being my only and first gun I have to say matience is minimal and the upgradability of this gun is amazing. Its so easy to use even for a noob like myself and I never had a ball break in my gun. Although not a fast firing person, my buddies said they were impressed with the cyclone feed perfromace over their 98's and were able to shoot it faster. I've played about 12 games and feel confident in suggesting this gun to a new player thanks to its out of box perfromance and and upgradbility options once you find your niche.
Conclusion: A definate must for any player looking for a solid easy to use gun that excels not only as a gun for the seasoned player but also for the newbs like mself.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dublin Wednesday, July 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Snub Nose 4 inch Barrel
20 Oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Different Barrel
Stock
Strengths: Reliable
Sturdy
Cyclone Feed
Large upgrade selection
Good bang for buck
Weaknesses: Poor stock barrel
Review: I originally bought a tippmann 98 when I started playing paintball, but I decieded I wanted something that could spit out paint a bit quicker. So knowing that the tippmann line was fairly reliable I looked towards the A-5. It was a bonus because they had just started the 20$ rebate when you buy.
So I bought my A-5 and the first thing that needed to go was the barrel (although you can make a nice snub barrel if you cut it down). But really this is minor because with most markers you usually deciede to buy a new barrel.
Personally, after I got the barrel, my A-5 was shooting so well that I decieded to not purchase any more upgrades. But the A-5 has many things to offer such as stocks, milism kits, electronics parts and many other things. Infact I believe that I heard somewhere that the A-5 was named the most upgradable marker on the market right not.
And this gun is nearly bulletproof. One of my friends accidently back the tire of his car part way of his A-5 and it didnt break.
Conclusion: In conclusion, the A-5 is sturdy, upgradeable, and reliable. What else do you need from a marker?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TippmannDude09 Monday, July 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom with Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
TearDrop Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Tactical Stock
Remote Line
Response Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger-i can easily get 15 bps and it took me less that 100 shots to find the sweetspot and set it
Expansion Chamber- it saves a good bit of CO2
Flatline Barrel- great buy! i reccomend this to anyone who gets a a-5 SUPER ACCURATE
Strengths: Really fast trigger.. Easy to strip down and clean...Durable
Weaknesses: Are there any?
Review: I love this gun and have had it for a while now. I would reccomend this to EVERYONE as a first gun. even with the stock barrel it shoots great and can hit a small area accurately from 45 feet. There are TONS of add-ons that you can buy to make your marker faster, more accurate, or just more comfortable...
Conclusion: I give it a 10/10 because it is just good all around and anyone can use it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kilted-ninja Thursday, July 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cci phantom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ stock j&j ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a stock, they help.
Strengths: Its accurate pretty quite and really reliable.
Weaknesses: Not any
Review: I love this gun. People should get it. Its pretty accurate but really consistant. So once you find out how its shoots your pretty well off. Like my gun allways shot down and to the right. But it allways hit the same spot. so once i found that out... well dont get in my way.
Conclusion: Its awesome you should get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

thetipman Monday, June 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5/w flatline/JCS red jet tube/JCS jet click/responce trigger/and expansion chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Responce trigger cyclonefeed upgrades red hot power tube
any thing to increas gas eficency.
Strengths: Cyclone feed doesnt skip a beat
feeds responce trigger without chopping and misfiring.
Weaknesses: Gas hog have to upgrade alot to ubtain wanted gas eficincy.
Review: I wanted to upgrade from my 98 (good begginer gun) it always misfeed and chopped everonce in a while so i wanted to get a gun with a feeder that wasnt electric and i wuz looking at the a-5 for a while and decied that wuz wut i wanted to get it has a buildt in cyclone feed and the feeder it gas powerd and you dont have to worrie about batteries.
Conclusion: This is a very reliable and cheep marker it is a good investment and with a couple of upgrades youll be able to own the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 25th, 2007 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media