paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  Last
        Next Page
GoWH3fan Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder xtra 06 shoots about the same but not as strong or heavy.
Marker Setup: Spyder xtra 2006 w/ 32 degrees spring set, 14" cp barrel and reg, empire reloader b, and sypder rocking triger, darkstar bolt (local shop made it), trinity grips, shocktech clamping feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel mainly.
Strengths: Comes with cyclone feed.
Shoots good.
Strong.
No way to field strip
Weaknesses: Heavy
Short barrel
Cyclone is only rated a 20 bps
Price.
Review: I will try to explain why i say every thing above.

Shoots:
It shoots very well for a blow back kick is not bad accuracy is not either it is dead even in accuracy with my spyder xtra 06 stock.

Cyclone feed:
a pretty good hopper rated at 20 bps prevents all chops with the stock trigger. The only problem is that you can not ajust it to a much higher rate of fire if you need it like if you get a trigger with ramp and that can achieve bps well in the 30'
s. Also there is no way to replace the system with a feed neck ( if there is let me know and i will edit).

Strong but Heavy:
This is much stronger than even my mr1 but is extremely heavy. In my opinion tippmann worries to much about there guns breaking to the point that they make there guns pointlessly strong. The Mr1 is better in this aspect in the fact that they make it just strong enough for the every day wear a tear and with a descent weight . tippmanns are strong to the point that if you are careless and leave your gun on the road and a car runs it over you can still pick it up and shoot it.

Short Barrel:
It shoots accurately but is very bad on air and loud. The reason why is because tippmann did not give it enough length to gain speed in the gun there for needing more fps of the bat to gain the right speed to get good accurately. It's loud because it was not given a proper amount of porting. (this is in comparison to my cp 14in barrel the stock barrel for the 06 xtra and mr1 are far worse than this guns stock barrel.

Price:
Not very cost efficient. Let me explain

A-5 total cost for gun is about $200:
Gun w/ barrel cost about $100
The cyclone cost about $100 (rated 20bps)
Extra:
To replace barrel it cost $40

so you spent: $240

My spyder xtra $90
w/ evo III $70 (about 25 bps rate)
replacement barrel $40

you spend: $200

To add to that you want to get a new eclectic frame and board that is rated at 25bps with ramping. Now your cyclone feed will start chopping and you will be sad.
Conclusion: All in all this gun is a very good gun compares equal to spyders except tippmanns are stronger but weight more and cost more. But before you buy you might want to compare it to other guns list all the positives and negs and pick your choice. My self i would rather have the spyder for the light weight and price but, maybe you like the setup for an A-5 its all up to you. I personally think its trade for stronger gun for more weight is terrible so i give it a 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 at 8:27 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Thrugg16 Sunday, June 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon Pump Gun
It was a pump, the A-5 was way better
Marker Setup: A-5
16 inch barrel
expansion chamber
Longer foregrip/ 90 degree offset handle adapter
Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, expansion chamber for co2 cuz the a-5 is a gas hog
Strengths: Very durable, its a tippmann
Easy to field strip
Custamizable
Weaknesses: Uses a lot of gas
Review: The a-5 is a great gun. Its really durable and you can make it look like whatever you want. It has a lot of upgrades and it can run on c02 compressed air or nitro. You can take it apart with a few push pins. Because it is easy to take apart it is very easy to clean. SOme people may argue with this but I have shot around 8,000 paintballs and it has only broke one paintball. And the paint was only in the barrel so a squeegee fixed that. Plus, i was playing in about 30* F weather with co2 and i didnt have my expansion chamber then. For them money this is a good gun. I have dropped it on hard ground and in the winter it had frost on the gun cuz i was using co2 and it worked pretty well. I have been shot about 10-11 times in the gun but no problems.
Conclusion: This is a great and reliable gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nightwyrm Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Response Trigger
Crossfire 68/45 Stubby
14" J&J S2 Barrel
Tapco SAW Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel highly recommended over the stock(stock really sucks)
Strengths: Cyclone Feed System
Reliability
Price
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Tombstone Adaptor
Stock barrel
Review: This is an awesome gun for beginners and hard core woodsballers alike. Its easy to maintain and very easy to upgrade. There really are hundreds of upgrades available for this marker. The Cyclone has almost never caused paint to chop( the only time it did is when i was using Ramp paintballs in warm weather that were left over). It cost me a lot less than I was expecting to get the whole set up I have now too. Alsao its a Tippmann so you know its going to last a long time. Their customer service is incredible(I had an air leak problem when i got it and they sent me a new valve completely free of chargein about two days) The main issue I have with it is the tombstone adaptor, which is where the macro line plugs in, because sometimes it slips off the valve and causes a huge air leak. It is easy to fix, you just cock it a few times before you put the air tank on, but it is kind of annoying.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who wants a great, reliable marker. The ROF capabilities are a nice plus as well. But because of the slight flaw with the tombstone adaptor ill give it a...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

acsarver Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Speedball:
SP Ion
Egg loader
SP steel color kit
PE3000psi

Woodsball:
Tippmann A-5
PDW Air Thru MAG
g-36 stock
Picitanny Sight Mount
1x30 Red Dot scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
a stock, a new barrel (FLATLINE), response trigger
Strengths: very durable
keeps up with speedballers
ALOT of different upgrades
great for woodsballers/scenario
Weaknesses: heavy
the Cyclone (see review)
chops a lil
lil hard to clean
big
Review: ive had my A-5 for about a year now and its standin up good. it pretty much stands up with the speedballers. perfect for scenario/woodsball.
The Cyclone.
The Cyclone Feed System comes attached to the A-5. The Cyclone works great, sometimes. the Cyclone can clog, and get pretty dirty where u cant see. i dont know if it was jus my clyclone, but i had to take the whole system off of the gun and clean the blades individually.
One of the problems for buying a Flatline.
the c02 gets thru the gun and trys to get as much of the air to the barrel jus so the flatline to work propperly. it trys to give so much, sometimes the Cyclone doesnt work good.
Conclusion: Again, perfect for Scenario/Woodsball, but if u are new to the sport, go with the 98 first, then upgrade. thats exactly wat i did.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 10th, 2007 at 8:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hockeyhead1847 Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Apex Barrel
CP Drop Forward
Car Stock
Wire Frame Stock W/ rear Velocity Adjust
E-grip
TechT Lightning Rod
Vortex mod
JCS Double Trigger
Strengths: Easy to clean, low matinence
Weaknesses: None
Review: this is a great product it will always work its just very reliable. Ive had my gun for over a year now and i havent had a single problem yet. I can always go out to the filed and start playing. One of the only bad things about the gun is the internals of the Cyclone feeder. The cyclone feeder comes stock with cheap plastic parts. Its recommended to buy some upgrades for it.
Conclusion: This gun is made for people who just want to play and dont want to do all of the cleaning and work that most guns do.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow Man Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rented A-5 at Pro course
Viewloader Triad
Marker Setup: A-5
Commando tru air stock
16" armson steath barrel
Barska 1x42 Falcon Red Dot Riflescope
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, if you are a accuracy fiend like me
stock
if you want a scope get one of the following:
Offset sight mount
Tac hopper
Stove top angle

IF you like to spray get a e-trigger and some new guts for it
Strengths: Tough
Sweet looks
Mods out the wazoo
Weaknesses: $$$$
Loud
Big feeding system
Like to use gas
Review: This is a great gun. With a new barrel and stock it make a great Medium riflemen or Sniper weapon. It is "Tough as nails." I play sniper and i am known for being a little crazy i will belly crawl thru swamps, brush, and every other terrain and this gun is a equal match for all that terrain. A-5 comes standard with the cyclone feeding system. Which can shoot fast. My best friend also has a A-5 but his has the E-trigger and it spits paint like hell. The last and best thing is that there are endless upgrades for it which in my case makes me want to spend a ton of money. This gun kicks when you shoot it. Which in my mind just makes it all the cooler.

It is kinda expensive for a starter gun.(215$)

that cyclone feeder is sweet but it is big and gets in the way of about every scope but that is fixed with what i said up above.

Its loud, with a new barrel you can get i quieter but it has a lot of sound that leaks form the body

it is said to be heavy and it is compared to speed-ball guns but it has little affest on my game.

It is kind of a gas hog
Conclusion: If you play more then 4 times a year and have the money buy it. You will love it. there is also a new gun on the market that has many compatable parts with it called the T68 Gen5. which if you were to glanse at it you might mistake as a A-5. IF you don't get the tippy go with That.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 9th, 2007 at 10:22 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyedyedye Thursday, June 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
icon z ,ego, ion
Marker Setup: autococker trilogy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hpa,barrel
Strengths: No chop!,Accurate,light,easy to use,Not gas hog
Weaknesses: Striping it down
Review: This thing was my third gun and also my favorite.200 dollars and this owned the field.Dont worry about chopping because the cyclone feed is the king. This was very low profile and so many upgrades can make this gun so cool.
I wish i would have never of sold it because it was a extremely reliable marker and did the job every time.
Conclusion: My Favorite
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dsrthemoose11 Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: I use the commando stock and a Flatline(highly required)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline
Strengths: VERY accurate, very comfortable to hold
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: I think that the A-5 paintball gun is a very good gun and if everyone had a chance to buy one you should. The Flatline is a must have for this gun. That is what makes the gun, and in my opinion you should have a stock too. Like i said i had a 98 custom for about 3 years and decided to buy the A-5 and now i don't even want to think about going back to my old gun. Thanks for reading my review.
Conclusion: I give the A-5 a 9 out of 10 just because it is louder than most guns if you are a sniper person. Everything else on this gun us perfect!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 at 6:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StumpyManager Tuesday, June 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippy 98 - almost
Pirahna - not even close
Marker Setup: Proto PMR 06
Halo B
P/E 45/4800 N2 Tank
Proto 2 Piece 14 inch
Trinity Feedneck
New Designs Scythe Trigger
New Designs Back Cap
Recommended
Upgrades:
response trigger
thunderpig barrel
any stock
Strengths: Tough
Accurate
Decently Fast
Weaknesses: Might uncock with response trigger
Review: Ok, so i tested my friend's A5 at this field that i went to cuz we were all bored and decided to go during vacation. boy, was i lucky to have played wit this gun. i mean, i totally screwed up a dive off the break and landed head first in a dirt bunker. the a5 was half way through. i just pulled it out and it kept shooting straight. also, it was very accurate with the thuderpig barrel on it, so i started sniping people through the treads in the tires they used as bunkers.
Conclusion: Ok, so, if you have 300 dollars, get this gun and the ups to go with it. it will save your rear end during woodsball and scenario.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

codeman99 Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion,impulse and tons of differant spyders
Marker Setup: A-5
response trigger
X-7 hopper
superfly bolt
expansion chamber
cp one piece 16 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
X-7 HOPPER
superfly bolt
Strengths: Fast,cyclone
Weaknesses: Accurate,consistant
Review: I was looking for a new gun and i had read alot of reviews about the A-5. They said it was accurate ,consistant and fast.i thought well that sounds like everything i would want so the next day i went out to my local paintball shop and bought one.When I got home i graved some balls and co2 and shot a hopper.I wasnt impressed. i started to screw with the gun( changing psi,balls per second and cleaning it)then went out and again shot a hopper.My tweaking helped a little but not that much so in that weak i went back to my local shop and bought a couple of upgrades(bolt, expansion chamber, 16 inch barrel).got back put all the stuff on and shot it.helped but it was still not what i was looking for.I still use it till this day but i am saving up for a high end marker.
Conclusion: good gun IF you are a beginer and just starting but for the big boys that have been playing for a long time i recomend a high end gun. this gun just doesnt cut it
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media